Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sarkozy takes aim at Ireland's corporate tax rate

• 13-01-2011 03:51PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

Le French president Nicolas Sarkozy has said Ireland cannot maintain its low corporate tax rate, while benefiting from EU financial aid.

Mr Sarkozy said that, while he deeply respects his Irish friends' independence, Ireland cannot continue to say "come and help us" while keeping a tax on company profits at half the levels imposed by other member states.

Ireland's corporate tax rate is 12.5% and is seen as key to attracting foreign investment.

I was wondering, would it be better to keep or 12.5% rate and pull out of the Europe thing. What would happen if Ireland pulled out of the Euro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Good little man. Now run along you French git.

12.5% needs to stay, we need to remain in Europe but we need politicians who will now and again tell them to feck off,pointing at Lisbon 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've always hated that little tosser

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sarkosy has been aiming at our rate for over two years now.
    This is nothing new. Its just another attempt to put pressure on the state to cave, publicly and privately - and mind you, with the useless shower we have at present, they are good at caving to Europe lately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Grimes wrote: »
    I was wondering, would it be better to keep or 12.5% rate and pull out of the Europe thing. What would happen if Ireland pulled out of the Euro?

Massive Capital Flight.

Nate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

How about we keep the 12.5% tax rate, and thus take business from EU states which have higher corporation tax rates in order to give their citizens better social services, roads etc, and then not accept a cent in handouts from the very same EU countries?

Fair is fair. Or is it Irish state policy to bring the social services, roads etc in all of the EU down to Irish standards via reducing corporation taxes? This is not Ireland's finest hour. I look forward to Scandinavian-style taxes in Ireland, Scandinavian-style services, and an end to the failed right-wing mé féiner economic policies of Charles McCreevy and Mary Harney.

A man can dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭garhjw

he is sore because it is so high in france and MNCs have no interest in setting up there as a result. i think ireland could increase corp tax to 13% or 13.5% and not see any MNCs pull out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

phasers wrote: »
    I've always hated that little tosser

That's what we can do with him.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dwarf_tossing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

We'd be a little bit more ****ed than we are already. Won't be the end of the world but would certainly delay future growth, even worse than what it is now.

I know it's the EU, i can grudgingly see where the little bastard is coming from (to a point) but it annoys me that he starts having a go when we are clearly on our knees already. France have a much better chance at recovery than we do. I don't see why he's drilling the nail in. Easy option i suppose.

At times like this we need strong leadership. So...goodbye low corporation tax rate i suppose :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Sorry but the eu's policy of 'no bank left behind' has contributed to our current situation (not permitting us to allow anglo to fail).

They are not GIVING us a cent they are LENDING to us at a penal interest rate.

Our economy is teetering on the abyss as it is Irish people are indebted for generations including our pension reserves.

Fcuk him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,058 ✭✭✭conorhal

Well.... if it's an either/or scenario Sarko, then I choose not taking the money and defaulting instead, so when all those French and German banks that recklessly lent us all at money to our banks go to the wall, I can raise a glass of cheap Chablis and a bree baguette and laugh my socks off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Our 12.5% corporate tax rate is one of the only reasons we're recovering.. (And yes growth is slowly happening)

If that goes.. What reasons will large companies have to move here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

State of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Is it a matter of time before Brian Lenihan drops his trousers, sticks his arse in the air and asks Sarkozy to stiff him for Europe?

Or will his stones drop and will he actually put a fight to preserve corporation tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I really don't understand his problem.

Even if we lost our corporate tax rate, I can't see why any MNC would want to set up a HQ in France. They don't have an English speaking work force and have labour laws and culture that no MNC would touch with a barge pole.

Surely the English with their native tongue, and their companies moving here week by week, are the only ones who should really care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Sure the French are a bunch of strike-happy layabouts who would happily down tools and protest at the drop of a hat.

That doesn't encourage multinationals to locate there.

And the Americans can't understand their accents either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

He'll most likely fail in his endeavours, like other Frenchmen throughout history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭finnegan2010

How do you say "Durkaaa Durrrrrrrr" in french?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G07szNm_5Jk

get lost you little pompous french git

hardCopy wrote: »
    I really don't understand his problem.

Even if we lost our corporate tax rate, I can't see why any MNC would want to set up a HQ in France. They don't have an English speaking work force and have labour laws and culture that no MNC would touch with a barge pole.

Surely the English with their native tongue, and their companies moving here week by week, are the only ones who should really care?

Well they have to tell the citizens SOMETHING. Just like our government blaming everyone else. "Eh it's not our fault...it's eh....the Irish...yeah! Those damn Irish, even when it was the bears, I knew it was them".

