Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1848 Tri-colour festrival, Waterford

• 12-01-2011 10:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭

Interesting new festival being organised to celebrate TF Meagher & the 1st flying of the Irish tri-colour,.

well done to all involved in getting this up & running!

www.1848tricolour.com

5th - 6th March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Im very happy about this festival. Its about time TF Meagher exploits were celebrated instead of hidden away like out other local heroes (see John Condon boy soldier, Walton, Boyle etc). The flag in Ireland has been largely ignored, unlike other countries, you rarely see it flying anywhere except outside the courthouse and superquinn. Its about time we reclaimed it for its worth and started having some pride in this country. I would like to see lil tricolours on cars etc for the week concerned, tie-ins with Montana where TF Meagher was Governor, France - where the flag came from, TF Meaghers fightin Irish Brigade etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Fair play to Wellboy (UpTheDeise.com) - he has been trying for years to get the flag celebrated like this. Delighted to see he finally succeeeded.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

A great event that deserves wide spread promotion. Its part of our hidden history IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

There's only one man that deserves credit for this and hopefully no organisation or media outlet will try to claim the event as their own.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

About time somebody in Waterford got their act together to promote this, honestly could never understand why Waterford never did anything around this...seemed just a lack of interest in anything to draw in tourists other then the glass factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

Exactly, well done Cian on driving this event. Hopefully it´ll expand in the years to come & bring in some involvement from Tasmania, Montana & the US army.

The life on TF Meagher would make a serious film .... but it´d be hard for people to believe one man did all that he did.

btw ... does anybody know if the hook & crooks maritime festival is happening again this year?

www.hooksandcrookes.com but only mentions The Tall Ships Festival, nothing about their own festival on there.

Hopefully the event won´t be hi-jacked by any "Republican" groups as they tried to do to the flag in general!
    Remember that the white symbolises reconciliation & peace with Protestant Irish people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Delighted this is being done. I always wondered why such a hugely historical event wasn't celebrated and commemorated more in Waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

comeraghs wrote: »
    Hopefully the event won´t be hi-jacked by any "Republican" groups as they tried to do to the flag in general!
    Remember that the white symbolises reconciliation & peace with Protestant Irish people!

Ah yeah ya'd much prefer seein the Unionist groups complainen about it, pissen on it and burnin it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 ironballsmcgee

hi,new to boards, long time lurker first time poster. Sorry my first post has to be a mini rant but has anybody noticed that every day the flags outside the crystal showrooms are being flown in the wrong order, they always have the irish tricolour flying on the left of the three flagpoles with european union flag in the centre and the united states flag on the right. I learned in third class that the national flag should be always in either the centre, closest to the centre or the highest flagpole in that order. I know its a bit petty but do you think an american would allow that to happen in america...i doubt it. Even on the tricolour celebration website theres a picture of the front of the showrroms and you can see the flags in the wrong order...i hope they can get it right in time.

sure send em an email, they obviously just dont realise it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Fair play ironballs,and they'd want to wash the one on the Tower Hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

Flag etiquette is that the tricolour should be in the most important position. This is considered to be the first (furtherst left) flag pole. It should only be in the centre if that flagpole is higher than the others. Think of it, if there were 20 flags none would be in the centre, and if there were 21 the middle flat wouldn't have a very prominent position.

So they got it right :)

(I'm a sucker for flag etiquette)

dayshah wrote: »
    Flag etiquette is that the tricolour should be in the most important position. This is considered to be the first (furtherst left) flag pole. It should only be in the centre if that flagpole is higher than the others. Think of it, if there were 20 flags none would be in the centre, and if there were 21 the middle flat wouldn't have a very prominent position.

So they got it right :)

(I'm a sucker for flag etiquette)
    it should be flown on the furthest left if only two or more than three flags are being flown, in this case there are three only so the centre is the position of importance.

Where did you get this information from?

Take a peek at page 9 point 6. (There are circumstances when the tricolour needn't be to the left from the observers point of view, ie if all the EU flags are flown it is permissible to put them in alphabetical order). Of course this is just etiquette and has no legal effect.

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/publications/1104.pdf

and point 6(b) says "Where, however, an odd number of flags are displayed
    from staffs grouped so that there is one staff in the
    centre and higher than the others, the National Flag
    should be displayed from the staff so placed. Where
    one of these flags is that of the European Union, the
    European Union flag should be flown from the first
    flagstaff on the right, or as seen by an observer, on the
    first flagstaff on the left."

and point 6(b) says "Where, however, an odd number of flags are displayed
    from staffs grouped so that there is one staff in the
    centre and higher
    than the others, the National Flag
    should be displayed from the staff so placed. Where
    one of these flags is that of the European Union, the
    European Union flag should be flown from the first
    flagstaff on the right, or as seen by an observer, on the
    first flagstaff on the left."

Is the centre pole higher? I thought they were the same height. The angle of the webcam doesn't allow me to check. :(

But anyway, I said before it should be in the centre if the centre pole is higher.

So in summary, if the centre pole is higher then you are right, but if all the poles are the same height then they are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

every day the flags outside the crystal showrooms are being flown in the wrong order, they always have the irish tricolour flying on the left of the three flagpoles with european union flag in the centre and the united states flag on the right. I learned in third class that the national flag should be always in either the centre, closest to the centre or the highest flagpole in that order. I know its a bit petty but do you think an american would allow that to happen in america...i doubt it. Even on the tricolour celebration website theres a picture of the front of the showrroms and you can see the flags in the wrong order...i hope they can get it right in time.

Where does the Union Jack go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Where does the Union Jack go?

You mean the butcher's apron.

I just wondered why we hoist the yankee flag but ignore our closest neighbour.

