Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So my work was Raided Last Night...

• 07-01-2011 12:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

...by three guys wearing black bin bags over their heads, I shit you not. I work in a local Spar shop. One idiot was standing at the door with the thing draped over his face shouting abuse and telling his mates to hurry up while the two guys came up to the counter, one of them waving an iron bar at me (I was the only one behind the till at the time) and the other holding a bag in his hand telling me he'd shoot if I didn't open up the till. More likely a banana than a firearm.

"WHERE'S DE BLEEDIN' 50s!?" Needless to say these guys weren't the most sophisticated store raiders, making off with less than €150 in 10 and 20 notes. When the police arrived about 10 minutes later (Great reaction time after the manager hit the panic button from behind the deli as it was happening), they asked me to describe the guys that did it. It went like this:

"How many of them were there?"
    "I'm not sure since there could have been two of them outside, but there was definitely three. Mid twenties, scummy North Dublin accent, scrawny, wearing tracksuits."
    "Did you see their faces or were they covering them? Balaclavas?"
    "They were wearing bin bags."
    "What, like those two ****in' muppets from Limerick?"
    "Yeah, pretty much."

I put it up on Facebook later on when I got home and most of the replies told me I should have just told them to **** off back to their horse outside. All in a night's work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

Do you sell vanilla coke ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

godscop wrote: »
    Do you sell vanilla coke ?

Afraid not :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Could have been worse OP. Be thankful you're alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

do you want a blue peter badge OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Some of us can't afford balaclavas, moneybags.

Degag wrote: »
    Could have been worse OP. Be thankful you're alive.

Ah I am, but something like that really does show you what a bit of shock and disbelief does to people. There were at least 10 other people in the shop, some less than 5 feet away from these guys and nobody did anything except stand and stare, except me obviously. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

danniemcq wrote: »

great input bro !

danniemcq wrote: »

I'm definitely not taking the piss out of what happened to me last night or anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

listermint wrote: »
    great input bro !

you too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Wouls there really be only €150 in notes in the till at any one time? I thought there would be several hundred at least . . .lucky there wasnt!

We're told to drop the 50 notes into a box underneath the till which they can't obviously get at, so there's never too much money in the till in case something like this happens. I hope it was worth it for them! I heard they're local so they're probably gonna get caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You only need to keep a couple hundred in a till at any one time in case....... da da da dun dun DUN DUN!!!! .... you get robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Seanachai

That's rich , the cops calling two very intelligent , creative guys 'Muppets' considering their reaction time. Were they uniformed or plain clothes?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

I think i know the getaway driver he's Enda and hes got a honda :D

Seanachai wrote: »
    That's rich , the cops calling two very intelligent , creative guys 'Muppets' considering their reaction time. Were they uniformed or plain clothes?.

Uniform showed up first and spoke with the supervisior who was on at the time, plain clothes detectives showed up a few minutes later. The ironic thing is we called the police earlier in the week to tell them to come down to the shop since there was a gathering of like 40 scumbags out on the field in front of us waiting for a fight to start and some of them were hurling abuse at the shop. Worried us since there was only 3 staff on and they came down like a bloody bullet, 2 minutes tops.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I suppose they had a horse outside ready for the getaway :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Just be careful going home, they'd never forget a mug like yours :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

So where were the €50s??

jester77 wrote: »
    So where were the €50s??

Mentioned it earlier in the thread, in a drop box under the counter that can only be opened with a key the manager has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Pyridine

Mentioned it earlier in the thread, in a drop box under the counter that can only be opened with a key the manager has.

Sorry where abouts do you work??

*gets ready with pen and paper to plan the next, more lucrative heist!* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Pyridine wrote: »
    Sorry where abouts do you work??

*gets ready with pen and paper to plan the next, more lucrative heist!* :D

Twas the Spar in Clarehall!
    Should've checked if there was a horse outside.

The horse probably would have had a heavy duty bin bag to avoid any possible identification.
    GrumPy wrote: »

Cool attempt at thanks whoring bro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Betcha one of them bought a roll of black bin bags earlier in the day or the previous day in your shop. Check the tapes and you may have one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

"WHERE'S DE BLEEDIN' 50s!?"

Should have said "60 years ago.... ask yore ma."

enda1 wrote: »
    Betcha one of them bought a roll of black bin bags earlier in the day or the previous day in your shop. Check the tapes and you may have one of them.

I was thinking that myself. Gonna have to have a filter through the CCTV today anyway so I'll run it by the manager.
    Mr E wrote: »
    Should have said "60 years ago.... ask yore ma."

