Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Always wear a condom.

• 10-01-2011 10:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭

http://johnmryan.com/technology/boards-ie-are-the-moderators-fair/

When I see this kind of thing on forums I sometimes get the impression that the mods actions are really a manifestation of admins power tripping on the success and popularity of their forum, drawing up ridiculous sets of rules with the attitude that if people disagree, the ban button is the catch-all solution. I'm not saying that this is the case with boards.ie, but you surely could forgive someone for making that mistake.

http://www.politics.ie/current-affairs/26576-mods-boards-ie-need-take-pole-out-their-ass.html

my question is are these all false accusations, I do see a lot of mods throwing their weight around here but thats just my personal opinion. hopefully we can keep this thread open to see what the people who use boards think rather than a mod proving the point by closing it.

AlmightyCushion is brilliant and his penis is gigantic, some would even say dinosauric, suddenly the almightycushion wakes up, looks down under the covers and there it is, A PEANUT SIZED DISAPPOINTMENT he crys for a while and then just decides to have a little tug at it anyway

Who changed the poll? 141 votes

Rabies
    0% 0 votes
    Jesus
    46% 66 votes
    Doc Bollix
    36% 52 votes
    DeVore
    9% 14 votes
    Atari Uncle Tom
    6% 9 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

No...

.. just kidding - BAAAAAAAAAAAN HIM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

In before the censorship :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Nope never happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

DONE TO DEATH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was raped by a Mod.

OK. I wan't raped, but I did say 'no',

OK, I did say 'no', but I meant 'yes'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

:D jesus lads you read my evidence fairly fast :D hve you looked at the links ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

If by abusing their power you mean using illegally trafficked eastern european women to have sex with and snort high grade colombian blow, then yes, yes they do abuse their power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,990 ✭✭✭✭kippy

No but they abuse the Hookers and Coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Yes.

But i can't give reasons. They'll make me regret it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

superfish wrote: »
    http://johnmryan.com/technology/boards-ie-are-the-moderators-fair/

When I see this kind of thing on forums I sometimes get the impression that the mods actions are really a manifestation of admins power tripping on the success and popularity of their forum, drawing up ridiculous sets of rules with the attitude that if people disagree, the ban button is the catch-all solution. I'm not saying that this is the case with boards.ie, but you surely could forgive someone for making that mistake.

http://www.politics.ie/current-affairs/26576-mods-boards-ie-need-take-pole-out-their-ass.html

my question is are these all false accusations, I do see a lot of mods throwing their weight around here but thats just my personal opinion. hopefully we can keep this thread open to see what the people who use boards think rather than a mod proving the point by closing it.

As long as you accept that there are two sets of rules; one for mods and one for us plebs you'll be grand.

Mods are gods...or at least think they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

AlmightyCushion is brilliant and his penis is gigantic, some would even say dinosauric.

i agree with this point OP 100% :)

:D jesus lads you read my evidence fairly fast :D hve you looked at the links ? :confused:

read the links........lmfao it's after hours and nearly 11pm ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I was raped by a Mod.

OK. I wan't raped, but I did say 'no',

OK, I did say 'no', but I meant 'yes'.
    Tramp.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Mods are gods...or at least think they are.
    "Through Him, with Him, in Him, in the unity of the Holy Basquille"

Like the sound of that! :pac:

<Snip>

No, no they do not.

All hail General Krull!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

racso1975 wrote: »
    read the links........lmfao it's after hours and nearly 11pm ffs

would it still be after hours if it was before 11 ffs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

I think this website would be absolute carnage without them.
    They do a job that they dont have to do or need to do. I respect them for it. Ive had infractions and been banned myself and can say Ive deserved them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Devil08 wrote: »
    I think this website would be absolute carnage without them.
    They do a job that they dont have to do or need to do. I respect them for it. Ive had infractions and been banned myself and can say Ive deserved them all.

So, what's you mod alt account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

basquille wrote: »
    "Through Him, with Him, in Him, in the unity of the Holy Basquille"

"All control of threads and posts are his, now and forever".

would it still be after hours if it was before 11 ffs ?

bingo! See how easy you derailed your own thread. Amateur. You aint gonna be a mod now

I did. Nothing to see here. Move along people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

alwaysadub wrote: »
    So, what's you mod alt account?

Never been a mod, dont want to be one either. Id rather sit back and laugh at those getting banned for their outragous posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Duh! Of course they do, thats what being a mod is all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Ah c'mon they aint Sherdog mods ;)

wow this really makes me proud to be Irish the intelligence levels of my fellow countrymen is something to behold :P I think we are ready for nuclear weapons if this forum is anything to go by :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I love the way on that johnmryan.com site if you reply to his posts about how evil and controlling boards is it tells you that all comments have to be approved before they become visible.

Is JohnMRyan.com abusing its power???? OMG!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

What if both people that post on his blog turn against him? He will not approve their posts and then nobody will be posting, it'll just be him chatting to himself on the web, giving out about getting banned from boards..... all by himself?

Ive had infractions and been banned myself and can say Ive deserved them all.
    Masochist. :D 'Nooo.. Not the whip! Noooo.... Oooooohhhh....'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

wow this really makes me proud to be Irish the intelligence levels of my fellow countrymen is something to behold :P I think we are ready for nuclear weapons if this forum is anything to go by :rolleyes:

lol :D:D f.uc.k sake im meant to be up at 7am now im stuck here :D

John Ryan (or Facekicker as he's better known) sure holds a grudge!

Love that film.. When Richard Pryor puts a gun to his head and yells 'Nobody move or the nigga gets it!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Didn't Richard Pryor have some involvement with Blazing Saddles though? Co-wrote possibly?

