Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Ross To Run in Dublin South

• 15-01-2011 10:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭

Interesting to see Shane Ross say tonight on the Saturday Night Show that he is running in the GE in Dublin south.

More interesting is that he says that there is a large number of others who are going to run as Indo's and try and form a voting block.

Happy Gilmore might not be too happy tonight..... No wonder he and Enda want the election tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭aigster

Finally a ray of hope, convincing articulate , a genuine potential statesman!! , desperately needed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well I think that is Eamonn Ryan's seat definitely gone in Dublin South. The Green wipeout is getting closer to a reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Fianna Fail have just released the name of their High Profile Candidate to run against Shane Ross...

800968.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I could almost stomach moving to Dublin South in order to be able to vote for him!

Fair play to him for being willing to step away from the cosy talk-shop of the Seanad and into somewhere that he might actually be able to make a difference!

In fact, as I've previously said, if that's the only one of the 166 seats that's filled, I'll be happy out! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

Not another George Lee ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I could almost stomach moving to Dublin South in order to be able to vote for him!

Fair play to him for being willing to step away from the cosy talk-shop of the Seanad and into somewhere that he might actually be able to make a difference!

In fact, as I've previously said, if that's the only one of the 166 seats that's filled, I'll be happy out! :)

I think the move to Bottle of H land would be a step too far for most ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Sindo also reporting that Peter Matthews is in talks with FG to run in Dub South, and Paul Somerville is to run as an independent. Things are hotting up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

bazza1 wrote: »

The man is not a Johnny Come Lately to Parlimentary Democracy. He has a track record, and understands the realities of parlimentary life. It was something which George Lee never factored in to the equation.

In fact, this opens up a brand new discussion ! Who would you like to see run as an Independent ?

Pat Cox ?
    Declan Ganley ?
    Michael McDowell ?
    Michael O Leary ?
    David McWilliams ?
    Pat Leahy ?

gandalf wrote: »
    Well I think that is Eamonn Ryan's seat definitely gone in Dublin South. The Green wipeout is getting closer to a reality.

Ross strongly indicated that there was a number of independents willing to run to change the politics of Ireland. This will be a very interesting development as it is my "view" that a number of people who would have voted FF in the last election had moved to Labour for this election on the grounds that FG under Enda were weak. If people now see a group that want to bring real change then depending on the number that run we could end up in a very interesting situation when forming the next Government. Greens are well gone. FF wont be part of the next Government so will be FG and the support of Indep's or will we end up with the truly grotesque possibility of SF having the balance of power.

Really is important candidates of his callibre in... Mind you the Irish public have got to see sense and get out and vote..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Frogeye

Not surprised. Now that they're shutting the senate down, he'll be needing another part time job.

Not a fan of his but to be fair to him, at least he is putting his money where his mouth is. Gotta give him some love for that. Anyone who puts themselves out there by running deserves some respect. Unlike that O Toole chap with his manby panby 10 ideas lark!!!!!

Sommerville .... It's getting like a dunphy Sunday guest list... But that's a compliment.... Sommerville and Ross are heavy weights....and good pr and highly critical of current clowns and clowns in waiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Het-Field wrote: »

Pat Cox ?
    Declan Ganley ?
    Michael McDowell ?
    Michael O Leary ?
    David McWilliams ?
    Pat Leahy ?

I'd like to see Pat Cox and Michael O'Leary run. Mick could help cut out so much waste in the public sector. Cox has a good track record in Europe and has held important positions in Europe. I wouldn't like to see Ganley run (my own opinion) I just feel his Euro-sceptisicm would help Ireland move forward in these times.

It'd be good to see some of the former PD's run as independents, but fellas like McDowell still carry that cloud over their heads, i'd feel.

The man is not a Johnny Come Lately to Parlimentary Democracy. He has a track record, and understands the realities of parlimentary life. It was something which George Lee never factored in to the equation.

In fact, this opens up a brand new discussion ! Who would you like to see run as an Independent ?

Pat Cox ?
    Declan Ga.nley ?
    Michael McDowell ?
    Michael O Leary ? NO
    David McWilliams ?
    Pat Leahy ?

Fergal Quinn (great understanding of the needs of business)
    Mick O Dwyer (too old now, but someone who can understand people and how to get the best out of them)
    Fr Sean Healy
    Ivan Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Technique

Anybody who puts it up to the chancers is okay in my book.

Technique wrote: »
    Anybody who puts it up to the chancers is okay in my book.

just once that they dont run for parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Shane Ross ran for the Dail back in 1992: http://electionsireland.org/result.cfm?election=1992&cons=235

He was a candidate for Fine Gael and got 3,000 first preference votes.

I suspect that he will get elected in Dublin South this time. However I am not sure how effective an independent can be in a Dail that will have a 30 seat Govt majority. Nevertheless, I think he would be a positive edition to the Dail. With the Seanad on the virge of abolishment this is a way from him to stay in involved in public life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

David McWilliams planning to run in Dún Laoghaire according to the Sunday Tribune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Sulmac wrote: »
    David McWilliams planning to run in Dún Laoghaire according to the Sunday Tribune.

