Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the people of Offally vote for Cowen in March ?

• 20-01-2011 1:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭

Will we see him back next time ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Yes, because he is a good sort, "sure he is one of our own".

Personally knew one person from Offaly, he was a plank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

lucozader wrote: »
    Will we see him back next time ?

Yep now that he has had a practice run he should be allowed another term

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,575 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Absolutely!! They'd carry him on their shoulders if they had enough professional wrestlers among them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

He will top the poll for the new hospital in Tullamore alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I go to Offaly regularly. Haven't heard anything but pure hatred for him and Fianna Fáil with a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭toxicity234

yeah, I will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

with a bit of luck. then we would have an excuse to finally get rid of offaly:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm guessing yes too, there are plenty of FF politicians that will get the vote from people who don't really understand the voting process and vote for their favourite local personality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

red menace wrote: »
    Yep now that he has had a practice run he should be allowed another term

lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Newstalk did their vox-pop thing there yesterday, asking the smae thing. Everyone who answered (about 15 people) spoke of him in glowing term

They were absolutely deluded, using phrases like ''He's made the tough decisions'', ''No Taoiseach has ever had it so tough''

No mention of fact that HE WAS MINISTER FOR FCUKING FINANCE IN THE GOVERNMENT THAT GOT US INTO THIS MESS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

In all fairness if the sitting taoiseach is in any constituency (especially bogger ones) then the locals will vote for him. "Sure is'nt all that jackeen berties fault in annyways" etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Yes, they will, he's safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

People who vote using the old parish politics way of voting in this country should have their votes taken away from them. People who vote the way their fathers vote should have their votes taken away from them. People who vote Fianna Fail should have their votes taken away from them. Fuck democracy.

[/extremism]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Of course he will. Sure Bertie got one of the highest vote percentages in the country in the last election even though he was knee deep in tribunals.

Degag wrote: »
    Of course he will. Sure Bertie got one of the highest vote percentages in the country in the last election even though he was knee deep in tribunals.

Ah but Bertie's a good man, he did a lot for the constituency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

You'll never know. You see, internet hasn't reached there yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Sanjuro wrote: »
    People who vote using the old parish politics way of voting in this country should have their votes taken away from them. People who vote the way their fathers vote should have their votes taken away from them. People who vote Fianna Fail should have their votes taken away from them. Fuck democracy.

[/extremism]

At the very least they should be called ****ing stupid morons.

[/rationality]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

Am a Dub in Tullamore, and the answer unfortunately is yes. He will have the county GAA team canvassing for him, and all the local publicans !!
    He'll still get about 50% of the over-50 vote I reckon.

Everyone deserves a second chance. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

Of course, and why not Cowen's not a bad man, he does his job at a local level.

shampon wrote: »

Sadly that is the problem with this country. TD's should be working in the National interest and leave the local stuff to the councillors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Kasabian wrote: »
    Sadly that is the problem with this country. TD's should be working in the National interest and leave the local stuff to the councillors.

Unfortunately, a lot of councillors end up as TDs and take their old sh1t habits with them, like the Healy-Raes if this world.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Actually thinking about it, the local hospital in any area can make or break a politicians career. For Tullamore Hospital alone he'll be back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

shampon wrote: »

Yep. He can employ 400,000 people filling potholes in Offaly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

His brother will probably have the pub open 24-hours all week in the run-up with free drinks and all that.

It really is a damning indictment of our electorate if the FF chancers get back in on local politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Everyone deserves a second chance. :)

Not Brian Cowen though.;)

Brian Cowen was at the centre of everything that ****ed up this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

deisedevil wrote: »
    I go to Offaly regularly. Haven't heard anything but pure hatred for him and Fianna Fáil with a while now.

Why? There is not a reason in this world I can think to go to Offaly, not one!

I think they will, they seem the simple sort, I know some who were so happy he was taoiseach that they would follow him to hell just for representing offaly on a national stage like that!

AS someone from a small town I can't agree with that because the national interest often means just Dublin. Local politicians are elected to look after their local area I think it's just as bad that a local politician would get elected to sort local issues then end up ignoring them for his new life in Dublin.