Dionysus wrote: »
    How about we keep the 12.5% tax rate, and thus take business from EU states which have higher corporation tax rates in order to give their citizens better social services, roads etc, and then not accept a cent in handouts from the very same EU countries?

Fair is fair. Or is it Irish state policy to bring the social services, roads etc in all of the EU down to Irish standards via reducing corporation taxes? This is not Ireland's finest hour. I look forward to Scandinavian-style taxes in Ireland, Scandinavian-style services, and an end to the failed right-wing mé féiner economic policies of Charles McCreevy and Mary Harney.

A man can dream.

The thing is, Ireland cannot afford to heighten the corporate tax rate at the minute. American and other multinational companies are strangling us by the balls. These companies provide a lot of jobs for the Irish state and contribute hugely to our export industry. Many foreign companies said that they would close up business straight away in Ireland if the corporate tax rate was increased. It would be a disaster; more on the dole, more emigration, etc.. Ireland would struggle even further to pay off this massive IMF/EU loan.

Personally, I think that the government should invest more in the growth of big domestic (sustainable) companies which contribute to exports and then gradually over time we should increase the corporate tax rate to no more than 20% - not a reckless abrupt increase.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Isn't this like giving a tramp a fiver and telling him he's not to get a job?

Right, now for another cringeworthy thread where Irish people, not content with having their own ancient grudges against the British, adopt other people's grudges against the French and Germans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Kasabian wrote: »
    Good little man. Now run along you French git.

12.5% needs to stay, we need to remain in Europe but we need politicians who will now and again tell them to feck off,pointing at Lisbon 2.
    That 'French git', by giving Ireland millions of euro as part of the EU
    rescue packet, puts bread on your table, whether you like to admit it or not. If you were in his position you would be asking for the exact same.

Ireland cannot have its cake and eat it. We took the money, so we must accept the Ts & Cs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

grenache wrote: »
    rescue packet, puts bread on your table, whether you like to admit it or not. If you were in his position you would be asking for the exact same.

Ireland cannot have its cake and eat it. We took the money, so we must accept the Ts & Cs.
    Yes Mr Sarkosy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

There is no way the EU is going to take away their 'financial support' (aka wallet-rape). The euro would be fukced if it did. We should just do whatever we want and tell them to do one. It's not like they were complaining, or trying to advise us to rein it in when our economy was boosting the value of the euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Morlar wrote: »
    Sorry but the eu's policy of 'no bank left behind' has contributed to our current situation (not permitting us to allow anglo to fail).

They are not GIVING us a cent they are LENDING to us at a penal interest rate.

Our economy is teetering on the abyss as it is Irish people are indebted for generations including our pension reserves.

Fcuk him.

Well said. He makes it sound like Ireland are simply being given a generous handout, taken into the warm bosom of our loving neighbours. Well that's just bullsh1t.

If we weren't forced into bailing out the zombie bank that is Anglo, to protect powerful financial interests in Europe, we wouldn't be in half the amount of sh1t we're in. It's Anglo that has really crippled us, and bailing it out has not been done with the interests of the Irish people at heart, that's for sure. It has not ever been 'of systemic importance' Mr.Lenihan, not to us anyway. But it's of significant importance to the German and French banks that recklessly lent it billions.

So yeah, piss off Sarkozy you annoying little midget.

I think in this situation the Irish should emulate the French aristocracy and say;

"LET THEM EAT CAKE!!"

Ehm no, they're not giving us the money because we're best mates. They're giving us the money to bail out their own banks and the euro currency as a whole. If we let the banks go and brought our social welfare/public service spending down to realistic levels (i.e. what we can afford) then we wouldn't need any handouts. But the French government, just like the Irish government have to use every straw man they can find in order to prevent them saving the obvious: We're in this mess because YOU, the VOTERS, have an almighty superiority complex and think you deserve the best social welfare/public services/infrastructure in the world while paying as little tax and doing as little work as possible. Work, that I might add, a person in China/India would do for a fraction of the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Stay at 12.5%, get out of Europe, default and tell the bond holders to **** off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I have never received a cent from the EU, I have however received alot of cents from an American corporation that is here because of the 12.5% corporate rate.

This is my position as an individual. I will be one of those people that will be paying back monies given to Ireland to pay back the interest rate required to make payments on the "handout".

I will continue to work for this corporation until such time as limp wrists do not fold to this beholding attitude you are showing there.
    People need to realise that there is a whole other economy going on in Ireland that is not at the beck and call of Brussells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Adubincork

Its now more than ever we need a leader with the balls to once and for all stand up to the larger countries in the EU and tell them to Fxxk off. Each country has the right to set their own corporate tax rate. We have all been told competion is a good thing. French and Germany can drop theirs if they so wish and compete with us for the business. I'm sick of these bully boy tactics Sarkozy and Merkel are using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Right, now for another cringeworthy thread where Irish people, not content with having their own ancient grudges against the British, adopt other people's grudges against the French and Germans.

