Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We Should Abolish Taxes!

• 13-01-2011 5:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭

Think about it.

Doesn't it seem a little tyrannical for Government to take money from Michael and give it to Paul? Is it acceptable that Government would take money from Sean to build a road over the other side of the country that Sean will never use? Have we to be fined for not paying RTE's license even though we don't watch RTE?

If a person earns 34,000 annually - Government take 4,000 of that alone just for Income Tax. But you're sending your money to bureaucrats in Government - do you think your money will be used to the benefit of the taxpayer or allocated equally and fairly?

What if there was no Income Tax - you would have the extra 4,000 in your pocket and buy your own services yourself - and for a cheaper price (VHI is NOT 4,000 a year).

The same with Water Tax. There are four things necessary for life - and water is one of them. Isn't a tax on water, a tax literally on breathing?! How can anyone put a tax on life? Will there be a tax on oxygen next or will Al Gore come to his senses and stop trying to convince the world his theories are not utter crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Go to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Think about it.

Yes. Please do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

where's the no thanks button when you need it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

Don't mess with... oh, never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

where would we get the money to bail out the banks then smartarse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Think about it.

Doesn't it seem a little tyrannical for Government to take money from Michael and give it to Paul? Is it acceptable that Government would take money from Sean to build a road over the other side of the country that Sean will never use? Have we to be fined for not paying RTE's license even though we don't watch RTE?

If a person earns 34,000 annually - Government take 4,000 of that alone just for Income Tax. But you're sending your money to bureaucrats in Government - do you think your money will be used to the benefit of the taxpayer or allocated equally and fairly?

What if there was no Income Tax - you would have the extra 4,000 in your pocket and buy your own services yourself - and for a cheaper price (VHI is NOT 4,000 a year).

The same with Water Tax. There are four things necessary for life - and water is one of them. Isn't a tax on water, a tax literally on breathing?! How can anyone put a tax on life? Will there be a tax on oxygen next or will Al Gore come to his senses and stop trying to convince the world his theories are not utter crap?

Would you build your own road or do your own surgery with that 4000? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Rosicky7 wrote: »
    Go to bed.
    chin_grin wrote: »
    Yes. Please do.
    steve06 wrote: »
    where's the no thanks button when you need it?

Awesome! I love talking to people who haven't even read the piece or will even listen to others side of the argument. Way to go! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,242 ✭✭✭amacca

Think about it.

No ..... no, you think about it.

(As much as I hate paying the inbred, nepotistic, greedy, incompetent, corrupt curmudgeons anything)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Why bother paying a policeman's salary when you can trade four cows for an AK-47? Y'know, since the government print money and all.

where would we get the money to bail out the banks then smartarse?

We wouldn't.
    Would you build your own road or do your own surgery with that 4000? :rolleyes:

Private Health Insurance.

Awesome! I love talking to people who haven't even read the piece or will even listen to others side of the argument. Way to go! :rolleyes:

I read it! It's moronic.
    And who'll pay the nurses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

As far as education, healthcare and general upkeep taxes go, I see no reason they should be abolished. It is a purely selfish, greedy person who complains that their tax money is going to benefit others, even if you perceive them to not 'deserve' it, as if you are judge, jury and executioner.

I would much rather live in a highly taxed country with amazing healthcare, education and great upkeep (great roads, solid architecture, etc) and high quality of life and know my money is not only going to benefit me, but in a small way, every person in my country, than to be a complete miser and sit on my mountain of gold coins in a house that's falling apart after driving through a hundred potholes concerned only with wealth in a country without taxes.

When you want to have the privilege to live in functional, mutually-beneficial and strong society, you have to contribute to it, and frankly you should be glad to, because I guarantee a lot of people's money went to help you at some stage, whether it be your immediate friends and relatives or if you yourself have benefited from the taxpayer's money.

But maybe that's just me. Seems a miserable, lonely existence any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

We wouldn't.

So you think everything should be privatised?

Lets just go back to the way it was before the brits came in with their governance and taxe. I call king of Meath/ high king of Ireland. Yuuussssss. Bring me a golden calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Ha! Ha! That's brilliant. Wait and see what happens to crime levels when Anto and Micka don't get their dole payment next Thursday.

I read it! It's moronic.

And who'll pay the nurses?

Your post is ironic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Oh I did read it and it's an amazing work of fiction. And what argument? You came on parading what can only be read as a kind of "free love" speech and then take a hissy fit when you're told to wake up? Awwwwwwwww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Ha! Ha! That's brilliant. Wait and see what happens to crime levels when Anto and Micka don't get their dole payment next Thursday.

