Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath West: Election Thread

• 23-01-2011 11:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭

Well it's here and coming to an leaction booth near you.

Who's likely to be in and who's likely to be out?

FF are running 3 candidates (officially still 2) , Brady, Cassells and McKenna

Fg are running English, Yore

SF are running Reilly?, Tobin?

Labour are running Mchugh.

Anyone with new or better info.

Hard to call but will probably be Brady, English, Reilly/Tobin. Could be 2 FG, 1SF or could be 1 FG and 2 SF but unlikely

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Here's what I have based on the links below - these are all confirmed candidated bar Trevor Golden who is a possibility:

Johnny Brady TD FF
    Damien English TD FG
    Catherine Yore Cllr FG
    Jenny McHugh Cllr Lab
    Peadar Tóibín Cllr SF
    Seamus McDonagh WP
    Trevor Golden Cllr Ind

Refs:
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/news/trim/articles/2010/12/22/4002267-dempsey-exit-throws-meath-race-wide-open
    http://www.workerspartyireland.net/id566.html
    http://www.labour.ie/jennymchugh/
    http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/19889
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/news/trim/articles/2011/01/06/4002466-golden-likely-to-declare-in-trim-as-ff-prepares-for-conventions/
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/news/roundup/articles/2010/12/22/4002268-labour-pins-meath-west-hopes-on-school-principal

Given the Dempsey situation and the general feelings about FF at the moment, I would imagine that Damien English will hold his seat with one FF and a fight between Labour, Sinn Fein and independents for the third seat. Labour did very poorly here last time from what I can see, so I'd reckon it'll be a SF or independent seat.

All personal speculation of course, I'm only a mere blow in around here, so just basing it on what I've read/seen over the last while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

The odds from Paddy Power.......

Damien English (FG) 1/20

Johnny Brady (FF) 1/6

Jenny McHugh (Lab) 8/11

Catherine Yore (FG) evens

Peadar Tobin (SF) evens

Shane Cassels (FF) 4/1

Seamus McDonagh 33/1

Strong rumour on twitter that Noel Dempsey's son-in-law, Ronan McKenna, to run as third candidate for IMF-FF.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

Yes that battle for the third seat will be interesting, reckon there is a solid chance that P Tobin will snatch this. Jenny McHugh has faded in this area since her election, we do not hear a whole pile fron her, not even a newsletter as to what she is doing. Labour PR is not working here and many people remember the last time we had a one off labour candidate. This is Tobins area and a large catchment area of new residents to boot.
    I thought the demographics would have kicked in at the last election (remember N Dempsey asking me what type of people had moved into Johnstown when I was enquiring on local matters at the time), I certainly think they will kick in this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Rafa1977

The candiates are very poor in Meath, there is nobody yhere to inspire confidence. I haven't a clue who I will be voting for, probably won't know until they come knocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

I am surprised that FF are still expected to get a seat. I can understand the candidate's friends / family as well as some constituents that were helped by the candidate but, after that, who would vote Fianna Fail?

I hope that some FF canvassers do come to my door and I will ask questions along the line of
    - Why should I vote Fianna fail?
    - Does the canvasser not believe that there should be a change of government?
    - if (as you would expect) the canvasser says that there should NOT be a change of government then I would ask them to rationalise this with all the FF ministers etc that have Quit!!!

And that is not even starting on the corruption, croneyism, financial mismanagement etc etc.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

dixiefly wrote: »
    I am surprised that FF are still expected to get a seat. I can understand the candidate's friends / family as well as some constituents that were helped by the candidate but, after that, who would vote Fianna Fail?

I hope that some FF canvassers do come to my door and I will ask questions along the line of
    - Why should I vote Fianna fail?
    - Does the canvasser not believe that there should be a change of government?
    - if (as you would expect) the canvasser says that there should NOT be a change of government then I would ask them to rationalise this with all the FF ministers etc that have Quit!!!

And that is not even starting on the corruption, croneyism, financial mismanagement etc etc.

Some people will always vote a certain way, regardless of what has happened while that party have been in power. Like I say, I'm only a blow-in ;) but looking at the figures, this constituency would appear to be very pro-FF.

According to the figures, over 51% of first preference votes here went to FF alone. That's some amount for one party. Even it that drops by 50%, it'll still be 25% of first preference votes going to FF, the bulk of which will go to the currently sitting TD Johnny Brady.

