Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A way to possibly promote airsoft

• 07-01-2011 12:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭

Howaya lads,

I was trawling around boards and found an interesting thread regarding the promotion of shooting primarily using ZozzyTV, a screen setup above the front door of St Stephens Green Shopping Centre.

Surely this can also be used to promote our own sport :)

Unfortunately I lack the time (and skill) to knock up a halfway decent clip, but maybe someone with a bit more experience might be interested ;)

Ayone any ideas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

There's another on Henry Street, I was thinking it could be done. It's still a bit of a grey area though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

No more of a grey area than actual shooting Lefty and from what I can read, lads are also interested in promoting hunting through this...
    In all honesty if airsoft can be reported on in good light on the RTE news, surely we can do the same.

lperrozzi wrote: »
    No more of a grey area than actual shooting Lefty and from what I can read, lads are also interested in promoting hunting through this...
    In all honesty if airsoft can be reported on in good light on the RTE news, surely we can do the same.
    To the AV department! *superhero music*
    Maybe Oddy would be up for filming a short ad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

lperrozzi wrote: »

when did this happen??

joe stodge wrote: »
    when did this happen??
    March last year I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

In all honesty, what's a 20 second clip of lads in camouflage toting rifles going to look like on Stephen's Green?
    Rule one of advertising; know your target market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Leftyflip wrote: »
    March last year I think?

links??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Airsoft is doing fine by word of mouth as far as I can see, but if a retailer wants to advertise, and they do, they would be spending their money better at a promo tent at some pro-gaming expo or other targeted demographic.

NakedDex wrote: »
    In all honesty, what's a 20 second clip of lads in camouflage toting rifles going to look like on Stephen's Green?

Look I'm not saying that a video of lads skirmishing is required (but it seemed to work well on RTE, I know of at least one regular player today that started because of it), absolutely anything would do....

It's going to be pretty impossible to effectively advertise airsoft without showing it's three core elements: replica firearms, combat uniforms and an actual skirmish...

Believe it or not, I do know who our target market are. A lunch time broadcast between Monday and Friday would reach a handful of male college students, surely 1 new airsofter is worth the 60 cent it'll cost to put on the screens.
    It's going to be pretty impossible to effectively advertise airsoft without showing it's three core elements: replica firearms, combat uniforms and an actual skirmish...

Then possibly a PIP, the clips I've watched are up to 1:30 long so in theory it's not going to be a clip of a lad screaming at someone to take his hits:rolleyes:

To be honest I can't see what harm a tastefully done clip can do (possibly have the IAA involved in it's creation).... As I've already said to show it 5 times will cost 3 quid, I'll foot the bill for that one myself if needs be ;)

Also if anyone has a link to the RTE report filmed in Oakridge could they put it up here, I haven't been able to track it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I think its a great idea- We constantly see people here on boards moaning that the sport is not growing fast enough, that there are too many sites for the number of players, etc etc. When someone finally comes up with a very good, cheap and useful method its shot down.

Contrary to NakedDex, who believes that our target market wont be in town during the allocated time (And thats fine, its his own point of view), I believe it will. As lperozzi said, aim it at the College students at lunch time and even the more older males who will be on lunch at that same time.

I see Airsoft at a crossroad. We want more members but we're sitting here afraid of Joe Duffy and his band of fools. From what I can tell, that portion of the population seem more afraid of the retailers then the actual skirmish sites.

Surely an advert promoting the sport and not the shops would offend noone of merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

I am not picking on any poster because it has been posted several times in different threads but who is our target market ?I ask this because any site I have played on has an age group from 14 to 60 , several nationalities , all walks of life , all types of jobs or no job , all levels of wealth , male and female.So what is the target ?
    By the way I think it is a good idea , advertise the sport , not the shops.
    On a bit of a tangent , what about static displays in cinemas when new action films are opening ?We get to advertise (with proper permission , Garda)and they (cinema)get a floor show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

I think the "market" is more interest based than demographic based.

(with, using a very broad brush indeed, the possible exception of gender)

EDIT: The things that are best to show in such a video (in my opinion) are active pursuit, outdoors, fun and teamwork. These should be the main thrust of the video using airsoft as a context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

For the time and effort it takes to make an effective ad, you could set up a table at some nerd fest similar interest event (:P) and have loads of people try the sport afterwards, what would 20 seconds of footage achieve compared to that though? I know the screen in question and I have never bent my neck to look at it. Maybe there is a better solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

While there may be better options and yes we have to take small steps , at the moment we are taking no steps.At least the OP has put something forward that is cheap once the film is made and we have the means within the sport to make the film.

A better method, definitely..... but one as cheap and easy to setup, probably not.
    And again it should be noted the videos I've seen on this system are not restricted to 20 seconds.

