Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

training shoes and racing shoes brands-what do you wear???

• 21-01-2011 4:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭

I would like to see what brands of shoes people are using !!!

I am using Mizuno and brooks in training and in Road races Mizuno and Asics.
    Trail shoes are Brooks Cascadia and Mizuno harrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Mizuno Wave Inspire 6 (most of the time), Nike Lunarglide (when the Wave Inspires are drying out), Asics DS-Trainer 15 (speedwork)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Nike Lunarglides for most of my training training. (I have a pair of Lunarswifts that i use for the odd recovery run).

I wear Nike lunarraces for racing.

For track work I would either wear a pair of Brooks Xc spikes or Asics DS trainers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I would like to see what brands of shoes people are using !!!

I am using Mizuno and brooks in training and in Road races Mizuno and Asics.
    Trail shoes are Brooks Cascadia and Mizuno harrier.

Runs of 8M+: Adidas Response Cushion / NB768
    Easy casual runs: NB1061 (nearing EOL) and Lunar Swift
    Tempo / Track: Adizero Tempo
    Traid: Adidas Kanadia
    Racing: <10k Brooks ST4 or T5, >10k Adizero Tempo, Adidas XCS Spikes

Want to try a pair of Waveriders as I have not worn Mizuno in 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Training of all formats, 5k & 10K races - Mizuno Inspire 7 (was 6,4 & 3 prior).
    Trail - Mizuno Cabrakan

Would love to try Asics DS racer, but want to get a good bit lighter and faster first.

Training of all formats, 5k & 10K races - Mizuno Inspire 7 (was 6,4 & 3 prior).
    Trail - Mizuno Cabrakan

Would love to try Asics DS racer, but want to get a good bit lighter and faster first.

How does the 7 compare to the 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

I started getting a few niggles in the 6 so went back to my 3's, by far my favourite of them all to date.

Am 2 months in the 7 and so far so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Brooks Green Silence for everything - did the adidas half and the Amsterdam marathon and all the training in them last year.

I think they're discontinued now but I've since bought a couple of pairs and would buy another pair or two if I saw anywhere still stocking them! Haven't worn out the first pair yet though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

forgot to mention which shoes I wear ie Mizuno=rider and brooks =ghost
    the new Inspire 7 and rider 14 updates are: ap+ lighter, more responsive midsole, improved dynamo motion fit, lateral panel for better hold,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Asics GT-2150's for me. I'm not into running enough that I've started buying different runners for different surfaces and training sessions :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Nike whore here. Lunar Mariah (basically lunar racers) for training and racing. Have Nike mayflys that I have raced in but the mariahs are as light so don't bother now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

I only do 20-30km a week, and so far only done 10K races, all in ASICS Kayanos. THey are grand, but will be interested in trying different shoes next time.

I am really interested in knowing why some of you wear different shoes for training and racing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Wore Nike LunarGlide for training and first two marathons - they have stopped doing in favour of new ( and more expensive !) LunarGlide 2.

G

huskerdu wrote: »
    I only do 20-30km a week, and so far only done 10K races, all in ASICS Kayanos. THey are grand, but will be interested in trying different shoes next time.

I am really interested in knowing why some of you wear different shoes for training and racing.

I keep my Mizuno riders and brooks ghost for regular road running or on grass when not too mucky.
    The trail shoes are for my saturday hill sessions and when the under foot conditions are bad.

Race shoes or perfromance shoes depending what suits are for races.they weigh alot less in weight.

regarding my shoe choice-I under pronate/supinate so need a shoe that is soft and flexible to encourgae my foot to roll in unlike most people who need soem type of support.
    Racing shoes coming in both cushioned and support types.
    Trail shoes also do but its not as important on the trails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Runs of 8M+: Adidas Response Cushion / NB768
    Easy casual runs: NB1061 (nearing EOL) and Lunar Swift
    Tempo / Track: Adizero Tempo
    Traid: Adidas Kanadia
    Racing: <10k Brooks ST4 or T5, >10k Adizero Tempo, Adidas XCS Spikes

Want to try a pair of Waveriders as I have not worn Mizuno in 15 years.

what is the cushioning like in the adizero tempo? im thinking of getting them as my next training shoe, might be a bit on the light side for general training though, any opinion on this?

at the moment i wear mizuno warerider 13 and inspire 6 for training and race in adizero mana's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I have two pairs on the go at the moment but looking at getting another few pairs, any suggestions for a slight over pronator? I like the Kayanos but they are a heavy enough shoe so something lighter would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

seanynova wrote: »
    what is the cushioning like in the adizero tempo? im thinking of getting them as my next training shoe, might be a bit on the light side for general training though, any opinion on this?

at the moment i wear mizuno warerider 13 and inspire 6 for training and race in adizero mana's

I find them great, nice balance between support and weight and reasonably priced too. They're not super light, but feel lighter than they are - if that makes sense. I got them after a conversation with the guys in Sub4 and they're great for knocking out tempo runs and I use them on the track now instead of flats - and have had no tight calves after sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Mizuno Waverider 13: 10.5oz
    Adizero Tempo: 9.5oz
    Mizunos are generally quite light. I really like the Precisions, which are lighter again than the Waveriders. I picked up a pair of Mizuno Musha 2s which are incredibly light, but sadly I bought a pair that was too small (never buy training shoes a couple of hours after getting off a transatlantic flight, when you're feet have either swelled or contracted :().

