Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People texting while driving

• 18-01-2011 10:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I find it annoying when I am in a car with a person and they are driving while texting. Especially when they send 2 texts every minute.

I looked this up, and it is not against the law to do this. SMH, it is much more dangerous than speaking while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

it is not against the law to do this

Yes it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Irish drivers are stupid.

Are you surprised?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Where'd you look it up?

It is driving with undue care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Depends on the phone, those touch screens are a pain in the hole to text on while driving.. Gimme buttons and predictive text anyday - or so I'm told by a mate who does it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭darsar

I'll reply to this in a min, just behind a Garda car now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

It's illegal to hold a mobile while driving as far as I know. Why don't you take the phone off them and throw it out the window. It would then be nice and cosy with the regard for your life held by the driver.

I would demand to get out of any vehicle driven by such a simpleton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

CorkMan wrote: »

MEP Jim Higgins is calling for EU-wide legislation to be introduced which bans the practice of texting, emailing and web browsing while driving.

EU-wide
    EU-wide
    EU-wide

EU =/= Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Burnnnnnnn......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

it is so dangerous to text while you are driving, at least if you are talking on hands free your eyes are on the road!

but while i would be in favour of a total ban for using your phone while driving, i think this whole "turn off your phone" is non-sense though. my phone is never turned off, i put it on silent when im driving so i won't even hear it if it rings, then i just get back to them when i get to where im going.

if i were you OP i would refuse to get into the car with the texter and i would tell them why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Don't get in a car driven by someone so irresponsible. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not banned in Sweden, daft feckers - texting while driving in the snow.

http://www.cellular-news.com/car_bans/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

I saw a woman the other day putting on make-up and texting at the same time....I know women are better at multi-tasking but while driving?...:confused:

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

If I get a txt and im driving, i'll read it and reply if it involves only a few words or quick reply, I have my phone in a cup holder by the hand brake, i never have things in my pocket when driving, just dont like the feeling.

I dont use FB or anything else when driving though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It is illegal to not be paying attention to what you are doing whilst in a car.

No need to specifically have any mention of how you are not paying attention, or what device you are using at the time. If your not paying attention, then it is breaking the rules of the road and you can be done for it.

stevejr wrote: »
    I saw a woman the other day putting on make-up and texting at the same time....I know women are better at multi-tasking but while driving?...:confused:
    thats ridiculous. no common sense at all.was she driving with her knees or something so???

oh wait, i mean, why wasnt she in the kitchen?:P

biko wrote: »
    Not banned in Sweden, daft feckers - texting while driving in the snow.

http://www.cellular-news.com/car_bans/

Ay yeah, but Saabs and Volvos are supposed to be good in crashes...

thats ridiculous. no common sense at all.was she driving with her knees or something so???

oh wait, i mean, why wasnt she in the kitchen?:P

Think it was a combo of elbows and knees:D. Pretty girl though, would have made a pretty corpse if anything had of gone wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Get all manufacturers to fit new cars with an in-car signal blocker that only activates when the ignition is turned on and the engine is running. Problem solved! No more texts or calls unless you stop driving.

Think it was a combo of elbows and knees:D. Pretty girl though, would have made a pretty corpse if anything had of gone wrong.
    Naw, her make up would have been all over the place :cool:

Tomohawk wrote: »
    Get all manufacturers to fit new cars with an in-car signal blocker that only activates when the ignition is turned on and the engine is running. Problem solved! No more texts or calls unless you stop driving.

but then what about those idiots who put on their make up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭source

3.— (1) A person shall not while driving a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place hold a mobile phone.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a member of the Garda Síochána, an ambulance service or a fire brigade of a fire authority (within the meaning of the Fire Services Act 1981 ) who is acting in the course of his or her duties and holding a mobile phone in relation to the performance of his or her duties.

(3) A person who contravenes subsection (1) is guilty of an offence.

