Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vandalized Classic in Malahide.

• 16-01-2011 3:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

My son has a classic BMW M5 (1990) of which he is very proud of and was in immaculate condition. On Saturday 16/1/2011 some brainless moron poured Nitromors all over the roof, bonnet and boot. The car was parked in a private parking space at his apartment with only one way in and out. Has anyone in Malahide have a similar experience, as I would hate to think this was a "personal attack"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Sorry to hear about this, but it does sound like a personal attack.

Keying, or dented panels could be random, but paint stipper? Someone went out with the intention to do that car unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Any other cars around it damaged? has he any enemys or maybe it was some jealous cnut? I'd say your son could know who done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

Yea sounds like a personal attack.
    Such a shame...Insurance will cover it i guess (comprehensive?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭sheelbee

Only car out of 5 parked that was done, as regards enemies (or jealous person) its hard to know. Shame on whoever did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Get a small wireless CCTV system fitted overlooking his parking space and catch the cnut if it attemts something else. Count himself lucky that the car wasn't stolen or torched as what has happened once too often. Car theft / vandalism punishment in this country is a joke.

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    Yea sounds like a personal attack.
    Such a shame...Insurance will cover it i guess (comprehensive?)
    Third party cover only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

does the car have any stickers for modified car websites ? or does your son associate with people from modified car sites, its not unknown for this to happen because of arguments between sites or with other site members on some of the more 'scumbag in a glanza' rather than enthusiast forums

Thanks for that, my son was on Prime Time recently regarding the tragedy in Donegal (road deaths) and received some very unsavory comments afterwards....now you have me thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It does sound like a personal attack to me. Someone going to the trouble of getting paint remover and only pouring it on one car doesn't sound like a random act of vandalism to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

That's unfortunate, the mini CCTV pointing out his apartment window over looking his parking space is a good idea. Just incase it's some persistent fool who may do it again after car is repaired. Personal attack? I'd say so no doubt about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

Cameras on entrance/exit?
    Local small harware shop that sells stripper?
    Im sure it would be worth asking them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Old Skool Cars

Hi all and thanks dad for starting this thread,

at the moment i am completely GUTTED about the car. It is a 1990 M5 in Calypso red with Beige leather trim - 1 of only 14 RHD E34 M5's in this color combo:

http://www.bmwmregistry.com/detail.php?id=8930

The car was parked up from the hours of 6pm Friday until i noticed the vandalism the next day at roughly 3:45pm. Its quite plain to see that it was directly targeted as no other car in the PRIVATE car park in my apartment was touched (5/6 cars).

It sickens me more that of all the other tenants to come and go including the landlord that not 1 person even considered ringing my door to let me know?? The SPAR around the corner where fantastic to allow me access to all the CCTV which monitors the laneway where i live, its a 1 way street with no other access for cars or pedestrians so i thought it would at least narrow down the search and if at all let me spot anyone in car or by foot "in particular" that may have been potentially responsible....Nothing.

Where i live isnt or where the car is parked isnt exactly away from onlookers - there are two buildings adjacent and lots of potential for someone to spot anything suspicious - so for a "random" attack there would be too many concerns of being caught + lack of escape + potential cctv (if they didnt know the street?) to be caught? a randomer could have attacked many other cars A LOT easier before getting near mine.

Which is why im sure it was targeted to my car and my car alone. My suspicions are growing to who it may have been as the CCTV all night was very quiet and the only activity from my apartment block was the landlord coming/going at lunchtime and when i spotted the damage at 3:45pm it did seem quite fresh...few hours maybe? the landlord said when he drove past my car to get parking he didnt notice anything unusual but at the same time he was exactly INSPECTING the car for anything odd so who knows....

Long story short the paint work is destroyed all over, it needs repainting which will be costly and yet again takes away the desire of owning a nice car or classic like my M5.

Im going to stick up signs with REWARD!! for any information and hopefully someone will stick their mate/associate in it for a few quid! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Hi all and thanks dad for starting this thread,

at the moment i am completely GUTTED about the car. It is a 1990 M5 in Calypso red with Beige leather trim - 1 of only 14 RHD E34 M5's in this color combo:

http://www.bmwmregistry.com/detail.php?id=8930

The car was parked up from the hours of 6pm Friday until i noticed the vandalism the next day at roughly 3:45pm. Its quite plain to see that it was directly targeted as no other car in the PRIVATE car park in my apartment was touched (5/6 cars).

It sickens me more that of all the other tenants to come and go including the landlord that not 1 person even considered ringing my door to let me know?? The SPAR around the corner where fantastic to allow me access to all the CCTV which monitors the laneway where i live, its a 1 way street with no other access for cars or pedestrians so i thought it would at least narrow down the search and if at all let me spot anyone in car or by foot "in particular" that may have been potentially responsible....Nothing.

