Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

opening a takeaway

• 17-01-2011 12:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭

hey im opening a takeaway on tuam road soon, but struggling to find a name. any ideas. mainly gonna consist of pizza and burgers and chips,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

Burger Land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Joebits

Foodlicious, Buger Kong, Food Tastic, Grab A Bite, The TakeAway, Larry's, Food4U, PizzaBurgerChipPalace, Burger Palace, Food Palace, Chips&Stuff, Burgers&Stuff, Pizza&Stuff, FoodLand..etc.

I could go on and on.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Good Galway Grub?

What's your name, surname? A lot of places have their name in it (or a made up name)
    Look at the golden pages online for Ireland or other places (London etc) for takeaway/restaurant and you'll get loads of ideas.

on a slightly related note why is it 'four star pizza', why not five star pizza?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Play on heritage. Food of the Tribesman, The Tribesman, Tribesman Takeaway.

Btw, if you use any of these, you owe one of us a takeaway! :D

dinneenp wrote: »
    why is it 'four star pizza', why not five star pizza?

Because some pikey stole one of the stars outside the shop and so then it became four star pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭PauricTheLodger

Goodburger

Constantin's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Krusty Burger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Joebits wrote: »
    Because some pikey stole one of the stars outside the shop and so then it became four star pizza.

LOL INFRACTION

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Lord of the Fries

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

DRakE wrote: »
    LOL INFRACTION
    Srs? I've seen loads of people on here talk about 'knackers', 'tinkers' and so on and never get infracted.

Pikey is probably the least offensive 'slang' term you could use anyway, most people don't even use it to refer to Members of the Travelling Community®

On a completely unrelated note, call it Dirty Filthy Chipsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

Tasty Burgers.

Or Tashty-macs.

Srs? I've seen loads of people on here talk about 'knackers', 'tinkers' and so on and never get infracted.

Pikey is probably the least offensive 'slang' term you could use anyway, most people don't even use it to refer to Members of the Travelling Community®

Following on from that, call it Dirty Filthy Chipsies

How come you didnt just get a warning for saying all those 'bad language' words?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

On a completely unrelated note, call it Dirty Filthy Chipsies

+ 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Crusty Burger.

Shamburgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Any fish been served?? Codfather, Fanny Haddock, (you're name) Plaice.

Or The hungry Hoor!!! Theres one in Athlone i think... Bun In the oven...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

biko wrote: »
    Shamburgers

Would be a bit offensive to a certain group of minorities I think

Burqa King (a not for prophet company?)
    Caliden wrote: »
    Who gives a f**k about vegetarians??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

is it an Italian chipper? Or just a regular one..if it's Italian stereotype the crap out of it

Viechenzo Carbones ah' big a pizza pies and ah da other crap

Or nod to The Simpsons Luigis Rissoto
    South Park: Bucha daFagachinnis

On a more serious note I prefer something like Joes, Vinnies...unless do you want to go for a theme?

Star Burgers? pictures of dead celebrities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

Compu-Global-Hyper-Mega-Burger
    got a nice ring to it

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Star Burgers? pictures of dead celebrities?

Don't know about you but I'd rather not tuck into a kebab while staring at what's left of Kurt Cobain's head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I'm the opposite. I like my kebabs loaded with lettuce, kebab sauce and morbid fascination of was he really as miserable as he seemed?

Obvious answer=Yes

Caliden wrote: »
    Isn't that just how everyone from Tuam refers to themselves? That what my Tuam friends call themselves anyway.
    Thought it was appropriate since it's on Tuam road.

If inappropriate I'll remove it of course.

Tuam = sham
    Milltown = scan
    Dunmore = shaft

Isn't that just how everyone from Tuam refers to themselves?
    Only cause they all are... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭SparKing

Superb-Macs
    The Chipper
    or
    McDonnellsBelleek.JPG

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Om nom nom
    Monsch

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

baldbear wrote: »
    Any fish been served?? Codfather, Fanny Haddock, (you're name) Plaice.

Or The hungry Hoor!!! Theres one in Athlone i think... Bun In the oven...

By chance I was in Athlone at the weekend. It's called De Mad Hoor but close enough. I had a cheese burger which was lovely. Except they put garlic mayo on it for some reason. OP, don't do that Kthxbye.
    There's one in the north called For Cod and Ulster. Mightn't go down too well here.

