Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you pride about your nation

• 07-01-2011 11:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

I have never been a patriotic person! Recently I have doubted Ireland as a nation! I never felt as though we had an organised nation, we were always the messers which is what i am and I am glad of that . Its fun..
    But it goes only so far.... I mean that I've looked at countries like Norway Germany France Sweden even England! I just cant help the feeling inside me that shouts to me that these nations are way more advanced than us! Are we nearer to cro magnons than the germanic people of europe?
    It may explain why our nation flocked across the globe for sanctuary and why now we are still seeking that same refuge!
    Is Ireland really a nation full of careless adventure seekers, where careless are the messers and adventure seekers the genuine people wanting to progress their career and life?

Our excellent command of the English language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

I would say the fact we're neutral and generally not arsed. UK and US are turning into scary Orwellian places, screw that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

My impeccable grammerness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

The fact we are so laid back we can't raise a peep when we are getting fcuked over left right and centre. We are like a nation of stoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Its all the fault of the British! Those bastárds ruined our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

feckin hell, we did this thread a page ago no? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

That American wimminz love the accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Common as...

our good looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Irish Pride. It's a matter of pride. Nature's Own bread brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

No tsunamies / severe earthquakes / volcanoes yet, yep , down to that:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Our own ancient language!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Kasabian wrote: »
    The fact we are so laid back we can't raise a peep when we are getting fcuked over left right and centre. We are like a nation of stoners.

yep we are an embarrassment, im changing my nationality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

I wish i could delete this message after critical comments I've received..
    obviously people are more critical regarding grammer than i expected! sound!

I'm proud that people can post in AH and still expect sensible responses... Proud of you OP.;)

The fuck? The thread title is 'What do you pride about your nation'

Thats like asking "What do you happy about ice cream?"

Its crazy! You got of pretty easy tbh. Every response should be a piss take but you got actual answers. :p

Sisko wrote: »
    The fuck? The thread title is 'What do you pride about your nation'

Thats like asking "What do you happy about ice cream?"

Its crazy! You got of pretty easy tbh. Every response should be a piss take but you got actual answers. :p

The word is off

MY LIFE IS OOOOOOOOOOOOOOVEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Its crazy! You got of pretty easy tbh. :p

Its got off actually

Edit......

Fail.

galwayrush wrote: »
    I'm proud that people can post in AH and still expect sensible responses... Proud of you OP.;)
    Thank you Galwayrush.... I appreciate that. I have had a few drinks andd just spoke my mind and sound like a total idiot... I am fluent in 3 languages and have a degree. These people wont discuss what topic I had initiated but they criticized my grammer. I am drunk for all your information(putting myself down and all)! but I would never criticize anyones grammer on here! its damn right rude! If people wanna discuss something they dont criticize grammer or spelling! if you were to correct, you would do it in a more polite manner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Smokey Bacon flavoured Tayto crisps.

Thank you Galwayrush.... I appreciate that. I have had a few drinks andd just spoke my mind and sound like a total idiot... I am fluent in 3 languages and have a degree. These people wont discuss what topic I had initiated but they criticized my grammer. I am drunk for all your information(putting myself down and all)! but I would never criticize anyones grammer on here! its damn right rude! If people wanna discuss something they dont criticize grammer or spelling! if you were to correct, you would do it in a more polite manner!

I don't think anyone has been rude... we can show you rude if you like?

Fail.

What do you regret about your humiliatings? :P

You should leave AH before you cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

I don't know. Was reading the paper today, on one page you had news of job/pay cuts, next page about ministers being away when their job's need their presence, next page about bankers/developer's evading their culpability by making their wives instant millionaires, next page about increases in the prices of VHI & mortgage interest rates.

Altogether, it is a strange mix which doesn't make sense in trying to help Ireland go forward. Shylocks trying to take their pound of flesh & run, seemingly happy to see their fellow countrymen suffer once they get theirs.

First and foremost the example we need to learn from our neighbours is accountability & having repercussions for wrongdoing while holding a position of responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I am drunk for all your information(putting myself down and all)! but I would never criticize anyones grammer on here! its damn right rude! If people wanna discuss something they dont criticize grammer or spelling! if you were to correct, you would do it in a more polite manner!

It reminds me of something, it really does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

except English?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

bluewolf wrote: »
    Our excellent command of the English language
    As brought to us by Britain inc ....plc , call it what ya loike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Guinness Farts! No nation can compete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

our hounds,terriers,gundogs and horses famous the world over. our craic. our landscape and seascape. our music. guiness. our resistence to imperialism. our fighting spirit(although i'd admit thats lacking lately),our wildness. our fishing. our sport,gaa. luke kelly. our history. our language. our culture. rebellion. our ability to get on with everyone and our ability to fight with anyone. luke kelly.

I guess my grammer and title has messed up what I asked and has resulted in me looking like an idiot. Please delete this thread moderator!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Our bananas, I felt really proud when I heard this on QI..

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_country_is_the_largest_exporter_of_bananas_in_america

...I know it was set up by an English guy..but it's Irish now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I have never been a patriotic person! Recently I have doubted Ireland as a nation! I never felt as though we had an organised nation, we were always the messers which is what i am and I am glad of that . Its fun..
    But it goes only so far.... I mean that I've looked at countries like Norway Germany France Sweden even England! I just cant help the feeling inside me that shouts to me that these nations are way more advanced than us! Are we nearer to cro magnons than the germanic people of europe?
    It may explain why our nation flocked across the globe for sanctuary and why now we are still seeking that same refuge!
    Is Ireland really a nation full of careless adventure seekers, where careless are the messers and adventure seekers the genuine people wanting to progress their career and life?

