Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two arrested for stealing ambulance

• 08-01-2011 4:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭

A woman and a teenage girl were arrested after an ambulance was stolen from outside a flat complex in Dublin city in the early hours of this morning.
    The ambulance had been called to a flat at Rory O'Connor House at 3am.
    It was stolen while the ambulance crew were inside treating an elderly lady.
    A short time later, uniformed gardaí saw the ambulance being driven on Great Charles Street with its blue lights flashing.
    It stopped and a 27-year-old woman and a 16-year-old girl jumped out and tried to run away.
    Another woman tried to stop gardaí arresting them, but they were detained and taken to Store Street Station.
    The girl was released at 6am and a file will be sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions. The woman is still being questioned at Store Street.

Source

How retarded would you have to be to do something like this? Are these people brain dead or do they just not give a fùck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

TheZohan wrote: »
    Source

Are these people brain dead or do they just not give a fùck?

A combination of both id say, the second caused by the first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Source

How retarded would you have to be to do something like this? Are these people brain dead or do they just not give a fùck?

I would go with the not give a **** tbh, terrible mentality some people have
    If it wasn't for the waste of an ambulance I would say it was a pity they didn't end up in a smoking wreck

Both I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I never wanted to hit people so much in such a long time. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

They work for Rockstar. It's just a publicity stunt for the upcoming GTA game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

They should get a hefty sentence for this, someones life could have been put a risk.. Scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Let me guess....A five year suspended sentence handed out to the 27 year old woman and a the 16-year old girl to be sent to a youth offenders hostel for 3 weeks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

Source

I think its mostly the second one. They would be smart enough to mind their own wallets - know where the next fix is coming from etc if it came to it

if there were stiffer mandatory punishments etc etc etc...I've said it all before...probably so many times people are sick of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Oh reminds me of 2 lads from my town took a ferry across the Swilly. got hammered and missed the last ferry home.

So they stole the lifeboat got halfway across and got into difficulty and ummm had to ring the lifeboat. Fun times and think they both just got fined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A lad in these parts used to steal old tractors and the Garda low-speed car-chases were less than spectacular. They made Father Ted's milk-float episode look like Le Mans.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Let me guess....A five year suspended sentence handed out to the 27 year old woman and a the 16-year old girl to be sent to a youth offenders hostel for 3 weeks....

Five years...you must be joking...we couldn't expect her to have that much self discipline to stay out of trouble and not steal another ambulance for 5 years!!!!...best make it 3 weeks as well.

they should be horsewhipped, cat o nine tails etc (im not joking)

unless of course there was an actual good reason for stealing the ambulance - not quite sure what that could have been though - one would need to get a good scriptwriter/solicitor on it asap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

danniemcq wrote: »
    Fun times and think they both just got fined

Should have been flogged with a chain and put in jail.

@OP: maybe they thought it was an ice-cream van.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

danniemcq wrote: »
    Oh reminds me of 2 lads from my town took a ferry across the Swilly. got hammered and missed the last ferry home.

So they stole the lifeboat got halfway across and got into difficulty and ummm had to ring the lifeboat. Fun times and think they both just got fined

I dont think its right to be having fun times on life saving vehicles.
    There is a local legend here about 2 lads borrowing / stealing a double decker bus to pick up their mate at the airport. That's funny. Taking an ambulance while someone is being treated, and a lifeboat that ended up using up 2 is retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

As punishment, these scum should be banned from ever receiving the assistance of the wonderful staff of our emergency services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

As grim as it sounds some people just need to be put down, if someones like that at 27 all they'll ever do is cause people trouble.

This was always the thing to do, given the opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

There are a few decent judges in Dublin who might just give these pair of fucks a good sentence.

And that bird who tried stop the gardai arrested them should get a good stiff fine.

discus wrote: »
    There are a few decent judges in Dublin who might just give these pair of fucks a good sentence.

I doubt it.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

WindSock wrote: »
    There is a local legend here about 2 lads borrowing / stealing a double decker bus to pick up their mate at the airport. That's funny.
    That the one the two lads dont know how to pick up their mate as theyve no car... as they walk past the bus garage, one of them hops over the wall and the other doesn't know what he's doing.
    After a bit, the guy comes out of the garage with a double decker.
    "what the f*ck ya doin???"
    "I thought we could pick him up with this??"
    "Dont be stupid!! We cant do that! The 77a doesn't go to the airport!"

whiskeyman wrote: »
    As punishment, these scum should be banned from ever receiving the assistance of the wonderful staff of our emergency services.

I would be all in favour of such a solution but there are practical difficulties

there would have to be list kept of who was denied what etc open to abuse - I can think of some perfectly innocent yet pesky people I would put on it

there would have to be id checks performed before receiving emergency assistance = would you like an EMT to insist upon seeing photo ID before treating you etc

until there is a way of instantly identifying a person with almost 0% error then

I think it would much easier to get the living **** beat out of them when its proven they done it and then deny them access to medical help.

Laisurg wrote: »
    As grim as it sounds some people just need to be put down, if someones like that at 27 all they'll ever do is cause people trouble.

All in favour ....as long as I decide who gets it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Laisurg wrote: »
    It does sound, and is grim. Relax yourself there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

whiskeyman wrote: »
    That the one the two lads dont know how to pick up their mate as theyve no car... as they walk past the bus garage, one of them hops over the wall and the other doesn't know what he's doing.
    After a bit, the guy comes out of the garage with a double decker.
    "what the f*ck ya doin???"
    "I thought we could pick him up with this??"
    "Dont be stupid!! We cant do that! The 77a doesn't go to the airport!"

