Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Final Push

• 05-01-2011 1:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭

This time last year I started out a new diet and fitness regime which I managed to stick to and have made great progress. I began at a hefty 15st 8 and my goal was to reach 13st by Xmas 2010. Since late October Ive been hovering around the 13st 9/10/11/ mark and cant seem to make any more inroads.
    Ive had spells during the year where the weight was just not dropping off and then all of a sudden Id drop 3 pounds on the next weigh in. But it seems Ive now hit a point where the body is just calling a halt and refuses to go any further!

Whats got me this far is basically a case of dropping junk food and high fat meals completely, replacing them with healthier, smaller portions. I combine that with running 3 times a week for an hour. I thought adhering to this would see me home to my goal, but Ive fallen short. I really dont want to limit my food any further cos its already fairly limited as it is, so whats the best advice for the exercise. Should I change cardio for weights (which I havent tried up to this point?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭mrpink6789

First off fair play on the weight loss.

Secondly why 13 stone? I had a numbe rin my head when I started a weight loss routine but found it was better to measure body fat then actual weight eventually, however I do weight training which u said you dont do.

My advice would be to start doing some weights, squats, deadlifts and bench presses are always great ones to begin with. Instead of measuring your weight, start measuring your body fat percentage as well.

Also have you calculated how many calroies you need to have each day to lose weight? Put in a typical diet on www.fitday.com and see how many calories you eat, most people will be able to suggest what you should be aiming for then if they know your height.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Well 13st would be around the right weight for me I think. Im 6ft and 29yo. When I was 20/21 I was alot more active than I was up until last year and was around the 13st mark. It would mean my BMI would be in the normal zone too, at the moment Im alittle over 6lbs into the overweight zone.

The other reason i was thinking of weights was I need to tighten myself up. While I have done well in the last year, I look like a smaller version of myself if you know what I mean. Apart from the stomach area, my shape hasnt changed much. Im still abit podgy in places, still a slight moob issue to be addressed! :o

Ill give your suggestions a try and will check out that site. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Superkeeper

I started out in pretty much the same place as you this time last year also, i joined EducoGym in Febuary 2010 for 4 months and my weight went from 16st 4lbs to 13st in the 4 months! I changed my eating habits and trained 5-6 times a week with them and got results despite it being quite expensive (€220 a month!!!!)

Im 23, 5'9 and 13st at the moment so slightly over-weight still but getting there slowly...

I now have probably 8-10 lbs to lose but am having alot of trouble trying to shift it! I run 6-10 km one night a week, play football at a decent level, training with the team twice a week with a match at the weekend and also play 5-a-side which is much more intense for a hour a week so i have a good bit of exercise most days. Today I joined Carlisle gym with aim to shift the last few lbs and you said "Im still abit podgy in places, still a slight moob issue to be addressed!" which sounds exactly where im at also so any advice how to do this would be much appreciated!!!

Lads I wouldnt go mad about being a half a stone overweight to be honest, especially if you are basing it on the bmi. I am 7lbs over the normal bmi range but some people would actually call me skinny, hard to believe for me :P I do weights which has helped a lot but I still would like to get rid of the belly but thats my own fault as I love the pints. I would look at getting your body fat measured and basing it on that. Nobody on this forum will tell you to trust the bmi scale, have the lads here are obese based on that but most would have feck all body fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Superkeeper

BMI scale doesnt bother me so much, even the weighing scales doesnt because i fell so much better than i did this time last year but after getting this far i might as well try go the whole way and get as fit as possible

i have been told that a big portion of the "belly fat" i have, which also seems to sit on my hips which bothers me, could be excess skin due to how quickly i lost a pretty big amount of weight so no matter how much i try it wont disapear!

What kind of weights programs would you do for you upper body? Im not so fussed about having "guns" as such but more my chest, abs and core - more that kind of area?

I would recommend a full body weight program like Starting Strength or Stronglifts 5X5 as thats what I do. for upper body specific I wouldn't know but I'm sure a lot of people could give you guidance on the subject here.