Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ministers resigning from Cabinet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Bye big Mary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0119/harneym.html
    Minister for Health and Children Mary Harney has offered her resignation to the Taoiseach, after deciding not to contest the next General Election.
    Ms Harney told RTÉ News this evening that she did not believe it was appropriate for someone who was not running in the election to continue to serve in Cabinet.
    She said she had informed the Taoiseach of her decision last week, but that he asked her to hold off on the announcement.
    Ms Harney said she assumed that her resignation would be accepted, and that as the Taoiseach already had to fill one vacancy at Cabinet, he would fill her position at the same time.
    Asked if she expected further resignations of Ministers who are not contesting the election, she said that was a matter for the individuals concerned.
    The former leader of the Progressive Democrats has served as Minister for Heath since 2004, as well as Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment.
    Ms Harney, who served as Tánaiste to Taoiseach Bertie Ahern, was first elected to the Dáil in 1981.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

you bet me to it ha ha Thank god she was useless anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

foxinsox wrote: »
    Just heard this on RTE news :)

About bloody time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭budgemook

No more eye candy in the Dail so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

****!

We'll have to put bigger doors on Leinster house to get her out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

I'm disappointed. I wanted to hear her to "squeal like a pig" when being booted out of government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0119/harneym.html
    as the Taoiseach already had to fill one vacancy at Cabinet, he would fill her position at the same time
    god brian is some man, can he do my job too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

All the rats are deserting the sinking ship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

She was the picture of HEALTH... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

But the question is, WOULD YE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

A complete failure of a politician, FAS, the HSE, and a health service in tatters while she sails off with a huge pension.

Fcukin Cnut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

and now a brief musical interlude :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

she's gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Vanbis wrote: »
    About bloody time :)

is your internet connection slow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

They're all lining them selves up for the big job.

God help us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

She's not running for election?
    Crap.
    I was hoping to see her humiliated.

Nice to see her go though. Overweight female canine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

So, no more of this, then.......

harney1.jpg

is your internet connection slow?

No sir.

I wonder was she rolled pushed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

How many is that now... another nail the the governments coffin!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

About ****ing time. An overweight idiot as our health Minister. Ironic ay?

Good riddance, she's be raiding the chippers now I bet.

Sometimes the "thanks" button just isn't enough!!

Maikkomi's and Jumpy's posts deserve much more than a little thanks..

Most excellent Sirs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Hope the doors of leinster house slam her in her fat arse on the way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Though this seems to a time of joy, spare a thought for the poor fella running the sweet shop at the Dail...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

So if Mary Harney has jumped ship will that mean the ship isn't going to sink and FF might be ok.:D

She wouldn't resign over the cervical cancer vacine or the amount of people on trolleys but just in time to pick up a fat juicy pension....

orourkeda wrote: »
    she's gone

GO ON!!! ... SAY IT ....

She's Gone ...... THE FAT HOOOORR lol:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

Bit of a shame. I'd rather have a government full of Mary Harneys than a government full of Mary Hanafins

She ate the ballot box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Don't tell the door hit your massive arse on the way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

What's Shrek going to do without Fiona?
    Sell your shares in the Dail canteen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

This thread would suggest that the poster who started the 'Why can't we slag fat people?' thread was labouring under a false premise.

Harney leaves Dail!

Other news: 4 seats have now been freed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭the varg

Poly wrote: »
    A complete failure of a politician, FAS, the HSE, and a health service in tatters while she sails off with a huge pension.

Fcukin Cnut

That about sums it up all right:mad:

I know she is not the most popular..

But at least she has done the decent thing and offered her resignation..

As far as I know there are others who have said they will not be running for election but are still hanging on and haven't offered to resign..

They are hardly going to be that bothered about doing anything constructive between now and the election.. They should feck off too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

budgemook wrote: »

You are one sick perverted individual :D

The thought of it makes me feel sick.

the varg wrote: »
    That about sums it up all right:mad:

She prob end up like that guy in the UK and then in a few years she'll try and sue the HSE.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I dont talk to inanimate objects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Bye bye Mary! You won't be missed. People will actually have better health with you no longer being Health minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

You finally got the hint that you're a sham Mary. Good riddance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Patri

Well good riddance, the fat bitch cared as much about the health in this country as she did low carb diets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Now if Margaret Thatcher were to die it might just make one of the best days ever. Fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Good riddance, wonder how the new liver's holding up? Gluggety glug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Stinicker wrote: »
    Now if Margaret Thatcher were to die it might just make one of the best days ever. Fingers crossed.

You must have a fairly unexciting life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

''Oh Mary this London's a wonderful sight ,sure there's people here working by day and by night '' .

Pity your retiring Mary , there's bad management jobs going in the NHS :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Gottalovegreys

budgemook wrote: »

Mental picture GAAAAWK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭zambo

If I was not an atheist I would say thank God.Lets hope she has not signed contracts for the new children's hospital.I suppose we will soon see her on the board of some private hospital or drug company.Between herself and Charlie mc Creevey they did more damage to Irish society than almost any other politician.