Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to rank up quickly

• 08-01-2011 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭

Hey guys

Just realised that there is no "guide" on how to rank up quickly here so I figured id get the ball rolling on a few tips to get some xp

My first tip is to play ground war

In ground war, with 18 players, there is a lot of air support. Using a sam turret as one of ur killstreaks is an absolute must. Not only will it keep the skies clear of enemy air support (spy planes, napalm, rolling thunder, chopper gunner and gunships) but the points will start rolling in for taking them down.

Play an entire game with no air support, and you will see just how hard it is to secure objectives, get kills and win a game.

Pro Perks

As many of ye know, pro perks are vital

Ghost pro

Hidden from enemy spy planes + avoid targeting from enemy aircraft, IR scopes, and sentry guns. No red cross hair when targeted.

Essential for getting kill streaks (there is nothing worse than getting killed by an attack helicopter when all u need is one kill get ur Gunship). This could be the difference between getting a 10 killstreak and a 25 killstreak.

Hardline pro

Allows u to change the contents of a care package (no more ammo!!!)
    There is nothing better for your xp score than to change ur care package from ammo to a gunship. Thats free xp if u ask me.

Hacker Pro

Allows u to sabotage enemy equipment such as sam turrets, sentry guns, and even claymores. Remain invisible to motion sensors. And my fav, booby trap and capture enemy crates. U capture the crate, and then it rigs it to explode and kill whoever tries to capture it.

For some reason i dont see alot of people using the CZ75 pistol....its a fully automatic pistol when u unlock the upgrade from attachments, and it packs a punch. Dont find urself stuck with a launcher when u look to ur secondary.

Probably the most under-rated item in the game

Equipment - Jammer

An electronic jamming device that DISABLES nearby enemy radar and EQUIPMENT....that means sentrys to me.

Dont just smash enemy tactical insertions!!! stick a claymore on them, the kill could mean alot more than the 100xp u get for crushing it

Anyway i figured id get the ball rolling

Happy gaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Dont just smash enemy tactical insertions!!! stick a claymore on them, the kill could mean alot more than the 100xp u get for crushing it

In all the time I've been playing CoD I've never thought to do that, so giving that a try later :D in MW2 its so fast paced if you find a TI i either smash or just hang around for a few seconds and get an easy kill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

if you can rush, do it in snd. 500 a kill and 500 per plant/defuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

HQ is good if you're in a decent party. +50 for every 3 (?) seconds you're in control of the HQ on top of the normal +100 for kills etc.

Oh, and pick a gun, get up to 150 kills with it, and move onto a new gun. Bonuses really add up fast

• This content has been removed.

look up a list of challenges you can do yourself, fall 15 ft and survive, fall 30 and die, blow up 3 cars, etc etc they're easy xp and some maps you can do a bunch of them in one match, Crash on MW2 being a perfect example. I used to bomb though the ranks doing those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Cant believe i forgot to include my trade mark move in the original script.

Use Rolling thunder on nuke town

BUT

dont change the angle of the target, just leave it be and turn it on.

It is a guaranteed 6 kills. even if ur in 1 of the houses it will still kill u.

IK09 wrote: »
    Cant believe i forgot to include my trade mark move in the original script.

Use Rolling thunder on nuke town

BUT

dont change the angle of the target, just leave it be and turn it on.

It is a guaranteed 6 kills. even if ur in 1 of the houses it will still kill u.

Really? do you have to put it in a certain place? or just wherever the default position of the icon is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

how quick do most people take to level to 50 then ? Im on just over 8 hours and sitting on level 43, so maybe another 2-3 hours worth of playing for a full prestiege, doesnt seem that bad tbh. I've played like 80% TDM tho, switching between 4 guns and a couple of perks but nothing much else.

About 24 on average for me (3 times), though I don't always prestige as soon as I can, and some of the time I'm messing around with the sniper and might average only 10 kills a game. Also with my connection I'll spend alot of time in-game and not really be in-game so that counts a bit towards it aswell.