And who'll pay the Gardai to catch these hoodlums??

liah wrote: »
    I would much rather live in a highly taxed country with amazing healthcare, education and great upkeep (great roads, solid architecture, etc) and high quality of life and know my money is not only going to benefit me, but in a small way, every person in my country, than to be a complete miser and sit on my mountain of gold coins in a house that's falling apart after driving through a hundred potholes concerned only with wealth in a country without taxes.

Great. Where is this place you speak of?

Your post is ironic.
    No it's not.

You obviously have no clue what are taxes pay for, otherwise you wouldn't suggest abolishing them.

Great. Where is this place you speak of?

Parts of Scandinavia and Canada are fairly damn close to that tbh. It's hardly an unreasonable statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Your post is ironic.

So, you don't understand taxes, economy or irony.

Do you wanna add anything else to the list?

Parts of Scandinavia and Canada are fairly damn close to that tbh. It's hardly an unreasonable statement.

I thought you were speaking about Ireland.

Do you think Canada or Scandinavia has a healthcare system like ours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Well it could very well work but it will never be done in todays "modern" society

To those saying who'd pay the nurses - hospitals are privitised - when your sick the hospital charges you and then it pays its nurses

to those saying who builds roads - well private companies build road and the users are tolled for using them

etc etc

OP are you familiar with liberterianism?? You should check it out - its thinking along your lines of thinking

Personally I think there should be a flat rate of tax for everybody in this country. Shockingly enough if everybody paid the same rate on all income we would need a tax rate of less than 20%

So, you don't understand taxes, economy or irony.

Do you wanna add anything else to the list?

I understand completely - the thing is, instead of you saying "right ok, thats something completely different but I wouldn't suggest ______ because _______", you just jump on the bandwagon of negativity.

My statement is legitimate. Perhaps is just the fact that we, as a country, just want more Government interference in our lives. Sad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Trog wrote: »
    Don't mess with... oh, never mind.

....TheZohan.

So eh, who looks after the funding for infrastructure, services and stuff like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭cc4life

Tax the rich!!!

As far as education, healthcare and general upkeep taxes go, I see no reason they should be abolished. It is a purely selfish, greedy person who complains that their tax money is going to benefit others, even if you perceive them to not 'deserve' it, as if you are judge, jury and executioner.

When you want to have the privilege to live in functional, mutually-beneficial and strong society, you have to contribute to it, and frankly you should be glad to, because I guarantee a lot of people's money went to help you at some stage, whether it be your immediate friends and relatives or if you yourself have benefited from the taxpayer's money.

But maybe that's just me. Seems a miserable, lonely existence any other way.

Ha ha this kind of attitude makes me laugh

Perhaps you would like to tell us how much your annual tax bill is every year??

Socialism is great at spending other people's money but what happens when the other people's money runs out? Guess we'll find out in this country very soon

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Personally I think there should be a flat rate of tax for everybody in this country. Shockingly enough if everybody paid the same rate on all income we would need a tax rate of less than 20%

Ah yes ......but then how do we decide (enshrine in our taxation system) who is better than you and I and indeed who are we better than in turn.

This is more important than you think:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I thought you were speaking about Ireland.

No because they get better funding with higher taxes :p

No, it's much better actually.

I understand completely - the thing is, instead of you saying "right ok, thats something completely different but I wouldn't suggest ______ because _______", you just jump on the bandwagon of negativity.

My statement is legitimate. Perhaps is just the fact that we, as a country, just want more Government interference in our lives. Sad really.

OK, lets get rid of taxes and privatise EVERYTHING.

Any new roads being built are private and are all tolled because they are private.

All Hospitals require proof you can pay for your treatment before you get any.

Only private security companies working and they charge to protect you, a yearly rate.

Fire Departments are privatised and only come out if you have paid in advance.

There are no judges, so noone goes to prison.

There are no regulatory bodies, so companies get away with treating their workers as slaves.

There are no upsides to there being no taxes.

amacca wrote: »
    Ah yes ......but then how do we decide (enshrine in our taxation system) who is better than you and I and indeed who are we better than in turn.

This is more important than you think:eek:

Don't follow??

(am very very tired in my defence:D)

OP are you familiar with liberterianism?? You should check it out - its thinking along your lines of thinking

I am familiar with it. Nice to see someone else think about the situation instead of dismissing it because it's beyond their thinking scope.
    Socialism is great at spending other people's money but what happens when the other people's money runs out? Guess we'll find out in this country very soon

Margaret Thatcher said the same thing. We may not like the woman - but she hit the nail on the head right there.