Where i live isnt or where the car is parked isnt exactly away from onlookers - there are two buildings adjacent and lots of potential for someone to spot anything suspicious - so for a "random" attack there would be too many concerns of being caught + lack of escape + potential cctv (if they didnt know the street?) to be caught? a randomer could have attacked many other cars A LOT easier before getting near mine.

Which is why im sure it was targeted to my car and my car alone. My suspicions are growing to who it may have been as the CCTV all night was very quiet and the only activity from my apartment block was the landlord coming/going at lunchtime and when i spotted the damage at 3:45pm it did seem quite fresh...few hours maybe? the landlord said when he drove past my car to get parking he didnt notice anything unusual but at the same time he was exactly INSPECTING the car for anything odd so who knows....

Long story short the paint work is destroyed all over, it needs repainting which will be costly and yet again takes away the desire of owning a nice car or classic like my M5.

Im going to stick up signs with REWARD!! for any information and hopefully someone will stick their mate/associate in it for a few quid! :mad:

thats an absolutely lovely machine and a great colour, sad to see anything happen to it, hopefully the scumbag(s) who did this are caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Looks like your living in Malahide Marina, honestly it sound like a personal attack not a mindless one. Perhaps phone Dial-A-Cab and ask them if any of thier drivers spotted anything out of the ordinary on the nite it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

This is very sad to read as the owner of an E34 myself and as a mechanic, there arnt many of these cars left pre 91 and especially in that condition. The work that will have to go into repainting the car will be costly. Totally unnecessary and mindless :(

How much of the cars paint was damaged? Make sure it didnt damage the vital rubber seals around the windows or that its sitting in a gulley eating away at the bodywork.

I realy hope you do find out who did this and why they did it. Hope you get your car sorted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

I take it that you have spoken to the Gardai, and in particular, your concerns that the attack may be personal and in some way related to the Donegal thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

I dont believe it, that's my old M5. Gutted to hear whats happened to it. It was one of my all time favourite cars. I was only thinking Id like it back again.

You have to get it restored to its former glory, asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Gutted for you mate.....I started a thread on driver.net about it! :(

And I only seen you the other evening...parked outside the apartments next to the Bros school - seen you walking back to the car as if you were looking for something...would have got out and helped if I was on my own!

Hope you find the culprit! What you wouldnt do to the lil fcuk!! :mad:

Thanks everyone for their support and suggestions they are much appreciated......Personally I have an idea who did it, but then proving it is another issue. Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

sheelbee wrote: »
    Thanks everyone for their support and suggestions they are much appreciated......Personally I have an idea who did it, but then proving it is another issue. Thanks again.

Is it possible they bought the stuff they used locally? Could you check out the potential shops or something. Know its probably a long shot.

Fantastic car, awful what happened to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Sorry for your troubles and I hope who did it will be punished :(
    shamwari wrote: »
    I take it that you have spoken to the Gardai, and in particular, your concerns that the attack may be personal and in some way related to the Donegal thing?

Random vandalism is one thing, but a possible personal attack is on a completely different level. Go to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

so what u do to deserve this (in their mind) ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Would it not be more likely to have the **** kicked outa you if it was a personal attack??
    Id say it was somebody online, who only knows your profile and car, and not your face.

Sorry to hear about it, its a pretty stupid and nasty thing to do to anybody, obviously somebody challenged by the concept of society and life in general.

I wouldnt go pointing the finger, most the time after such a attack the person you think it could have been , it wasnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Maybe it was an inside job hence no one was seen coming or going. Your landlord was the only car seen driving in and out so who knows if they may have been involved or not. I guess you will have to be careful who to be pointing fingers at for the moment.

Maybe check any type of bins around the complex to see if there is any empty cans of paint stripper in them? That would probably tell me that someone within the complex done it since no one seems to be seen walking out from the CCTV. Any drips from the stripper anywhere else around the complex might be a little clue as to the direction they went after attacking your car...

The reward idea sounds good, drop notices into all the doors near by and someone may rat someone up for a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

what a rotten thing to have happen :mad:

hope the person responsible is caught !!!!!

dont loose your love of it because of some absolute b*****d

id agree with getting a camera (hidden ) and placeing it towards your parking spot !!

is their any cameras near by ? might be worth checking & if your near the tennis courts are their cameras pointing out your direction ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭deandean

What a horrible thing of anyone to do.

To the owner - I honestly could not see a petrolhead doing this. Anyone with the slightest bit of knowledge of cars would have great respect for that M5.

I have seen cars damaged in similar circumstances before (3 or 4 times) and it's always been related to parking. Were you across the line / in someone elses parking space / left the car there unused for ages / phone and get someone clamped? It doesn't take much to get some people up in arms, e.g. the space might be outside someone else's door and he/she reckons it's "their" space.

Sorry to say this but I'd reckon there's every chance it was one of your neighbours. Look very close to home. And if you can remember any prior comments or incidents that might have indicated someone was pi$$ed off, have the discussion with your friendly local Garda and get him/her to call around to that person.