(4) The Minister may, to avoid the impairment or interference with the driving capacity or capabilities of the driver of a mechanically propelled vehicle, make regulations in relation to the restriction or prohibition in mechanically propelled vehicles in public places of the use of—

(a) a mobile phone (other than in the circumstances referred to in subsection (1)),

(b) an in-vehicle communication device,

(c) information equipment, or

(d) entertainment equipment.

(5) Different regulations may be made under subsection (4) for different classes of cases coming within the same class of equipment or for different classes of vehicles in relation to such equipment or different classes of persons.

(6) A person who contravenes or fails to comply with regulations made under subsection (4) is guilty of an offence.

(7) It is a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (3), in relation to holding a mobile phone while driving a mechanically propelled vehicle, or under subsection (6), in relation to the use of a mobile phone or an in-vehicle communication device, to show that he or she was—

(a) using it to call the Garda Síochána, an ambulance, fire or other emergency service on numbers prescribed for such service, or

(b) involved in or acting in response to a genuine emergency.

(8) A person guilty of an offence under this section is liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding €2,000.

(9) In this section—

“ hands-free device ” means a device designed so that when used in conjunction with a mobile phone there is no need for the user to hold the phone by hand;

“ hold ”, in relation to a mobile phone, means holding the phone by hand or supporting or cradling it with another part of the body;

“ interactive communication function ” includes—

(a) sending or receiving oral or written messages,

(b) sending or receiving facsimile documents,

(c) sending or receiving still or moving images, or

(d) providing access to the internet;

“ in-vehicle communication device ” means a communication device designed or adapted to be attached to or integrated into a mechanically propelled vehicle or which may be used in or on such a vehicle and with which a person is capable of making or receiving a call or performing an interactive communication function and includes a two-way radio;

“ mobile phone ” means a portable communication device, other than a two-way radio, with which a person is capable of making or receiving a call or performing an interactive communication function, but for the purposes of subsection (1) does not include a hands-free device;

“ portable ” in relation to a mobile phone, means the phone is designed or adapted to be carried by a person;

“ two-way radio ” means an apparatus for wireless telegraphy which is designed or adapted for the purpose of transmitting or receiving spoken words or messages between a person and another, using a frequency other than a frequency used by a mobile phone.

Theyre clearly no loss to society if they dont have the common decency to watch where theyre going.

Remove all the car-mirrors....oh wait...no....that'd be worse...:P

Remove the center "make-up" mirror, use/add more side mirrors...You know it might work 'cos people would then have to learn to rely on their side mirrors only, like when driving a van or truck...would make them better drivers!!

well they aren't using the mirrors for the reasons they are actually needed anyway, :P

so they wouldn't miss the mirrors when they are removed!! :D

Remove the center "make-up" mirror, use/add more side mirrors...
    Then we'll see people drivng along the road with their heads out the window trying to see themselves in the mirror.
    Or they could just bring a handheld mirror.....

well they aren't using the mirrors for the reasons they are actually needed anyway, :P

so they wouldn't miss the mirrors when they are removed!! :D

except when they need to put on make-up of course!

damn it! i did not think of that!

Confiscate the phone if you're caught, might stop a few from re-offending.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭e-Mo0?

wouldn't texting, holding a mirror and putting on make-up require 3 hands or someone with a Christy Brown-type foot?

or marry this lad and put him in the passenger seat...:D
    http://astronomy7.com/omg_files_from_a7_no_hyperlink_please/2010/12/mirror-suit-01.jpg

wouldn't texting, holding a mirror and putting on make-up require 3 hands or someone with a Christy Brown-type foot?
    id make it work......

foreign & eastern european in-particular drivers are the most disgraceful cocky pricks you will ever meet on the roads why dont ye all **** off out of our country and leave us back to our, considerate to fellow people and relaxed life we once had before being invaded by ye bastards... ignorant ***** making all the Irish behave like pigs... **** OFF HOME!!!!

Too much coffee this morning???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

gavredking wrote: »
    If I get a txt and im driving, i'll read it and reply if it involves only a few words or quick reply, I have my phone in a cup holder by the hand brake, i never have things in my pocket when driving, just dont like the feeling.