There needs to be a balance sure but berating people for wanting the people they elect to do the job they elected them to do isn't any better than them being so self centred they can't see beyond their own gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

Oh thank Fock i'm not from Offaly!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

People forget that there were a number of elements involved in the demise of Irelands finance's. I don't care much for Brian Cowen or Finna Fail, but the man is only the scapegoat for the rest of the hullabaloos in the golden circle. :rolleyes:

Will we ever move beyond parish politics in this country? Instead of voting for the local farmer who helped us out or loves to donate to the curch/local GAA team? Or vote for someone blindly out of ignorance for the simple reason this family has to support X party no matter what? I hope someday, but am not holding my breath for this lifetime ;)

Question for everyone: What is the primary duty of a TD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

I don't believe Cowen has a chance. I'm pretty sure everybody in Ireland know what a sorry mess the country is in and they know who just happened to be Finance Minister during the time the economy was grossly over-inflated. Don't under-estimate the intelligence of the people of Offaly.

Thomas828 wrote: »
    Don't under-estimate the intelligence of the people of Offaly.

I dont think thats possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Should investigations be carried out now from the gardai or dpp into cowens doings with fitzpatrick. investigate bertie and ff for their love affair with developers and bankers that sent this country into the ****s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

ScumLord wrote: »
    AS someone from a small town I can't agree with that because the national interest often means just Dublin. Local politicians are elected to look after their local area I think it's just as bad that a local politician would get elected to sort local issues then end up ignoring them for his new life in Dublin.

I'm from the country and that is just the usual chip on the shoulder bull I hear all the time. Is the banking crisis, unemployment etc just a Dublin issue? No. Working towards a national agenda benefits the entire nation by means of a stable economy and high employment rates.
    There needs to be a balance sure but berating people for wanting the people they elect to do the job they elected them to do isn't any better than them being so self centred they can't see beyond their own gate.

Unfortunately that attitude is why the country is in the mess it is in at the moment. Isn't having a bankrupt country a "local" issue for every man, woman and child of the Island. If politicians spent more time working in the national interest instead of trying to protect their seat with local parish pump politics we'd be in a much better state, but alas the people of Ireland will complain about the banks, unemployment, financial crisis, but at the end of the day will vote because "my family always voted for that party" or "shur isn't yer man great, he turns up to all the local events". Until that mindset changes, nothing will change is the way the country is run. We get the government we deserve!

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Should investigations be carried out now from the gardai or dpp into cowens doings with fitzpatrick. investigate bertie and ff for their love affair with developers and bankers that sent this country into the ****s.

For all his faults, I dont believe Brian Cowen is corrupt. Betrie yea, he's as bent as Grahem Norton, but Cowen I think is just incompetent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

deisedevil wrote: »

They just say that in front of you cos your an outsider ... Offaly is a local county for local people, they'll have no trouble there

techdiver wrote: »
    I'm from the country and that is just the usual chip on the shoulder bull I hear all the time. Is the banking crisis, unemployment etc just a Dublin issue? No. Working towards a national agenda benefits the entire nation by means of a stable economy and high employment rates.
    The banking crisis is something that we all got dumped in it's not something that any politician has been elected on. Politicians always get elected on local issues.

Unfortunately that attitude is why the country is in the mess it is in at the moment.
    Having a balance between the two is what got this country in this mess? Did you read the post or just go off on a rant after the first sentence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

tommyhaas wrote: »
    For all his faults, I dont believe Brian Cowen is corrupt. Betrie yea, he's as bent as Grahem Norton, but Cowen I think is just incompetent

Cowen sold this country because seanie licked cowens arse on a golf course. god only knows what kind of fraud was happening between the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

The banking crisis is something that we all got dumped in it's not something that any politician has been elected on. Politicians always get elected on local issues.

What I meant was that if the politicians were doing their jobs appropriately and governing the country instead of attending every Tom, Dick and Harry's funeral, or attending the opening of a bloody centre somewhere or interfering with planning permission on behalf of constituents we would be in a hell of a better position.
    Having a balance between the two is what got this country in this mess? Did you read the post or just go off on a rant after the first sentence?

