Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rubberbandits in NUIG

• 23-01-2011 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭

With the news that the Rubberbandits are playing on "student week" at the college and apparently they're booked for the Arts Ball 2011, are the r'bandits just going to take up residence in Galway altogether? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

This reminds me of a funny story from last night. Met a girl in Apache Pizza at 3am who claimed to be the cousin of the Rubberbandits. It was pretty convincing :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭BornToBe?

Cool story bro....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Shur it's only a short gallop up from Limerick for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

This reminds me of a funny story from last night. Met a girl in Apache Pizza at 3am who claimed to be the cousin of the Rubberbandits. It was pretty convincing :cool:
    Apache are open at 3am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Yeah, friend of mine is one of the Arts Ball organisers, she's really chuffed the RB are coming down for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭niamhocxox

Does anyone know where they are playing? In the college bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭hokeypokey

I know that they are playing during rag week and I think they are playing Monroe's live at the arts ball afterparty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

The Black Box March 2nd? Or it that a different thing??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

they're defo playing for gmit rag week too on the 21st to the 24th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

So is the Black Box gig a Student Rag week type thing?
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 JeanPierre

Here i heard that the rubberbandits are going to have a barrier put up in front of them when they are playing... pure mad like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 XChloeXx

JeanPierre wrote: »
    Here i heard that the rubberbandits are going to have a barrier put up in front of them when they are playing... pure mad like...

Oh no and there was me thinking i'd meet them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

JeanPierre wrote: »
    Shur that's to protect the crowd from them, not the other way around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 JeanPierre

Shur that's to protect the crowd from them, not the other way around...

Na, i meant its pure mad how big an event the arts ball is if they have to the liek of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Talk about conforming to one's stereotype...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 stargirl2k8

Ah they are everywhere this year. Every few minutes on Iradio they seem to advertising a different gig for them. If they are up for the Arts Ball, GMIT Rag week and our "College" week, the novelty will be worn off altogether again we get to see the at the Black Box!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Ah they are everywhere this year. Every few minutes on Iradio they seem to advertising a different gig for them. If they are up for the Arts Ball, GMIT Rag week and our "College" week, the novelty will be worn off altogether again we get to see the at the Black Box!

Well I've seen them live and they're hardly a one trick pony (or even horse). They're genuinely funny guys and seeing as they've been around for about 10 years or so I think they will be around for a while more.

Saw them live in the Roisin and I can honestly say that their other stuff is funnier than 'horse outside'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭whatsyourquota

Just shows what a shower of idiots our country has become.

so everyone knows one song and a few guides to... tbh they are not funny not witty and will last about 6 months.

they are charging FIFTEEN euro in UCC what a JOKE and 10e here. WHO THE F$$$ do they think they are???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

so everyone knows one song and a few guides to... tbh they are not funny not witty and will last about 6 months.

they are charging FIFTEEN euro in UCC what a JOKE and 10e here. WHO THE F$$$ do they think they are???

I agree, it is basically one song that everyone knows....and it won't last that long

But 10 quid for a nights entertainment aint bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Good god man how can you be so embarrassingly off the mark. They ve been around for about ten years you loon they've a full album of songs [besides Horse outside] one of their songs [Bab of Glue] has over 1 million views and another [Willie O Dea] has almost 600,000. They've now gone international you plonk... 15/10 euros man? bands with a tenth of there popularity come over here and charge more than that. Get with it for God s sake, that s a desperately ill informed remark.

I agree, it is basically one song that everyone knows....and it won't last that long

But 10 quid for a nights entertainment aint bad...

Good god man how can you be so embarrassingly off the mark. They ve been around for about ten years you loon they've a full album of songs [besides Horse outside] one of their songs [Bag of Glue] has over 1 million views and another [Willie O Dea] has almost 600,000. They've now gone international you plonk... Get with it for God s sake, that s a desperately ill informed remark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

They're ok, but not 'great'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Christ if Maynooth can get Example, Trinity can get Katy B, what does it speak for our university when the best we can do is the Rubberbandits? They might be a good warm up act, certainly not a main one.

dmcg90 wrote: »
    Christ if Maynooth can get Example, Trinity can get Katy B, what does it speak for our university when the best we can do is the Rubberbandits? They might be a good warm up act, certainly not a main one.

