Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone tempted to apply for the Irish Come Dine with Me?

• 23-01-2011 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭

Reckon there'll be a lot of drink involved in all the episodes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

If you say so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Well, reckon not say :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭seabre

I did apply for it ---- Now I'm Shi**ing myself incase I actually get picked! I am addicted to that show, really love it and I'm not bad in the kitchen although I have been known to have an off day and absolutely everything go wrong.

As regards the drink - I agree with you it may be a generalistation but I do think the Irish have a different attitude to drink than the British and therfore chances are there'd be a lot more drunkeness to be expected. Sure I know myself I'd be getting rightly stuck into the sauce if I was anyway nervous and as I have said already - if I did get picked I'd be extremely nervous!!!

Ahhhh - What have I done!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

For a second there I misread it and thought you were inviting me for dinner.. Which wouldnt have been surprising with the way you have been outrageously flirting with me on the LLS thread recently..

I'd be very reluctant to go on any of those reality shows.. They edit it to suit themselves, not to give a fair impression of the guests... When does it kick off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

You'd want to be some posh knob to apply for that. Being gay probably helps, too.

For a second there I misread it and thought you were inviting me for dinner.. Which wouldnt have been surprising with the way you have been outrageously flirting with me on the LLS thread recently..

I'd be very reluctant to go on any of those reality shows.. They edit it to suit themselves, not to give a fair impression of the guests... When does it kick off?

The cheek! I haven't even been around for the lls for a while lately so I think you must have me mixed up with someone else :p

Not sure, I was watching the omnibus on tv3 this afternoon and at it each break they were advertising how to apply etc.

Seabre - have you just completed application form or gone through any other type of audition process etc? I hope you get picked :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Suspiria79 wrote: »
    You'd want to be some posh knob to apply for that. Being gay probably helps, too.

Breaking News: Only gay posh knobs like eating food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think that someone would end up getting stabbed in the eye with a fork, and the Guards would arrive just in time for dessert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

df1985 wrote: »
    Breaking News: Only gay posh knobs like eating food.

With cameras around in front of strangers and giving them marks out of ten for their snazzy upper class dishes

Yes - Amdub - I put my details into I think it was TV3 website and they emailed me back a form which I completed and sent off.

Have had no word back and that was about 2 weeks ago - so maybe they've dismissed it or lost it - I hope / I pray!!!

But seriously I don't know what I'd do if they called and said they wanted me to audition - Its the sort of thing I'd love to have the nerve to do but just don't know if I'd have the guts to go through with it!

Suspiria79 wrote: »
    With cameras around in front of strangers and giving them marks out of ten for their snazzy upper class dishes

Its not always Snazzy Upper class dishes - infact more often not! Personally if I were to go on it I'd love to cook something fairly ordinary - just do it very well!

Seabre, snubbed by TV3 :( Would you reckon they thought you were too mad or not mad enough?

What are the conditions when you go in to something like that? Do you have any control over the editing? Do you get paid?

I Know snubbed befor ethey even met me - my personality not even appealing whilst not in person!!!:eek:

They don't pay you apart form the prize obviously - but there's a lot of disclaimer type appendices about tv3 copyright etc etc - actually think it was ITV.

I'd say my prob was I was prob too middle of the road they go for extreme types ie v dull or v eccentric - I suppose I ca take comfort in my normality!;)

seabre wrote: »
    I'd say my prob was I was prob too middle of the road they go for extreme types ie v dull or v eccentric - I suppose I ca take comfort in my normality!;)

Why dont you put up your entry form here, we can "sex it up" for you...

Yes - Amdub - I put my details into I think it was TV3 website and they emailed me back a form which I completed and sent off.

Have had no word back and that was about 2 weeks ago - so maybe they've dismissed it or lost it - I hope / I pray!!!

But seriously I don't know what I'd do if they called and said they wanted me to audition - Its the sort of thing I'd love to have the nerve to do but just don't know if I'd have the guts to go through with it!

You still could be called.

Oh go for it! You sound like you would like to do it!

Why dont you put up your entry form here, we can "sex it up" for you...