My "rant" as you describe it is to do with the fact that I don't agree there should be a balance. I believe firmly that TD should deal 100% with national issues only. If people have local issues go to your county councillors, that's what they are elected for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Yes. The people of Offaly will vote for Brian Cowen.

Just as the people of Limerick will vote for Willie O'Dea and the people of Kerry will vote for John O'Donoghue (if he's running)

Whether they vote for them in sufficient numbers to re-elect them remains to be seen but I'm sure they'll prove to be formidable candidates even allowing for what they've done in office.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Cowen sold this country because seanie licked cowens arse on a golf course. god only knows what kind of fraud was happening between the lot of them

I dont believe that, I think the only thing Cowen is covering up are the mistakes he made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

You Crazy oirish!

You get who you vote for!

If only Shane Ross (or other more credible candidate) would run in Laois-Offaly.

Gombeens voting for ejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You Crazy oirish!

You get who you vote for!

If only Shane Ross (or other more credible candidate) would run in Laois-Offaly.

Gombeens voting for ejits.

culchies voting for mulchies

unfortunately it's a nationwide problem that bogey candidates are returned

techdiver wrote: »
    My "rant" as you describe it is to do with the fact that I don't agree there should be a balance. I believe firmly that TD should deal 100% with national issues only. If people have local issues go to your county councillors, that's what they are elected for.
    I don't like centralisation, people in Dublin don't know what's right for the country just like people from the country don't know what's right for people in Dublin. That's why the biggest infrastructural changes in this country have been in Dublin, M50, Luas, tunnels and new unnecessary airport terminals. Meanwhile the road I have to travel everyday is still in the same state it was 1o years ago or possibly worse if they do they're half arsed repair work that ends up ripping up more road.

I wouldn't mind if the national interest was for us all but as far as I can see it's not. It's in the self interest of a certain few in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

ghosttown wrote: »
    Am a Dub in Tullamore, and the answer unfortunately is yes. He will have the county GAA team canvassing for him, and all the local publicans !!
    He'll still get about 50% of the over-50 vote I reckon.
    So it's the over 50's we have to kill so father?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

But he fixed the road !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

he will get re-elected, no problems at all and i'd wager any money on it.

and for the record, i think cowen is an honest man who only wants what's best for this country. he's going to personallly take the rap for a system that he was just a part of. as finance minister; yes, he should have done better but there's not many people in any positions of power that saw the extent to which the banks were going to cost us. he should have resigned 2 years ago and taken responsibility as it was his brief that got us into this mess.

and another thing: he's ugly, a bad communicator (strangely, he was much more personable and better spoken before becoming taoiseach) and a culchie which means those 'urbane' and 'sophisticated' celtic tiger cubs amongst you were never going to take to someone who looked like they sprung straight from the bog. admit it, the minute he started lowering pints and singing my way from the back of a lorry - the snob in you facepalmed...'is this tool going to lead the country'...if we were still booming, you'd still hate him.

he will get re-elected, no problems at all and i'd wager any money on it.

and for the record, i think cowen is an honest man who only wants what's best for this country. he's going to personallly take the rap for a system that he was just a part of. as finance minister; yes, he should have done better but there's not many people in any positions of power that saw the extent to which the banks were going to cost us. he should have resigned 2 years ago and taken responsibility as it was his brief that got us into this mess.

and another thing: he's ugly, a bad communicator (strangely, he was much more personable and better spoken before becoming taoiseach) and a culchie which means those 'urbane' and 'sophisticated' celtic tiger cubs amongst you were never going to take to someone who looked like they sprung straight from the bog. admit it, the minute he started lowering pints and singing my way from the back of a lorry - the snob in you facepalmed...'is this tool going to lead the country'...if we were still booming, you'd still hate him.

Its ironic that in accusing people of disliking Cowen because of the stereotype he represents, that you should stereotype all of his critics

I agree with you in that I believe Cowen is not corrupt, however I think you are severly downplaying the extreme neglegence he was guilty of as Minister for Finance.

Its true that many people did not see the collapse of the economy comming, but the Government were warned of this by the ESRI, and ignored it. There are very few people who are a guilty as Cowen is for the mess that we are now in