Why do you think that's ok? It's pretty much not. The distraction caused by mobile phones has been scientifically equated to loss of senses if you drink drive. No text message or phone call is urgent enough to risk your life or the life of others. Can you imagine the Gardai calling to your familys home to tell them that you're dead? Then in the investigation it's discovered you were killed sending a smiley or summit equally as trivial to a mate. No phone call or text message is that important that it can't wait til you pull over.

Rant over ;) I suppose it's such a pet hate seeing how many people and most young people are killed on Irish roads and the heart break that follows

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Instead of texting while driving, I prefer to close my eyes, breath slowly and imagine what the person I want to contact would say.

yes my little slave.. more powers for the police why not have them smash the persons brain apart on the side of the road that would also "stop a few from re-offending" WAKE UP AND FREE YOURSELF FROM THE SYSTEM YOU BUNCH OF SHEEPLE...

Hippie!!

You'd want to be pretty vein...:D

WAs actually talking about this the other day, and we though it would be cool if, When somebody was driving while using theyre phone, that you throw the nearest available object at their car ( rock, brick, filled roll etc)
    Obviously when we thought about it, we came to the conclusion that it wouldnt be safe for multiple reasons, the main one being that skobies would be lining up on the main roads.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

gavredking wrote: »

Of course, compromised reaction times and awareness of surroundings don't apply to you because you're a good driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

People who do this or talk on mobile while driving make me sick. Selfish self important idiots all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

Too much coffee this morning???

MAYBE DEY TUK HIS JAWB.

WAs actually talking about this the other day, and we though it would be cool if, When somebody was driving while using theyre phone, that you throw the nearest available object at their car ( rock, brick, filled roll etc)
    Obviously when we thought about it, we came to the conclusion that it wouldnt be safe for multiple reasons, the main one being that skobies would be lining up on the main roads.....

Interisting concept tho......but I think the cons definately outweigh the pros.

Only slightly Tbf, but you could set out guidelines.
    For example, if its a member of the travelling community, Fire away.
    If its a woman, on the phone, putting of makeup, and clearly "Taking the piss", same.
    Really though, you can split it up into 3 categories:
    -Ya, thats Grand
    -Careful now
    -Thats just taking the piss

and move on from there.
    Actually, im going to write a letter about this......;)

My friend does this at traffic lights. Whips out the phone while car is standing still, throws it away again when moving off. I still try to tell her to stop - "ah but I don't do it while driving". You do it when the car is on and you're in control of it ffs, that's almost as bad.
    :mad:

bluewolf wrote: »
    My friend does this at traffic lights. Whips out the phone while car is standing still, throws it away again when moving off. I still try to tell her to stop - "ah but I don't do it while driving". You do it when the car is on and you're in control of it ffs, that's almost as bad.

Blonde logic me thinks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

bluewolf wrote: »

Sorry, what is wrong with that? I do it all the time if stopped at traffic lights when I know the sequence and know that I will be sitting there for 2 minutes. And when stuck in a traffic jam. I put it down when time comes to move off. Where is the issue? That isnt illegal! it doesnt fall into the 'diving with undue care' I think you need to chill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm constantly giving out to my missus for this! In fact she's just texted me 10 mins ago to say there's a bad crash on the M1, i told her it was probably some muppet texting while driving! Or words to that effect;)

It's way more dangerous than talking on the phone in my opinion. On a similar note i had to stop bringing my ipod in the car cos i find that's even worse again than texting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm constantly giving out to my missus for this! In fact she's just texted me 10 mins ago to say there's a bad crash on the M1, i told her it was probably some muppet texting while driving! Or words to that effect;)

It's way more dangerous than talking on the phone in my opinion. On a similar note i had to stop bringing my ipod in the car cos i find that's even worse again than texting!

Why did you text her back, she'll feel compelled to read it and reply!.. Oh, give her my regards.