Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda Wheelers

• 17-01-2011 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine is on the comittee, and should be emailing me out some membership forms this week. I can email these on if anyone needs or wants one.

Is there anyone on here a member?

Lenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

let mine lapsed must renew it again how much is it this year.
    btw i'm on the auld fellas list not the racing use my license for touring and group rides.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Amazes me that the Drogheda club isn't much larger. They run a good few events every year. The town has a decent bike shop and has expanded a lot over the last 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭austinbyrne21

Anyone know if these guys have a website? I'm just looking for information. Wouldn't be interested in racing or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Have to say I am a bit confused about what Drogheda Wheelers are about. I get the impression that its a few older fellas and some youngsters. Not so much interested in racing (well not yet) but would love to join a group or club around Drogheda to help get trained for some Sportives this year. But if there is more information about Drogheda Wheelers I would also be interested.

drogdub don't be going underestimating us auld fellas pop down to the quay cycles every sunday morning at 10.15 and join in our sunday spin .we usually cover around 35 to 40 miles average speed is around 14.5 mph as the months go on the miles will get longer and the speed increases ;)
    or you could join in a much faster group that leave at 9.30.

oh yeah theres usually around 6 to 10 cyclists the more the merrier.as long as you don't act the goat:D:D

Cheers for the reply. I was talking to one of the lads below in Quay Cycles the other day about these spins, but was under the impression that they were in and around the 40km mark, not 40 miles. I may have to work on distance myself before I join in on one of these, don't want to make a show of myself. What kind of route do you's generally do?

drogdub don't be going underestimating us auld fellas pop down to the quay cycles every sunday morning at 10.15 and join in our sunday spin .we usually cover around 35 to 40 miles average speed is around 14.5 mph as the months go on the miles will get longer and the speed increases ;)

oh yeah theres usually around 6 to 10 cyclists the more the merrier.as long as you don't act the goat:D:D

Oops sorry didn't mean it like that. Sounds like what I am looking for. And that is the distance and speed I was doing. But I have been off the bike for 3 or 4 months now so I might need to do a bit of training before I can keep up with you. Thanks for reply

Cheers for the reply. I was talking to one of the lads below in Quay Cycles the other day about these spins, but was under the impression that they were in and around the 40km mark, not 40 miles. I may have to work on distance myself before I join in on one of these, don't want to make a show of myself. What kind of route do you's generally do?
    you wont make a show of yourself don't worry. the route we take depends entirely on the wind direction.you would be welcome to join in remember winter training is all about getting miles in the legs there's no hero stuff going on that's for the summer time :D:D

drogdub wrote: »
    Oops sorry didn't mean it like that. Sounds like what I am looking for. And that is the distance and speed I was doing. But I have been off the bike for 3 or 4 months now so I might need to do a bit of training before I can keep up with you. Thanks for reply
    no bother come along any time .
    our aim is to get as many lads/lassies out on there bike's the craic is usually good ,;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

That's the group i go out with every sunday :)

Zorba wrote: »
    That's the group i go out with every sunday :)
    yeah you young bucks are to good for us fred's :D:D
    but why don't you ask other cyclists to join your group .
    there are a lot of solo riders in town that would like to join a fast group but don't know how to go about it .
    so stick a poster up in quay cycles and let people know
    cheers.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Swordsdave

told a few juniors to join drogheda wheelers last year as it`s a good club for junior racing but couldn`t give them any info about it!!
    Even a facebook page would be good for info about races and spins?

yeah you young bucks are to good for us fred's :D:D
    but why don't you ask other cyclists to join your group .
    there are a lot of solo riders in town that would like to join a fast group but don't know how to go about it .
    so stick a poster up in quay cycles and let people know
    cheers.;)

LOL wouldn't call myself that young mind u i am the baby of the group @ 37 !

Anyone is welcome to join in with our group, AFAIK the lads in the bike shop know about our group there's not big secret about it. A few lads have come and gone over the last yr one of them stayed with us the others may come back or a few new faces might join in the more the merrier.

As for the speed of the group, last sunday the average speed was 26.2km, not overly fast but the speed will rise up to around 30km ish as we move into the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭HALLOW RUBY

I am very interested in joining up with this Sunday morning group but I am a complete novice to cycling. I bought a bike in Oct and have been out for a few spins, the furthest being 32km which took about 90mins. Would I be able to keep the pace up if I went out with this lot?

