Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor Lenihan Blows the fuse

• 21-01-2011 12:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

Anyone watching Vincent Browne, ba jebus conors after throwing a wobbler haha best blow out I've seen in a while,His face was that red his nose started going really white

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Optics for the sheeple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah, he went mental - and Browne tried to bite back (he even used the word "bloody") but didn't succeed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

:D:D:D

That said Jesus wept, Jesus Wept :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

i hate this show.

only the 2nd time i've seen it.

it was worth it for that though.

epic.

at the same time, it all makes me a little more sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Culchies! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Absolute swine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 460 ✭✭four18

My Friend worked for V browne, By all accounts he is a self opinionated Bollix..Allegdly !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

martic wrote: »
    Any1 watching Vincent Browne, ba jebus conors after throwing a wobbler haha best blow out I've seen in a while,His face was that red his nose started going really white

Your use of language is truly appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

someone put it on youtube thanks in advance

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Quick to the youtube lads:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah, he went mental - and Browne tried to bite back (he even used the word "bloody") but didn't succeed...

Browne didn't need to bite back.

He set Lenihan up, and he bit hook, line and sinker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

squod wrote: »
    Optics for the sheeple.

I love that phrase 'sheeple'. It's used quite a bit by people who think they know better than everyone else but the people who use it seem to be the same people who say things like. "Oh I don't vote, what's the point?"

Hope you're not one of them sqoud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

That blonde one (on the end) reading the tweets is a fine thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Always vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

squod wrote: »
    Optics for the sheeple.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I love that phrase 'sheeple'. It's used quite a bit by people who think they know better than everyone else but the people who use it seem to be the same people who say things like. "Oh I don't vote, what's the point?"

Yeah but whats this 'optics' thing. This is a use of the word I've only seen on boards. Its disgraceful, Disgraceful I say!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

He lost the head because Browne touched on the truth regarding his motivations; his brother and Cowen are also prone to this.
    Shakespeare nailed this type of reaction with 'The lady doth protest too much'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Browned off, was he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

video please, ktkxbai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Any1 watching Vincent Browne, ba jebus conors after throwing a wobbler haha best blow out I've seen in a while,His face was that red his nose started going really white

The indignation of a liar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Fake as folk. Or is that queer as..... Confused:confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

my lord vincent browne is the worst human on television, does anyone like him?

• Two arseholes farting at each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

my lord vincent browne is the worst human on television

Clearly you don't remember Anne who played Piano on Live at 3. *shudder* - having to sit there as an 8 year old and watch 200 old biddies smelling of wee with false teeth and blue rinses singing "Do you want your old lobby washed down" ... **** you Anne, **** you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Yer man's like something you'd see on the telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Go on lenihan, I would have voted if you had have hit VB a dig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

Yes. Give me Vincent over any of those idiots on prime time any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Go on lenihan, I would have voted if you had have hit VB a dig.

Really?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

That is just dying for a remix!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Really?
    no, not really, but I would have clapped.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

V480 wrote: »
    Yes. Give me Vincent over any of those idiots on prime time any day.

he invites guests on the show but doesnt allow them finish a single sentence... if i was invisible for a day, i would punch him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

he invites guests on the show but doesnt allow them finish a single sentence... if i was invisible for a day, i would punch him

Are you sure you don't mean Pat Kenny ??? Cos that description fits perfectly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Politicians shouldn't be allowed to make a speech without answering the question. That's all VB does - spots the waffle and has no time for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Hes the best thing on Irish TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Needed a 'That's what you think'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Hes the best thing on Irish TV.

i would rather watch fade street than vincent browne:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    That is just dying for a remix!!!

Do people actually think "remixes" of this stuff is in any way entertaining? Toss it up with some disco music, and set it to repeat every 3 seconds for a minute and a half?

Lol.

No offence intended, but that's absolute nonsense.

All week we have been bombarded with Fianna Fail TDs pedalling their bullshít, be it radio, tv or whatever else. Browne is the only interviewer on tv/radio that doesn't allow TDs to waffle on unchallenged.

If you feel the need to punch someone for challenging public representatives on the contempt that they show to the people of Ireland on a daily basis, at this stage, then punch away.