I'm all for better methods of advertising, in the end we all want to see more honest airsoft players on site but bar word of mouth (and stalls at salute) to date there's really no other way to showcase our sport :)

EDIT Conman beat me to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

For the time and effort it takes to make an effective ad, you could set up a table at some nerd fest similar interest event (:P) and have loads of people try the sport afterwards, what would 20 seconds of footage achieve compared to that though?

I can think of several conventions where the above (tables, not video) would yield positive results. Much like Salute. Video can be misinterpreted and trying to distil airsoft into 20 seconds of airtime would require someone with not just expertise, but talent (and by talent I mean "gifted") in the realms of media. But with a stand, you have real people with which to interact and ask as many questions as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

se conman wrote: »
    By the way I think it is a good idea , advertise the sport , not the shops.

I think that is a pretty good suggestion you've made.

I could be talking complete rubbish here as I've ZERO facts to base
    this opinion on :D

I think there tends to be more of a knee jerk reaction from the types
    of people that ring Joe Duffy when it comes to hearing about Shops that
    are selling big bad nasty weapons of mass destruction to the Public.

However if your advertising the Sport itself or a Site the reaction may be
    less harsh like ....Oh its like that paintball thing or re-enactment.

Its focuses more on this is a sport/activity where people goto places
    and participate rather than anyone can walk into a shop and legally
    buy a replica gun.

Of course you will still get the whole, they are training like Terrorists
    or encouraging violence blah blah blah yapping from some of them.
    but some people you just cannot reason with.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

problem is the key visual aspects of airsoft you would have to use as there what make airsoft what it is, are replica gun, camo and shotting people, tbh video is not the perfect medium for this as it can be very easy for people to get the wrong impression

I'm not at all saying a video promotion is a bad idea, but I am saying a video on Stephens Green is. A video online, linked from related sites like shops, fora, outdoor sports sites and the IAA site itself will effectively reach an already curious audience.
    Walk down the street of any city and you'll see dozens of advertising posters for various things. By the end of the street you may only remember bits of a couple, maybe none at all, because they held little interest for you. Go into a store like Outdoor Adventure Store and you'll find advertising for third party tours, kayaking, mountain climbing etc. Those are the ones that are noticed because they're targeted.

You may have 50,000 people see a video on that screen, but how many will see it and suddenly decide to take note of checking airsoft out when they get home? How many will even remember to do so, even if they were interested?
    Show the same video online with the right links, and the viewer doesn't have to do any work at all, beyond clicking into a shop or forum and browsing for information or pictures.

What concerns me is the motivation of those who would see that video in such a public place and take offense, sparking up further public outcry and "think of the children" articles without proper research. There were 5,000+ complaints in the UK about a soap opera storyline the other day. This is the mentality you're dealing with - the super PC brigade.

Also, when I said 20 second clip, I wasn't talking about how long the video lasts, but how long someone on the street, possibly carrying their shopping or with friends/partner etc, would have their attention held for. I've seen these screens, but I've never given them more than a few seconds of a glance as I walked past. Nor have I seen anyone stand around watching one.

I commend you for thinking of a promotional video, and I genuinely support such a pursuit. I've been to skirmishes armed only with my camera gear on a few occasions with the sole intention of getting images from games that might change peoples thoughts on it. Pictures often convey an emotion that any text or speech wouldn't. I intend on doing the same again this year (when the weather gets a tad more favourable to humping a grands worth of glass around a field without destroying it...) and hopefully these pictures can do similar to what you aim to.
    Video is equally powerful, but the best adverts can easily go unnoticed. You wouldn't put an ad for the new Audi TT on Nickelodeon during a cartoon. You put it on BBC during Top Gear. That's all I'm saying.

You may have 50,000 people see a video on that screen, but how many will see it and suddenly decide to take note of checking airsoft out when they get home? How many will even remember to do so, even if they were interested?
    Show the same video online with the right links, and the viewer doesn't have to do any work at all, beyond clicking into a shop or forum and browsing for information or pictures.

on the other hand, how many take offense to it and start making a fuss, it was only a few weeks ago we had all the fun and games in limerick with airsoft on display in public

know do not get me wrong it is not a bad idea but as other have said i believe it needs to be targets, Ireland is not the first to think of these types of things but there is a reason why you do not see this type of thing in the uk or mainland europe where airsoft has been around a lot longer

the guys at Bellurgan have done a great little video and you can find examples of others on youtube, but there is no point sticking it up in your local shopping complex for example, but it would be perfect at events thought out the year and great resource for websites to link to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭markomongo

Puding wrote: »

I was thinking about posting this up on its own after seeing this thread. :D

Just so everyone knows, this was a college project so some of the scenes are a little dramatised. It was a group of college students from DKIT who came to us with the intention of doing a short piece about airsoft, just before we opened shop. After being initially skeptical we gave them some advice then let them roll.

