Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish President attending Michaela McAreavey funeral

• 17-01-2011 11:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭

Do you think it right that Mary McAleese is attending this funeral in her capacity as President of Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

Why not? Its not like shes tied with some political agenda (is she?). Id never heard of her before this tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I am not a fan of the President; I do not have a great deal of interest in the GAA.

My answer to your question is yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Do you think it right that Mary McAleese is attending this funeral in her capacity as President of Ireland?
    She's from the north, she and her husband have done a lot of work to heal the divides between the communities. Yes it is appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

She's a sanctimonious windbag, but there's no harm in it in my opinion, it's a nice gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭tomcollins97

zig wrote: »
    Why not? Its not like shes tied with some political agenda (is she?). Id never heard of her before this tbh.

That is my point - why exactly is the President attending her funeral? Other Irish people have been murdered at home and abroad and the President does not attend these funerals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Yes. There are hundreds of thousands of people in Northern Ireland with an internationally recognised right to citizenship of the Irish Republic. She is their president too.
    That is my point - why exactly is the President attending her funeral? Other Irish people have been murdered at home and abroad and the President does not attend these funerals

Michaela is a well known figure who died in tragic circumstances. Thousands of people who never met her will be attending. Therefore I think it perfectly appropriate McAleese attends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishash

About 8 years or so ago, my uncle passed away and I attended the removal to the church the day before the main funeral.

As we all waited for the service to begin, the president came out from the sacristy, sat down along with her aides. She waited until the blessing had taken place and then left. My cousin is a aide de comp (sorry if I mis-spelled that) to her, and she took time to make sure she paid her respects. She was there in her capacity as the president and as a friend.

Maybe she knows the Harte or McAreavey families personally, or maybe she just wants to pay her respects like a lot of people in Ireland would like to even though they never knew the girl or the families.

Nothing wrong with it IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

She and her husband are actually friends of the Harte family, so I have no problem with her attending.

antoobrien wrote: »
    She's from the north, she and her husband have done a lot of work to heal the divides between the communities. Yes it is appropriate.

Why? Many people from her province die everyday but she doesnt go to those funerals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭maggy_thatcher

I assume she remembered to go and ask for permission from the Government to go, or does she have a permanent permit to go to things like that?

She and her husband are actually friends of the Harte family, so I have no problem with her attending.

If she was attending in a personal capacity fine but she is going as President with much publicity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

fair enough but shouldnt she do it in a personal capacity in that case?

irishash wrote: »
    About 8 years or so ago, my uncle passed away and I attended the removal to the church the day before the main funeral.

As we all waited for the service to begin, the president came out from the sacristy, sat down along with her aides. She waited until the blessing had taken place and then left. My cousin is a aide de comp (sorry if I mis-spelled that) to her, and she took time to make sure she paid her respects. She was there in her capacity as the president and as a friend.

Maybe she knows the Harte or McAreavey families personally, or maybe she just wants to pay her respects like a lot of people in Ireland would like to even though they never knew the girl or the families.

Nothing wrong with it IMHO.

was her attendance noted by the press or the people of Ireland or was she paying her respects as Mary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,436 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Of course she should go...

Yes. There are hundreds of thousands of people in Northern Ireland with an internationally recognised right to citizenship of the Irish Republic. She is their president too

not my argument. Dont care what side of the border someone is from. My point is why is she attending this particular funeral in her capacity as President

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Why didn't she attend the funeral of the woman who died in the Kinsale hotel incident ... equally tragic & I'm sure an equally big loss to her family & friends? Or as Vincent Brown pointed out why not the funerals of the two people murdered in Limerick etc etc

I disagree with this nonsence ... this woman was the daughter of a former football manager and the wife of a footballer ... so what?

Slow week for news I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

not my argument. Dont care what side of the border someone is from. My point is why is she attending this particular funeral in her capacity as President

Fair enough I thought that's what you meant when you said capacity as president.

Anyway I addressed that point in the rest of that post :
    Michaela is a well known figure who died in tragic circumstances. Thousands of people who never met her will be attending. Therefore I think it perfectly appropriate McAleese attends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I assume the next Irish person murdered abroad will also receive a Presidential attendance at their funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishash

was her attendance noted by the press or the people of Ireland or was she paying her respects as Mary?

I would have thought being elected the President of Ireland means that anything you go to means you go there as the President. It is not like she can choose when she wants to be the president and when she just wants to be Mary. I am sure she is Mary all the time anyway.

