Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bicycle Number Plates?

• 05-01-2011 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

a stupid overkill idea maybe but today i was stopped in traffic going to work and a fella on a bike came along on the left side of the my car and tried walking it through the gap in front of my car and the rear of the car in front at an angle, he was looking down to try and make sure he didnt scratch either car but then i felt my car budge and looked up. your man hit my car and just ****ed off and i couldnt do anything to catch up. i got out and looked and theres a deep scrape about 6inches long on my front bumper now from the prick. a motorist can do sfa if this happens to them in traffic. would it be a reasonable idea for people who use their bikes on roads to have some sort of number plate so drivers have some chance at least to follow them up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

It's a pain in the hole unfortunately. There was some Councillor in Mayo suggested it a while back for Mayo, but nothing happened. In Poland you can't cycle a bike without getting a license!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

And another problem is the number of bikes out there languishing in sheds. It'd be impossible to force everyone to go and get plates, they'd just buy an old bike from donedeal/adverts and be anonymous all over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

a stupid overkill idea maybe but today i was stopped in traffic going to work and a fella on a bike came along on the left side of the my car and tried walking it through the gap in front of my car and the rear of the car in front at an angle, he was looking down to try and make sure he didnt scratch either car but then i felt my car budge and looked up. your man hit my car and just ****ed off and i couldnt do anything to catch up. i got out and looked and theres a deep scrape about 6inches long on my front bumper now from the prick. a motorist can do sfa if this happens to them in traffic. would it be a reasonable idea for people who use their bikes on roads to have some sort of number plate so drivers have some chance at least to follow them up?

this is why guns should be legalised.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Certainly it should be made law to have a plate when on public road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

I'd just be happy if they started paying road tax, like the rest of us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭the boss of me

messymess wrote: »

They'd probably avoid the road tax by cycling on the footpad. ;)

Grand ... at least they won't be annoying me on the road and if they annoy me on the footpath I can 'clothes line' them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

What "road tax"? Do you mean Motor Tax?

As for registration plates as a means of tracing people who scratch your car, why focus just on bicycles?

When I am out walking my child I find my right of way on the public footpath blocked dozens of times every day by illegally parked cars.

Maybe some day the buggy might leave a scratch on one of these cars.

So, Buggy Number Plates needed then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Might as well put plates on pedestrians while you're at it.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Might as well put plates on pedestrians while you're at it.

I would. Reflective jacket with a plate on the back if going on the road walking etc. Indeed this might be the best system for the cyclists too...just put the number on the person

mickdw wrote: »
    I would. Reflective jacket with a plate on the back if going on the road walking etc. Indeed this might be the best system for the cyclists too...just put the number on the person
    We wouldn't need names then either, we could all call each other by our last three digits.

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    What "road tax"? Do you mean Motor Tax?

As for registration plates as a means of tracing people who scratch your car, why focus just on bicycles?

When I am out walking my child I find my right of way on the public footpath blocked dozens of times every day by illegally parked cars.

Maybe some day the buggy might leave a scratch on one of these cars.

So, Buggy Number Plates needed then?

I would say no, on the basis that people with buggys are far easier to catch and probably a lot less militant than cyclists.

We wouldn't need names then either, we could all call each other by our last three digits.

May I call you 1 for short? :)

Hmmm, yes. Perhaps also a symbol sewn onto the jacket. A star maybe, or a triangle.

And their reg number could be tattooed on their wrist...

I would say no, on the basis that people with buggys are far easier to catch and probably a lot less militant than cyclists.

Don't you believe it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

so

pedestrians
    cyclists
    buggies
    horses
    dogs
    etc etc etc

should all have plates then? They all can and do use public roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Sell your car and buy a bike! "if you cant beat them...join them" eh? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Sell your car and buy a bike! "if you cant beat them...join them" eh? :)

**** that! that cars my baby:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Generalise much?? All this on a thread where someone advocated the use of guns against cyclists. Come on now. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

so

pedestrians
    cyclists
    buggies
    horses
    dogs
    etc etc etc

Herds of cattle, sheep...joggers...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Great idea. Maybe we should just tattoo a number onto every person to make sure no one forgets their reflective jacket. I'm pretty sure this was tested a few decades back, but I'm not sure whatever happened there...

How many times do you reckon some douche slams their car door into your car while in a car park (I've been in a car and had this happen) before just getting in and driving off? I would wager plenty of times. Much like the cyclist in the original story, some people might be decent, stop and apologize and offer to repair the damage. Then again, some people are dicks and might just drive/cycle off.

Let's try and be grown up about this and not turn it into some childish anti-cyclist rant.

so

pedestrians
    cyclists
    buggies
    horses
    dogs
    etc etc etc

nope....just bicycles. its not like they have to pay, or that they are personally going to have a license attached to them. this is not an anti cyclist rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

nope....just bicycles. its not like they have to pay, or that they are personally going to have a license attached to them. this is not an anti cyclist rant

Whats the point then? How would this ID help the OP? It's no more useful than asking someone to carry a Garda card or passport while cycling, unless they stop you won't get their details.

Registration/licensing for bikes is suggested from time to time, may have been the case in the past, and may be the norm in some countries for all I know.

However, bikes/cyclists are not subject to such regulation in Ireland (though bikes are vehicles and cyclists are drivers by law and as such must obey the RotR).

The question is, when it comes to seeking a means of identifying and tracing road users who might scratch your car, why focus only on bikes/cyclists?

because it was a cyclist whom i witnessed scratching my car. shiiiit why do people gotta get so defensive

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

However, bikes/cyclists are not subject to such regulation in Ireland (though bikes are vehicles and cyclists are drivers by law and as such must obey the RotR).

