Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Galvins new nixer

• 20-01-2011 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭

Just seen an ad for the Irish Indo. Galvin has a new fashion column starting this Saturday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

No more indo for me on a Saturday:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

What is the world coming to?! Am I the only one who thinks it's weird for a Gaelic footballer to have a fashion column? What would Michael Cusack think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

sure as long as ye dont read it ye'll survive i'm shure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Thank Christ I don't read the rags that INM produce any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

the add will show him coming out of a wardrobe.

no wait. apparently it'll be out of a closet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Great news for the GAA - they must be loving all this attention he's getting them.

(I don't understand why some GAA supporters don't like the attention??)

Great news for the GAA - they must be loving all this attention he's getting them.

(I don't understand why some GAA supporters don't like the attention??)
    out of a closet.

a closet.

closet.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    out of a closet.

a closet.

closet.

Right while you're making immature jokes about his sexual preference, he's laughing all the way to the bank. I doubt he cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

so what?! id say he is makin serious money last while!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭TheTwiz

To be honest I'm glad we finally have a Beckham type player in the GAA. They failed to capitalise on the whole Jason Sherlock. It seems to me it's GAA men from the country who wear straw hats and have those coloured things around their wrists and bring packed sandwhiches and a flask of tea to Croke Park who can't seem to grasp men can be into fashion. Who is more marketable Galvin or Gooch Cooper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

fair f**ks to him able to leave a teaching role and do what he really wants to do...
    I'm jealous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

To be fair, i'd rather that than some of the former players who put the boot into current players just to give their newspaper careers a bit of sheen.

TheTwiz wrote: »
    those coloured things around their wrists and bring packed sandwhiches and a flask of tea to Croke Park

What's wrong with having a bit of pride in your county colours? And ya can't bate the hang sangwiches with a cuppa, sure they'd rob you above in Croke Park, it's a great idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

To be honest I'm glad we finally have a Beckham type player in the GAA. They failed to capitalise on the whole Jason Sherlock. It seems to me it's GAA men from the country who wear straw hats and have those coloured things around their wrists and bring packed sandwhiches and a flask of tea to Croke Park who can't seem to grasp men can be into fashion. Who is more marketable Galvin or Gooch Cooper?

"Failed to capialise" how?

Is the GAA weaker as an organisation now than it was before Jayo? No.

Is the GAA less popular now than it was before Jayo? No.

TBH the whole Beckham thing was good for Beckham and his low-life skank of a missus. I don't think it made much difference to the popularity of soccer as a whole.

Right while you're making immature jokes about his sexual preference, he's laughing all the way to the bank. I doubt he cares.
    :P

wait - you sayin he doesnt care bout me?

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

megadodge wrote: »
    Beckham and his low-life skank of a missus.

Jaysus!
    not a Spice Girls fan I see :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Today's smart lookin' yeung lads shouldn't be seen without dem skinny jeans pasthed onto dem, just be shure ye don't end up with a camel toe front and back lads. An' dere's nothin wrong with waayring glasses even if you can spot the ball from 50 yards out, Kanyeeee Wehst is wearing dem for ages now an' so should ye. We were warned last year about de demise of the man bag but I swear on the Sam Maguire deres still life in dem bags yet, I have me Louey Vuitton packed fer a long weekend in the Big Apple, I'm heading over there for Donal Og's birthday. Shur tis time we buried the hatchet with the old foe county. So I'll be burying the hatchet and pork dagger and I'll see ye all next week for me column on men's hygiene- how to pick yer nose with yer foot like a Kerryman.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

wayfarers wrote: »
    Today's smart lookin' yeung lads shouldn't be seen without dem skinny jeans pasthed onto dem, just be shure ye don't end up with a camel toe front and back lads. An' dere's nothin wrong with waayring glasses even if you can spot the ball from 50 yards out, Kanyeeee Wehst is wearing dem for ages now an' so should ye. We were warned last year about de demise of the man bag but I swear on the Sam Maguire deres still life in dem bags yet, I have me Louey Vuitton packed fer a long weekend in the Big Apple, I'm heading over there for Donal Og's birthday. Shur tis time we buried the hatchet with the old foe county. So I'll be burying the hatchet and pork dagger and I'll see ye all next week for me column on men's hygiene- how to pick yer nose with yer foot like a Kerryman.

my eyes are bleeding :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I actually laughed at that part. Failed to capatilise my hole around 95-96 you couldnt look near rte without seeing him on this show or that show and he certainly boosted interest in gaelic sports in my area (was mainly soccer) no end so i would seriously doubt the same was not true for other areas even if only Dublin

GAAman wrote: »
    I actually laughed at that part. Failed to capatilise my hole around 95-96 you couldnt look near rte without seeing him on this show or that show and he certainly boosted interest in gaelic sports in my area (was mainly soccer) no end so i would seriously doubt the same was not true for other areas even if only Dublin

The poster does have a point - the GAA could be a lot more popular if they embraced characters like Galvin.