Yeah - I can imagine - I really could not handle the pressure of living up to your portrayals!:D

Just watching it here on c4 and the cameras have followe a contestant into the bathroom whilst they get ready!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek:

With regards to my application and in the words of two very wise men - withdraw, withdraw,withdraw!!!!:eek:

Yeah - I can imagine - I really could not handle the pressure of living up to your portrayals!:D

No I would be thinking that you should make modest changes, where you had under "dislikes".. instead of having
    dislikes: Jazz Music, Romatic Comedies, Smoking

change to
    dislikes: black people, white people, jews, gentiles, catholics, prods, children, people older than children..

that would certainly attract a bit of attention to you

Just watching it here on c4 and the cameras have followe a contestant into the bathroom whilst they get ready!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek:

With regards to my application and in the words of two very wise men - withdraw, withdraw,withdraw!!!!:eek:

Ha ha :)

You'll be grand!

Just thinking Seabre, could you imagine if you arrived at the house for the first night, and there's Jim Corr and Christopher Monckton sitting in two of the chairs.. :eek::eek::eek::eek: And like you said, it's those sort of people with extreme / confrontational characteristics that will be chosen to make the show entertaining.

Withdraw! Withdraw! Withdraw!

Just thinking Seabre, could you imagine if you arrived at the house for the first night, and there's Jim Corr and Christopher Monckton sitting in two of the chairs.. :eek::eek::eek::eek: And like you said, it's those sort of people with extreme / confrontational characteristics that will be chosen to make the show entertaining.

Exactly what I'm talking about re the nerves - for some strange reason when I was filling in the form I kept thinking - Sure wouldn't it be great to have a bit of craic, meet new people - maybe even win a few quid , but there's just no way you could prepare yourself for being stuck with people like that for 5 nights a week and not get pissed and make a total a - hole outta yourself!

Don't make any rash decisions just yet. Sure wait and see if you get called etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭kiersm

I luv the programme but don't think i would enter could't handle getting stuck with a gang of knobs for the wk and pretending to like them. Seabre good luck with it and i hope you get picked. Let us no so we can watch out for you;)

kiersm wrote: »
    I luv the programme but don't think i would enter could't handle getting stuck with a gang of knobs for the wk and pretending to like them. Seabre good luck with it and i hope you get picked. Let us no so we can watch out for you;)

Yes - Don't worry I'll keep you all posted !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

I wonder what "celebrities" they'll have for the special edition?

I'm guessing johnny logan could be a contender!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 WilburWild

I did apply for it ---- Now I'm Shi**ing myself incase I actually get picked!

Let us know if u get on. Or even an update on the selection process would be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I'd never be brave enough! I couldn't take the merciless editing and voiceover, I just know they'd make me look like a nutjob! I've always wondered if people do Come Dine With Me and just completely take the p*ss. Like, fill their house with sex-toys for the week and pretend to be really into fire-breathing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

Wahtever about having people over for dinner and it being filmed, that could be worse. But the fact that the other contestants all go rummaging through your knicker drawer and ripping the p*ss out of your stuff, I couldn't handle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

magentas wrote: »
    I wonder what "celebrities" they'll have for the special edition?

I'm guessing johnny logan could be a contender!:D

That would be amazing. We can only live in hope! :D

Wonder would they go to Oslo to film him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

cosmic wrote: »
    Wahtever about having people over for dinner and it being filmed, that could be worse. But the fact that the other contestants all go rummaging through your knicker drawer and ripping the p*ss out of your stuff, I couldn't handle!

My sister and I both got invite letters, asking us to participate. Not a chance I would do it, even though my friend offered me her house to use so that anything embarrassing found in the knicker drawer would not be mine! :D The worst part is the voice-over. You can't win no matter what you say with that guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I'd definitely apply for it. Won't they be surprised when I serve up a bag of chips and a battered sausage.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I was considering it but my husband was threatening me with divorce. Seabre if you're called do it, it'll be good fun. I have been on TV before and the filming etc is the best craic. The worst thing about it is (and the main reason I dropped the idea of this) that everytime it's shown you'll have people coming up to you that you hardly know saying "I saw ya on the telly." CDWM is repeated a lot!