Like many motorists, cyclists are not unknown to breaking the occasiona law. However, without a means to trace them they are largely immune from punishment.
    The problem that many cyclists fail to realise though is that when they break the law, it can often end up with them being injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

@Deutschlandfü;rimmer7: your suggestion is impractical.

There are obviously bureaucratic implications for running such a system. Bikes are small, light, cheap things with trivially interchangeable parts. I have ten of them in my house, the last time I counted. You'd need a better justification than the odd scratch, massively irritating though that must be.

The system of vehicle number plates is not designed to allow people to assign responsibility for paint scratches, that's just a side effect. The whole system of registration and insurance is worth doing because the third-party consequences of vehicle accidents are so bad. Its quite difficult to kill someone with a bicycle.

Besides, scooters can do the same thing, and they have plates. In many cases someone filtering at speed will be going too fast for you to get the reg. And even if you do get the plate you need witnesses to back it up.

If someone is immoral enough to scratch your car and ride off, they're immoral enough to run cloned plates.

As for "road tax", there's no such thing. Motor tax does not apply to things with no motors in them. I'd be for scrapping motor tax anyway - it's unfair on people with large car collections. You can only drive one car at a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

FFS, there's no road tax, it's motor tax. And I would go far as saying the majority DO pay motor tax. I have a bike but run two cars, do I get a rebate everytime I commute on the bike ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

kbannon wrote: »
    Like many motorists, cyclists are not unknown to breaking the occasiona law. However, without a means to trace them they are largely immune from punishment.
    The problem that many cyclists fail to realise though is that when they break the law, it can often end up with them being injured.

same goes for a-holes that kick off wingmirrors.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    FFS, there's no road tax, it's motor tax. And I would go far as saying the majority DO pay motor tax. I have a bike but run two cars, do I get a rebate everytime I commute on the bike ?
    +1, you'd swear bikes were ridden by martians and not people just like ourselves.:)

Dr Jekyll and Mr Cyclist ;)

I've seen more of Dr Jekyll and Mr Motorist myself.:D

They should just bring in a new laws allowing car drivers the use of Automatic Weapons when a cyclist does something stupid like cut you off in traffic or tip off your car.

Just mount this on the roof of your car and program it to fire at anything without an engine that has 2 wheels.

triple_machine_gun.jpg

They should just bring in a new laws allowing car drivers the use of Automatic Weapons when a cyclist does something stupid like cut you off in traffic or tip off your car.

and vice versa, though it'd be a little impractical on the bike.

I've been hit several times by wayward drivers, it does go both ways remember and both groups are far from perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

How much road tax should they pay?

Knine wrote: »

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww .................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

We have enough laws which aren't enforced

I'm pretty sure there is already one there for something like this but sadly its not enforced

and vice versa, though it'd be a little impractical on the bike.

I've been hit several times by wayward drivers, it does go both ways remember and both groups are far from perfect.

I was being sarcastic ... I live in the Netherlands where the bicycle is king, you could be parked and a cyclist high on coke just after murdering a hooker could crash into you and its your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

I was being sarcastic ... I live in the Netherlands where the bicycle is king, you could be parked and a cyclist high on coke just after murdering a hooker could crash into you and its your fault.

That made me laugh..

Knine wrote: »

They shouldnt even be allowed near the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

They shouldnt even be allowed near the road!

Absolutley they should never be allowed near the road. I can't understand why dog owners allow their dogs to roam and possibly cause accidents.

Just mount this on the roof of your car and program it to fire at anything without an engine that has 2 wheels.

triple_machine_gun.jpg

Since "road tax" doesn't exist, and motor tax is already covered, I'd advocate a Bullet Tax to deal with that yoke! :)

At a rate of 9000 rounds per minute for that baby, the government's coffers would fill rapidly and our national debt would be cleared in a week.

There would also have to be a version for cyclists, of course, but such technology is a bit subversive and less developed.

Bicycle-Gun-3336.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

Don't be played. Of course everyone hates cyclists, they are smug little t'wats. However, the last thing anyone needs are more rules and regulations.

The big boys are just setting this up, I said years ago that before long tax, insurance and a licence would be required for a bike. I was laughed out of the place. Who's laughing now?

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    Don't be played. Of course everyone hates cyclists, they are smug little t'wats. However, the last thing anyone needs are more rules and regulations.

The big boys are just setting this up, I said years ago that before long tax, insurance and a licence would be required for a bike. I was laughed out of the place. Who's laughing now?
    I am.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I said years ago that before long
    ...and how did that work out for ya?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

"Yes garda, I know there's no plate on her, but santa just delivered her today, the cheque's in the post, I swear".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Lumen wrote: »
    @Deutschlandfü;rimmer7: your suggestion is impractical.

Bikes are small, light, cheap things with trivially interchangeable parts. I have ten of them in my house, the last time I counted.

I don't agree at all. A good bike lasts forever. I had a bike for twenty years and it served me well. In that time it had three new sets of wheels, five new chains, two new frames, a set of handlebars and two new saddles. It was a great machine and I was sad when the OH demanded a car instead of a carrier saddle:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Don't be played. Of course everyone hates cyclists, they are smug little t'wats.

This comment could be (is) considered trolling. Please don't post like this again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

What actually is people's problem with cyclists? Basically they are human beings minding their own businesses and most of them have cars as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Please don't feed the troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 siscri

You felt your car budge?