There seems to be some resistance from the GAA base - it seems to me they're afraid the GAA will turn into soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

The poster does have a point - the GAA could be a lot more popular if they embraced characters like Galvin.

There seems to be some resistance from the GAA base - it seems to me they're afraid the GAA will turn into soccer.

Oh i was not arguing against embracing "personalities" as it is it was moreso the point about sherlock i was replying to. However if a star is to be embraced i would preferthe gooch to galvin, or another player who embodies the work ethic of the sport, in short a "cleaner" player

I worry about football becomming too much like soccer but the way i look at this is

PLAYER RECOGNITION......MEDIA INTEREST.....BOOST IN GAELIC SPORTS INTEREST......BOOST IN GRASSROOTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Nearly about time someone applies to set up a Paul Galvin sub-forum, with the amount of talk about him on here!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

For a column a week??? Got to be having a joke!

And other endorsements, appearances on tv programmes etc.

People can sneer all they like about him, he's gaining a huge national profile.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

And other endorsements, appearances on tv programmes etc.

People can sneer all they like about him, he's gaining a huge national profile.

Gaining?? sure he had that already!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

fair f**ks to him able to leave a teaching role and do what he really wants to do...
    I'm jealous.

He was able to leave a teaching role :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Fair play to Paul,

best footballer in ireland,

best teacher in ireland,

... and soon to be,

best columnist in ireland,

I like someone willing to break the mould step out of the sterotypes that most inter county players slot in to.

Well done paul!!!!!:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

liam7831 wrote: »
    Fair play to Paul,

best teacher in ireland,

... and soon to be,

best columnist in ireland,

I like someone willing to break the mould step out of the sterotypes that most inter county players slot in to.

Well done paul!!!!!:D

The first one is of course very debatable.

The second one is bullshít while

the third one.... I'll have to read his column first :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

A begrudging fair play to him.

I don't really think much of his fashion interest but I'm sure he knows what he's talking about.
    I don't know if the GAA would have much to gain from embracing him at the moment though... With any luck maybe the new responsibility will help him clean up his football act.

Good luck to him anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Ki ki

Gaining?? sure he had that already!

I had no interest in Gaelic and never heard of him before I was stuck in one Friday night and saw him on Tubbers. I then watched Galvanised the few weeks later.

I know there is mixed opinion about him personally but you can't deny his enthusiasm for the sport. Inspired by his passion I contacted my local ladies team and went up for my first training session on Tuesday.

Best of luck to him.

Plus, I think he's super hot ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I read the article today.

Oh dear I'm embarrassed for him, going on about his "mom" a million times in the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

thought the column was pretty insightful to be honest
    i think i'll follow it and i'm not a regular indo reader

i hope he sets up a twitter account
    hard to decide some mornings what to wear

Ki ki wrote: »
    I had no interest in Gaelic and never heard of him before I was stuck in one Friday night and saw him on Tubbers. I then watched Galvanised the few weeks later.

I know there is mixed opinion about him personally but you can't deny his enthusiasm for the sport. Inspired by his passion I contacted my local ladies team and went up for my first training session on Tuesday.

Best of luck to him.

Plus, I think he's super hot ;)

Tbh I didn't really see any of his enthusiasm for the sport on the Late late or Galvanised :confused: Instead I saw his enthusiasm for himself and spending loads of money on clothes...

Saw a newspaper headline today: Galvin to play Dublin GAA!

Presumably it's just club but...there's still something weird about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Im dying to read it but really can't bring myself to buy the Indo.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    The first one is of course very debatable.

The second one is bullshít while

the third one.... I'll have to read his column first :rolleyes:

I knew it a begrudger from cork.

Stick to what ye know,............

winning the all ireland once every two decades

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

There isn't resistance because he "likes clothes". There is resistance because of his appalling disciplinary record.

Listen fair play to him for doing his thing, but I know the lad, hes sound as a bell but he absolutely loves attention in all aspects.

This "passion" for clothes has occurred in the last year so its a phase. When ya actually talk to him about fashion he actually knows shag all about it. I know many women who have a passion for clothes but it doesn't make them qualified to write a fashion column.

There isn't resistance because he "likes clothes". There is resistance because of his appalling disciplinary record.

Listen fair play to him for doing his thing, but I know the lad, hes sound as a bell but he absolutely loves attention in all aspects.

This "passion" for clothes has occurred in the last year so its a phase. When ya actually talk to him about fashion he actually knows shag all about it. I know many women who have a passion for clothes but it doesn't make them qualified to write a fashion column.

So what.