Nothing like a battered Loyalist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,290 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Call it Fred.

I've always wanted to call something Fred, and figure if I keep suggesting it often enough it'll stick somewhere.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

JustMary wrote: »
    Call it Fred.

I've always wanted to call something Fred, and figure if I keep suggesting it often enough it'll stick somewhere.

Yeah. Deep fred.
    Or Right said Fried.
    Sigmund Fried.
    Deep fat friar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

Give it a turkish name. You won't do go business in a Galway take-away unless you're turkish. Look at how many charcoal grills have sprung up about the place !

nothing says turkish cuisine like pizzas and burgers, right? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

Tittycum takeaway sounds turkish?

Knacker dwarf takeaway

Warty Nora,

youd have to factor in the cost of endorsements though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

"another flamin' takeaway?"
    "bitz and pizzas"
    "sam an' ellas"
    "soon fat"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Om nom nom
    Monsch
    Ubermonsch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

OP are you looking for a gimmicky name, as in will the decor be quirky, or do you think 'any publicity is good publicity' (mink man's sam and ella is funny and memorable:D), but are you ok with 'that kind' of funny?

If it's just a regular chipper, nothing special, surely people will judge it on price, chips etc. You could just call it 'AL's'

There you go 'AL's';)

or how about 'Midnight Oil' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

'I can has cheezburger?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Mr Minus - The Takeaway Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

SuperMacDonaldsKingWhopper...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭poolfan

**** n That!
    Another Takeaway
    Takeaway R Us!
    Heart attackLicious
    Come fry with me
    GFC.. Galway Fried Calories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Turning out to be a great thread, some great names so far:D (including infraction posts;) )OP just make sure the food is top notch for a start and i'm sure you'll do well, good luck with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Robbo wrote: »
    Ubermonsch?

Supermonsch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

'I Cant Believe Its Not Supermacs'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

In Cod we Trust.
    Buddha Burgers.
    You wanna pizza me? (did i read this on page one?)
    I'll Make You a Whopper You Can't Refuse
    For Cod's Sake
    Are ye Coddin me?
    A load of Pollocks!
    Everybody in the Plaice
    Pat Mustard & Georgie Burgers
    We got Sole
    The Swordfish (featuring Halle Berry's burger and chips)

Isn't that just how everyone from Tuam refers to themselves? That what my Tuam friends call themselves anyway.
    Thought it was appropriate since it's on Tuam road.

If inappropriate I'll remove it of course.

Tuam = sham
    Milltown = scan
    Dunmore = shaft
    Ok according to this thread it may or may not be derogatory depending on who's using it or if they're in Tuam or Galway.

No offence intended to Tuam shams. Guess I'll have to be more careful when using it from now on and only use it in Tuam or when asking for Saw Doc's music.

SHTW92.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭dinneenp

On a related note do you want advice/suggestions (maybe open another thread) but here's mine anyway:
    • PRICE, PRICE, PRICE. If the food is nice but expensive I won't go there often. Most places take the pis$- charge an extra 80c for cheese, extra for sauce on burger etc. That annoys the hell out of me.
    • homemade style chips (as distinct to the 'frozen' chips that are all the exact same size (like what you normally get from a chip van).
    • Good selection- look at Scottys Steak house and see how many selections they have for toppings etc.
    • Quickish service. i'd imagine a lot of people get take away and drive home so they don't want to be waiting 10 mins. (even though I know it takes a certain time to cook stuff).
    • Try to be friendly. There's a chipper in Douglas, Cork (KC's) that's as famous for their humour as their nice food.
    • Set up Facebook page, twitter etc. Promote. Look at Mr Waffle that opened opposite the hospital and their Facebook page (had pics of building while being decked out etc. had good hype built before they opened.

Ok according to this thread it may or may not be derogatory depending on who's using it or if they're in Tuam or Galway.

No offence intended to Tuam shams. Guess I'll have to be more careful when using it from now on and only use it in Tuam or when asking for Saw Doc's music.

Or ya could just not worry about people taking offence to stupid things. Real life is a bit different to Boards.ie ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭encyclopedia

Big Kahuna Burger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭MonkeyDoo

Yum Yum's

Kinda ryhmes with Tuam, and its easy to say when drunk