Johro wrote: »
    Love that film.. When Richard Pryor puts a gun to his head and yells 'Nobody move or the nigga gets it!'
    That was Cleavon Little... but since Gene Wilder was in it, it's an easy mistake!

PS - "Fuzzy Wuzzy was a woman!"
    Dudess wrote: »
    Didn't Richard Pryor have some involvement with Blazing Saddles though? Co-wrote possibly?
    Hence why I deleted my post! :o

Je was in it, but he didn't play Bart (i.e speaking that particular line of dialogue).

Oh, and what were talking about again? Ah yes, Roma Gypsies.. you see the problem there is..

basquille wrote: »
    That was Cleavon Little... but since Gene Wilder was in it, it's an easy mistake!

PS - "Fuzzy Wuzzy was a woman!"
    Oops... True. Okay.. Put the 'morons' clip up again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

From the first link:
    Darragh, it really bothers me that you speak like you have a suit and tie on when you have moderators like Karl Hungus running around. Boards.ie is a bad forum run by bad people. Saying that people need to read the rules won't change this - after all boards.ie has an insanely large market share of Irish forums. This is why it's such an issue, there is a lack of choice here.

Nobody listens if you have a problem on boards.ie. If they did, something would have happened by now. There is a large consensus outside of boards.ie itself, as demonstrated by this poll, that the moderators are corrupt and trigger happy.

The appeals process is also rarely successful. Most of the time, posting in feedback/helpdesk forums causes the moderators to gang up against you.

"As I said above, mods give their time to boards.ie which is wonderful thing in these times!"

I don't agree. A bad mod is worse than no mod.

The problem is that the majority of boards mods alternately either inept or corrupt, and tend to elect others like them.

It really is unfair how much of a monopoly boards.ie has on active Irish discussion.

Harmony Central is a forum roughly the size of Boards in terms of members etc., and while the head mod in of himself is a ban happy little eejit, it's still nowhere near as bad as boards.

Please don't listen to Darragh. It is true though that a majority of people are "Happy" with the boards mods, just like a majority of people voted Fianna Fail back in. Most people don't see a lot of the **** that goes on, or don't care. If they did, then they wouldn't say they were doing such a good job.

Compared to the wider standard of internet forums, boards.ie performs poorly. Nowhere does Darragh deal with the fact that people constantly get random 2 weeks bans for stupid things like "acting the gowl" and these decisions are rarely reversed.
    Which is it: Either Boards.ie has "A Monopoly" or it doesn't. To say it's managed poorly and yet to insinuate that the quality of the discussion forums is high enough to merit the demand? I have trouble wrapping my head around the argument. When people are unhappy with the site they leave it. They can launch their own sites if they wish. Several already have.

Boards.ie holds no monopoly of any sort, if you care to understand what in fact a Monopoly is. Finally, what is there to be corrupt about when you are a moderator? Unlike corrupt politicians who benefit from perks like healthcare and multiple pension funds, the moderators are volunteers. There aren't any tangible benefits to being a mod that would constitute Greed or Corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

If we say yes the will abuse us even more :)

someone has to stop the carnage.

some mods are nicer than others :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

yep, mods on boards are the worst i've ever come across

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mods ate my children!

Dudess wrote: »
    Dudess to the rescue.;)

Makikomi ate my hamster!

Overheal wrote: »
    From the first link:

Which is it: Either Boards.ie has "A Monopoly" or it doesn't. To say it's managed poorly and yet to insinuate that the quality of the discussion forums is high enough to merit the demand? I have trouble wrapping my head around the argument. When people are unhappy with the site they leave it. They can launch their own sites if they wish. Several already have.

Boards.ie holds no monopoly of any sort, if you care to understand what in fact a Monopoly is. Finally, what is there to be corrupt about when you are a moderator? Unlike corrupt politicians who benefit from perks like healthcare and multiple pension funds, the moderators are volunteers. There aren't any tangible benefits to being a mod that would constitute Greed or Corruption.

Hey what ever happened to FùckForward? It seems to be kinda dead over there now.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Never been a mod, dont want to be one either. Id rather sit back and laugh at those getting banned for their outragous posts.

I still do that :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The poll that yer man on that blog claims clearly shows that there's a huge outcry from people saying boards mods are evil, corrupt etc. etc. - how many people voted on that. The results I can see says 92 people voted.

Is that the huge outcry he's talking about? Because you know when Pantene do shampoo surveys to see how many women love the silky smoothness they get from Pro-V formula they ask a lot more than 92 feckin' people.

And of those 92 voting only 41 agreed with him. Less than 50% of his whopping 92 people agreed with him.

In what world is that a 'large consensus'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

AlmightyCushion is brilliant and his penis is gigantic, some would even say dinosauric.

I thought AC lost that santa strick force poll.

Oh and in answer to your question OP, never.

Hey what ever happened to FùckForward? It seems to be kinda dead over there now.
    Why do you need to call it that?

this made me lol. I know which mike it was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Dr. Bollocko lords over the thunderdome with an iron fist. You can say nothing there without fear of being banned, and he even called me a stupid prick at one stage. The 'power' has obviously gone to his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Ok I'm going to say - sometime.

Some forums are relatively free to say what you want - here in particular.

Other not so. Lets say......the dental forum. Modded by invited dentists who do it in their spare time. However you cannot discuss certain topics there without getting ban. Cheap dental work up North in Europe for example. Mercury of fluoride toxicity for another. To be blunt - it is a biased forum.

Overheal wrote: »
    Why do you need to call it that?

Because it has done nothing but impose harsh rules on posters whilst giving nothing back in return imho.

Without examples I can't be sure what you mean. If you want to start a thread in Feedforward, or Feedback about it, you're more than welcome to.

If you have any ideas about giving something back to the community that belongs in FFW, I strongly encourage you to make those suggestions.