Because Americans have more money :)

Good point. Maybe we can get 8 billion out of them..

WWRD, The people who own Waterford Crystal are American & the biggest market for WC is the US. plus I think they have an EU flag so that covers the ould sassanachs.

Does anybody have any suggestions/ideas for the festival?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

Wow! There's a Leviathan Political Cabaret at the Theatre Royale, hosted by David McWilliams. Well done to the organisers! :)

http://www.1848tricolour.com/index.php?contentid=events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Deisekickboxing

Theres a reason why the yank flag is higher because they own ireland !

I wonder would the people who paint the rock in the Waterford & that other lots colours agree to a truce .... and paint the rock Green, White & Orange until at least The Tall Ships festival is over .... same them both Time & money!

They have got a facebook page if you are interested in supporting the festival & spreading the word!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

There's only one man that deserves credit for this and hopefully no organisation or media outlet will try to claim the event as their own.

Thats the thing. hopefully its a great sucess but sadly if it is then you will have some media type claiming it.

wellboy for mayor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Diluted

seanybiker wrote: »
    Thats the thing. hopefully its a great sucess but sadly if it is then you will have some media type claiming it.

wellboy for mayor

You are stiring it now Mr Nobike as usual ;)

Diluted wrote: »
    You are stiring it now Mr Nobike as usual ;)

no I honestly dont mean to stir it. fair play to him like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Diluted

seanybiker wrote: »
    no I honestly dont mean to stir it. fair play to him like.

Yah know what you mean he a sound bollix like.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭jad2007

I think the previous suggestion about painting the rock Green White and Orange is a excellent idea. Dont know any of the lads involved in painting it though. Maybe somebody on here knows them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭scico rocks

We keep busing them in, they'll keep spending the money!
    Great news about the festival. Tall ships, spraoi etc, could be a good year!

Hi Jad,

I don't know any of the Waterford lads but I have heard that the Slieverue lot would be willing to not paint over it until after the Tall Ships

I know the waterford lads.could say it to them sure.

^ I think that would be great, If seany could ask the Waterford lads and if Comeraghs could ask for a temporary truce it would show that the community on boards are trying to help out. It would prob get in the local papers ( again). :)

Noticed the Flagpoles being adjusted on the mall today. the guy doing it said that it was for the "flag thingy". So at least now the Irish flag will get to be flown in the middle.. Pity the rock is now red and white hopefully it will be green white and orange for the summer..

jad2007 wrote: »
    Noticed the Flagpoles being adjusted on the mall today. the guy doing it said that it was for the "flag thingy". So at least now the Irish flag will get to be flown in the middle.. Pity the rock is now red and white hopefully it will be green white and orange for the summer..

Pity yer not a De La Salle man!
    Hon the Salle!!

Passed 33 the Mall yesterday and noticed it was getting a lick of paint. Nice to see somebody take a interest. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

Hi-jackin? Thats like saying Meagher hijacked of the French locals, tahts obscene. get a grip! I'm sure all republicans are aware of what the white represents, also the the tricolour really only became the national flag when it was raised in 1916 during the fight for independence? ironic dont ya think? It was only regarded as national flag after a whole irish rebellion a chara, so I would believe many republicans today do have great respect for the flag and will attend, as these men give their time and lives to republicanism, are well aware of what the flag represents, and do not sit on internet and criticise, why shouldn't these people attend,spread word, give speeches if be the case and celebrate it properly, a full right too, more than most, With peace must also come unity.

As for you saying republicans 'hijacking a flag'????

each and every Irish citizen can claim and display the tricolour as their own. And be proud of it.
    Never knew we had to adhere to rules.
    This is a day for all and not for you be automatically pinpointing and assuming.
    "flag thingy" a shame such a reference, this day needs to be highlighted via media, social networks, polical parties and general word of mouth.

We should hope so :)

Patrick! You know very well that a lot of "republicanism" these days is just a lot of anti-protestant/brits out rubbish that belongs in the past! & I'll sit on the internet & complain as much as I want! (just like yourself)

Well Done to Cian & co on organising this great festival. Spread the word!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

I'll sit on the internet & complain as much as I want!

Well Done to Cian & co on organising this great festival. Spread the word!
    :D Your the real rebel
    It will be a good day, will see you there.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Not long away now.. like their Facebook page and lets drive this as much as we can;
    http://www.1848tricolour.com/index.php?contentid=i-am-going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Fair play to the organisers, really enjoyed the parade and speeches etc today. Positivity everywhere :) TF Meagher lookin well for his age!
    Also, the Canadian ambassador to Ireland - Loyola Hearn , the Naval Reserve guard of honour, and the flag flying at 33 The Mall!

150640.jpg150644.jpg

150643.jpg150641.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Very disappointed to miss this, living outside of Ireland at the mo. Was there a big turn out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Dan133269 wrote: »
    Very disappointed to miss this, living outside of Ireland at the mo. Was there a big turn out?

Yeah the turnout was good! The crowd seem compacted enough along the Mall between City Hall and the Credit Union Building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

It was a good day untill the mayor made her speech which was pretty long and boring, other than that a good day and well done to Cian Foley for organising it and hopefully it will get bigger and better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

200motels wrote: »
    It was a good day untill the mayor made her speech which was pretty long and boring, other than that a good day and well done to Cian Foley for organising it and hopefully it will get bigger and better.

I thought she made a brilliant speech. Really brought it home the significance of the flag, Meagher, etc.

Well done indeed to Cian Foley and the organisers. We need citizens working hard like this to show off Waterford's rich history.

Next on my list would be to do something to highlight Luke Wadding's role in the establishment of St. Patrick's day, given that it has become a world wide affair these days.