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I find them great, nice balance between support and weight and reasonably priced too. They're not super light, but feel lighter than they are - if that makes sense. I got them after a conversation with the guys in Sub4 and they're great for knocking out tempo runs and I use them on the track now instead of flats - and have had no tight calves after sessions.

Mizuno Waverider 13: 10.5oz
    Adizero Tempo: 9.5oz
    Mizunos are generally quite light. I really like the Precisions, which are lighter again than the Waveriders. I picked up a pair of Mizuno Musha 2s which are incredibly light, but sadly I bought a pair that was too small (never buy training shoes a couple of hours after getting off a transatlantic flight, when you're feet have either swelled or contracted :().

thanks for the help lads. as i race in the adizero mana's, im thinking of keeping it consistant with the adidas for all training...but i do like the mizunos also, next pair will either be tempo or inspire 7's id say.

the waveriders feel nice and light, i like that about them. i see that the new tempo 4s are heavier than the recent model by 1.1oz @ 10.6oz, not sure why, they look very similar but small description change.

New Tempos:
    http://www.shopadidas.com/product/index.jsp?productId=4477637

Old Tempos:
    http://www.shopadidas.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3725980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Nike structure triax for everything. Mental the amount of runners some people have.
    Im looking for an alterative for a mild overpronator if anyone has any suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭opus

Asics GT2150's for everything although I do have a shiny pair of the newer GT2160's waiting for me to do something with them since picking them up during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

I've been wearing nike lunar elites since the summer and i'm liking them. I think another pair is in order soon.

I have two pairs on the go at the moment but looking at getting another few pairs, any suggestions for a slight over pronator? I like the Kayanos but they are a heavy enough shoe so something lighter would be good.

a NICE SHOE FOR YOU MIGHT BE BROOKS ADRENALINE,MIZUNO inspire or Saucony omni.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

I progressed from Kayano's to Asics DS Trainers to DS Racers. Do most of my training now in DS racers and have run the marathon in them no issue. Just got a new pair of DS Racers in John Buckleys in Cork - €76. Hvae Nike Luna Racer 2's also but not really gone on them./

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Mizuno Inspire 6 for everything currently, although there are a pair of 7's in the post. Only other shoes I use are Basics Hyper MD for cross country and track.

Never bothered with getting any lighter ones just for road racing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭psychozeb

my training runs are split between saucony triumph 7's and nike lunarglides.
    went a bit bad around christmas and now have a stockpile of shoes to try out;
    trail:adidas kanidia 3
    training shoes:nike lunar eclipse
    training and long distance racing:nike lunarglide+2's (x2)
    short races:saucony:kinvara

might try out the kinvara tomorrow in little island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Nike Frees here. 3's mainly and 5's for the longer stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

cwgatling wrote: »
    Nike Frees here. 3's mainly and 5's for the longer stuff.

cwgatling just wondering where do you buy yours? I have a pair of nike free 5s , they are such a light shoe. But I've only managed to get them off the web as I haven't found any shops in Dublin that stock them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭bike2wkr

I wear Asics DS Trainers and DS Racers. Find the
    trainers really good and pretty lightweight.

Bought a pair of Nike Pegasus yesterday just for a change :)

Also have a pair of nike frees and few pair of trail shoes. Havent worn
    the frees that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Mizuno Wave Inspire 6 - two pairs, and a pair of Asics - Gel Motion something? Rotate between the three in training, race in the newer Mizunos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

As a beginner just started doing some jogging on the road to train hopefully for a triathlon in a few months what would you recommend, also what sort of price, as i don t want to spend a fortune just starting out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Groovyg, I get them online as well. wiggle.co.uk. The 3's have just come back in to stock. I was in the shopping centre in Carrickmines a week or so ago and saw a big Nike Free poster in the window of the Elvery's there, so I'd say they have them too.

psychozeb wrote: »
    my training runs are split between saucony triumph 7's and nike lunarglides.
    went a bit bad around christmas and now have a stockpile of shoes to try out;
    trail:adidas kanidia 3
    training shoes:nike lunar eclipse
    training and long distance racing:nike lunarglide+2's (x2)
    short races:saucony:kinvara

might try out the kinvara tomorrow in little island.
    how did you find the kinvara's?

k mac wrote: »
    As a beginner just started doing some jogging on the road to train hopefully for a triathlon in a few months what would you recommend, also what sort of price, as i don t want to spend a fortune just starting out

Your best bet is to go to a good running shop, and get some advice there. There is no single type of shoe that is best for everyone, it depends on your running style, your mileage, things like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭psychozeb

how did you find the kinvara's?
    qite good actually,they're very light but there was nice cushioning in them.just took them outta the box this morning and did a warm up and raced in them with no issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭aero2k

thanks for the help lads. as i race in the adizero mana's, im thinking of keeping it consistant with the adidas for all training...but i do like the mizunos also, next pair will either be tempo or inspire 7's id say.

the waveriders feel nice and light, i like that about them. i see that the new tempo 4s are heavier than the recent model by 1.1oz @ 10.6oz, not sure why, they look very similar but small description change.

