Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athletics Wicklow Fit4Life 2011

• 23-01-2011 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

The Fit4Life league kicks off again this week - is there better value around? €5 per race, nominal prizes for the top 3 in each category.

Date: 26th Jan
    Where: Greystones
    Register: @ Shoreline (Charlesland Track)
    Time: 19:30
    Distance: 2 Miles
    Surface: Footpath & Cycle Path

Full list here: http://www.slicualann.com/fit4life-league.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

For anyone planning on doing all 10 races you can enter tomorrow night for €40, saving 20%, not a bad deal even if you miss a couple, there's nothing to loose.

Good turn out tonight, 88 took to the line on a windy evening which seemed to have everyone's times down a bit.
    I was happy with my 11:35, was planning between 11:30 - 11:40 with Dungarvan to consider at the weekend.
    Results will be up on the website in a while http://www.slicualann.com/
    Next one on the 17th of Feb in Rathdrum.

Round 2 next Thurs.

Date: 17th Feb
    Where: Rathdrum
    Register: @ Avonmore FC
    Time: 19:30
    Cost: €5
    Distance: 3 Miles (3 laps of the Greenane Triangle, for anyone that knows the area)
    Surface: Road

Full list here: http://www.slicualann.com/fit4life-league.html

Reminder that this is tomorrow evening and the course has been lenghtened to make it 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭runrabbit

Is the football club up beside the hospital or am I thinking of something else?

It's good that it's been extended to 5k - gives me a starting point for the year after a few months of injury :rolleyes:

runrabbit wrote: »
    Is the football club up beside the hospital or am I thinking of something else?

Yep, about 300mts up on the left.

60 out tonight for this one on a challenging course, well done to all who ran. Results are up now: http://www.slicualann.com/uploads/6/1/5/2/6152550/rathdrum.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭In the Woods

4 times going up that hill...rough!! Found it hard to pace it but a good race all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Really enjoyed this, thanks to all involved, tough but memorable course & good pre & post-race atmosphere.

Thanks to the organizers for a great race. I enjoyed every minute of it...which probably means I wasn't trying hard enough!

Due to the clash with the Gaol Break 10k in Wicklow, the committee have decided to cancel this round and an alternative event will be added in due course.

Reminder that this is on next Weds.
    Format is usually 3-4 time based races depending on numbers, sub6, sub7, sub8, >8 for example.
    Also trying to organise a 5 min pacer for anyone looking to put a tick in the box against the "Big 8 Challenge"

Race 4: Wed 20th April
    Distance: "Mile Challenge"
    Venue: Shoreline Sports Park, Charlesland, Greystones,
    Time: 7pm Registration, 7.30 Start
    Entry Fee: €5
    Hosted by Greystones AC

http://www.slicualann.com/fit4life-league.html

Any questions - let me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Cheers for that beepbeep, I'll see you there. Don't even think I'd break a 7 minute mile right now but sure we'll find out.

I was talked into this last night after the county road race and was all geared up for it - unfortunately I didn't realise it was this coming Wednesday, and I can't make it :(. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Slightly off topic, but anyone know if results are up from the county road race yet?? I forgot to stop the watch at the end and want to see what time I did!!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Slightly off topic, but anyone know if results are up from the county road race yet?? I forgot to stop the watch at the end and want to see what time I did!!

Not yet - this is where they're usually posted... but generally after a bit of a delay http://www.athleticswicklow.com/results/results.html

The fit4life results are always up on the sli cualann page very quickly

Some people have asked me the exact location - here you go.
    Shoreline Sports Pk

Take junction 11 off the N11 heading south from Dublin, then follow the road until you hit the main roundabout for Kilcoole, take the 2nd exit (12 O'Clock) and then take the 2nd exit (3 O'Clock) at the next roundabout to enter the park.

5621632882_53112819af_b.jpg

Timmaay wrote: »

Attached - nice PB, I lost a second :(
    Masters Men very competitive, 6 of the top 10 Masters, 17:12 for 3rd M40 and 3 Masters sub 16:44.

Just giving this a little bump - the Boston Marathon was run @ 4:41 pace today - anyone got that in them for 1 mile?

Ehh, think that 4.41 is beyond me at the minute, but even still, I've got to do the Colours track and field (its trials for the intervarsity team!!), so can't do the mile challenge. Which is a massive pity, there aren't enough track events in Wicklow I think, and this one is always great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

looking forward to this......never ran a one mile race on the track, have done it in club races on the road alright but will be interesting to see how fast we can go on a fast flat surface.....it's always crazy to think about those guys running 4.xx miles the whole way in a marathon eh!!:eek:

http://www.slicualann.com/uploads/6/1/5/2/6152550/mile_challenge.pdf They were very quick to get the results up, fair play! Pity I missed this race!

Race 5: Wed 11th May
    Distance: 3k Road
    Venue: Leitrim Lounge, Wicklow Town [52.982963,-6.042309]
    Hosted by Inbhear Dee AC

Take the Port Relief Road (left hand turn at lights) about 1k after Rathnew on the Wicklow Town Road. Follow that road for about 2.5k until you see the Leitrim Lounge.
    Course I believe is an out and back, back along the Port Relief Road, so will have a short hill after 1k, but should be pretty quick.

5689763147_35facefe89_z.jpg

Heard that this maybe upgraded to a 5k - more later

Yep thats right, I'll get a course map up later this evening hopefully.