But to answer your question, yes, it was noted by the press, as she was in Galway opening something or another, and that she was delayed in returning to Dublin because of the removal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If she was attending in a personal capacity fine but she is going as President with much publicity
    She's the President. Even if she is attending in a personal capacity, the media are going to say, "The president is attending".

Here you go, the President shaking hands with Mickey Harte:
    367411.jpg

He's won a number of All-Ireland football finals where the President has been in attendence, and so no doubt has spoken to the woman on a number of occasions and would consider her a known acquaintance.

I don't think it's inappropriate that the President would attend in a presidential capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

It's the same double standard as the Catholic Church having different rules for eulogies and hymns at funeral Masses depending on whether the deceased is a 'well know personality' or just a common joe or jane.

Pure hypocrisy IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

President is from Down, The Down County Captains wife was murdered in cold blood. What is the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Callan57 wrote: »
    I disagree with this nonsence ... this woman was the daughter of a former football manager and the wife of a footballer ... so what?

Mickey Harte became a counsellor after two of his players died suddenly on the field. He helped my uncle and his wife get over the loss of their son a year ago. If somebody wants to go to a funeral then they can. I also think this thread is in incredibly poor taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

listermint wrote: »
    President is from Down, The Down County Captains wife was murdered in cold blood. What is the problem?

there is none its just clowns looking for something to moan about

everything she does she does as president, there is no 'personal capacity' outside of her home she is the president 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,436 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The Gaa is Irelands biggest sporting organisation, and is a very positive thing in our society. Micky harte is an important figure in the gaa and he himself is an inspiration to many.....The president and the state (the hartes are Irish passport holders) recognise this by attending the funeral of his daughter. A death that will impact on contribution to society this year....

I on the otherhand do feck all...and do not deserve the president at my funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Everybody is not the same.
    Everyone is not equal, even in death.
    Why can't people get this through their narrowminded heads ?

This story has received huge publicity and coverage, the family have and will receive huge numbers expressing their condolsences, simply becuase they are very well known in sporting and public circles.
    Added to that the tragedy of this happening a couple of weeks after her marriage during her jhoneymoon just adds to it.

The president (who I don't like) may be attending in a personal or state capacity. I don't care which it is, because I think that it is right either way.
    Why didn't she attend the funeral of the woman who died in the Kinsale hotel incident ... equally tragic & I'm sure an equally big loss to her family & friends? Or as Vincent Brown pointed out why not the funerals of the two people murdered in Limerick etc etc

Slow week for news I guess

Why is the president going to one and not another ?
    Perhaps because the president has never met those people, perhaps because the man killed in Limerick was a killer who was a drug dealer, perhaps because Mickey Harte is (not was) a GAA county manager who has led his county to multiple All-Irelands, where the president happened to have been guest of honour ?
    Perhaps it is because she knows Mickey Harte who has helped console others after their grief ?
    Perhaps it is because the John McAreavy has respresented the president's own county and she knows his family ?

The amount of narrow minded people in this country is astonishing and this thread just goes to show it.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

It matters because we live in a republic where all citizens are equal (office holders excepted), it is in the constitution that we cherish all our children equally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 chompchomp

The media are always going to say that "the President" is attending and not simply "Mary McAleese" as it is disrespectful. I think she knows the family personally. All this whinging and moaning about her attending Michaelas funeral and not other funerals is just ridiculous.

Put two and two together folks and grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

snubbleste wrote: »
    It matters because we live in a republic where all citizens are equal (office holders excepted), it is in the constitution that we cherish all our children equally.

Em, yeah....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

chompchomp wrote: »
    The media are always going to say that "the President" is attending and not simply "Mary McAleese" as it is disrespectful. I think she knows the family personally. All this whinging and moaning about her attending Michaelas funeral and not other funerals is just ridiculous.

Totally agree. Also, I think this thread either needs to be locked, or moved to AH as it seems to be full of numpties!?

chompchomp wrote: »
    Ridiculous quote and probably explains why the country is in the mess it is in.

Obviously there is a seperate protocol for when she acts as president versus when she is acting in a personal capacity. This idea that "I am the state" and therefore can do what ever she likes is the kind of idea that Haughey, etc had.