Hi Seany,

I have Tempos and Manas. I decided to try Adidas mostly because of the narrow fit. Compared to the Manas, the Tempos are noticeably heavier but with a lot more support. I've done 20 mile runs in them no problem. They're not exactly springy but cushioning is adequate if you're not too heavy on your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Asics Kayano 15's/16's - for on the beach

Mizuno Wave 6 - for the track

Asics Kayano 17's - for road running

aero2k wrote: »
    Hi Seany,

I have Tempos and Manas. I decided to try Adidas mostly because of the narrow fit. Compared to the Manas, the Tempos are noticeably heavier but with a lot more support. I've done 20 mile runs in them no problem. They're not exactly springy but cushioning is adequate if you're not too heavy on your feet.

cheers Aero, i think ill get a pair....and if im having trouble with them i can always get a pair of inspire 7s for the longer runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭NEDDURC

Alot of people seem to be wearing Mizuno but I don't think I have ever seen them in any shop! I am now curious to try a pair on. Any suggestions as to where would definitely have them to try on? I could then order on the internet if I liked them.

Most branches of Elverys should have a few, I got my first pair of Wave Inspires in Runways.

Amphibian King stock them.
    But you shouldn't try something on in a shop when you have no intention of buying there. You are using a service they provide, but they won't be able to provide it if no-one buys from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

all we need now is someone who works in a running shoe shop 2 come on here and pm every body with a discount of their chosen shoe:rolleyes::rolleyes:.......now why didnt i think of dat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Kangshung

Brooks Beast for everything except IMRA races
    Innov8 Roclite 315 for mountain runs

Love wearing the Innov8s but when I did too much running in them a couple of years ago I damaged both calves, needed a bit more support. Brooks Beast is the only shoe I've managed to stay injury free in, quite a heavy shoe though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭clubcard

The beast is very heavy and supportive but if it works ;)
    would you do a road race in them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Kangshung

Yep, ran a very slow marathon in Dingle in them, flying until my calves cramped up about 15 miles in! Though I blaming the heat and hills mostly for that!

I'm not exactly a marathon build and they are very supportive, as I get fitter I'll probably look at something a little lighter, I definitely go a lot quicker in the Roclites.

They seem to fit my feet pretty well too, had awful trouble with friction at the top of the toes and inner foot with Asics even though they are great shoes. Horses for courses I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

2010 - Asics Gel 1150 for the majority of road training, races and the DCM10.

2011 - Asics Kayano 16's - (Got them less 30% in the Arnotts sale in December). Now I see them in Champion for €80 - €20 less again...

You can't win...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭messed_up

I've switched from years in Kayanos to Brooks Adrenaline 11's which i picked up in Amphibian King/Base2Race. Feel lighter than the Kayanos with similar (better, I think) support. 11 miles straight out of the box and no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

I've been in 2120s, Kayanos and DS Trainer.

Just had my analysis done in Amphibian King in Galway and it showed I should be using a Neutral shoe.
    I purchased a pair of Mizuno Riders and the advice from the shop was to switch my training from the Kayanos to the DS Trainers, then into the Riders so as to gradually reduce the support.

Happy to spend my money with them, he spent ages with me trying various shoes & analysing the movement with each pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭aero2k

cheers Aero, i think ill get a pair....and if im having trouble with them i can always get a pair of inspire 7s for the longer runs.
    seany,

I just got a pair of Asics DS Racer. I've only done two runs in them so far, but the first impression is that they have almost as much support as the Tempo, but are only the same weight as the Mana. Might be worth a look, similar snug fit to the Adidas too.

aero2k wrote: »
    seany,

I just got a pair of Asics DS Racer. I've only done two runs in them so far, but the first impression is that they have almost as much support as the Tempo, but are only the same weight as the Mana. Might be worth a look, similar snug fit to the Adidas too.

thanks Aero,

i actually got a pair on Tempos in the mail today, i like them! i think they will make a good training shoe, ill keep the manas for racing (although the tempos would be a great long distance racer!)

ill try out the DS racers anyway at some stage when i get a chance, be good to have an alternative...as mana's seam to be only available in the UK for these parts of the world.

ill let you know how i get on with the tempos anyway when i get back running again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

Does anyone know a good store in mayo for buying running shoes? Are elverys any good, i don t want to go in to a shop and some young fella that has not a clue telling me these are great just to get a sale, also what is gait analysis ?