I expect a certain amount of votes will switch to Damien English, and given how strongly FG are expected to poll, I'm pretty sure he'll be re-elected.

So the third seat is the big question. Labour did awful here last time around, and while they might improve on their figures, I thinking SF might benefit most from the "protest" vote. Joe Reilly got over 11% of first preference votes last time, so there's a good chance that the new SF candidate will do even better.

Will be interesting to see what independent candidates we get. Anyone have a definitive list yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

My answer to anyone that comes over here canvassing for him is Johnny Who?
    Has anyone heard any contribution that he has made in the Dail? Damien English is also a back bench TD but he at least contributes.

I have voted on and off for dempsey in the past and he has contributed to some positive things around here. However I wouldnt support his son-in-law, more croneyism imo.

p.s. according to the Focus, councillor Ray Butler will be on the FG ticket.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Moved from Meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Rafa1977 wrote: »
    The candiates are very poor in Meath, there is nobody yhere to inspire confidence. I haven't a clue who I will be voting for, probably won't know until they come knocking.

both meath constituencys are talent free zones

Absolutley, No one to write home about, in fact how they are standing as representatives is farcical. A failed jornalist (as I said to the FF canvasser neighbour), teachers (Yore & McHugh), and people with no business acumen. Reserving judgement on SF candidate as know nothing about him at the moment.
    Personally, have had my fill of teachers in the Dail, they hold onto their jobs. I want someone with business acumen, surely there are business men or women out there that want real change and feel they can do it?

Just got a flyer in the door from Cllr. Ray Butler stating that he's running for election in Meath West also. That's three FG candidates in Meath West now, is that not overkill? Is there not a risk that it would dilute the FG vote?

Moved from Meath.

Why move this from Meath board? The Meath East thread is still there, and most people interested in discussing their constituency will go to the regional board first. The Politics board is for hard-core political anoraks such as meself! Please, put it back to the Meath board, where it can be discussed by those most affected by the outcome.....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

The OP requested that it be moved. There is a general election thread in the Meath forum for the moment.

I don't moderate the politics forum so if you wish to discuss this thread's location further I'd suggest you PM one of the mods of this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

If FF get voted back in , thats it I'm OFF

Why move this from Meath board? The Meath East thread is still there, and most people interested in discussing their constituency will go to the regional board first. The Politics board is for hard-core political anoraks such as meself! Please, put it back to the Meath board, where it can be discussed by those most affected by the outcome.....

I asked to move it to the General Election forum where other counties started to appear and as it is the election what better place, so rather than lose within meath it is now here. Meath east will hopefully join it shortly. I have set-up the "follow forum or thread so I get an email if there are new posts". Works for me, hope it will work for you.

BTW, I see Enda and the gang hit the shopping centre today, good to see him challenged by a member of the public on his willingness / ability to make real jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Peadar_85

dixiefly wrote: »
    My answer to anyone that comes over here canvassing for him is Johnny Who?
    Has anyone heard any contribution that he has made in the Dail?

Couldn't agree more with you dixiefly, what exactly has this man ever done to justify being voted back in every time? He's an invisible presence in the area and genuinely the only time I ever hear from him is at election time when he's looking for us mugs to put him back into his cushy number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

It's a poor show, there's little option for the voter really. Looks like FF and FG will win seats and continue their' lunatic economic policies. There's no-one to blame but the voter for that. People around here really don't give a shite about the place, lets be honest.

Just had Yore one at the door with all the razmatazz. Red van with all the trimmings (looks like a bloody red Gatso van!), lads and lassies calling round to the door like they were at a school going to class.

Haven't seen the like of this since that FG farrelly fellow arrived up one year with the 6 cheerleader girls with the blue wigs, real OTT stuff.

This didn't wash with me and I sent them packing, Yoke never has set foot in this area as a councillor and has never helped out with our estate and it's issues which after 25 years has still not being taken into charge.....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Rafa1977

I won't be voting for any councillor especially after their handling of the issues with the weather in December where they all did **** all to help. I will show the same contemp to them that I will be to FF.

Jenny McHugh doing the rounds in Trim today, she called to the house. Had a chat with her, seems a decent candidate. The FF crew for Johnny Brady called on Saturday also. Aside from that, it's been leaflets from two FG councillors (Yore and Butler).