GSF wrote: »

Obviously there is a seperate protocol for when she acts as president versus when she is acting in a personal capacity. This idea that "I am the state" and therefore can do what ever she likes is the kind of idea that Haughey, etc had.

She is the head of state!!??

Totally agree. Also, I think this thread either needs to be locked, or moved to AH as it seems to be full of numpties!?
    So discussing when the President acts in an official capacity versus a personal capacity is not appropriate in a politics forum now?

Truely bizarre.

She is the head of state!!??

Yes and she is also a person. She can perform certain functions in the role of head of state but can do some in a personal capacity. If she was Head of State regardless then she would be a monarch.

Eh no? We're a Republic, not a Kingdom. EDIT: In this case, she's doing both.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

It's the same double standard as the Catholic Church having different rules for eulogies and hymns at funeral Masses depending on whether the deceased is a 'well know personality' or just a common joe or jane.

Pure hypocrisy IMO

Sweet Jesus. Will you give the Harte Family a little more credit. To put them in the same bracket of other "well known personalities" is a bit of an insult.

Mickey Harte and John McAreavey are members of the GAA, a postive (for most part) institution in Ireland, no different to an civil service or other institute that represents the good in Irish society. You be well aware of the "fun" fellow GAA members in the North have had over the years by trying to have pitches or even a puc around the streets. The GAA is our national games, and the Harte & McAreavey familys, like many others, are ambassadors of our games, which we like to boast about when around the world. Michaela was a well known person to all members of the Tyrone teams, and not doubt she was considered an intergal member of the team; she knew them all and went through the same bad days (and good) that these lads had over the years.

Like it or not, the GAA is considered an important part of Irish society and on behalf of the country the President expressed her condolences. Martin McGuinness and Peter Robertson have done the same, why shouldn't our President?

People like Harte, for all we know are involved in other activities that the President has an interest in. I am sure the families would not be annoyed that she attended, better than some chancer politicans who do (or use) to attend all funerals at the drop of a hat, ... take a bow Mr Ring.

I would be more annoyed that she seems more interested in attending Irish Rugby matches than Irish Soccer matches (though in fairness, she actually personally knows some of the members of the Irish Rugby team from another life)

As far as I am aware, many family members (regardless of being well known nationally) often get a say or some input as to what hymns, readings etc are to be prepared.

Could you actually explain how you could compare the "double standards" of the Church with a President attending mass of a well known and respected family? Or is the President only allowed to attend the funerals of politicans/embassadors in her /his capacity?

She is not my cup of tea, which really, I put not down her on this one or anyother funeral she attends too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭micdug

Really? So she can't go to her Mother funeral unless she attends every other funeral in Ireland? Grow up.

Eh no? We're a Republic, not a Kingdom. EDIT: In this case, she's doing both.
    well a republic in name anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Oh dear, she is also the Commander in Chief of the Army, jesus I would not want to get on her bad side on a personal basis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I fail to see what the issue is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

unless you live in Moyross, Southill or similar places where human life is cheaper and the loss through murder of individuals is not attended by presidents or any dignitaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

unless you live in Moyross, Southill or mililar places where human life is cheaper and the loss through murder of individuals is not attended by presidents or any dignitarys.

but you get the rubber bandits (well for weddings anyway )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Jaysus, when did the politics forum turn into Liveline?

"It's terrible Joe - absolutely terrible"

Does anyone really care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

The President is making a nice gesture to a family who are going through something awful. How anybody can object to that on the basis that she cannot attend every funeral is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Tarquin1970

The other related question is why is the state broadcaster streaming the funeral on the website? Shouldn't the families be allowed to grieve in peace?

unless you live in Moyross, Southill or similar places where human life is cheaper and the loss through murder of individuals is not attended by presidents or any dignitaries.

why would they be?

and by the way the geoghegan funeral was attended by a minister and a taoiseach's aide de comp and eddie osullivan, any issue with that?

The other related question is why is the state broadcaster streaming the funeral on the website? Shouldn't the families be allowed to grieve in peace?

im sure permission was sought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

I assume the next Irish person murdered abroad will also receive a Presidential attendance at their funeral.

Pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I think she should if she wants.

I do feel uneasy that although her death was extremely tragic there is no where near as much coverage for other equally tragic murders/deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Tarquin1970

PeakOutput wrote: »
    im sure permission was sought

Probably, but is it a good use of the licence fee? I understand that they'll have the news reports but live streaming it is a little OTT in my opinion.