Independent or with FG???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 OnAndUp

A glimmer of hope at last, somebody who has the intelligence to recognise the problems, and the courage to speak his mind, somebody who can speak coherently, can I transfer my vote ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭lendmeyourear

Pat Cox ?
    Declan Ganley ?
    Michael McDowell ?
    Michael O Leary ?
    David McWilliams ?
    Pat Leahy ?

I am a bit apprehensive about independent blocks having personal agendas BUT...David McWilliams would make an excellent independent candidate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 OnAndUp

I agree, another high calibre guy like Shane Ross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Sulmac wrote: »

hopefully this country has some hope after the years of these crooks on the dail robbing us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He was a councillor in Wicklow before, I'm a bit suprised he won't run there again

Or maybe it's tactical and thinks there is a better chance in Dublin South
    Or maybe it's as simple an explanation as he lives there, I don't know where he lives but changing constituencies isn't that common

McWilliams running in Dun Laoghaire. He will romp in. Well that ensures Cuffe is gone so the Green Armageddon is definitely on and as that constituency is going down from 5 seats to 4 it makes it an almost certainty that Hanafin or Andrews (or maybe both!) from FF are gone as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

Absolutely delighted Shane Ross has decided to run for a seat in the Dáil. The man is a beacon of light amongst all the cronyism and gombeenism that is so deeply rooted in the Irish political landscape. I was nodding in agreement throughout his whole interview with Brendan O'Connor. Ireland is ruled by an oligarch, where the highest paid public sector positions are reserved for "the lads". The country runs on a "who you know, not what you know" mentality.

OnAndUp wrote: »
    I agree, another high calibre guy like Shane Ross

I have a lot of time for both but if elected we need positive proposals. Currently both are excellent at telling us what went wrong and what is wrong. I really hope they can tell us how to put it right.

But both will be 100% better than the current party system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

Pat Cox ?
    Declan Ganley ?
    Michael McDowell ?
    Michael O Leary ?
    David McWilliams ?
    Pat Leahy ?

Personally, I'd love to see Michael O'Leary run as an independent. However, it's important that the candidate chooses their constituency wisely. He may not stand a chance in his native Cork as the culchies are less inclined to deviate from their family traditions of voting for FF or FG. South Dublin was a great choice by Shane Ross, where the general populace is more educated and progressive-thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Fo Real wrote: »
    Personally, I'd love to see Michael O'Leary run as an independent. However, it's important that the candidate chooses their constituency wisely. He may not stand a chance in his native Cork as the culchies are less inclined to deviate from their family traditions of voting for FF or FG. South Dublin was a great choice by Shane Ross, where the general populace is more educated and progressive-thinking.

Please tell me that you're taking the proverbial with this post?

Firstly, Cork has a city
    Secondly, not all rural folk vote based on tradition
    Thirdly, De Dubs voted for Ahern
    Fourthly, if South Dublin is so educated, how come they can't pronounce words like "right" and "roundabout" and "meteor" ?

The notion that South Dublin is better than everywhere else is a joke!

There are idiots in every corner of the country.

Progressive Thinking ........ Of course Seanie Fitz lives there I forgot that .. your joking. Just because they discovered Leinster had a rugby team they found their way to Croke Park (with Sat Nav) does not make them progressive. Dont worry about the education bit,,,, thats a marble in their mouth that causes that illusion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

bazza1 wrote: »

Not at all, there's no comparison.

...as the culchies are less inclined to deviate from their family traditions of voting for FF or FG. South Dublin was a great choice by Shane Ross, where the general populace is more educated and progressive-thinking.

LOL, you went to school with Ross O'Carroll-Kelly didn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Wrong Michael O'Leary. Ex Labour leader come turncoat FGer MOL is from CCity. Now is 6 feet under.
    MOL Ryanair boss is from westmeath.

South Dublin is responible for electing scum like the PD's. Since they knew there failed neo-liberal policies had ruined the country, they voted themselves out of existance. Now they have just asimulated into FF/FG. Please God Labour will lead the next gov not FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Not at all, there's no comparison.

Out of interest, why do you say that?

The chances are that any Independents that run in the next election will have absolutely no input into the next government as there will be a clear majority government as it is.

Even if they did, the likes of Ross or McWilliams will simply get no positions on the cabinet for party politics reasons.

So the possibility of Independents not having their voices heard is pretty high (they will have negligible speaking time in the first place) . . . to such an extent that they could have been more influential if they continued their current role as high profile commentators.

EDIT: Of course, another way of looking at things is that if a few more like-minded Independents ran, a FG government supported by Independents could be possible. The issue remains however that the FG party would be reluctant to hand out cabinet portfolios.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Call him out on what?

To save Ireland!!