Nowt from SF, WP or independents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Jay Bee

The following is the list of Candidates in Meath West :
    Ball, Stephen
    Neilstown, Bohermeen, Navan, Co. Meath
    Mining Employee
    Non – Party
    Candidate
    Brady, Johnny
    Springville, Kilskyre, Kells, Co. Meath
    Public Representative
    Fianna Fáil
    Candidate
    Butler, Ray
    7 Swift Court, Trim, Co. Meath
    County Cllr
    Fine Gael
    Reilly, Gerald
    Carolan, Ronan
    Boyne Cottage, Athlumney, Navan, Co. Meath
    Economic Advisor
    Non - Party
    Candidate
    Cassells, Shane
    52 Oakleigh, Navan, Co. Meath
    Public Representative / Journalist
    Fianna Fáil
    Candidate
    English, Damien
    Castlemartin, Navan, Co. Meath
    Public Representative
    Fine Gael
    Foley, Stephen
    Irwin, Fiona
    Tobergregan, Garristown, Co. Dublin
    Medical Scientist
    The Green Party
    Cromwell, Susan
    MacMeanmain, Manus
    50 Páirc Glen Abhainn, An Bóthar Buí, Contae na Mí
    House Husband
    Comhar Críostaí – The Christian Solidarity Party
    Candidate
    McDonagh, Seamus
    22 St Bridgets Terrace, Kells, Co. Meath
    Steel Fixer
    The Workers Party
    Candidate
    McHugh, Jenny
    Laracor, Trim, Co. Meath
    School Principal
    The Labour Party
    Holton, Pat
    Stephens, Daithi
    Dunderry, Navan, Co. Meath
    Farmer
    Non – Party
    Candidate
    Tóibín, Peadar
    123 Woodlands, Navan, Co. Meath
    Management Consultant
    Sinn Féin
    Ó Raghallaigh, Seosamh
    Yore, Catherine
    The Rock, Rathendrick, Carnaross, Kells, Co. Meath
    Primary Teacher
    Fine Gael
    Candidate

For the last few years the electorate has been battered unmercilessly. We must ask ourselves do we really want more of the same ?

Biggest waste of space, all of them, if only you could chose to elect one because they are all so bad. Hate the thought of electing a muppet because he / she managed to get in ahead of a better candidate who did not in another constituency.

Are we going to have 5 more years of the same, or does the revolution start tonight ?

Big Dilemma....

PTSB taking the P*ss,

USc taking the P**s

income levies etc, next year water rates, property taxes.. :eek:

Don't know where they think the money will come from as I ain't got it to give.

Time to get tough with the canvassers and get the next shower to get tough with the wasters who are trying to bleed the mortgage holders. Renters are getting the best deal out there. Has to be stopped.

So what do we do ? We've had it up to our gills...........:mad: Can we realistically put an X beside any of the candidates ?

FF has been totally discredited
    The only difference between FF & FG is a sinlge letter of the alphabet.
    Labour is great on the rhetoric, but they simply don't connect with people's problems
    Can we trust SF to run the country : they hardly could have done worse than the present lot.
    And then we have
    The Green Party
    The Christian Solidarity Party
    The Workers Party,
    a mining employee
    an econcomic advisor
    and a farmer.
    The taunt of the Greek Protestors, last summer is still ringing in my ears
    "We are not Ireland" :cool:

Well given Johnny Brady's recent "finding it tough on €100k" line, I'm wondering if he'll ever see the inside of the Dáil again. :eek: What an absolutely daft thing to say, in the middle of a recession, just before an election. Crazy stuff.

http://www.meathchronicle.ie/news/navan/articles/2011/02/09/4003041-fg-goes-all-out-to-grab-two-seats-in-meath-west/

So if FF don't get a seat, we'll probably have Damien English FG, and a very close fight for the other two seats between SF, FG and Lab. It's wide open at the moment in Meath West.