They do a savage live show.

Dannyriver wrote: »
    They do a savage live show.

Calvin Harris DJ set in the black box - Rag Week 2010 > Rubberbands set in the college bar - Rag Week 2011. Is Jedward playing next years? If we're on such a slide it could probably happen.

To put it in perspective, Rubberbandits are playing a teenage disco in Letterkenny tomorrow night http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=197580086934942&index=1

Is that the best the college can offer?

Calvin Harris DJ set in the black box - Rag Week 2010 > Rubberbands set in the college bar - Rag Week 2011. Is Jedward playing next years? If we're on such a slide it could probably happen.

To put it in perspective, Rubberbandits are playing a teenage disco in Letterkenny tomorrow night http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=197580086934942&index=1

Is that the best the college can offer?

Rubberbandits have sold out every venue they've done around the country in the last month including the tripod in Dublin this Sat night and they've every right to play a teenage disco. [What s wrong with teenagers fair play to the lads for including them in the tour] Go to the gig old man and see what you think, if you drop your guard for a few mins you might even enjoy yourself.

I love the 'Bandits stuff but I wouldn't go and see them at a college gig or anything, it would just be full of twats who heard about them after Horse Outside shouting out catch-phrases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭daniel91

But is the Rubberbandits it for College Week ? There's only over a week left and nothings been annouced which makes it hard to believe that there will be a 'big name' act annouced. I'm sure the bandits will put on a great gig, buts it's a bit of a dissapointment compared to last year were there was The Corona's and Calvin Harris...but i'm still hoping for someone else to be confirmed during the week but doesn't seem likely.

Everything the college does for Rag Week is pants anyway, make your own fun.

Wit all due repects a man who uses a cliche like 'pants' to describe something undesirable is hardly going to make his own fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

With all due respect, that's possibly the stupidest post I've seen in a while.
    And that's saying something.

Maybe the college realised it couldn't compete with people drinking in their houses/town.

Its pretty sad to have over the last three years the nightclubs in town close (daytime wise) for rag week and then for the entertainment to just get worse. Fair play to the lads for the work they're put in, you'd have thought with the Entertainments Soc this year it might have improved slightly but obviously it hasn't.

Rubberbandits have sold out every venue they've done around the country in the last month including the tripod in Dublin this Sat night and they've every right to play a teenage disco. [What s wrong with teenagers fair play to the lads for including them in the tour] Go to the gig old man and see what you think, if you drop your guard for a few mins you might even enjoy yourself.

Danny, you seem like such a die-hard fan (even to know all of that) that it doesn't matter what I say you'll just disagree with it. Either that of you work for the college bar or something.

Oh, and yes, of course Dannyriver, I'll pay €10 in to reconfirm my suspicions, wise choice don't you think? :rolleyes:

Maybe the college realised it couldn't compete with people drinking in their houses/town.

Its pretty sad to have over the last three years the nightclubs in town close (daytime wise) for rag week and then for the entertainment to just get worse. Fair play to the lads for the work they're put in, you'd have thought with the Entertainments Soc this year it might have improved slightly but obviously it hasn't.

Danny, you seem like such a die-hard fan (even to know all of that) that it doesn't matter what I say you'll just disagree with it. Either that of you work for the college bar or something.

Oh, and yes, of course Dannyriver, I'll pay €10 in to reconfirm my suspicions, wise choice don't you think? :rolleyes:

I agree very wise :)

Ficheall wrote: »
    With all due respect, that's possibly the stupidest post I've seen in a while.
    And that's saying something.

Cheers ;)

I agree very wise :)

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=sarcasm