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2011/01/08/if-i-was-taoiseach-what-i-would-do-to-save-ireland

Taoiseach is a dream but Presidency could be a reality.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

To save Ireland!!

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2011/01/08/if-i-was-taoiseach-what-i-would-do-to-save-ireland

Taoiseach is a dream but Presidency could be a reality.

McWilliams would be wasted as a President.

The office of President has no political power, so there is nothing he could do to save Ireland if he even became President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Peter Matthews might be running for FG in Dublin South as well.

McWilliams would be wasted as a President.

The office of President has no political power, so there is nothing he could do to save Ireland if he even became President.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/government_in_ireland/the_president/president_of_ireland_and_legislation.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

just read that, can the president question a bill that is definitely constitutional, can they just refuse to sign it cause they dont agree with it?

My understanding from it is that the President has the power to put it to the people in the form of a referendum. MacAleese should have done this at Xmas time with the Credit Institutions Stabilization Bill 2010 but she let Brian Lenihan walk all over her.

http://www.larouchepac.com/node/16948

People slating me for suggesting McWilliams but I believe there is no better person on these shores to sell Ireland to foreign investors. The guy has his finger firmly on the economic pulse and would represent a good image for Ireland moving forward.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Personally, I'd love to see Michael O'Leary run as an independent. However, it's important that the candidate chooses their constituency wisely. He may not stand a chance in his native Cork as the culchies are less inclined to deviate from their family traditions of voting for FF or FG.

Really ?

The how about this then-

Of the current Dublin based TD's, 2 of them, Noel Ahern (FF) and Richard Bruton (FG) are brothers of former Taoiseagh.

Mary Hanafin (FF) is the daughter of a long serving Senator.

Cousins Barry and Chris Andrews (FF) are sons and grandsons of TD's.

As are Brian an Conor Lenihan (FF) who also happen to be nephews of another sitting TD.

Tom Kit (FF) has a brother and sister in Dáil Éireann and is also the son of a former TD.

And of course Sean Haughey (FF) is the son and Grandson of former Taoisegh.

An unwillingness to vote outside of family traditions is not confined to constituencies outside the pale. Or to put it in a phrase you might better understand - Its not just a "culchie" thing.

Back on topic-
    Best of luck to Shane Ross, I look forward to hear him speaking in the Oireachtas chamber that still carries some political clout.
    Its just a shame the current government won't be on the receiving end of his ire there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Fine Fael can forget about 3 seats in Dublin South now as Ross will eat into their base, Mitchell might struggle now aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

My understanding from it is that the President has the power to put it to the people in the form of a referendum. MacAleese should have done this at Xmas time with the Credit Institutions Stabilization Bill 2010 but she let Brian Lenihan walk all over her.

http://www.larouchepac.com/node/16948

People slating me for suggesting McWilliams but I believe there is no better person on these shores to sell Ireland to foreign investors. The guy has his finger firmly on the economic pulse and would represent a good image for Ireland moving forward.

Rubbish!The President has no powers to call a referendum. S/He can decide to refer it to the Supreme Court to determine its constitutionality but only after advice from the council of state. There are grounds for believing that this Supreme Court route is ineffective as it can only strike down the entire legislation rather than the offending clause.

Badabing wrote: »
    Fine Fael can forget about 3 seats in Dublin South now as Ross will eat into their base, Mitchell might struggle now aswell.

3 Seats for FG was never going to be a prospect for the next General Election after the George Lee mess. They will hold 2 seats at most with Labour and Shane Ross getting in and probably one FF. I would put money on Eamon Ryan losing his seat now.

gandalf wrote: »
    3 Seats for FG was never going to be a prospect for the next General Election after the George Lee mess. They will hold 2 seats at most with Labour and Shane Ross getting in and probably one FF. I would put money on Eamon Ryan losing his seat now.
    Being a 5 seater.
    If labour get one [white],FG get two and shane ross gets the other.
    Then the remnant ff vote might be in with a shout fighting it out for the last seat.
    Ryan hasn't a hope and hasn't had I think for a while now regardless of who's running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Oh wow, he worked such wonders in the Seanad:rolleyes:, maybe he'll be able to replicate this in the Dail:rolleyes:.

Good Luck to him anyway.

As for Somerville, I don't see how the national legislature would benefit from a spread betting man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Fitzerb wrote: »
    Ross strongly indicated that there was a number of independents willing to run to change the politics of Ireland...
    I'm so sick of the goings on in this country, I'm seriously thinking of running as an independent myself! :mad:
    I'll probably fail - but by god, I'll go down making noise about national issues!

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm so sick of the goings on in this country, I'm seriously thinking of running as an independent myself! :mad:
    I'll probably fail - but by god, I'll go down making noise about national issues!

You will need deep pockets................. but fair play and the best of luck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Fitzerb wrote: »
    You will need deep pockets................. but fair play and the best of luck
    I've already asked a question about a nomination papers in another thread.

I'm pissed off! Seriously pissed off.