It was one of those situations where you think of all the awesome things you could have said AFTER it happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Idiot cops, the rubberbandits ironically enough wear spar bags not bin bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭gothicus

People are taking this Rubberbandits thing a bit to far now ffs

gothicus wrote: »
    People are taking this Rubberbandits thing a bit to far now ffs

Haha I know but c'mon! They had bags over their heads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 big fellow

SPAR in Henry St Limerick was raided approx a year ok. (the smaller of the two SPARS)
    Guy comes in holding a steak knife threatning the shop assistant, has a go demanding money, shoves the knife out at the assistant. The assistant grabbed the blade, broke it off and stuck it in the muppets shoulder. The muppet went to leave the shop,changed his mind and turned around and threatned the assistant. The assistant then produced a pick ax handle and beat the guy some more. Strike one for the good guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

...by three guys wearing black bin bags over their heads, I shit you not. I work in a local Spar shop. One idiot was standing at the door with the thing draped over his face shouting abuse and telling his mates to hurry up while the two guys came up to the counter, one of them waving an iron bar at me (I was the only one behind the till at the time) and the other holding a bag in his hand telling me he'd shoot if I didn't open up the till. More likely a banana than a firearm.

"WHERE'S DE BLEEDIN' 50s!?" Needless to say these guys weren't the most sophisticated store raiders, making off with less than €150 in 10 and 20 notes. When the police arrived about 10 minutes later (Great reaction time after the manager hit the panic button from behind the deli as it was happening), they asked me to describe the guys that did it. It went like this:

"How many of them were there?"
    "I'm not sure since there could have been two of them outside, but there was definitely three. Mid twenties, scummy North Dublin accent, scrawny, wearing tracksuits."
    "Did you see their faces or were they covering them? Balaclavas?"
    "They were wearing bin bags."
    "What, like those two ****in' muppets from Limerick?"
    "Yeah, pretty much."

I put it up on Facebook later on when I got home and most of the replies told me I should have just told them to **** off back to their horse outside. All in a night's work!

Do you have Curly Wurlys there? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

at least they didn't ask you-"Got any grapes?". That could've got really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Haha I know but c'mon! They had bags over their heads!

yeah, unfortunately, they have air holes in them :rolleyes:

ohhhhhh****kkkkkk.....a...a..aam .........I ...old :eek:

they should still suffocate :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Mid twenties, scummy North Dublin accent, scrawny, wearing tracksuits."

How southsider of you.

You're just after painting 99.9% of North Dublin as "scummy".

you should have just thrown a plastic tray of meat at them-everybody knows no plastic bag can resist those sharp edges. That or told them to feck off and come back when they could afford balaclavas. You gotta laugh at these muppets, €150, split three ways and a minimum two year stretch if caught, thats €0.07 per day if you get arrested. Master criminals.

How southsider of you.

You're just after painting 99.9% of North Dublin as "scummy".
    which is totally unfair, cos the real figure is only 85%.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    which is totally unfair, cos the real figure is only 85%.

Well yeah, if you cut out Clontarf, Malahide and Castleknock, then it would be around that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Well yeah, if you cut out Clontarf, Malahide and Castleknock, then it would be around that.

We prefer MalaRIDE

Conor108 wrote: »
    We prefer MalaRIDE

I always thought it was Mala-hard...

... well at least for those Malahardians who try to act like the rest of North Dublin, anyway.

yeah, but all the good stuff is cancelled out by ...Balbriggan:D is balbriggan in N.dublin? I'm not even sure if balbriggan is in earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

for all the anti-North Dublin posters, piss off back to the southside or the country and stop being bitches..

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It's at times like that, that you need a Super Blaster handy

F-66PVC-lg.jpg

When you pull out one of those at them, they'll think twice about trying to rob someone who has their Super-Blaster and isn't afraid to use it

Who needs security...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

I heard they're local so they're probably gonna get caught.

I don't know why the guards bother, last year near me there were 3 or 4 armed robberies of post offices and shops in a couple of days, they caught them but did any of them get locked up for it? .....yea right :rolleyes:

One of the guys is up in court for loads of seperate things and for some reason he still hasn't been locked up, I heard he was supposed to keep away from the area but still see him around, it's ridiculous.

Piriz wrote: »
    for all the anti-North Dublin posters, piss off back to the southside or the country and stop being bitches..

thanks
    just a quick note piriz, due to the wonders of the tinternet, you don't actually have to be in N.Dublin to post about it, you can do so from the comfort of wherever you happen to be. Which, hopefully, isn't N.Dublin.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Shops should have a supply of fake cash or marked traceable notes to hand over to these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Patent pending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Uniform showed up first and spoke with the supervisior who was on at the time, plain clothes detectives showed up a few minutes later. The ironic thing is we called the police earlier in the week to tell them to come down to the shop since there was a gathering of like 40 scumbags out on the field in front of us waiting for a fight to start and some of them were hurling abuse at the shop. Worried us since there was only 3 staff on and they came down like a bloody bullet, 2 minutes tops.

The reason being that your panic alarm is not linked to the Gardaí. It is linked to a monitoring company who then have to contact the Garda station with a code which has to be entered into a system and verified because they are usually false alarms. Much faster to ring 999 if you can.

Why was this thread bumped? It's fairly old. I don't even work in the kip anymore. And if anyone's accusing me of being anti-North Dublin or a Southsider and such, I grew up in Ballybough near Fairview in a block of flats. Classy as ****.