Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best town for a stag night?

• 12-01-2011 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

Im having a stag in June, and its going to be a whole weeked affair. I was thinking toward sligo, Limerick or perhaps Cork.

Any ideas? Been to Kilkenny before and while the town is great, would rather somewhere different.... Derry or Belfast?

Want to Keep it in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Dublin Forum
    >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Bray. Party capital of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Why stay it Ireland? Ireland's crap for stag nights, the beer is overpriced and there are no strip clubs worth their salt. I'd suggest Ljubljana or Bratislava.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Carlingford and Carrick can be good for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Westport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Confab wrote: »
    Why stay it Ireland? Ireland's crap for stag nights, the beer is overpriced and there are no strip clubs worth their salt. I'd suggest Ljubljana or Bratislava.

Getting people to go foreign nowadays isnt as easy, and i dont want to put the pressure on people that cant afford it. At least if people are stuck for money they can come down for the second night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Carlow for a stag, indoor carting-> paintballing->bar->niteclub->casino.

Was in a popular bar in Kilkenny for New Years and a guy got bottled by a randomer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

Carrick on Suir or Tipperary Town, legends of places for a stag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

snyper wrote: »
    Getting people to go foreign nowadays isnt as easy, and i dont want to put the pressure on people that cant afford it. At least if people are stuck for money they can come down for the second night

Fair enough.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Carlow for a stag, indoor carting-> paintballing->bar->niteclub->casino.

Dude - im from athlone - a town where 3 people got bottled in the face in the one weekend celebrating holy communion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was at a stag in Carrick-on-Shannon a few years ago.. best one I've been to. We rented 2 boats between 10 people (they sleep 5 each) - cheaper than a B&B and you can party all weekend at your leisure, as well as boating up & down to stop at the bars along the Shannon.

They're basic enough, but have everything you need.. fridge, cooker, toilets, shower, beds.

Also, Gings bar, just beside the bridge, have a jetty alongside their beer garden. We spent most of the weekend docked up there.

And don't be afraid of damaging the boats - those things are like bumper cars (we tested this theory to the limit). Plus, you won't get pulled by the Guards for boating under the influence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Belfast is good fun and cheap for going out in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Carlingford and Carrick can be good for that

I'd also recommend Carlingford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

As a Limerick man, I suggest you go to Carrick on Shannon in Leitrim! Went there with the rugby team before and it was brillaint craic! Stags and hens all over the place up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I was at a stag last year in Galway. Had a fantastic time. Had everything you need for a stag- plenty of bars, a stripclub, Supermacs, open grates for puking into. Was very reasonable, and we went paintballing during the day for an activity. Couldn't recommend it more.

yupyup7up wrote: »
    I suggest you go to Carrick on Shannon in Leitrim!

As opposed to Carrick-on-Shannon in Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Dude - im from athlone - a town where 3 people got bottled in the face in the one weeked celebration holy communion

And it looks like they don't speak English there either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭proon4

Sligo is usually a good spot...plenty of pubs and craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    And it looks like they don't speak English there either

Sterling contribution there.

With or without the full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭oicherider

Lahinch without a doubt..

Surfing or Clay Pigeon shooting, no hassle getting into pubs - big enough to have enough variety and small enough not to have to be looking after the gang.. added to that plenty of hens there too

10 out of 10 man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

If you have to stay on this island id say Belfast..Great sessions and cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Well smart arse, the OP might have thought yupyup7up was on about the part of Carrick-on-Shannon in Roscommon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭1867IE

Westport is good.

Letterkenny in Donegal still remains the best session ever! Loadsa cheap hotels and B&Bs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You can't go wrong with Belfast.
    Derry gets a bit quiet after 7pm.

oicherider wrote: »
    Lahinch without a doubt..

Surfing or Clay Pigeon shooting, no hassle getting into pubs - big enough to have enough variety and small enough not to have to be looking after the gang.. added to that plenty of hens there too

10 out of 10 man :D

Yea, i really want to do something to break up the drinking a bit.

We did do surfing on a stag in sligo, and was brilliant.

Clay pigeon shooting involves guns. Not a good idea with the amount of drink we will consume and some of the characters going to this stag!!

1867IE wrote: »
    Westport is good.

Letterkenny in Donegal still remains the best session ever! Loadsa cheap hotels and B&Bs.

Wesport is ok...but trust me stay away from Letterkenny. Its a dive and the prices are crazy when they realise your on a stag.... Most of Donegal is the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i would actually recommend dublin. i am from dublin and this does sway me a bit but i have also been to most places mentioned and while they are all a good laugh, none of them have the variety you get in dublin. except maybe galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Galway has www.pureskill.ie which is popular with stags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Yea, i really want to do something to break up the drinking a bit.

We did do surfing on a stag in sligo, and was brilliant.

Clay pigeon shooting involves guns. Not a good idea with the amount of drink we will consume and some of the characters going to this stag!!