I've only recently landed in Meath West. Considering what the Main Political Parties have done to our standard of living over the last while, and will continue to do the same, unless we cry "Halt", I'm amazed that nobody is giving any of the independent candidates a look in. Could they all be as bad as that ? :(

The Nouveau Rich will continue to try to influence whatever administration is formed to run the country.
    At the moment it looks like that the middle class will be giving their first choice to FG.
    Can anybody explain how the back bone of Irish Society could be that foolish ?
    And will anybody be bold enough to let me know who the hard pressed working class will be voting for ? :mad:

Jay Bee wrote: »
    The Nouveau Rich will continue to try to influence whatever administration is formed to run the country.
    At the moment it looks like that the middle class will be giving their first choice to FG.
    Can anybody explain how the back bone of Irish Society could be that foolish ?
    And will anybody be bold enough to let me know who the hard pressed working class will be voting for ? :mad:

It's up to you to pick who you think is most suitable, and vote for them. Coming out with terms like "nouveau rich" and "hard pressed working class", and referring to FG voters as "foolish" is just pointless.

To answer your questions, many people voting FG will be voting them as the best of a bad lot really. And depending on your definition of "hard pressed working class", I guess most in that category will probably vote SF.

This is the only chance w'll problably get for the next 5 years to do something about the terrible mess we find ourselves in.
    What I mean by the Nouveau Rich is that as long as they can continue to enjoy their 'fois de gras' they are not particularly bothered about who is in charge. But for the rest of us it matters a huge amount.
    To vote for the 'best of a bad lot' is not a good enough reason in my book. What I mean by 'foolish', is that most people who are very unhappy with FF policies, are planning to vote for more of the same by voting FG.
    What I mean by the hard pressed working class, is anybody, regardless of background, who is finding it extremely diffiucult to make ends meet. So can anybody tell me what would be so wrong in voting for SF, the independents, the workers party, or the Christian Solidarity Party :P

This is the only chance w'll problably get for the next 5 years to do something about the terrible mess we find ourselves in.
    What I mean by the Nouveau Rich is that as long as they can continue to enjoy their 'fois de gras' they are not particularly bothered about who is in charge. But for the rest of us it matters a huge amount.
    To vote for the 'best of a bad lot' is not a good enough reason in my book. What I mean by 'foolish', is that most people who are very unhappy with FF policies, are planning to vote for more of the same by voting FG.
    What I mean by the hard pressed working class, is anybody, regardless of background, who is finding it extremely diffiucult to make ends meet. So can anybody tell me what would be so wrong in voting for SF, the independents, the workers party, or the Christian Solidarity Party :P

Nothing wrong with voting for the best of a bad lot. It's better than not voting at all. For a huge amount of people, voting the best of a bad lot is what they will be doing. I have not heard one person saying that they agree 100% with a party or an individual's policies, you have to vote to the nearest match to your beliefs.

As for SF, they might want to maintain or even increase welfare, which sounds all well and good, but at the cost of what? Look beyond the grand claims and I'd be seriously worried what the country would end up like with them in charge.

What type of country do we want. Do we want a country where our politicians merely pander to high finance, or do we want a country where the well being of its citizens is its main priority ?
    Most people in the country are hurting, some more than others. Do you really believe FG are going to get us out of the mess we're in, or are they merely going to continue with the same, under a different guise ?
    Whilst a lot of people have reservations about SF, can you name one SF policy you disagree with ? :confused:

What type of country do we want. Do we want a country where our politicians merely pander to high finance, or do we want a country where the well being of its citizens is its main priority ?
    Most people in the country are hurting, some more than others. Do you really believe FG are going to get us out of the mess we're in, or are they merely going to continue with the same, under a different guise ?
    Whilst a lot of people have reservations about SF, can you name one SF policy you disagree with ? :confused:

I can name more than one (these are just some of the policies I have an issue with):
    - Bringing back Xmas bonus welfare payment
    - Further tax on assets over €1m
    - Upping the minimum wage
    - Upping welfare rates to even higher levels than 2010
    - Keeping min wage earners from paying any tax

All of this in our economic climate, absolutely insane. Easy for them to come out with all this fluff that looks great, when they know they won't have to implement it, and then can give out when FF/FG/Lab/whoever do not do so.

