Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Cowen to make a media statement at the Alexander Hotel at 5pm !

• 16-01-2011 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭

Just after walking past the Alexander Hotel in Dublin ....every news hack and truck in the counrty is parked outside turns out

Brian Cowen to make a media statement at 5pm

Is this is the END?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Yay he's FINALLY going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Doubt it. It will be a big pile of nothing I say. At most, probably him saying he will lead the party into the election and then stand aside afterwards no matter what the results.

Too much hype for nothing :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

"I've turned a corner"

Nah, he won't be going I reckon, just the usual blah blah blah everyone still supports me, FF are more important than the country. We're staying right where we are thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

The scary thing is there's a very good chance that he'll get up there and simply reassure us all that he has no intention of resigning until the next election. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

he will try to hang in a bit longer

COWEN
    YOU HAVE TO QUIT NOW THE COUNTRY IS FCUKED BECAUSE OF YOU LEAVE NOW DO US ALL A FAVOUR.:mad:

AND LENINHAN CAN GO FCUK OFF TOO AS HE WILL WANT TO MAKE MORE CUTS:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

"I'm goin' nowhere"

*2 fingered salute*

/press conference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

He won't go. Blah, blah, best interests of country, blah, blah. Feckin' eejit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

It'll be a non-event.
    "Ireland, let us pray and lead us out of this awful mess that the opinion polls say we're in "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

I was thinking when walking past looking all the Satellite News Trucks outside the hotel , what is the point when this news will be up on Twitter etc in seconds !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Stayed in that hotel before... nice place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Why a hotel?
    Should head down for the craic, whose coming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Imagine the nightmare scenario

He turns up , look stright out at the meeja hoards then with a big hearty laugh say's

'' Ha Ha , you all thought I was going to say I was resigning ? Well I'm not , it's just another big FF joke , Ha Ha .'' grin

Nooooooooooooooooooooo :eek:

FFS man you should have jumped outta the plane months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Logical thinking on this one, if it is indeed the end the will be mulitinational crews outside now,failing that at least BBC and or SKY will be there so watch out for either one of those. Anyone who wants to be an Irish John Hinckley Jr. Now is your time to shine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

He's going to resign as Leader of Fianna Failure, as that's what's good for the Party. What's good for the Country would be resign as Taoiseach and call an election, but he won't do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

He's going to announce that he beat Fitzie today 3&2 in match play at the Glen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Let's have some Cowen Bingo!

-Moving/Going Forward

-In the best interests of the party ( as based on the old FF hierarchy: Self>party>inner circle>everyone else)

-On the best advice available to me at the time

-I did not act inappropriately

-Having consulted with my party colleagues

-The hard decisions

Feel free to add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Why a hotel?
    Should head down for the craic, whose coming?

so he can waste more taxpayers money on a fancy sunday dinner and session for the day the HUNGRY FCUK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

-Moving/Going Forward

-In the best interests of the party ( as based on the old FF hierarchy: Self>party>inner circle>everyone else)

-The hard decisions

Feel free to add.

I did not have sexual relations with that woman....no really, I didn't lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

-Moving/Going Forward

-The hard decisions

Feel free to add.

If there's a Q&A then he'll definitely say 'I'm sorry, I don't accept that' at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

He's not going anywhere, it'd take a truckload of cillit bang to shift him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Someone should ask him who's paying for the hotel...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

jimmynokia wrote: »
    so he can waste more taxpayers money on a fancy sunday dinner and session for the day the HUNGRY FCUK

If I lived in Dublin Id be heading down there now!

jimmynokia wrote: »

chowin cowen!

ba boom! oh yeah he did girlfriend!

Yes, I don't accept that.

Forgot that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

Someone should ask him who's paying for the hotel...

We proabably are. The tax payers own half the hotels in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

-Moving/Going Forward

-The hard decisions

Feel free to add.

Resigning is not a word in my lexicon!

POSSIBLY slur his way through the speech like he did on radio a while back, seen that he is having a lavish meal in the hotel folloed by a truck load of the black stuff
    IMAGINE THAT lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

He needs more time to ensure his full pension, like any FF self serving politican.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

amacca wrote: »
    I did not have sexual relations with that woman....no really, I didn't lads.

I heard he had sexual relations with Mary Coughlan...I actually did.

Would also answer the inexplicible promotion of an utter moron to the office of tainiste as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Just heard on bbc world service that brian cowen will NOT be resigning his leadership of fianna fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

telekon wrote: »

Would also answer the inexplicible promotion of an utter moron to the office of tainiste as well.

I'd hate to see the spawn of that ....:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

amacca wrote: »
    Cowen phrasesQUOTE]

We are where we are
    The reality is
    Upon mature reflection (borrowed from Lenny)

Also Rté will cut off the last few minutes of the Q&A if the Qs get a bit tetchy.

Will this be live streamed on RTÉ website?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

galwayrush wrote: »

Hate away

realies wrote: »
    Just heard on bbc world service that brian cowen will NOT be resigning his leadership of fianna fail

Good, he can lead them to annihilation in the GE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

If he stays as leader, nobody will vote for them.

PLEASE STAY BRIAN.

telekon wrote: »

Cant quite wrap my head around that..think I'm in denial.

ah sure people will say anything, case in point being me.

If there's any substance to it, maybe that's what he is going to announce at the press conference before eloping on a trade mission to switzerland with her.

imagined the stunned couple of seconds in the crowd of journos before all hell breaks loose

take that meeja whores! I played for Clara in the county championships, what did yiz bastards do?

SKY say he's staying on, in both roles.

Another false alarm, but then again, when has he ever done the right thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭DamoRed

Just seen on Sky News he's set to remain in place.

What's the point? More money wasting on non-news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

galwayrush wrote: »

I'd feel sorry for myself to be the spawn of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Comment on Sky News website regarding Brian Cowen: "I think he should quit and get a job as one of the characters on "Bo Selecta".

Will this be live streamed on RTÉ website?

yes

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0116/politics.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Fago! wrote: »
    Yay he's FINALLY going :)
    http://twitter.com/BBC_Joe_Lynam

Probably not.
    All we are going to hear is the excuses why but here is one of the real reasons: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056149142

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

News Special starting on RTÉ One now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

That Noel Whelan (commentator) has an awfully big head.

Is the live stream working for anyone else?

That Noel Whelan (commentator) has an awfully big head.

he's also a FF cnut.