Heard the Machinima lads took around 12 hours per prestige and they played HQ nearly exclusively.

ahh, im a beast then :) In fairness tho, at around 45 games in i got the achievement for 40 MVP awards.

true dat. I spend too long shooting down air support, that's my problem :pac:

use hte sam turret !! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Magill wrote: »
    how quick do most people take to level to 50 then ? Im on just over 8 hours and sitting on level 43, so maybe another 2-3 hours worth of playing for a full prestiege, doesnt seem that bad tbh. I've played like 80% TDM tho, switching between 4 guns and a couple of perks but nothing much else.
    It will probably take you another 8 to prestige, the last 5 levels take ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭derv

cheers for the tips ,
    just started prestige level 1 , so gonna try a different approach this time.

sorry i worded that terribly, ya u just leave it in the default position. There is only one real safe spot, get to the jeep on the side of the map, it is the only place u can survive.

Playing TDM is the hardest game to rank up quickly in....as there are no objectives, only kill count.
    As someone mentioned earlier play OBJECTIVELY, the only objective in TDM is to kill.

You get 100xp per kill in TDM.

Where as in objective games such as HQ, you get 50xp per 3 seconds of captured HQ

In CTF you get serious points for OFFENSIVE and DEFENSIVE kills.
    when you have their flag I see alot of people sprinting as fast as there little virtual legs can carry them to capture....kill xp points are DOUBLED when you have their flag. Klling an enemy that has your flag is worth 210xp (i think), and then returning ur flag is worth a further 100xp

in DOMINATION, capturing an objective is worth 150xp, Kill xp are also doubled while capturing an objective (offensive kill), killing some1 on their own flag is also considered an offensive kill. Defensive kills are double XP (killing someone while they are capturing)

Another tip while in the earlier stages is to run low killstreaks such as spy plane(150xp) sam turret(150/200xp) and napalm(200xp)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭YouSavedMyLife

Shoot at people that have second chance and then someone else steals your kill... 10,000 XP after 1500 assists, think about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭YouSavedMyLife

Playing TDM is the hardest game to rank up quickly in....as there are no objectives, only kill count.
    As someone mentioned earlier play OBJECTIVELY, the only objective in TDM is to kill.

You get 100xp per kill in TDM.

Where as in objective games such as HQ, you get 50xp per 3 seconds of captured HQ

Im a K/D whore so i dont play objective based games, only TDM. But hey, atleast i dont actually play in objective based games and aim for a high K/D ratio rather than playing the objective, right?

At the moment im 4 Days played on lvl 29 5th prestige playing only TDM. Fast? Slow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Im a K/D whore so i dont play objective based games, only TDM. But hey, atleast i dont actually play in objective based games and aim for a high K/D ratio rather than playing the objective, right?

At the moment im 4 Days played on lvl 29 5th prestige playing only TDM. Fast? Slow?

I've heard the Machinima lads are taking about 12 hours each prestige playing together on HQ. So ye, sounds like you're doing good considering they're technically what can be considered a professional team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

it seems an age for me to get my first prestige (got it a few days ago ) but im flying up the ranks now level 40 already :D

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Find a corner, preferably a dark corner.
    Set up tent.
    Ghost.
    2nd Chance.
    Motion Sensor/Claymore.
    74u with rapid fire
    RC Killstreak.

Wolla!

That's how I do so well. MLG legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

krudler wrote: »
    In all the time I've been playing CoD I've never thought to do that, so giving that a try later :D in MW2 its so fast paced if you find a TI i either smash or just hang around for a few seconds and get an easy kill

I love it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Part 3 coming soon.

lol, love it. I found one a few days ago on hanoi (The wee garden thing by the main road), went to put my claymore down and he spawned ! Jumped the **** out of there. 10 seconds later BOOM !