Sorry again for you and your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

Not to be funny or anything, but if i had that car I would definately have fully comp!! I wouldnt be able to sleep at night with only 3rd party cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

OP, sorry for your troubles, that's absolutely a ****in **** thing for someone to do to you.

Like someone else mentioned I'd be going through peoples bins. People might think you're a nutter but you'd be surprised how stupid some people are. The culprit could very well have left the empty can in his green bin! And I'd be getting it fingerprinted if you found it.

For what its worth to anyone reading this, I had terrible trouble with scumbags trying to rob my car and clocking up some nasty damage in the process. I installed a high quality night vision cctv camera, perfectly visible, cabled it to a DVR card in a PC that's running 24/7 and I haven't had any issues since (over a year now). Total setup was about 150e (not including PC), plus about 30e extra on every electricity bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

what scum! I had the wing mirror of my E46 broken off, the amount of time and money to rectify something like this is unreal. Op I got a a new m sport front bumper sprayed and fitted for £100 up north in newry, let me know if you want the companies details. I can only guess at what the quotes you will get down here would be like. Also the risk of it happening again is crap. Is it worth getting fully comp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've seen that M5 before online, lovely machine in great condition, sorry to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

The car was parked in a private parking space at his apartment with only one way in and out.

Did he ever park in other peoples spaces, or get people clamped/towed for parking in his space ?
    Just a thought there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm only speculating but the more I read the more it sounds like a personal grudge to me. How do you get on with your neighbours?

Those rims aren't M5 wheels of that era are they? I know they were used on the 8 series along with the BBS. Personally, I think the BBS look better suited to this car.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I'm only speculating but the more I read the more it sounds like a personal grudge to me. How do you get on with your neighbours?

Those rims aren't M5 wheels of that era are they? I know they were used on the 8 series along with the BBS. Personally, I think the BBS look better suited to this car.
    more detail on the first page on why someone could have done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Plug wrote: »
    more detail on the first page on why someone could have done it.

Missed that somehow but it would hardly have been local in that case. According to the CCTV there wasn't much activity hence my question about the neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I hate vandalism like this. Lovely car, hope you catch the prícks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Afaik those wheels came with the later, 3.8 litre, cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

There should be a special place in hell for vandalizing a classic like that.

Hitler or Stalin wouldn't even qualify for that place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Sorry to hear about your car. Absolute scum of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭aidhan

A few years ago a jilted female asked me what could she use to destroy her ex's car :mad: so anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

OP my heart goes out to you - that looks like such a sweet car.

I'd say it's more of a personal grudge - the fact that you say the landlord says it was very quiet when he passed by suggests this.

Well I certainly hope whoever did this gets caught.

Please keep us updated if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

OP, look after your car, the fact that they may know that you only have 3rd party may motivate the to come back and smash it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Jeeze feckin ba$tards. Nice M5 you have there. Shame to have to get it repainted, but if its any consolation at least you still have the underpinnings of a solid RHD e34 M5. I think thats a 3.6...

Long live the S38!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Shay Vader

Thats a heartbreaking abuse of a mans pride and joy OP, i seem to remember having an enjoyable though ultimately futile drag in my old Scorpio Cossie against that very car a while back and i can only hope that you'll get satisfaction in the end. The Gardai in Malahide station have been very helpful to myself in the past in dealing with certain issues so keep at it and like the man Clint once said, "Don't give the pr#@k the satisfaction!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1424646

Has anyone been to look at the car and maybe had a silly offer refused?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

to the owner of the m5, whos wife did you fcuk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

When you catch this guy through the CCTV I wanna see pics of paint stripper poured down his throat, followed by a match.

Small d1cked scumbag who's too much of a coward to confront you about anything is clearly a complete loser.

Keep us updated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

bmw535d wrote: »
    to the owner of the m5, whos wife did you fcuk?

No need for that crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Old Skool Cars

Thanks for all the comments guys, humourous ones included! gave me a laugh at the end of all this misery....:D

I am still livid at the thoughts of having to needlessly get the car repainted for no other reason than that of someone elses cheap kicks and pure jealousy!?!?

I did however do up some letters for all the neighbours and surrounding apartments (25 in total) and asked for any help, leads or info + put up some random !$$! REWARD !$$! notices - so all i can do is hope for some feedback.

The car is gone today for the foreseeable future to repainted and upon its return i will have some personal security measures in place as the neighbourhood watch motto and general respect thy neighbour went out with the indians....with that last comment in mind NO I DIDNT F@!K HER!! :)

It seems that its not the first time it has happened as the local DIY store has reported that many people in the past have claimed to have had similar done to other cars.

anyway, let this be a lesson for us all to keep a close eye on your belongings and dont ever assume it will be grand no matter what area your in. interestingly, what way does it work for insurance being a tenant in an apartment complex which is private property? no "park at owners risk" etc on walls....i assume the landlord would have to have some form of cover for cars, contents or am i wishful thinking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Should be harsh punishment for any scumbah that even touches someones car..
    Be it classic or recent