So true I'd like to thank this post twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

didn't even read the thread but wanted to put this on the internet for eternity:

SARKOZY CAN GO F'UCK HIMSELF.

that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Sarkosy should go do what he does best go stick his scrawny smelly garlic baguette into some brain dead has-been super models gob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,253 ✭✭✭amacca

he can take aim all he likes.....doubt he would be able to reach high enough to hit it

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Work, that I might add, a person in China/India would do for a fraction of the price.

You were doing fine until this bit. It's pointless saying 'oh a guy in India will do the work for less', yeah of course he will because he's paying far less for his goods and services than we are. Wages went so high in Ireland because the price of everything skyrocketed with out-of-control inflation, it's as simple as that. People here would have no problem taking lower salaries either if everything wasn't so fcuking expensive.

Stay at 12.5%, get out of Europe, default and tell the bond holders to **** off.

We can't tell the bondholders to fcuk off on our sovereign debt, we have to pay that. But as for the banking debts we should at least have looked for debt renegotiation with the senior bondholders, while telling the subordinated debtholders to politely fcuk off. That our government are guaranteeing all of these debts is insane.

Agree to protect wealthy business interests at the expense of your own people. I'd call that a treasonous act, all done under the guise of 'we have no choice'. But we did have a choice. For a start Anglo could have been let go under and the bondholders burned. Sorry lads ye backed the wrong horse. I've never heard of a convincing or credible reason why this wasn't done, and why we're now shovelling truck loads of money into a big dark hole from where it will never be seen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Show me where, as part of the loan agreement; we are expected to raise our CT.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    You were doing fine until this bit. It's pointless saying 'oh a guy in India will do the work for less', yeah of course he will because he's paying far less for his goods and services than we are. Wages went so high in Ireland because the price of everything skyrocketed with out-of-control inflation, it's as simple as that. People here would have no problem taking lower salaries either if everything wasn't so fcuking expensive.

Oh it's 100% relevant when we're talking about corporations. Our low corporation tax offsets our high wages to an extent. Take that away and of course corporations would be quick to leave for somewhere cheaper.

Isn't this like giving a tramp a fiver and telling him he's not to get a job?

Er, no it isn't.

Where did anyone bash the French and German people? It's their governments, and by extension their banks that are at issue here. Like it's possible to resent the corrupt and incompetent political and banking system in Ireland without being anti-Irish.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Take that away and of course corporations would be quick to leave for somewhere cheaper.

Oh believe me I know, and it's starting to happen already, with Dell pulling out and now IBM moving one of their divisions to India.

But my point was that there's not alot the ordinary people of Ireland can do about this while prices remain so high. It's ok for the guy in India to work for 300 dollars per month but obviously you can't live on that here. Even though prices (of some things) are gradually starting to fall we're still one of the most expensive places to live.

Surveys consistently show this, whether it's food, drink, eating out, property, commercial rents, utilities, everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I was wondering, would it be better to keep or 12.5% rate and pull out of the Europe thing.?
    I think youll find that access to EU markets is a damn sight more important to most foreign investors than an artificially low tax rate.
    What would happen if Ireland pulled out of the Euro?

Think Zimbabwae without the sunshine..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I think youll find that access to EU markets is a damn sight more important to most foreign investors than an artificially low tax rate.

Think Zimbabwae without the sunshine..............

Ah, but we have at least 70% more Leprechauns.

Where's the Leprechaun smiley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

In fairness I wouldnt really be worried hes not mister popularity in france at the moment, so last long he will not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Midget-Cheese-Eating-Surrender-Monkey.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,253 ✭✭✭amacca

steddyeddy wrote: »
    In fairness I wouldnt really be worried hes not mister popularity in france at the moment, so last long he will not!

Vive la revolution!

(cringeworthy enough?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

That Jean Reno wannabe couldn't even take aim at his Mrs tit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

what you talking about willis?.....ok so the skin tone is wrong and the big cheeks are back to front on Sarky...sue me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

I don't know why people are so upset about this, its not going to happen ,
    Sarkozy knows this, he is entitled to play to his own electorate too you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

aidan24326 wrote: »

We can't tell the bondholders to fcuk off on our sovereign debt, we have to pay that. .

Why can't we? That's what Iceland did. Why do WE have to bail out the banks? I thought it was a capitalism system. Let the banks go down, they gambled, they lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

A desperate attempt by a unpopular politican to try and get some support, and nothing more.