Thailand, maybe then we can get the old snyper back! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

proon4 wrote: »
    Sligo is usually a good spot...plenty of pubs and craic

Is there another Sligo because the one I know is a sh1te hole full of inbreds with small minded village mentalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Sanjuro wrote: »
    I was at a stag last year in Galway. Had a fantastic time. Had everything you need for a stag- plenty of bars, a stripclub, Supermacs, open grates for puking into. Was very reasonable, and we went paintballing during the day for an activity. Couldn't recommend it more.

+ 1

my stag there at the end of the month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Dublin now that the bars and clubs actually want your business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Over to Ballinasloe with you Snyper. Vegas of the whest they call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

Not everyone knows where it is. I didnt until last year. Keep your "smart" comments to yourself. Dropped on the head as a child were you? :rolleyes:

Back OT, I know you said somewhere in Ireland, but with flights for around €30 per person return, I think a trip to Liverpool is a good call! One of the best nights out and pubs etc. open until 6/7 in the morning! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Im having a stag in June, and its going to be a whole weeked affair. I was thinking toward sligo, Limerick or perhaps Cork.

Any ideas? Been to Kilkenny before and while the town is great, would rather somewhere different.... Derry or Belfast?

I thought about west Clare for mine
    Good bit of craic down that end and a bit of surfing in Lahich
    Ended up in Edinburgh but I hear you about getting people to travel
    Had a huge attrition rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

Dude - im from athlone

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Kasabian wrote: »
    Is there another Sligo because the one I know is a sh1te hole full of inbreds with small minded village mentalities.

Went on a stag there a few years ago, absolute kip and we were met with the 'regulars only' mantra in most places. Only time I ever stayed up all night just to get the first train outta there. I'll never be back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭baldymac

we all know the real capital is cork, lol, but hey dont even think bout going there for stag. there are only one or 2 good decent pubs, and more then likely with a gang of lads, you will have no hope in getting into the pubs, even i go out with 3 other mates, to my regular pubs an we often get stopped so a stag wud be worse, plus you wont even be allowed in some pubs dressed up,

im going to galway in may for a stag, great city to go to for piss up. well enjoy where ever u end up. just do go down south

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭baldymac

well after what happened in marisuis ( spelling) id be more worried about where ur honeymoon is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Wesport is ok...but trust me stay away from Letterkenny. Its a dive and the prices are crazy when they realise your on a stag.... Most of Donegal is the same
    Letterkenny is a good spot to go out in. Doubt very highly that they push up prices if you're on a stag.

yupyup7up wrote: »
    Not everyone knows where it is. I didnt until last year. Keep your "smart" comments to yourself.

It's not my fault that you're knowledge of Irish towns sucks ass.

Kasabian wrote: »

Not sure if there is...... why dont you ask your mother.. she was very well "known" up there.. ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Out of your choices I would pick Cork, Kilkenny or Belfast. Other counties/cities worth a look would be Kerry, Mayo or Galway. Any spots that are good for hen parties are usually good for stag parties too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Westport is a good spot, Carrick on Shannon as plenty of others have mentioned is a top spot too, full of pubs and hen and stag parties. Derry is a good town but not for a stag as everything shuts early, you won't get a pint after 1am. Galway speaks for itself, plenty of variety and its always going to be buzzing. Letterkenny is a great spot I don't give a toss what anyone says, and I've never seen anyone raising prices or any of that crap going on, thats more likely to happen in one of the cities.

Letterkenny or Carrick on Shannon would be my suggestions.

deccurley wrote: »
    Westport is a good spot, Carrick on Shannon as plenty of others have mentioned is a top spot too, full of pubs and hen and stag parties. Derry is a good town but not for a stag as everything shuts early, you won't get a pint after 1am. Galway speaks for itself, plenty of variety and its always going to be buzzing. Letterkenny is a great spot I don't give a toss what anyone says, and I've never seen anyone raising prices or any of that crap going on, thats more likely to happen in one of the cities.

Letterkenny or Carrick on Shannon would be my suggestions.

Trust me they did in Letterkenny... we went there 2 yrs ago....nothing to do during the day. pubs were dead... young kids in the 2 discos... we were ripped off by 2 hotels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Trust me they did in Letterkenny... we went there 2 yrs ago....nothing to do during the day. pubs were dead... young kids in the 2 discos... we were ripped off by 2 hotels
    Nothing to do during the day? You could have went paintballing, go carting, bowling, cinema, ect.

Dead pubs? If you had the stag on the weekend, thats highly unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Westport popular with many stag and hen parties.

Easy to get to - N 5 now much improved, and it is on the railway line.

Good selection of restuarants and pubs - including the famous Matt Molloys.

A lot to do during day - climb Croagh Patrlck - day trips Clare Island or Achill. many excellent beaches etc etc.

town has a strong tourist trade most of the year, and locals welcome stags and hens.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

Nothing to do during the day? You could have went paintballing, go carting, bowling, cinema, ect.

Dead pubs? If you had the stag on the weekend, thats highly unlikely.

cant see many stag parties being mad to go to the cinema now being honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would suggest Westport & Galway. Westport has that buzz like Galway does. Hard to explain.