Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cowen on six one

• 20-01-2011 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭

Wow talk about car crash TV. He seemed on the verge of tears at the end. What the hell is he playing at.. just go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Just posted on another thread about that - to say he sounded like a two year-old would be underestimating a two year-old's ability to hold things together.

He's admitted he has no power, in the natural world this goon would be gone but it's FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

A sort of all over the place interview. :confused:
    His beef seems to be that the Greens didn't respect the convention (?) that a coalition party can replace their own ministers.
    Dobson should really have explore further the different takes FF and the greens had on that meeting.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

greens are trying to undermine ff in an effort to distance themselves from the last few years... good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Thought Dobson let him off the hook about the resignations though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Fentdog84 wrote: »
    Wow talk about car crash TV. He seemed on the verge of tears at the end. What the hell is he playing at.. just go

Crocodile tears looking for votes. I would love Al-Qaeda to come into this country and target leinster house and remove cowen and co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

"May I just add..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Horrendously bad. How many final points did he make?

And did anyone see the expression on anne cassin's face when the camera cut straight back to her after the interview? Priceless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

He looked seriously peed off with the greens. It'll be interesting to see if the greens rule out a coalition with FF again during the election campaign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Brilliant "WTF" face from Anne Cassin at the end :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Kensington wrote: »
    Horrendously bad. How many final points did he make?

And did anyone see the expression on anne cassin's face when the camera cut straight back to her after the interview? Priceless!

Yep.

As for his horrendopus way of talking, Cowen made about nine 'final points, if I may and it's an important point'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭bookie basher

cowen was in foul mood tonight, thought it was hilarious, he was talking some ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

He looked seriously peed off with the greens. It'll be interesting to see if the greens rule out a coalition with FF again during the election campaign

Either Gormless was lying earlier about what they did or didn't agree with Cowen yesterday...or else Cowen was lying through his teeth on six-one because they've contradicted each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

[QUOTE=bookie basher;70190 he was talking some ****e[/QUOTE]

has he ever spoken anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Fentdog84 wrote: »

I'll give him something to cry about the fatfacedtwat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

I though i saw Cowen grabbing the glass of water (dry throat from all the fibs) and then Anne. Priceless.

How about this though. Someone do a print-screen of a HD playback of Annes face and start selling T-Shirts with an appropriately catchy slogan.

Should make someone a few bob.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Wow what a day and what a complete and utter shambles and mess. I have never seen an organisation melt down like this before in such a short period of time in my 41 years on this planet. Fianna Fail has to insist that Cowen and all that advised him to take the course he took yesterday and today to resign not only from their positions but from the party and standing for election again. If this Government do attempt to drag itself to the 11th of March I can see FF tearing itself apart.

Looks like FF are living in interesting times, I love Chinese curses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Trying to watch this on RTE.ie, but I have to sit through the whole 6 One news because they don't have a FF/RW facility on their player. It's reminding me why I generally don't watch Irish TV.

Don't suppose anyone has a link for the Interview on its own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

The greens said they knew the details in advance, so didn't bother their hole. Sure fair play, they're only along for the ride.

They did however, threaten to 'pull the plug' on the government if Cowen parachuted in FFail faithful to vacant spots.:rolleyes:
    After six resignations from 15 Cabinet positions the Taoiseach tried to parachute in loyal party colleagues even though he was warned against it.
    The Green Party threatened to pull the plug and one of his own ministers disapproved.

http://news.eircom.net/breakingnews/19171998/

The Greens are such a waste of space and joke at this point I don't know how they get out of bed in the morning.

For Cowen's headstone...
    "I was reflecting the majority view of my parliamentary party, of my front bench and of my organisation,"

It seems rather than the sell of 'It's all Cowen, core FFail still loves ya!', turns out FFail think the way things are functioning is pretty cool 'till March at least. Why do they hate the Irish so?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

WE WANTS A LINK!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Is todays six one on the RTE Player? I can't spot it only the news special...

I watched the entire 6 One news on RTE.ie - no Cowen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

FFRTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

todays six one news is not uploaded to rte's website yet

they have previous days, but not todays yet

rte employees are too busy laughing at cowen to upload the video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Cassan's face was brilliant alright!

Is there any chance Cowen could lose his seat in the eelction or is he considered safe? Has a taoiseach ever lost his seat in an election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

Last week they interviewed Offaly people about him. They all gave glowing praise to their local man. Parish pump politics will keep him in, no matter how much of a laughing stock he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

The game is up Biffo, nobody wants to hear or believe your ignorant bullying sh*te. Putting in 5 new stooges as Ministers and thought the Greens would buy that one....its dog eat dog when it comes to election time. Coughlan with 3 portfolios :eek::eek::eek::D:D:D:D.....she cannot even manage one or herself even :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Bill G

The Six One news for *today* is not on rte.ie player yet....

My God, so I sat through Yesterday's news? I'm going offline for a minute. If you hear any thuds, it's me beating my head against a wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

newmug wrote: »
    WE WANTS A LINK!!!!!!!!!

its up its up!! on rte player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

Was watching it earlier at a mates, very odd interview. The bet was would he say it was for the good of the country or the party more. Guess which won by a landslide..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

There in a right stew now:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

He is right to stay on, he knows full well that the culchies will put Fianna Fail and himself back into power in the next election. In fact they'll probably give FF an even bigger majority then usual to 'stick' it to the 'jackeen meeja', as the simpletons like to call them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

2egbq88.jpg

She seems skeptical, but a screencap doesn't do it justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 susanstanley

I'd really like to hear from some Fianna Fail people. I would like to know how in conscience you will vote for Fianna Fail. Fianna Fail have destroyed this country with their cronyism and the jobs/plannng permission /massive loans for the boys attitude. The ministers that resigned showed no respect for the electorate or patriotism. Look at the mess that they leave in their wake.