If you want to know why I'd vote anyone (incl. FF, and I certainly won't be voting FF) over SF, you can read this thread:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056162622

The list of reasons you give for not voting SF are the very reasons I would vote for them. SF are the only party that seem to care about the plight of those living on the margin of society. Most people associate SF with head bangers who would quickly impoverish the country. But look at our own Peadar Toibin : he comes from a good family, very well educated in economic matters, and is holding down a responsible position. I have every confidence that this man would not let the country slip any further down the tube, not caused by SF it should be noted. :pac:

We'll have to agree to disagree so. I find it difficult to grasp that a party can roll those proposals out when our economy simply cannot afford it. Our welfare spend vs. our tax take is ridiculous, and much as I hate the notion of cuts, I don't think there's any other realistic option. Talk of increasing welfare, reintroducing Xmas welfare bonus etc.. is mad talk imo and makes me just think that SF are living in fantasy land.

Their manifesto is largely aimed at the populist vote, stuff that sounds good to people who won't step back and think how those ideas might affect the country overall.

I think if SF got their way, there'd be even more people on the dole as their ideas would kill off some small businesses.

We're approaching the crux of the matter. I believe it to be important to seperate the 'bank debts' from the sovereign debt. I'm not a figures person, nor even an armchair economics expert, but I think that the current interest on the IMF/EU bail out, is equivalent to the Health and Education budget combined. Whilst the Government overspend is serious and needs to be curtailed, this is peanuts when compared to the banking crisis. Is it right that SW payments should be cut in order to bail out the banks ? Whilst I have no problem with SW cuts to get the country's finances in order, but asking tax payers to subsidize the banks' failures, which they did not cause in the first place, is the pits. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Twigster

Just over a week to go and not a single canvasser to the door in trim yet? Are people afraid to knock on doors or are they just hoping for the best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Twigster wrote: »
    Just over a week to go and not a single canvasser to the door in trim yet? Are people afraid to knock on doors or are they just hoping for the best?

One canvasser for Butler, that's been it at my door.

Only one question I have for the 2 teacher candidates, "Will you give up your teaching post if elected?"

Twigster wrote: »

McHugh called to ours, and we had canvassers for Butler (who rang the doorbell but wouldn't answer any questions on his behalf - go figure) and canvassers for poor ol' Johnny Brady (probably too busy worrying about where his next meal is coming from to call himself). :D Either that or he was checking out Dempsey's new gaff to see what luxuries he can spend his pension on.

Leaflets from Tobin and Yore. Nothing from any independents, WP, CSP or either Cassels or English.

Exact same story here in the centre of Navan. Not only are there no canvassers, but immediately the election was announced, I contacted all the political parties to find out what their policies are in relation to areas that are having an adverse effect on my life. Only 1 response from Sinn Fein. Does that say it all. Not only that, but approx 6 months ago, I contacted Damien English with a serious problem. His reply was that he could not do much in opposition. It looks like he is going to do even less in Government !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

I dropped into English's new office in Trim with a query a few months ago. - no response.
    He can go and sh1te now.

Not really spoilt for choice in Meath W. are we?

The country seems to be edging v slowly towards an overall FG majority.
    Heaven forbid !!!
    FG seem to be pinning their hopes on renegotiating the IMF/Eu bail out.
    As far as I can see, German tax payers are in no mood to pay for the Irish Banking Failures.
    We have few friends in Europe, due to our low Corporation Tax Rate.
    I suspect the euphoria of those who vote for FG will be short lived, should Enda and Co fail to get better terms.
    The prospect of Enda and Co failing in this has not been discussed at all. If we think things are bad now, I would rather not contemplate what will happen then ???????? :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

The following is the list of Candidates in Meath West :
    Ball, Stephen
    Neilstown, Bohermeen, Navan, Co. Meath
    Mining Employee
    Non – Party

Brady, Johnny
    Springville, Kilskyre, Kells, Co. Meath
    Public Representative
    Fianna Fáil

Butler, Ray
    7 Swift Court, Trim, Co. Meath
    County Cllr
    Fine Gael

Carolan, Ronan
    Boyne Cottage, Athlumney, Navan, Co. Meath
    Economic Advisor
    Non - Party

Cassells, Shane
    52 Oakleigh, Navan, Co. Meath
    Public Representative / Journalist
    Fianna Fáil

English, Damien
    Castlemartin, Navan, Co. Meath
    Public Representative
    Fine Gael

Irwin, Fiona
    Tobergregan, Garristown, Co. Dublin
    Medical Scientist
    The Green Party