Watched it back later, he sat there looking at it for 5 seconds before trying to jump out of the corner lol failed miserably :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭JustPaddy1

krudler wrote: »
    look up a list of challenges you can do yourself, fall 15 ft and survive, fall 30 and die, blow up 3 cars, etc etc they're easy xp and some maps you can do a bunch of them in one match, Crash on MW2 being a perfect example. I used to bomb though the ranks doing those

Dive through 5 windows?:D
    I love it :D

You should of waited for him to put his TI back down again:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Currently at level 45 on second prestige - gonna try X's hint re wager match for next level :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

To be honest, I'd be surprised if you got the last 7 levels done in under 3 hours. Unless you're running 30:1 k/d in most games. I've clocked around the 20 hour mark for my prestiges, which is pretty decent. If you're doing it in as little as 11, then I'd be well impressed. Particularly if you're neglecting the challenges completely as you mention.

JustPaddy1 wrote: »

haha nice, r these pre thread kills or are u using the tips?

I'm using the tips i usually to wait and shoot them but putting claymore is so much easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭SC Kevin

hey guys, figured out a nice little trick for when ur just about to prestige...

when u have more than 60,000 cod money, go to wager match and as it is locking in the bets...prestige.

You will get into the game and have prestiged.

Then u just have to come 1st,2nd, or third to start your next prestige with 10,000 money or even 30,000

its a nice place to start a new prestige

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

hey guys, figured out a nice little trick for when ur just about to prestige...

when u have more than 60,000 cod money, go to wager match and as it is locking in the bets...prestige.

You will get into the game and have prestiged.

Then u just have to come 1st,2nd, or third to start your next prestige with 10,000 money or even 30,000

its a nice place to start a new prestige

You only need 10k cod points for it, unless its doubled down, in which case you'd need 20k. It makes for a pretty intense game, I've tried it twice and both times just scraped 3rd after very bad starts!

sorry mustnt have explained it clearly.

im talking about when ur gonna prestige, if ur about to prestige, go to wager match, then, as the bets are being locked in, u prestige, u will be in a game with 30,000 available for 1st place. After the game (if u win) u will start ur next prestige with 30,000 cod money. instead of zero money

You said you need 60k?

As said, you only need 10k or 20k if everyone doubles down(nobody does though no matter be it a 10 or 10k cod points :rolleyes:)

Finished 1st, 1st and 3rd the 3 times I have done it. Very exhilarating stuff.

Bloody Sticks and Stones yesterday, dominating with like 20-6 on Villa only to be tomohawked with 40 seconds to go by a guy camping in the corner with his tomohawk waiting for people to come up the stairs. Managed to salvage it though. Still, 12k is better than nothing.

ya u do need 60k....10k for the actual wager match that ur playing....and 50k to prestige

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

you don't need any cod points to prestiege.On 10th prestiege so far and never had a single cod point left before I prestieged. To see a certain leaderboard it costs you 50k alright,but not to actually prestiege.
    Have tried the betting things almost every time and never win a feckin thing,lol.Although the first time was my own stupid fault, went into prestiege mode before I bet and got booted from the lobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

prestiging doesnt cost cod points. did the wager trick twice, came third and first. its a really handy little trick.

Meatwad wrote: »
    you don't need any cod points to prestiege.On 10th prestiege so far and never had a single cod point left before I prestieged. To see a certain leaderboard it costs you 50k alright,but not to actually prestiege.
    Have tried the betting things almost every time and never win a feckin thing,lol.Although the first time was my own stupid fault, went into prestiege mode before I bet and got booted from the lobby.

Happened to me the first time of trying the Wager Match trick. Bit of a kick to the 'nads best describes that.

Don't you get the money back from whatever you invested if the match didn't go ahead?

Leeg17 wrote: »
    Don't you get the money back from whatever you invested if the match didn't go ahead?

Not if you prestige.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭swampyk08

I did this over the weekend - ended up in sticks and stones, I got tomahawked twice but managed to place 2nd. Started the new prestige in 12k which really helped set me up.