We gave the lads complete artistic freedom but I stressed that they be very careful about how they portrayed the sport due to the issues already mentioned in this thread. I think they done a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

markomongo wrote: »
    We gave the lads complete artistic freedom but I stressed that they be very careful about how they portrayed the sport due to the issues already mentioned in this thread. I think they done a good job.

Very good job imo; I enjoyed watching it and that it didn't feel like 10 minutes is testament to them putting out a well edited & finished piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭OddysAirsoft

My personal view is that Airsoft players need to start educating the masses carefully as the PaintBall industry has done already! We must stop being a closet sport afraid that we may upset people and loose our sport. We must aggressively and carefully educate the masses and the best medium is video.

The highest subscriptions to ANY youtube channel is to ScoutTheDoggie with over 125,000 subscribers and over 4 million hits to his vids! That's staggering!

If a sport is kept in the closet it is an easier target to get rid of than one that is out in the open!

Airsoft is worth over 12 million annually to the Irish market so it's not small change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

I don't know Luca ... I reckon that Stephen's Green SC would be a bit of a step.
    That said, the centre manager (at least when I was last involved with the place) is a former marine (USMC that is). I stress former. Ex-marine was pointed out to me as being an unacceptable form of address. Eagle globe and anchor on the wall of his office and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

FRUoddy wrote: »
    Airsoft is worth over 12 million annually to the Irish market so it's not small change!

Now now - there's no need to flaunt your annual spend like that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

20 second clip
    60 seconds (and 200Mb and there are also format restrictions) is the maximum, not 20 seconds. Just FYI.

Given the possible hostility to a full on gun-wielding, weapon-flaunting video why not concider the following:

A simple information based, almost Slideshow, type approach. A brief description, perhaps a few pictures and inform the public to search youtube for Oddy and Scoutthedoggie to see vidoes. That way we (the community) will easily have enough time and enough space to convey our message.

Sparks wrote: »
    60 seconds (and 200Mb and there are also format restrictions) is the maximum, not 20 seconds. Just FYI.

Yeah, I covered that in my last post. I wasn't referring to the video length, more the attention time the average person who'd be passing the screen would give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Yeah, I covered that in my last post. I wasn't referring to the video length, more the attention time the average person who'd be passing the screen would give.
    Well, in that case, know any female airsofters willing to wear overly tight t-shirts while skirmishing and being videoed with a zoom lens? :D

It can be arranged...
    Have your people call my people. We'll do lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Live version of the Edgar Brothers calander for me please
    http://hotshots2010.uk.com/

Thanks in advance
    Much appreciated :D:D

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 SBDDub

bullets wrote: »
    Live version of the Edgar Brothers calander for me please
    http://hotshots2010.uk.com/

Thanks in advance
    Much appreciated :D:D

~B

Here you go bullets (you will have to log in to verify you are old enough)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anhgRPrG0qM&feature=player_embedded&has_verified=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 SBDDub

Multicam never looked so good

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Given the possible hostility to a full on gun-wielding, weapon-flaunting video why not concider the following:

A simple information based, almost Slideshow, type approach. A brief description, perhaps a few pictures and inform the public to search youtube for Oddy and Scoutthedoggie to see vidoes. That way we (the community) will easily have enough time and enough space to convey our message.

This is what I was thinking of with my last post. A short slideshow or selection of brief vids. You put a website address (preferably with the word "airsoft" in it) at the bottom where people can find out more about thier local airsoft sites. Each slide or vid gets a few seconds of airtime maybe with a word written on it. I'm thinking something like that image of yer man jumping over the trench at HRTA with "Active" on it. Then at the end of the segment you have a splash page with "Airsoft" and some kind of slogan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

"Airsoft, taking paintball to the next level". Copyright, tm e.t.c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I think a big problem is trying to convince the people who have played paintball (which a large number of young people have these days) to try airsoft.

I was chatting to a mate of mine yesterday and asked him if he ever heard of airsoft. He said no and as I started to explain it he interrupted and said "Oh so its like paintball. I went to paintball a few times, it was great...." and continued to say how much fun he had at paintball.

I think a problem may be that a lot of people people will see an advert for airsoft, think paintball, then say "nah, won't bother trying airsoft. I've done paintball and that was great, why would I change?" (I know they wouldn't literally say that, but be thinking it :D)

As was said by Airsoft Reloaded "taking paintball to the next level" (hope I haven't breached copyright :P). But how do you convince people to change over from paintball to airsoft in a 20-60 second ad?

I think casual paintballers are really your target market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭TerrenceAnth

When i first got into airsofting i played paintball many times before so i knew it was going to be round the same thing only with more tac's. So i got my gun talked my brother in law to buy one and we loved it!! 10000 times better than paintball could ever be in our eyes. So then u go back home which is in donegal i show my guns to my 2 best friends and told them what it was like and where i got my gun and stuff and they got into airsoft.