However, in future, you should probably stick to listening/watching the more light touch interviews conducted with these so called 'representatives' to avoid further agitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

four18 wrote: »
    My Friend worked for V browne, By all accounts he is a self opinionated Bollix..Allegdly !

I watch the show - I can tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Politicians shouldn't be allowed to make a speech without answering the question. That's all VB does - spots the waffle and has no time for it.

Too often VB makes it about himself, and his reputation for being a bit of a tough guy, and ironically, that sometimes hinders his attempts to get answers. To paraphrase Garrett Fitzgerald on the show, Brown would get more answers if he could out his self-indulgent rants. Sean O'Rourke on Radio 1's News at 1 does a far better job at challenging politicians and getting answers from them, and manages to do so without recourse to Brown's antics, or injecting his own personality into the exchange. Still, seems a lot of people prefer an aul rant to an actual clinical dissection of an interviewee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

nummnutts wrote: »
    No offence intended, but that's absolute nonsense.

All week we have been bombarded with Fianna Fail TDs pedalling their bullshít, be it radio, tv or whatever else. Browne is the only interviewer on tv/radio that doesn't allow TDs to waffle on unchallenged.

No offence intended, but obviously you don't watch much tv, nor listen to much radio. Kenny is perfectly capable of giving TDs a good grilling, as is, as mentioned, Sean O'Rourke. Dobson can give as good as he gets, and, much as I dislike Mammy O' Callaghan, even the Prime Time people ask the hard questions. George Hook and that lunchtime fella do the same on NewsTalk, and Matt Cooper has been holding TDs to account for years. I can understand people lauding Brown, but to entirely disregard other interviewers whilst placing him on his pedestal is ridiculous.

Einhard wrote: »
    No offence intended, but obviously you don't watch much tv, nor listen to much radio. Kenny is perfectly capable of giving TDs a good grilling, as is, as mentioned, Sean O'Rourke. Dobson can give as good as he gets, and, much as I dislike Mammy O' Callaghan, even the Prime Time people ask the hard questions. George Hook and that lunchtime fella do the same on NewsTalk, and Matt Cooper has been holding TDs to account for years. I can understand people lauding Brown, but to entirely disregard other interviewers whilst placing him on his pedestal is ridiculous.

Sure they do. But to a point, and eventually the politicos take over and the interviews descend into a polical rant.

I must now apologise for not knowing as much about myself as you seem to know about me. For this I am sorry. Truly sorry. Please find it in your heart to forgive me, oh wise one.

In regards to what you have posted above however, I listen to the radio between the hours of 10:00 and 19:00 everyday - my job enables me to do this. I also watch all of the tv shows you have mentioned in your post.

So, before you come on here and make assumptions about what sort of programming a poster who may have an opposing view to yours has, you should think, and then think again - because assumptions won't keep you propped up on any form of high horse you may think you're on, for long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭bonkers

In one man we can find whats wrong with this country.

He is a complete disgrace and has no clue what he is talking about, his grasp of economic or social affairs is only equal to his disregard for the irish public.

Himself and his brother have done his family name proud.

Now lets destroy these cnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I love the awkwardness of the rest of the panel at around the 1:54 mark on the video. They all tried to look away, pretend they wren't listening and just fixed their papers.

It was like watching a domestic going on in your mate's house but pretending you are reading a text and not listening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Vincent Browne the king troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

nummnutts wrote: »
    Indeed, Conor Lenihan was probably already not the happiest with VB because of this on budget day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Vincent always does badly when it comes to a quick exchange of questions and answers. Also he is at sea with the financial details and intricate facts of any of the financial crisis, bail out etc. He always backs off or flounders when confronted by someone who engages him on these.

Where he excels is in asking long winded, waffling, opinionated questions that go on for five minutes. Then 5 seconds into the answer to pointlessly interrupt the panelist and go off again on a rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

VB is a legend. He may be a cranky old bollix but at least he wont allow politicians waffle and avoid direct questions. IMO the show should go out earlier than 11.05. Many a TD including Cowen and Lenihan have refused to appear on the show, I wonder why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

yes i do considering the sh1te on rte its hard to dislike him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Its a pity that the likes of "Kebabs" Lenihan were not as animated and passionate about the bank bailouts or the IMF coming in. They are showing their true colours now that the 'Party' is under threat.