Essentially, what you're suggesting is anarchy, as if you were to abolish all taxes that would effectively remove the government entirely.

While a romantic notion, that lovely human ideal of absolute freedom, it's simply not realistic. When there is no law, there are few repercussions. You think people are bad now? It would be chaotic.

Taxes are contributions to quality of life and a 'toll' for being allowed to take part in society. Without health care, millions would not be able to afford private insurance because, without law, business could charge whatever they like. Without education, millions would be ignorant and society would very quickly become degenerate; racism and homophobia and sexism and violence of all sorts would run rampant. No control or regulation over edibles and consumables would mean disease and hunger. There would be fierce battles for territory.

Basically, it would undo everything we've done to get to this point. And whether you realize it or not, you've got it pretty damn good and I guarantee you that's because people have paid taxes that resulted in enriching your life. It helps others, but it helps you too, and you should remember that before thinking about it so selfishly. It's paying back your debt. It's paper.

What is more important to you? Living a brilliant, happy life as a healthy and educated person, knowing you live in a happy, healthy and educated country? Or would you really rather sit there and count your coins as society around you goes to hell?

The indirect hate and complete lack of understanding or foresight present in some of these statements are unsettling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Being a complete thick, i wholeheartely agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

There's tons of empty libertarian posturing in the politics forum, OP; your 'ideas' will find favour there.

I was with you there on most other things, But I would be willing to provide a proper old skool prison service....for a small fee of course

you would'nt mind too much how long the prisoners survived would you? I could harness their "skills" as part of the rehabilitation process.

Seloth wrote: »
    No because they get better funding with higher taxes :p

Private Healthcare is better. Fact.
    No, it's much better actually.

Have you seen the state of the HSE? It's not normal people should say, "oh, not down here - we'll be here for 4 hours...". Snap out of it.

OK, lets get rid of taxes and privatise EVERYTHING.

Any new roads being built are private and are all tolled because they are private.

All Hospitals require proof you can pay for your treatment before you get any.

Only private security companies working and they charge to protect you, a yearly rate.

Fire Departments are privatised and only come out if you have paid in advance.

There are no regulatory bodies, so companies get away with treating their workers as slaves.

I don't think thats a fair assessment.

Ban beards!!!! i hate beards

Have you seen the state of the HSE? It's not normal people should say, "oh, not down here - we'll be here for 4 hours...". Snap out of it.

What are you talking about now? I said Canada has a better health system than us. That's true!

Private Healthcare is better. Fact.

If there was universal healthcare that was well-funded by taxes, literally every single person would be looked after from birth to death with high quality health care and there would be absolutely no need for private healthcare where only a select few are able to get care.

This results in a healthier society, which ultimately results in a more productive one.

It's really not that hard to see where the holes in your statements are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

What a well thought out position, OP.

Don't follow??

(am very very tired in my defence:D)

A persons paycheck being one way of estimating how much your society values you.

A persons access to various tax avoidance loopholes being another way to judge how much society values your contribution to it.

(tenuous on its own perhaps:D)

Ban beards!!!! i hate beards

Indeed, hairy face occluding bastards of things.

It's fact, these services would not exist. I fancied myself an anarchist when I was 16, now I realise that it's not a possibility and is in fact a bad idea given that people are not actually as nice or good as idealists will say. We are too greedy to share.

The way things are run sucks, but still, it runs better than if it was every man for himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Why do you not think it is a fair assessment though? You will get further if you try and point out the problems with peoples posts rather than just stating that you disagree with them.

If you disagree that what minidazzler said will happen why do you disagree? Why do you not think it will happen. How do you think it will be avoided? Why do you think it should be avoided? Do you think it should be avoided and if not why not? Is that not ultimate outcome of a libertarian society?

I say we tax rain.

What are you talking about now? I said Canada has a better health system than us. That's true!

Do people ever think that it is not the amount of money that we are spending on health that is the problem??

Ever think it is how the funding is allocated and used that is the problem?? God knows we've thrown enough money at health and education in the last decade and got nothing in return

And for people (idiots) who think we should tax more to have a better healthcare system then you might be surprised to know that our PUBLIC expenditure per capita is HIGHER than Canada's

They do however spend more privately than we do

http://static.seekingalpha.com/uploads/2009/7/5/saupload_f2.JPG