I think that setting up a tent or something and showing people the aeg's and letting them know where they can go to get a starter aeg is the best way to push people into the sport but a video isnt a bad idea ether it would show people what it is but in the long run explainning the sport to people and showing off kit seems to work pretty well as our group has gone from me going to airsofting to about 7 lads going within 3 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Just a thought but the success of paintball is largely down to it being promoted as a corporate day out. Maybe this would work with Airsoft as well.
    Promote the whole 'team building' side of it and 'it's like paintball but it's more serious'.
    Dunno if it would work but the logical thing is to get entities with cash to spend to buy into it, after that if the individuals who get the free trial like it then they'll continue. :)

Im sure it would work Steve, just to avoid the possible influx of "non-hit takers" perhaps only host such an event on certain days and inform other players before hand (if they bother to ring up). I pressume that is all down to the specific site themselves. I don't see how it could honestly fail, especially if Airsoft Corporate Events were to rent out comms sets, grenade(s) etc to the business. Now that would attract them.

But then the hobby, becomes a lot, lot more commercial, essentially it becomes paintball with BBs. I wouldn't like that, none of us would.

I don't think tying us to paintball is the way to go. Better to avoid any comparisons with paintball completely and put airsoft forward in its own space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭OddysAirsoft

I don't think tying us to paintball is the way to go. Better to avoid any comparisons with paintball completely and put airsoft forward in its own space.

That's like closing the stable door when the Horse has bolted!

Airsoft came from paintball as an evolution! Also when ever you try to explain something to a person who is uneducated to a subject you will always offer them a comparison that they have knowledge of! And that is paintball!

I tried to explain hurling to an American before, who came to his own conclusion, after I showed him a video, that it was a cross between lacrosse, ice hockey and UFC.
    Comparisons can be colourful when trying to explain something - Jeremy Clarkson makes a career out of it - but describing airsoft as "like paintball but..." to someone who has never played it, doesn't mean they're actually similar enough to copy their system of advertising and targeting the sport.

Sure, corporate days would be a big revenue generator for sites (and already happen, to the best of my knowledge), but putting emphasis on that market or that advertising style would change the ethos of the actual game.

The caveat here is that I'm not at all against advertising, but if such a thing were to be undertaken, it would first need to be very seriously researched and consulted upon.
    To date, the most effective mass advertisement for airsoft was in the Gazette local paper chain in Dublin. Several pages of well constructed and carefully worded explanation. The worst was MIA's sister shop in Cork with their "omg gunz" approach.

I'd say it's a bit premature for video advertising offline, but print media is still a very viable option.

I agree with Dex here, I think newspaper (based on past success with the Gazette) is the way foward.

If we (the community) undertake a genuine and lengthy campaign, within the right perameters, airsoft will grow with the desired result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Promoting Airsoft as a Hobby/Sport without any commercial interests is incredibly difficult. For one there's the legalities involved, as in order to play you must be on designated land, or your own property. That involves research to find sites and people are incredibly lazy. If the IAA were to advertise, they could advertise the sport/hobby, and plug their affiliated sites and retailers. It may just give incentive to other sites/retailers to adhere to the guidelines.

I would definitely share Lefty's sentiment that Airsoft becoming as commercial as paintball is not for the best. Some levels of commercialism would be good, such as having superior facilities to play on etc. But then there is the flip-side of the coin where, like in most paintball sites (as far as I know), you cannot bring your own equipment.

Being perfectly honest, I would rather see the advertising being done by specific sites, having it proofed by the IAA (nothing official, just as a voice of reason and second opinions), and doing it that way. People know what's being advertised (the sport; which can be played on this site), and it should inherantly have more money behind it (due to it being for commercial interestes; boosting player-numbers on a site).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭LawlessBoy

well i started airsofting about 2 months ago, and in that time until now ive recruited six new players into the sport. just from friends in school, sports teams etc...... so there are other ways in getting more people playing without advertising( but it would probably be more efficient)

Speaking of which, I was on the way home from work and had Nova Radio on in the car. I know it was mentioned here before, but it was the first time I'd heard the MIA radio ad. Now, I don't know if it was off the air for a while or I just kept missing it, but as I said, this was my first hearing of it.
    I'm not going to lie, to say that I was shocked wouldn't be an understatement. It was a cross between the OMGGUNZ!!1! attitude we all try to avoid portraying, and some sort of Harvey Norman "IF I SHOUT LOUDER, IT'LL MAKE THIS SEEM BETTER" advertising method.

Whoever wishes to create some sort of useful advertisement, commercial or informative, for either an airsoft shop/site or the sport itself, would do well to listen to this advertisement and take heed: This is precisely the opposite of how you want to portray your image, your message or yourselves.