Latest part of the CDWM saga! - I was at work today and my Hubbie called to say a Lady from CDWM called and wanted to talk to me - he told her I was at work and asked if she wanted me to call back. She said not to worry she would call again.

I'm off work for the next few days and have decided that if she gets me on the phone I will go ahead with the application and if not so be it - I'll leave it to the good hands of Fate!

We'll see........................................................:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Latest part of the CDWM saga! - I was at work today and my Hubbie called to say a Lady from CDWM called and wanted to talk to me - he told her I was at work and asked if she wanted me to call back. She said not to worry she would call again.

I'm off work for the next few days and have decided that if she gets me on the phone I will go ahead with the application and if not so be it - I'll leave it to the good hands of Fate!

We'll see........................................................:confused:

What have you got to lose go for it girl and have a ball. You'll be eating out for free for 4 nights:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭UCD AFC

Best of luck seabre, hope you get on - will have boards cheering you on! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

seabre that's so exciting!!! congrats on the call back. have the phone on standby at all times!

oh you can be our little mole for inside info on CDWM!:D

best of luck and let us know how you get on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭benagain

love that show but alas i cant boil water

benagain wrote: »
    love that show but alas i cant boil water

You'd be perfect so. I think the worst cooks are the best entertainment.

Just wondering lads, is there any minimum standard of cooking that you must possess before being chosen for the competition? I mean what's to stop somebody undercooking the chicken and half killing everybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Just wondering lads, is there any minimum standard of cooking that you must possess before being chosen for the competition? I mean what's to stop somebody undercooking the chicken and half killing everybody?

Signed disclaimers probably! :D

I was wondering this myself the other day, as I was watching an old episode where someone claimed to be sick after eating seafood.

Malari wrote: »
    Signed disclaimers probably! :D

hmm possibly, or maybe independently supervised by a qualified chef.. Cos I was thinking, if I had been round Amdub's on the Monday and thought she'd done something to piss me off, I would be lacing the pasta sauce with laxative ... that's how I roll..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭benagain

Das Kitty wrote: »
    You'd be perfect so. I think the worst cooks are the best entertainment.
    not me i picked up the kettle an the bottom half stayed on the counter i honestly thought id broke it then the misses said wtf an u doin in the kitchen , an i said when did we get that so ill pass on the cookin stuff tyvm:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

On the C4 show last year a contestant ordered in from her local restaurant and pretended it was her own creation. I think she won btw. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭UCD AFC

Yeah she won, they hadn't a clue. She put a fish in the oven to replicate 'cooking smells' aswell.

They had a nice meal though! :D

Seabre, what would you cook if you were chosen?

Well I've had no word from the Lady from CDWM today so I'm pretty much resigned to that being that!

If I had been picked I was thinking of doing roasted tomatoe and mozzerella tartlets topped with caramelized onions for starters, either fillet of beef or beef wellington for mains, and was thinking of doing either profiter roles or a medley of mini deserts. Either that or an asian inspired menu, more buffet style with Crab Rangoons, Scallion Pancakes , Nice Hot Curry etc etc.

Anyway looks like it wasn't meant to be! I have went from really nervous to disappointment in 24 hours!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

Well I've had no word from the Lady from CDWM today so I'm pretty much resigned to that being that!

If I had been picked I was thinking of doing roasted tomatoe and mozzerella tartlets topped with caramelized onions for starters, either fillet of beef or beef wellington for mains, and was thinking of doing either profiter roles or a medley of mini deserts. Either that or an asian inspired menu, more buffet style with Crab Rangoons, Scallion Pancakes , Nice Hot Curry etc etc.

Can I come around to your house for dinner?! That sounds delicious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Right, everyone over to seabre's house! :)

On a side note, anyone watching the new series on Channel 4 at the moment? I honestly think its the funniest one yet - the commentary and the editing are pin sharp and absolutely hilarious. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭kiersm

Yea i am and i've noticed there is always one bitchy person in each group, this weeks its the blond one & last week it was the horrible mean hairdresser dude. You just luv to hate them :D