MacMeanmain, Manus
    50 Páirc Glen Abhainn, An Bóthar Buí, Contae na Mí
    House Husband
    Comhar Críostaí – The Christian Solidarity Party

McDonagh, Seamus
    22 St Bridgets Terrace, Kells, Co. Meath
    Steel Fixer
    The Workers Party

McHugh, Jenny
    Laracor, Trim, Co. Meath
    School Principal
    The Labour Party

Stephens, Daithi
    Dunderry, Navan, Co. Meath
    Farmer
    Non – Party

Tóibín, Peadar
    123 Woodlands, Navan, Co. Meath
    Management Consultant
    Sinn Féin

Yore, Catherine
    The Rock, Rathendrick, Carnaross, Kells, Co. Meath
    Primary Teacher
    Fine Gael

Thanks for the list Jay Bee, I've removed these extra names:

Gerald Reilly
    Stephen Foley
    Seosamh Ó Raghaillaigh/Joe Reilly
    Pat Holton
    Susan Cromwell

Are they the people seconding each nomination or are they former candidates on the same party ticket?
    I've also broken it up to make it more easily legible.

For anyone interested in the geographic spread of our future representatives, I've made this in Google Maps (boundary is only an estimate)

Well done
    The list needed to be sorted out.
    Any chance you might get their email addresses as well, as there are a few candidates I still have been unable to contact ref their stand on various issues.
    While I'm at it, do you know that Damien English, has promised a shiny new hospital for Navan within 5 years.
    Not only that, but Fergus O'Dowd has promised a shiny new hospital for Drogheda within the same time frame.
    And to top it all FG are promising free medical care for everyone, and that to boot, without increasing taxes by one cent.
    No wonder they are flying ahead in the polls.
    An earlier contributor stated that they were having difficulty in accepting SF policies.
    Do you think that this is a credibility problem, for at the moment an awful lot of people believe in FG, or perhaps more to the point, want to believe FG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ndowling3

Well done
    The list needed to be sorted out.
    Any chance you might get their email addresses as well, as there are a few candidates I still have been unable to contact ref their stand on various issues.
    While I'm at it, do you know that Damien English, has promised a shiny new hospital for Navan within 5 years.
    Not only that, but Fergus O'Dowd has promised a shiny new hospital for Drogheda within the same time frame.
    And to top it all FG are promising free medical care for everyone, and that to boot, without increasing taxes by one cent.
    No wonder they are flying ahead in the polls.
    An earlier contributor stated that they were having difficulty in accepting SF policies.
    Do you think that this is a credibility problem, for at the moment an awful lot of people believe in FG, or perhaps more to the point, want to believe FG.

Fine Gael are not promising a shiny new hospital for Navan - they have committed to retaining the existing services in Our Lady's Hospital until a new Regional Hospital is built for the North East. There has been no committment from any of the candidates with regard to the location of this hospital that I am aware of.

LISTEN UP EVERYBODY, IT HAS NOW BEEN CONFIRMED, if the last contributor is correct, FG ARE NOT COMMITTED TO MAINTAINING HOSPITAL SERVICES IN NAVAN.

Jay Bee, As you confrimed in an earlier post and as D English said to me, Fg are committed to the Super H at the site / area proposed by Dempsey, therefore they probably won't commit to continuing services at Navan.
    Surley in order to get the Super H you have to wind down the Navan hospital?

Anybody care to text D English at the number he left on the pens he gave out for clarification? I will if you want?

Did the Cassells campaign get off the ground at all, or was he just a paper candidate? Absolutely no sign of him at all around Navan, no mention of him in the Chronicle or anywhere else in the media. Got a newsletter through the door about 3 weeks ago and not a sign of himself or his canvass team since. Who's the campaign manager, and have they any plans to actually canvass. Or have they abandoned....?

Fiskar wrote: »
    Jay Bee, As you confrimed in an earlier post and as D English said to me, Fg are committed to the Super H at the site / area proposed by Dempsey, therefore they probably won't commit to continuing services at Navan.
    Surley in order to get the Super H you have to wind down the Navan hospital?

Anybody care to text D English at the number he left on the pens he gave out for clarification? I will if you want?
    I'm not an expert in these matters, but who is it up to to make the final decision, about the location of the super duper new hospital for the North East ?