He probably doesn't even write the column, he just gives his name to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭dozydelilah

jeasus why can a man not play football, and like fashion????
    men are such sheep in this country, i work in a barber shop, and the men won,t shut up about what he is or isn,t!!!
    who gives a ****... why does his sexuality have to come into it!!!you can admire his footballing skills without wanting to ride him.. you can disaprove of his on the pitch antics, and now you can agree or disagree with his fashion advice, if your even bothered about it. but why does his sexual preferences have to come into it! fair play to him for not following everyone else...

jeasus why can a man not play football, and like fashion????
    men are such sheep in this country, i work in a barber shop, and the men won,t shut up about what he is or isn,t!!!
    who gives a ****... why does his sexuality have to come into it!!!you can admire his footballing skills without wanting to ride him.. you can disaprove of his on the pitch antics, and now you can agree or disagree with his fashion advice, if your even bothered about it. but why does his sexual preferences have to come into it! fair play to him for not following everyone else...

Yeah the man on Brendan O'Connor just made a smart comment about coming out of the closet just now. A little irresponsible as he's just said he's a vice principal. Pity.

Lux23 wrote: »
    Im dying to read it but really can't bring myself to buy the Indo.

Don't bother. It was sh1t.

liam7831 wrote: »
    I knew it a begrudger from cork.

Stick to what ye know,............

winning the all ireland once every two decades

What's begrudging about my comments?

I would put - for example - Brogan ahead of him!

He was a shít teacher apparently - maybe where you are from the 'flying duster syndrome' is a good element of being a teacher:rolleyes:

and as many have - and no doubt others will say - his column is shít also.

If the above sounds begrudging to you.... so be it!

p.s. I'm really looking forward to the next 20 years;)

amdublin wrote: »
    Don't bother. It was sh1t.

You obviously read it so which shows pauls appeal, exactly why the paper want him on their team.

I read the article today.

Oh dear I'm embarrassed for him, going on about his "mom" a million times in the article.

Eh yeah I said already I read it - as per above.

It was sh1t.

I won't be reading it again.

The poor deluded man was going on about skinny jeans looking good on him.

The state of him in that Galvanised docu with his shetland pony legs and the big muscly @rse stuffed into the skinny jeans.

Completely deluded god love him. Doesn't have a clue.

Completely deluded god love him.
    Doesn't have a clue.

he's not the only one, because apparently Paul is

best teacher in ireland,

... and soon to be,

best columnist in ireland:rolleyes:

he's not the only one, because apparently Paul is

best teacher in ireland,

... and soon to be,

best columnist in ireland:rolleyes:

And best chest displayer (icky low neck t-shirts, why Paul, oh why?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Yeah the man on Brendan O'Connor just made a smart comment about coming out of the closet just now. A little irresponsible as he's just said he's a vice principal. Pity.

The man AKA PAT SPILLANE

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

What's begrudging about my comments?

I would put - for example - Brogan ahead of him!

He was a shít teacher apparently - maybe where you are from the 'flying duster syndrome' is a good element of being a teacher:rolleyes:

and as many have - and no doubt others will say - his column is shít also.

If the above sounds begrudging to you.... so be it!

p.s. I'm really looking forward to the next 20 years;)

so you havent read the article, and you never had him as a teacher, but yet you think its alright ot call him sh!t on both counts? and you dont think that sounds like begrudgery?

I dont know what he was like as a teacher, and I didnt read his column, so I cant comment either way. And thats the point, I'm not making judgements on something I havent seen. I have seen his football, and if you dont think he is one of the best in the country then you are a begrudger.

I think he looks like a ponce in his skinny jeans and that, but who am I to care how he dresses? It would be a fair boring world if everyone did everything the same. I dont agree with his fashion style, but I'm not going to start bitching about it either.

Fair play to him for trying to make a change in his life and a go of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Shouldn't the GAA mods be in here to move this to the Fashion and Appearance forum? :)

bruschi wrote: »
    so you havent read the article, and you never had him as a teacher, but yet you think its alright ot call him sh!t on both counts? and you dont think that sounds like begrudgery?

Read the thread - and others sites if you are that interested - people have said that they thought his article was shít - I will not be reading it, don't like the INDO !
    Also his teaching is well known - google it if you don't know! Having spoken to work colleagues in Críost Rí - where he taught before St. Brendan's Killarney ( he 'left' teaching from there) - I formed my opinion on that - if you think that is begrudgery you might want to google begrudgery!

I dont know what he was like as a teacher, and I didnt read his column, so I cant comment either way. And thats the point, I'm not making judgements on something I havent seen. I have seen his football, and if you dont think he is one of the best in the country then you are a begrudger.

What are you on about? Read the thread properly please- I clearly state that I think ( referring post 28) that Bernard Brogan is better, not saying he is not one of the best - but IMHO Brogan is better!

I think he looks like a ponce in his skinny jeans and that, but who am I to care how he dresses? It would be a fair boring world if everyone did everything the same. I dont agree with his fashion style, but I'm not going to start bitching about it either.

I never mentioned his fashion sense, although it is a bit off the wall

Fair play to him for trying to make a change in his life and a go of things.