Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most popular sayings in Ireland at the moment?

• 08-01-2011 05:08PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭

"Sure at least you have a job"

"It's berties/developers/banks fault i'm broke"

Any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

"Cup of tea?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

We are where we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

'Hang your bollox off it for all I care'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

"We are where we are."

Where else did you think you were, you loon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭thenutflush

"where's my NAMA?" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

"Did you get the shift?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

"Didn't Christmas go awfully fast?/Wasn't Christmas awfully quiet?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

' the current climate'
    Or, 'I'm fcukin skint'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Fook the snow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭karl tyrrell

hows the back of your neck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

Top o' the mornin' to ya! Ah sure begorrah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

''Thanks be to God''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

That money was just resting in my account...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭jprboy

Yerra, shure dere's a grand stretch in d'evenins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

God bless us and save us says old Mrs Davis, I never knew herrings were fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

God Ted, I'm no good at guessing the size of crowds, but I'd say there's about seventeen million of them out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Have ye water?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭thenutflush

"It's berties/developers/banks fault i'm broke"

But of course. Sure financial responsibility belongs to the Victorian era.. I should be able to buy loads of stuff on credit and enjoy the higher social status and other benefits that come with possessing material wealth and when the time comes to have to pay it back I should be let off the hook and bailed out and be shown sympathy by those who were financially responsible because there are more people like me than like them :rolleyes:

/sarcasm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

no recession in their house :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

''We're all totally ****ed!''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

F**k your popular sayings, I've a horse outside..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭johnnyjb

Slightly off course but the world billion has passed out million.

Remember back in 2008 when politicians spoke of losing millions , now its billions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Had ye any burst pipes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Happy New Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

'Ride me sideways' is another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

But of course. Sure financial responsibility belongs to the Victorian era.. I should be able to buy loads of stuff on credit and enjoy the higher social status and other benefits that come with possessing material wealth and when the time comes to have to pay it back I should be let off the hook and bailed out and be shown sympathy by those who were financially responsible because there are more people like me than like them :rolleyes:

/sarcasm
    There's always one...

We've turned a corner

I've heard that from our leaders a few times.
    It may have been four times

MyKeyG wrote: »
    'Ride me sideways' is another one.

Don't forget to slap on the butter first....... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

'Awesome'.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

"the whole things caat"

dead cat bounce

I see it in Irish economy and accommodation forum the whole time

Don't know about you but it's not an image I want, what kind of person came up with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I've noticed a lot of people adding the word 'out' to the end of other words to describe stuff. Like 'happy out' or 'sound out'.. what the hell is all that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The country is a joke.

EVENFLOW

I've noticed a lot of people adding the word 'out' to the end of other words to describe stuff. Like 'happy out' or 'sound out'.. what the hell is all that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

"last night was whopper"

"that was a whopper film"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Enright

johnnyjb wrote: »
    Slightly off course but the world billion has passed out million.

Remember back in 2008 when politicians spoke of losing millions , now its billions

Does that mean it will be
    Cead Bile Failte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

'Sure aren't they all the same?'

Any conversation regarding Irish politics always contains this phrase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Anglo Irish will only cost three billion, seven billion, twelve billion, twenty billion, thirty five billion ..... shure we're good for it whatever it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

im hearing various combinations of a profanity and the words fianna fail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭cucbuc

"Ah for fook sake.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Kids/Teenagers Lazy saying : "Like!!!!"

Politician Useless and meaningless saying: "Going Forward" since we are all going backwards in this recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

"Totally, standard"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭deisedude

"Thats what she said"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

/sarcasm

You might have missed the fact that our current govt's only concern for the last couple of years has been about bailing-out financial institutions; absolving them of their responsibilities and making tax-payers stump up for their gambling/stupidity/profligacy etc.
    If our 'leader's' see this as legitimate, you can hardly be surprised that the 'ordinary' people will start to wonder why it doesn't extend to them.
    At the moment we are being forced to shoulder both our own financial responsibilities and that of other's: the banks/developers etc.
    Added to this we get to see them continue to live the high-life as our country teeters on the brink of financial collapse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ya muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'll just transfer this ten million to your house-keeping account Dear, but I'll have it back when Nama leaves me the feck alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭darrcow

were is my free cheese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭darrcow

i promise i wont cum in your mouth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

"Lob it into me..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

The country is bocht