Ok bit more info:

Fit4life league Race5 on this Wed in Wicklow town. Race distance is 5K! Registration in the Murrough free carpark at 7pm. Racestart on the road outside it.

If you have already registered for the fit4life 2011 league, please check this list http://www.slicualann.com/uploads/6/1/5/2/6152550/sli_cualaann_fit4life_start_sheets.pdf , and note your number, it will help speed up registration!

Mapmyrun course map!

Course is out and back, and is a relatively flat fast course. Race entry fee is only 5euros! Very good value!

Well done to Timmaay and team tonight for a very well organised event and a great turnout.
    Nice challenging course with the wind adding an additional variable, so times were down a little, happy with my 18:05, was planning around 18:20, but picked it up on the last downhill k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Couldn't agree more, nice course on a road I never knew existed. Well done to all concerned, thanks.

I did not plan on running in the race at all (previous experience has thought me that trying to organize and run in a race is a bad bad move ha), but my normal training plan of session Tue and Thur got changed to a session on wed that I was going to miss anyway, and everything seems well in place for the race so I decided I would give it a shot.

I did my usual, push out hard at the start ha! Stuck with the lead group till 3.5km, at which I was still on for a 16.30ish finish, but the final hill at 3.5k took alot out of me, and I got dropped, and had a lonely 1500 finish with no-one to push me, came in in 16.55. Not too bad a time considering the headwind on the way out, but I had abit still in the bag, and am annoyed I didn't stick with the lead group abit longer, mentally all I needed to do was stick in till 800 to go and then let adrenaline kick in ha (hindsight is great and its easy to say that now :P).

Weather held up perfectly, which was very lucky, considering we had registration outside, and had no gazebo if the heavens did bucket down!

Round 6 tomorrow evening

Date Thur 23rd June
    Distance: 2miles Road,
    Venue: Roundwood, An Tochar GAA,
    Time: 7pm Registration, 7.30 Start.
    Hosted by Roundwood AC

The next event is on the 13th July
    Distance: 2miles Road,
    Venue: Greystones, Shoreline Sports Park (see post 18 above for directions)

Full details: www.slicualann.com/fit4life-league.html

A little bump for anyone looking for a leg loosener for the weekend.

Great evening for a race and a good battle at the front from my marshalling point with 600 to go, with Timmaay outkicking Pre on the uphill finish.
    http://www.slicualann.com/results.html

Date Sun 21st Aug
    Distance: 3 Miles Trail
    Venue: Devil's Glen

Time: 9:30am Registration, 10:00am Start.
    Hosted by Sli Cualann AC

All proceeds being donated to Sunbeam House
    Sunbeam House Services provides a range of supports to adults with intellectual disabilities. We aim to empower people with the necessary skills to live full and satisfying lives as equal citizens of their local communities.

Annoyed that I'm going to have to give this race a miss, on my break at the minute! Always a lovely scenic course!

Here's the link to the course as per last year: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/57412196

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭My Thoughts

Do you know what the terrain is like? Would I get away with non trail shoes? Thanks!

I was up there marking the course this evening, it's bit mucky as can be expected, but you will get away with regular runners, only a couple of turns to be mindful of and the majority is on the walking trail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭My Thoughts

Thanks - assuming I can find someone to mind the kids, I should make it. I'll be the guy slip sliding huffing and puffing at the very back!

Nice morning for a run, got a little worried when the main gate wasn't opened at 9, but it opened shortly afterwards <phew>.
    Few pix here, results should be up this afternoon on www.slicualann.com

Round 9

Date: Thur 8th Sept
    Distance: 5k tarmac path
    Venue: Shanganagh Park, Shankill
    Time: 7pm Registration, 7.30 Start.
    Entry Fee: €5 (Prizes for the top 3 in each category)
    Hosted by: Bray Runners AC

https://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=240203942691595
    http://www.slicualann.com/fit4life-league.html

This race has PB written all over it. Highly recommended; sadly I won't be running it myself this year but I'll be there to cheer ye all on!

A little bump on this one for anyone with a tempo / threshold run in the plan this week and would like to do it company or just looking for a blast.
    2 mins from the Bray exit off the M50/M11.
    Last years results: http://www.athleticswicklow.com/results/fit4life_10/round9_080910.html

Great turn out last night with 116 taking part in ideal conditions, which led to quite a few PB's.
    Results here

Next one in the calendar is a trail run on Nov 20th in Avondale and we are also trying to squeeze in a mid-week mile under the floodlights for anyone that still needs to nail a 1M time this year for the big 8, so watch this space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭In the Woods

Shanganagh's a great course for a 5km. Hit a PB again this year. Great turn-out and, as always with the Fit 4 life races, well run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Shanganagh's a great course for a 5km. Hit a PB again this year. Great turn-out and, as always with the Fit 4 life races, well run.
    First race last night, great organization. Tough is not the word for it .190 avg heart rate with a 197 max. 21 mins, Might stick to the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Great results. Well done Pronator on that 2nd. Not bad for a man not doing speed work ;)

We are having an extra Fit4Life race, on Wed 12th October, to make up for one that was cancelled earlier in the year! Its going to be a mile dash, on the Greystones track!! I really enjoyed my middle distance track season this summer, so can't wait for this race!

Most the info about it is on the facebook page: (https://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=197549466980895&ref=ts), There will be afew different grades run, sub 5.30/sub 6 etc etc, and the prizes for the night are from Amphibian King!

Quick reminder of this race! Not too many track races this time of year so heres your chance!