Maybe I was getting the joke and reality mixed up in my head :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭karl tyrrell

make them work in an ambulance thay wont steal again

Yes, I can see that pair of numpties doing a good job of administering medical help to the sick and injured. The patients would have to be driven straight to the mortuary.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Ambulances surely need cleaning at the end of each shift - maybe a week getting HAZMAT/HACCP training and 4 months of shift work cleaning Dublin Fire Brigade Ambulances would sort out their horrible, miserable, welfare scrounging lives.

discus wrote: »
    Ambulances surely need cleaning at the end of each shift - maybe a week getting HAZMAT/HACCP training and 4 months of shift work cleaning Dublin Fire Brigade Ambulances would sort out their horrible, miserable, welfare scrounging lives.

somebody would have to supervise them, punish them when they didnt follow the programme etc

see that they didn't shoot up while doing it, destroy medical equipment etc etc

do you honestly think they would learn anything from the week of training......poor trainer if he had to show results at the end of a course of shaarun and samantaaa telling him or her to bleedin fuk off will yeh!

there is a much simpler less resource consuming way of sorting them out.....problem is the whole system would have to sort itself out for it to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Were they wearing onesies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

How retarded would you have to be to do something like this?

Very, perhaps even completely brainless.

Both I would say.

Spread them out on the ground and drive the ambulance over their thieving arms. I'm sure then they will truly appreciate the value of the ambulance service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

i laughed a lot when i read this, i hope the paramedics are fired for being spas for a) not locking it and b) leaving the keys in it
    I dont care what happens the knackers, nothing will happen anyway other than suspended sentences

i laughed a lot when i read this, i hope the paramedics are fired for being spas for a) not locking it and b) leaving the keys in it
    I dont care what happens the knackers, nothing will happen anyway other than suspended sentences

Blaming the paramedics does not seem a great idea, neither does laughing at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭mcdoogle

Those f*****s give scumbags a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Blaming the paramedics does not seem a great idea, neither does laughing at it.

He's only saying it to get a rise out of people, ignore it and it'll go back under the bridge.

wtf...I couldn't disagree more

they shouldn't have to lock up their ambulance if they are in a rush to get someone out of a flat into ambulance and into hospital

just because nothing of any great consequence will happen to the "knackers" does not mean reasonable people should have to modify their actions to take account of this

the fact that nothing will happen is what is unacceptable not that paramedics doing their job didn't think they had to lock/alarm and immobilize their ambulance before trying to save someones life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I think it could be that they know its provided by the state so therefore they should be entitled to it. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

More of our charming "disadvantaged" citizens showing their skills.

I'm sure they'll get suspended sentences if they do get anything. They probably have "problems".

He's only saying it to get a rise out of people, ignore it and it'll go back under the bridge.

no, I'm not, did you not laugh when you seen the cop car part of the Hangover?
    amacca wrote: »
    wtf...I couldn't disagree more

they shouldn't have to lock up their ambulance if they are in a rush to get someone out of a flat into ambulance and into hospital

Sure turning a key might be problematic to an under pressure paramedic but surely to jaysus they have automatic locking on these things.

of course i think they should be punished severely, but it's Ireland so we can count on it that they wont be

Its the bit about firing the paramedics for a being "spas" that I disagreed with the most.

It just seems like such a twisted, tail wagging the dog sort of way to look at the situation.......

why should they be punished in any way because some "knackers" stole their ambulance....why does the situation turn on them because they didnt lock it...because the ones doing wrong are not punished in the first place so this sort of **** doesn't happen again.

emts/ambulance drivers shouldnt have to worry about this sort of **** happening..they have enough to worry about as it is.....
    perhaps they did lock it or perhaps its standard practice to leave the back doors open so the gurney can get in.....perhaps they don't have immobilizers on them in case it fails and the ambulance can get going in an emergency

Perhaps this shouldnt have to be discussed because the knackers should be too scared to do something like this because they should know that life will get much more uncomfortable for them rapidly if they do......I think that's the real problem.....

well, look at it this way, if you left your car unlocked with the keys hanging in the ignition and someone came along and robbed it, do you think the insurance company would pay out for you? I don't think so, you'd be punished and your policy would be declared null & void.
    I do think they should be punished though. Granted they didn't put the knackers up to stealing it, but if it had been locked then this would never have happened.

We will have to agree to disagree so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

well, look at it this way, if you left your car unlocked with the keys hanging in the ignition and someone came along and robbed it, do you think the insurance company would pay out for you? I don't think so, you'd be punished and your policy would be declared null & void.

And what punishment would you think is suitable for the Paramedic.

Public stocks? Public flogging? Maybe thats not severe enough for you. How about shot at dawn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I hope Rory O'Connor or whoever needed the ambulance is alright

Sincere answer, what a ridculous thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

The of them should get chained to the back of an ambulance and be driven around the city for 3 hours.

Oh, the irony.

amacca wrote: »
    Originally Posted by baltimore sun

We will have to agree to disagree so.

Thats 2 of us at least.

So you equate stealing a car with stealing an ambulance while the crew are attending to someone who may be dying? I would of thought even the lowest of the low would stop at stealing an ambulance, but obviously not. When your rushing to potentially save someone`s life, locking the ambulance is not the priority, and every second can make the difference.

Maybe we should issue them with penalty points while we are at it for speeding to the scene of the accident or emergency, or going through red lights etc, after all, if you speed in your above car or go through red lights your insurance company would not be happy with your penalty points aquired.