Brian Cowen did not manage the economy well but he was handed a poison chalice by the slipperiest of them all, Bertie Ahern, that lowlife should be behind bars. He is the lowest breed of a human being. Dirty rotten chancer. He abused his power and his authority to benefit his friends.

Fianna Fail have lost us the sovereignty that our forefathers laid down their lives for, and for what??? A few thick fat lumps of stupid developers. They are sick, sick, sick,

PLEASE TELL ME WHY WOULD ANYONE VOTE FOR THEM?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Tazzle wrote: »
    2egbq88.jpg

Creepy she's like the wan out of the Exorcist..:eek:
    Or is that Joan Burton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,533 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Again being the operative word - after anti-FF voters were taken for fools the last time around, why would anyone believe them this time?

Small parties need transfers to get anyone elected.
    They will get a big fat zero from FG, Lab or SF voters
    They will get half of shag-all from FF voters
    Many of the 'true believer' Greens are so disgusted with them they won't even vote for them
    Who's left?

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

Biffo clearly intended to delay the election by pulling the stunt with the new ministers and was enraged to be shafted by Gormless so had to call the election. Ministers resigning even before the election date was called in their hurry to get their rewards in thousands of euro for destroying our country and losing our sovereignty. `Disgusting, how is all gone wrong for the little thug in 48 hours.

Fianna Fail have lost us the sovereignty that our forefathers laid down their lives for

Cock.

WE, the VOTERS decided this - in 1992 - when we voted to join the common currency in the Maastricht Treaty. We knew that being part of a common currency would make it important to be financially disciplined - we and our government chose to ignore that - and are now facing the consequences.

It's often forgotten now that for almost 60 years after this state was founded, we had effectively zero economic sovereignty - we were part of a currency union with Sterling. Our interest rates, set in London. Limits on movement of funds out of the country, limits on how much currency we could print as it all had to be backed by deposits in the Bank of England. Not only was this a massive brake on our economic development, it meant we were shackled to the (often disastrous) economic policies of our large neighbour. Compared to the situation with the Euro we were far worse off then.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

The Irish people deserve what they are getting. "Fool me once, shame on you"; "Fool me 100 times....well then"
    A scientific sociological analysis of the Irish psyche needs to be conducted to determine how the hell people kept voting for FF when they KNEW they were corrupt.
    Lawlor, Haughey, Ahern, Burke, Flynn, Callely, O'Donoghue, McCreevy etc. etc.

A scientific sociological analysis of the Irish psyche needs to be conducted to determine how the hell people kept voting for FF when they KNEW they were corrupt.
    Lawlor, Haughey, Ahern, Burke, Flynn, Callely, O'Donoghue, McCreevy etc. etc.

Because the majority of people would rather believe what they hear when it's what they want to hear ('making the boom boomer') instead of questioning it. It means they can avoid actually having to think about issues and make an informed decision. Thinking gets in the way of valuable TV time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Tazzle wrote: »
    2egbq88.jpg

I do believe she was thinking something like this

1234055443685.jpg

much like the rest of us ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭loldog

Cowen comes on at around the 33 minute mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Poor oul Brian ,maybe he can improve on his handicap with seanie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Watched the full interview. Why would a person do that to themselves, unless he's not seeing the wood for the trees of what's going on around him. He's like someone trapped in an impossible position, where every option is absolutely horrific. That was car crash TV.

johngalway wrote: »

Watched the full interview. Why would a person do that to themselves, unless he's not seeing the wood for the trees of what's going on around him. He's like someone trapped in an impossible position, where every option is absolutely horrific. That was car crash TV.

He is not called Biffo for nothing.....he just keeps on going like a bull in a china shop. Just look at the economy and the country. He could have bowed out the other night aiding his party and the country yet his pig headedness ruled again where both are losers. Just say charge and off he goes:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

As much as the next irate voter, I'll be over the moon when they're gone. But you wouldn't be human if you didn't go :eek: at that interview. Can't be good for the health. Enemies within, enemies without.

I'm not calling him a dictator, before someone saddles up the high horse (or chair). But he's like the overthrown dictator wondering where it all went wrong.

Just watched it. What a clueless moron. Utterly clueless about the mayhem he's caused in conjunction with the Greens. I thought it was hilarious when he answered the questions about promising jobs to supporters - didn't they already hand out a lot of quango jobs before Christmas to supporters - and this bare faced liar on TV saying "I have a sense of right and wrong, I have integrity, I wouldn't do that".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Is anyone watching Vincent Browne at the moment? Dan Boyle has been grilled to the point of him losing his temper and Conor Lenihan has slammed the knife into Cowens back twisting it left right and centre and backed the Green Party. Is this another resignation in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Having watched Cowen on 6-1 and now watching Conor Lenihan on tv3 I'm beginning to wonder about our Taoiseachs own mental state..how can he continue leading when half his cabinet either don't trust him or have no confidence in him. It's like watching a car crash....except the impact still hasn't happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

why do people want him to resign? - it would only benefit FF. There's an election coming up & he's the greatest asset the opposition have (lord knows it takes a truly dreadful Taoiseach to make feeble Kenny and windbag Gilmore look good).