Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hacker translates DUP websites into Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Thread of 2011 for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is maith sin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

It's a shame nobody can understand it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

orourkeda wrote: »
    It's a shame nobody can understand it now.

Allow me to turn this into a Brit-bashing thread...

*clears throat*

Them damn Brits, taking our language...........800 years............Simon Cowell.......

*shakes fist in Britain's direction*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

Still though. The DUP are a shower o' ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

rabble rabble rabble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I was in stitches when I heard about it...Very good..

IRcolm wrote: »
    Still though. The DUP are a shower o' ****.

so are irish speakers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Wow

so are irish speakers

No they're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

so are irish speakers

No they're not.

yes they are

No they're not times a thousand!

Uriel. wrote: »

what?

No they're not times a thousand!

whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

orourkeda's on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Quality, especially the Robinson part.:D

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Allow me to turn this into a Brit-bashing thread...

*clears throat*

Them damn Brits, taking our language...........800 years............Simon Cowell.......

*shakes fist in Britain's direction*

Try it in irish now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

what?

Explain yourself

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

so are irish speakers

Masturbation is not a crime!

Uriel. wrote: »
    Explain yourself

I thought the sentiments I've previously expressed are pretty self explanatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

wasting his time, fair play to him

Masturbation is not a crime!

Yes. I know. Hacking is though

Try it in irish now.

I would................if I knew Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭roashter

Brilliant !!
    The hacker must have been plotting this for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

pow wow wrote: »
    Thread of 2011 for me :D

Lets not get ahead of ourselves, there are many ethnic minorities, individuals, companies and governments that we can criticize in 2011.

Try it in irish now.

Ceadaigh dom dul isteach ar an snáithe seo Brit-bashing ...

Réitíonn scornach * *

Brits Them Céilí Mór, ag cur ár dteanga ........... 800 bliain ............ Simon Cowell .......

* shakes dhorn i dtreo Bhreatain's *

According to google translate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Hackers must have feck all to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Raic

This is hilarious but it's a real pity that the Irish isn't even correct. Where on the main page it says "don Acht na Gaeilge" it should read "d'Acht na Gaeilge". I don't mean to pick on this fellow's grammar as my own Irish is far from perfect but if you're going to pull a stunt like this then you should really make sure your Irish makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Bhris mé amach ag gaire nuar a leigh mé é:D

I would................if I knew Irish.

my point exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Epic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Buladh Bos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Raic wrote: »
    This is hilarious but it's a real pity that the Irish isn't even correct. Where on the main page it says "don Acht na Gaeilge" it should read "d'Acht na Gaeilge". I don't mean to pick on this fellow's grammar as my own Irish is far from perfect but if you're going to pull a stunt like this then you should really make sure your Irish makes sense.

Yeah, because if the grammar is slightly amiss, he runs the danger of the DUP missing the jibe. Bhéadh Hector O'Hackatdawn ina phleidhce ceart ansin!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Yes. I know. Hacking is though

Yes. I know. Only one Irish speaker hacked the site though.

my point exactly

Oh well, better pack my bags and leave. I forgot knowing little of the Irish language revokes my right to be Irish or to find humour in this

I wonder if the Brits are accepting :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I'm more amazed at the fact that there is a hacker who can speak Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

Couldn't have happened to a more deserving shower of dickheads. May they get seven types of shite before the day is out.

Yes. I know. Only one Irish speaker hacked the site though.

So what? Doesn't make hacking ok does it?

Oh well, better pack my bags and leave. I forgot knowing little of the Irish language revokes my right to be Irish or to find humour in this

I wonder if the Brits are accepting :pac:

Lack of irish doesnt dilute or affirm your nationality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Buladh Bos
    Reminds me of the old ABBA hit "Voulez vous"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

I was under the impression that trolling is not allowed in Afterhours. Well done on getting this far in yet another thread with your standard anti-Irish language stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

so are irish speakers

well seeing as we are clearly judging a group by a few within it. you aren't making a great case for english speakers :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

The guy is on twitter, and is openly gloating on attacks.
    Seems like a sure fired way to get yourself caught, but time will tell.

http://twitter.com/#!/HectorOHackAtD

Try it in irish now.
    my point exactly
    Lack of irish doesnt dilute or affirm your nationality

These things are quite handy, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Dionysus wrote: »
    I was under the impression that trolling is not allowed in Afterhours.

You're forgetting that he has a lot of posts :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

This must be a win for the DUP. They now have an English and Irish version of their website. Just have both languages selectable by website visitors. Now go to Brussels and say they are doing their bit for multi-culturalism and how about the auld grant for translation services. Big piss-up with the cheque.

aDeener wrote: »
    well seeing as we are clearly judging a group by a few within it. you aren't making a great case for english speakers :rolleyes:

So why are you doing the same thing as me in reverse?

Aren't you an english speaker too?

Dionysus wrote: »
    I was under the impression that trolling is not allowed in Afterhours. Well done on getting this far in yet another thread with your standard anti-Irish language stuff.

Call it whatever you wish.

I have a genuine dislike for the irish language. If you have a problem with me airing this then fair enough.