Could you translate this into braille?

I imagine it may be an easier read.

Daroxtar wrote: »

HAAAHHHAAAHHAA!

Pure fcukin brilliance!

I love t'internet :pac:

our hounds,terriers,gundogs and horses famous the world over. our craic. our landscape and seascape. our music. guiness. our resistence to imperialism. our fighting spirit(although i'd admit thats lacking lately),our wildness. our fishing. our sport,gaa. luke kelly. our history. our language. our culture. rebellion. our ability to get on with everyone and our ability to fight with anyone. luke kelly.
    Your are right! that is the type of post I expected to boost the moral of my pessimistic post!:)

If you speak Swede norweigian or danish I would happily translate but solely by private message for your convenience:)

y Swedish i know is..... Skoll:cool:

braille no! virtually impossible..
    very cheap considering so many blind people cannot access the internet by the way...we all make jokes at the most vulnerable, so i will let this fly off my head:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Doublin wrote: »
    I don't know. Was reading the paper today, on one page you had news of job/pay cuts, next page about ministers being away when their job's need their presence, next page about bankers/developer's evading their culpability by making their wives instant millionaires, next page about increases in the prices of VHI & mortgage interest rates.

Altogether, it is a strange mix which doesn't make sense in trying to help Ireland go forward. Shylocks trying to take their pound of flesh & run, seemingly happy to see their fellow countrymen suffer once they get theirs.

First and foremost the example we need to learn from our neighbours is accountability & having repercussions for wrongdoing while holding a position of responsibility.

Proud of you,Doublin.Well said!;)

I guess my grammer and title has messed up what I asked and has resulted in me looking like an idiot. Please delete this thread moderator!!

Should be nominated for thread of the month tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I came here full of sympathy thinking you were Portuguese.

Now I just want to know how to shot web.

Did he just say grammer twice?!?

I came here full of sympathy thinking you were Portuguese.

Now I just want to know how to shot web.
    yeah i sounded like a retard! end of! :p honesty is the best policy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭paulosham

Are you looking at it from an economic perspective? What about culture? Look at Ireland's literary heritige, per capita we are far ahead of most of the world. Don't forget that Ireland as a nation is less than 100 years old. I'm far from being any kind of Fenian (apolitical in fact) but it is plain to see that a nations identity takes centuries to mature and we are a young nation. Of course living in the time we live, with all it's economic turmoil might seem, as you say, that we are the cro magnons of europe but I do not agree. How would you like to see the country progress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

braille no! virtually impossible..
    very cheap considering so many blind people cannot access the internet by the way...we all make jokes at the most vulnerable, so i will let this fly off my head:cool:

The premise of the braille jibe was this:

Your original post was so loosely structured and presented - Jazz English if you will - that had it been written in braille, it may have been more readily comprehensible.

The jibe was at your expense and in no way besmirched those with serious degrees of sight loss.

yeah i sounded like a retard! end of! :p honesty is the best policy

Ah now, don't be hard on yourself, it was a genuine question.

My answer is, very little. I'm ok, and I love where I live, but I'm quite pissed off about where we are, and in no small part, about the gowls we elect to lead us, not just the FF ones.

paulosham wrote: »
    Are you looking at it from an economic perspective? What about culture? Look at Ireland's literary heritige, per capita we are far ahead of most of the world. Don't forget that Ireland as a nation is less than 100 years old. I'm far from being any kind of Fenian (apolitical in fact) but it is plain to see that a nations identity takes centuries to mature and we are a young nation. Of course living in the time we live, with all it's economic turmoil might seem, as you say, that we are the cro magnons of europe but I do not agree. How would you like to see the country progress?
    I like your response, not just like but admire! Ireland is full of so much talent. it's a passionate country so unique from others! Thats a great base for prosperity.
    As you asked, am i basing it on economics or what? I am basing it simply as a nation! May i explain, Irish people are a vigorous exhilerating people! You always meet one out of 100 irish people who cheer you up..
    A lot of Irish people are cheery and make you feel good!
    The government hasnt done this country any justice whatsover and I hope in the future the economy recovers for Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

My pride is that any fat faced drunk can be the taoiseach!

when I was a kid drunks were pointed out by my da and he used to say - sh1t they live on the street ... today if I had a kid I could point out a fat faced drunk and say 'lad get loaded make contacts and you too could be the best paid useless masturbator Ireland has produced- they might liked you to him and Dublin and call you Liffo the Clown ;)

Your original post was so loosely structured and presented - Jazz English if you will - that had it been written in braille, it may have been more readily comprehensible.

The jibe was at your expense and in no way besmirched those with serious degrees of sight loss.

Wait a second. Are you saying I am blind? Are you not using blindness as a way of making a derogatory statement regarding my perception or intelligence? If no is the answer please explain your reason. I have a person close to me who is turning blind and I dont appreciate comments such as yours.. I would be totally ashamed to post such trivial trash!
    You must understand that blind people can't see; but they feel as much as we do.. belittling them for your own gain is the lowest lowest form of wit i have ever encountered! my post was idiotic enough, but an attack on the blind is way beyond anything i would even contemplate! :mad:
    next time you attack a person who you find or think to be idiotic or stupid, think a bit more considerably! please!

that dont matter when you're talking to the OP who is currently experiencing progressive sight loss with a close family member. do you ever think that there may be things you should not say on the internet as you would automatically omit in a real life conversation!??