Think u should be ok with the 10.15 group feck sake lads can correct me if i'm wrong but i think they go as fast as the slowest man. Anyway even if the pace is too much just go so far with them then next week go a bit further and so on till u can comfortably stay with them for the whole spin. You'll probably be surprised how quickly u improve.

well you wont know until you try;) come down and try it out .
    you will learn how to ride in a group what food to take ,you do take food with you and drinks very important.
    remember you can do your own thing if you feel the pace is not for you .pm me if you want to know any more info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭HALLOW RUBY

Thanks for the info. Hopefully I'll get down in the next week or two to try it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

i should be out on sunday - come over and say hello.

the average speed is around 14.5 miles per hour i can't get my head around km:D:D it can be slower but not really by much, average distance would be around 35 to 40 miles ,now riding solo 40 miles can be quiet a distance but in a group you are been sucked or even paced along for most of the spin,
    so it's really not as hard as riding on your own.
    to be honest i'm more into touring these days than road cycling but having sad that it's a great way to get your fitness and speed back on track.
    so don't be nervous about giving it a go what have you to loose,
    mind you the first group ride is always the hardest but you have all night to recover:eek: :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Really thought the Wheelers was a dead duck as i am from the area and a keen cyclist but you hear very little about the club. I had been up twice last year at Quay Cycles for the weekend spins and there was no shows.

you know yourself all these spins are usually left to one or two guys ,the times keep changing we used to go at 10 then it went to 9 now it's 10.15.
    the only thing i can say is give me your mobile number and i will text you on the saturday night .you know if the weather is anyway bad people wont turn up or if they do they leave at the given time ,we usually hang on for 5 minutes if nobody turns up by then we are off.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭padlad

Nice one, I too thought that there was no Drogheda cycling club anymore! Website anyone?? ;)

I'm v interested, but am just getting back up to speed after the Christmas period - only doing runs of about 30-40k at the minute. Will aim to join up with ye in a few weeks - when I'm back up to the couple of hours in the saddle on a Sun morning...

quick q - do ye head out earlier in the Summer?

padlad wrote: »
    Nice one, I too thought that there was no Drogheda cycling club anymore! Website anyone?? ;)

I'm v interested, but am just getting back up to speed after the Christmas period - only doing runs of about 30-40k at the minute. Will aim to join up with ye in a few weeks - when I'm back up to the couple of hours in the saddle on a Sun morning...

quick q - do ye head out earlier in the Summer?
    as i said in an earlier post i let my membership lapse must renew;)
    yeah summertime can leave at 9 or 10 much longer spin's well at least i do .
    i would usually take the touring bike out cover mabe 70 to 100 miles maybe even camp out .hopefully i will do a few camping tours this summer;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Count me in for Sunday morning, weather looking good.

good stuff if we get all that say is coming we should have a great group.
    btw if theres a few inexperienced cyclists comming please bring water or energy drink and food as in energy bars fruitcake banana.
    i usually end up giving mine to some exhausted rider:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Smithzer

I know the website (or lack of one) was on the agenda last week at the AGM, I would expect they will get something up and running over the next few months. There has been a serious lack of activity over the last few years in what was once a great club and I would agree the increase in the size of the town you would expect the opposite.

I think the membership is €35 which includes licence and 3rd party insurance (correct me if I'm wrong Fecks Sake Lads or Lennymc) which is very good value.

Hopefully this recruitment drive will be a success for them. Now to dust off the bike.......:)

Smithzer wrote: »
    I think the membership is €35 which includes licence and 3rd party insurance (correct me if I'm wrong Fecks Sake Lads or Lennymc) which is very good value.

i think it might be 30 euro, but dont quote me on that. Ill know as soon as I get the membership forms.

ah it's a brilliant club especially for the young riders who race,lord rest peter bidwell and kevin king they put there life's into the club.
    but time moves on as the saying goes and a club is only as good as the members.
    a lot of the lads in our Sunday morn group get together and travel to sunnier climates around september time spain/italy/france/ myself and another lad a more into the cycle touring, we done a fellclub meet last summer to the cotswolds what a fantastic tour ,this year it's either france or wales or maybe even ireland.
    but this all comes about by been a member of a club or cycling group ,but listen nobody is canvasing to join any club we are just glad to get people cycling ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Alright lads, what would your normal 10.15 route be?
    Are most on road bikes or hybrids etc?

This sounds like the boot in the arse I need, hardly looked at the bike since October :(

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »

This sounds like the boot in the arse I need, hardly looked at the bike since October :(
    most of the lads and there's a few girls joining us next week (no the 9.30 group can't come once you mention girls):D'
    are on road bikes myself included ,but your hybrid should be fine the bike is after all only as good as the pilot:D:D
    sorry i should have said next sundays route could be baltray /clogher/anygassan/castlebelligham tallonstown/ardee/collon/drogheda.
    fear not this route your not the only one that will be knackered.

What sportives are you guys planning on doing this year? or what are your aims?...
    Great to see that we are getting or own boards group spin going in drogland

im planning on doing as many sportives as possible, as well as the etape hibernia, maybe the etape caledoni aswell.

to bloody hard for me:D:D

furiousox wrote: »

Bit like me Furious think Kevin King was my last real spin..... Drogheda Boards Spin Well I Never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

most of the lads and there's a few girls joining us next week (no the 9.30 group can't come once you mention girls):Dare on road bikes myself included ,but your hybrid should be fine the bike is after all only as good as the pilot:D:D
    sorry i should have said next sundays route could be baltray /clogher/anygassan/castlebelligham tallonstown/ardee/collon/drogheda.
    fear not this route your not the only one that will be knackered.

