Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol price controls

• 24-01-2011 10:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭

We should introduce alcohol price controls in Ireland. Alcohol is being sold to cheap and this leads to poor public health and violent crime. I also suggest that it should be illegal to drink in public and the gardai should clamp down on people who do so.

In my area I see children getting intoxicated every weekend so obviously alcohol is to cheap. We need a price floor, I suggest that the prices should roughly double for any kind of alcohol.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

*pops open can of Bavaria*

Eh, sorry... did you say something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I'd be more concerned about where the childrens parents are if they are able to get drunk every weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

You sound suspiciously like a Vintner's Association troll. Cheap alcohol does not cause any of those problems, stupid people will do stupid things. Until we grow up as a nation and mature to escape this infantile pastime it cannot be solved by the government helping the publicans make even more money.

Look at France and other EU countries where alchol is both cheap and plentiful in social situations, where the problem is almost non-existant by comparison. Your suggestion benefits only the greedy publicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Why do you think it is the price of alcohol specifically and not other factors such as culture and upbringing that leads to drinking problems?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Bite me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

whiteonion wrote: »
    We should introduce alcohol price controls in Ireland. Alcohol is being sold too cheap, this leads to poor public health and violent crime.
    I also suggest that it should be illegal to drink in public and the gardai should clamp down on people who do so.

In my area I see children getting intoxicated every weekend, I therefore wrongly conclude alcohol is too cheap. We need a price floor, I suggest that the prices should roughly double for any kind of alcohol.

You are dead right, raising the price of cigarettes worked so well in reducing the numbers smoking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

We should introduce alcohol price controls in Ireland. Alcohol is being sold to cheap and this leads to poor public health and violent crime. I also suggest that it should be illegal to drink in public and the gardai should clamp down on people who do so.

In my area I see children getting intoxicated every weekend so obviously alcohol is to cheap. We need a price floor, I suggest that the prices should roughly double for any kind of alcohol.

It is illegial to drink in public and stop looking at children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

You sound suspiciously like a Vintner's Association troll. .

Is this not the same OP that started the nonsense about taxing sugar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Cheap compared to where?

It is illegal to drink in public places unless licensed.

Scotland tried to introduce minimum alcohol prices and they could not under eu laws.

Tell parents to be more responsible with the amount of money they give their kids.

Suspicions of a trolling thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

red menace wrote: »
    You are dead right, raising the price of cigarette worked so well in reducing the numbers smoking

I hope you're being sarcastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

squod wrote: »
    Bite me.

I might... What do you taste like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

flame bait this is.

I hope you're being sarcastic.

Yep and also editing the OP for mild comedic effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

**** off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Your views will change when you're old enough to drink...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

oh thats kewl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

In my area I see children getting intoxicated every weekend so obviously alcohol is to cheap. We need a price floor, I suggest that the prices should roughly double for any kind of alcohol.[/

1-Alcohol prices in Ireland are already quite high by EU standards with the exception of the Scandinavian countries.
    2-If people wish to cause themselves cirrohis of the liver, alcohol poisoning etc, let them fire ahead. If you're old enough to abuse alcohol you're old enough to suffer the consequences.
    3-It is illegal to drink in public and has been since around 2006 or so. Guards in general do seem to take it seriously within reason. Clearly if there are several thousand people drinking al fresco a la Paddys Day, it would be impossibe to confiscate every container.
    4-Children should not be getting intoxicated, its illegal. Your logic seems to be because a gang of 15 year olds decide to get drunk my alcohol cost should double. This makes no sense. Furthermore kids will always consume alcohol in some form or another regardless of price.
    5-The highlighted part of your Op, I'm presuming this only applies to off licence sales somehow. You can't be seriously suggesting pubs start charging €10 for pints???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

Yes, pubs can keep their current prices for all I care. It's just that I think its to cheap to get a six pack of beer for €6.

The cheaper something is the more of it people are likely to consume. When the prices goes up, people will have to cut down on the consumption.

Alcohol should be much more strongly regulated in this country. I suggest also increasing the drinking age to 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Blast the prices with piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Everyone drinks underage. For most people it's not a problem, just part of growing up.
    I don't see the big deal about it.

Yes, pubs can keep their current prices for all I care. It's just that I think its to cheap to get a six pack of beer for €6.

The cheaper something is the more of it people are likely to consume. When the prices goes up, people will have to cut down on the consumption.

Alcohol should be much more strongly regulated in this country. I suggest also increasing the drinking age to 21.

Well if there's children getting drunk every weekend, as you say in your opening post, then being 21 won't really affect them will it? They will still get drunk. And lets face it, there's nothing funnier than a drunk child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

La-dy fucking-da. Loadsamoney here wants a tax on booze that directly effects only poor folk. Up fuckin' yours.

squod wrote: »
    La-dy fucking-da. Loadsamoney here wants a tax on booze that directly effects only poor folk. Up fuckin' yours.
    Poor people can do something else instead of drinking booze and destroying their physical and mental health.

Yep, there's always drugs to fall back on.

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Well if there's children getting drunk every weekend, as you say in your opening post, then being 21 won't really affect them will it? They will still get drunk. And lets face it, there's nothing funnier than a drunk child.
    In the case of kids getting drunk social services should take the kids from the parents because the parents are obviously not fit to raise children.

http://www.pricewiki.com/blog/2010/04/05/price-of-alcohol-in-europe/

We are second most expensive in Europe according to this, maybe price isn't the way to go about this?
    Any other ideas? How about banning glass as that is a delivery method for alcohol?
    Or maybe taxing water as it a vital ingredient in the manufacture of alcoholic products?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

You have clearly destroyed the latter.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Sorry OP, but you should put a link up, just in case someone thought it was your idea.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0124/breaking49.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

easyeason3 wrote: »
    And lets face it, there's nothing funnier than a drunk child.

Two drunk children.

In the case of kids getting drunk social services should take the kids from the parents because the parents are obviously not fit to raise children.

Really? Then I should have been taken into care when I was 13. Admitedly I was a late starter, afterall I was a teenager when I started drinking. But in fairness who was thinking about my mental & physical health then? I wasn't because I was drunk.

This country has so many fking spoil sports I cannot possibly glass them all.. :mad:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

there is so much wrong with your logic

1. raising the alcohol to 21 (a la America) will only lead to a lot more illegal drinking, which you seem to have a problem with. Put it this way, I'm 19, if the law was changed, I wouldn't stop drinking. I'd change the way I obtain drink. It would make no difference to 15 year olds.

actually you know what, your obviously a troll, i'm not gonna bother, in a nutshell, your wrong

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Sorry OP, but you put a link up, just in case someone thought it was your idea.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0124/breaking49.html
    Off course this is not my idea as such but I think it's a good idea and one that we should promote in Ireland. This country should try to change the image of Irish people being drunken fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

whiteonion

People will drink no matter what. If the state taxes it excessively, people will then learn how to make it themselves. Taxes, regulation and legislation are already quite excessive in Ireland on almost every angle of life. You look to this Government to solve problems? They could'nt solve banks, property, or much else, and now you look for them to solve an alcohol problem.

You may as well put Dr Harold Shipman in charge of the Ministry of Health, and make Jean Claude Duvalier the Finance Minister.

Off course this is not my idea as such but I think it's a good idea and one that we should promote in Ireland. This country should try to change the image of Irish people being drunken fools.

Change is one the way, Brian Cowen is on the way out.

But you're sober now I take it? :confused:

RichieC wrote: »
    But you're sober now I take it? :confused:
    Yes I'm sober, and I do not consume excessive amounts of alcohol. I don't see the point in that.

So do you drink alcohol at all?
    Mammys sherry trifle doesn't count btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Wait......you do not consume excessive amounts of alcohol? But it's so cheap. But you are saying even though you think it's cheap you don't drink a lot of it?? So the price of it doesn't effect how much you drink of it?

No...now I'm confused. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I don't notice too many drunk teenagers these days,when I was a teen everybody was on the lash and the entire week was based on getting money together to get hammered at the weekend.Seems to be less of it about these days despite what the media are telling us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

You'll have to pry my whiskey out of my cold, dead and somewhat malty fist!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

I suspect you're trolling but I'm not going to let you away with it.

This is not what you said in your previous post. You said all alcohol prices should double. So which is it? It is cheap yes, but it is also the cost in many other European states.
    This is false economics. The cost of alcohol in France for example was far higher relatively speaking to cost of living in the 1950's than in the present day. However alcohol consumption in France has fallen. This puts a hole in your theory.

Regulated in what manner? Give specific examples.

Raising the drinking age to 21 is a non runner. If you're legally considered an adult at 18 you should enjoy all the rights and responsibilites that entrails including alcohol consumption. I presume the 20 year olds amongst us who study and hold down jobs aren't considered fit to drink in your high and mighty eyes?

Sorry I forgot you're playing the role of the moral police and know better. As I previously said, if people wish to destroy their physical health that is their choice and not that of the government. If you consume alcohol or any intoxicant you must handle the possible dangers it entails. It's called personal responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭dougal-maguire

Damn right,i used to be addicted to penny sweets,then they doubled the price...Havent touched one in years i tell ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

It seems that the OP doesn't like drinking and probably feels left out in his circle of friends that drink more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭phonejacker

wouldn't it be great if all alcohol was banned from this country! id say that would piss a few people off by saying that.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

fonejacker wrote: »
    wouldn't it be great if all alcohol was banned from this country! id say that would piss a few people off by saying that.:D

:D Ya and implement sharia law aswell :D deadly :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Eriu79

I was in a bar in chicago that had $2 Guinness, great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

OP is jealous those drunk kids get to drink with there friends while he twitches the curtain on his own. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭phonejacker

ha ha very funny:D, alcohol is a very serious problem in this country you no costing probably billions of tax payers money (then again whats a few billions euro these days:rolleyes:) through crime/antisocial behavior and idiots ending up in a&e. (maybe i like twitching the curtain on my own:D)