Thanks for that, I'm on a road bike myself.
    I thought there might be more hybrids than roadies as you mentioned touring, panniers etc.
    I'll be in Manchester for the footy on Saturday but I'll do my best to get down there on Sunday (making excuses already! :o)

CPL 593H

As I haven't been out on my bike since October myself I going to go out Sunday on my own on Sunday just to see how bad my legs are. But defo going to go down to the 10:15 group in the next few weeks. Going to see if I can do about 50km. Maybe even more if up to.

Probably go upto the top of the Plaitin Road via Bryanstownfor a start. Depending on how I feel will go straight back or turn right at Duleek onto the Julianstown Rd. The either turn off it at Bryanstown turn or go to Julianstown. Of course that is in an ideal world. Not sure how it will go.

your best training plan would be to go for time not miles or how far you can go.just get yourself back training by doing an hour on the bike ,two or three times a week. than at the weekends bring that up to two hours or even three but don't think miles or it will wreck your head.

Yeah your right. I'll probably aim to stay out for about 90 minutes and if I still feel ok will try to stay out a bit longer

drogdub wrote: »
    Yeah your right. I'll probably aim to stay out for about 90 minutes and if I still feel ok will try to stay out a bit longer
    enjoy your training and stay away from the big ring ;)

I'm in the same boat as a lot so far. In that, my fitness levels are nowhere were they'd need to be for one of these spins but would definitely be up for coming along in the next few weeks. Only got out Sunday gone for an hour for the first time in about 4 months. Will try to build this up to between 2-3 hours.

And what's all this about Ardee/Collon?! I've known people from the Alps that quiver at the thoughts of the hills out there. I'll have to work on my climbing legs.:D

Very surprised that there's so many of us Droghedians on here, it'd be great to meet up for one of these spins.

One last thing, what does the €30 (€35?) go towards? This isn't a cheeky question, I realise it can be read that way. Just curious, that's all.

I'm in the same boat as a lot so far. In that, my fitness levels are nowhere were they'd need to be for one of these spins but would definitely be up for coming along in the next few weeks. Only got out Sunday gone for an hour for the first time in about 4 months. Will try to build this up to between 2-3 hours.

And what's all this about Ardee/Collon?! I've known people from the Alps that quiver at the thoughts of the hills out there. I'll have to work on my climbing legs.:D

Very surprised that there's so many of us Droghedians on here, it'd be great to meet up for one of these spins.

One last thing, what does the €30 (€35?) go towards? This isn't a cheeky question, I realise it can be read that way. Just curious, that's all.
    there's loads of cyclists in town and the surrounding area but not all know about the sunday group.and when newbies do join if they get blown out on the first spin then they stay solo.your always going to get people in a group that dont want to wait for the slower riders , of course these guys were always fast them self's :rolleyes: regarding hill's as you know you will only get good on hills if you train on hills,but thats what your low gears are for .listen lads this time of year is all about getting miles in your legs come the summer which is only round the corner :D:D you will be flying honest.

So why dont the group of us that are rusty meet this Sunday ourselves, very easy pace 40-50km.

That's not a bad idea. At the minute I'd be up for this alright. We can keep an eye on the weather nearer the time.

Would be up for that. But never cycled in a group so may need a bit of looking after

The Sunday spin is a leisure spin, about 40 k at a steady pace as far as I am aware. My wife is going, it will be her first group spin, I would expect a nice steady pace - maybe 18 - 20 kph, so i wouldn't betoo worried about the pace.

Of the 30 euro, 20 goes to cycling ireland and covers insurance and 10 goes to the club as far as I know.

Stop the whingeing lads were all in the same boat,get your mojo into gear and get out the weather is good for Sunday (so far).

most of the lads and there's a few girls joining us next week (no the 9.30 group can't come once you mention girls):D'

That's my question answered then !! Think i'm the only boardsie in the 9.30 group so your secret is safe with me ;)
    enjoy your training and stay away from the big ring ;)

Unless u come out with the 9.30 group :D

Sounds like your gonna have a good group there on sunday though hope u all have a good spin and hope this damn frost goes away by then.

yeah great to see a good turnout ,hopefully everyone will do the distance and stay together ,the route i mentioned earlier may change, what we try to do is to stay out of the wind as long as possible taking in back roads most of the time;)
    hopefully this frost will lift but somehow i doubt it, but it should be gone around 11 .
    so have we any other tourers in the group that's interested in doing a bit of cycle touring/camping.
    or are you all wannabe racing heads:D
    if any let me know i would love to rope a few of you to join my club in England the fell club it's strictly a club were you have to use your own steam or public transport to get to your destination.unique club and it only cost around a tenner a year.;)

FSL, how many have we for Sunday??

macadam wrote: »
    FSL, how many have we for Sunday??
    good question last week we had ten most of them are regulars.
    but wait and see ,i know there's a few tri athlete's coming this sun this training suits them .
    certainly hope the frosty conditions are gone by sunday i really dont like cycling on slippy roads:eek: