Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plural of Taoiseach and Enda Kenny.

• 05-01-2011 1:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

Do you know the plural of Taoiseach off the top of your head?

If Enda Kenny's Facebook account is anything to go by, he doesn't.

I'd ask that you not reply with the plural.
    Please wait for the poll instead.

Screenshot to come.

Do you know the plural of "Taoiseach" 111 votes

Yes
    0%
    No.
    89%
    Scarinae[Deleted User]Drag00n79DamienHomahaidpickarooneyNevynBlistermanPsychedelicSarnsenordingdongenda1PistesyklopsTerryninebeanrowsmikemacorourkedayoucancallmealchristeb 99 votes
    I really don't care.
    10%
    RabiesCorkManbikopjjk90SelothHootananyXhristyTanG411lisasimpsDOC09UNAMCook my sockFarmer Pudsey 12 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

No.
    Taoisigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

kunts.

am i doing it right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

a shower of bastards Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

No.
    pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

TBH it reads like a minor FG minion was told to set up a FB account for uncle Enda.

Nate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

T-shox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

No.
    Terry wrote: »

Screenshot to come.
    orourkeda wrote: »
    Taoisigh.

http://omg.wthax.org/trollface.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

No.
    Maybe it should read The previous Taoiseach...

No.
    TBH it reads like a minor FG minion was told to set up a FB account for uncle Enda.

Nate
    See the bottom of the second pic (also, please excuse the grammar just above the end of the pic. "Thing" instead of "this").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭t1mm

No.
    ... Who cares?

No.
    t1mm wrote: »
    ... Who cares?
    The electorate.

I hope you register to vote when you turn 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Chancers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

The plural of Taoiseach is Taoisigh.

Enda (or whoever was responding) was quoting a previous Taoiseach. I think the error occured by not putting "A" at the begining of a sentence. Nothing to get worked up over.

No.
    CoalBucket wrote: »

Enda (or whoever was responding) was quoting a previous Taoiseach. I think the error occured by not putting "A" at the begining of a sentence. Nothing to get worked up over.
    How do you know, and who was he quoting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No.
    So the whole point of this thread is due to a typo, a mere choice of an incorrect word.

Enda Kenny is a fluent Irish speaker. I'm sure he knows more Irish the most here.

Taoiseach/Taoisigh

Fair play for EK to taking the time to respond to someone on facebook, not even a constituent but then gets a thread started over an incorrect word?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

What do we need more for? Hasn't the one we have fcuked things up enough......come to think of it I really don't care anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

No.
    I care Terry, thanks for putting it up. :)

Didnt think he was on facebook and would reply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Plural of Taoiseach = Taosigh

Plural of Enda Kenny

1 Enda Kenny
    2 Enda Kenneys
    3 Inda Kenneys
    4 Enda Kinneys
    5 Inda ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

I don't know, i said I think.

Whatever though, it makes sense because a direct quote was used.

Unless various Taoisigh used the same quote which is extremly unlikely.

I do not know who he was quoting, maybe you should have asked him when you were sending each other messages.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

No.
    MUSSOLINI wrote: »

Didnt think he was on facebook and would reply!

Of course FG HQ are on Facebook. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

And they say the internet isn't full of pointless arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Thanks Terry for solving the mystery of the missing Taoiseach, you remind of a young Jeremy Paxman with your style of un-ravelling Irelands darkest secrets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Was this thread started to have a pop at Enda Kenny?

If so, it fails on so many levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I'd hope Enda Kenny knows, him being a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

No.

I believe it was Bertie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

No.
    Whatever though, it makes sense because a direct quote was used.

Unless various Taoisigh used the same quote which is extremly unlikely. messages.

QFT

Thread kinda stinks of a lame failed attempt to make Kenny look bad.

The sentence in question needs a "the" at the start in order to be 100%, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

What a stupid reason for a thread.
    I'm no fan of Enda Kenny but this really is petty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

No.
    darragh16 wrote: »

A failed teacher, why do you think he ended up in politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

No.
    The question I want to know the answer to is do you really think Garrett Fitzgerald == CJ Haughey?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

No.
    Sardonicat wrote: »
    Plural of Taoiseach = Taosigh

Plural of Enda Kenny

1 Enda Kenny
    2 Enda Kenneys
    3 Inda Kenneys
    4 Enda Kinneys
    5 Inda ...

3 Enda pink, 2 Inda Stink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I really don't care.
    such an insignificant thing to be worried about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

No.
    Has Enda really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

No.
    When used in the official capacity then the plural is as per the first reply,. Though there is an argument to be made that when the word is used in English in casual speak then Taoiseachs is acceptable just like the word espresso is pluralised to espressos in English rather than espressi as it would be in Italian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

I think a more important question is what is that blacked out on the toolbar of the second picture? Reckon it could be the search results for ''Plural of Taoiseach''

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

No.
    Hands up who has ever tasted one spaghetto to see if it was cooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 jordo333

Christ, this is the most pointless thread I have ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Do you know the plural of Taoiseach off the top of your head?

If Enda Kenny's Facebook account is anything to go by, he doesn't.

Screenshot to come.

The
    possible future Taoiseach has to know the plural of his title?

No.
    The
    possible future Taoiseach has to know the plural of his title?

Perhaps he was referring to a former Taoiseach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

No.
    As said, I doubt he was attributing a direct quote to more than one person....

And your last response to Enda on his Facebook page is embarrassing. Easy to see why most politicians choose not to engage in constructive conversation with the general public regularly.

Fail.

Perhaps he was referring to a former Taoiseach?

Yeah I'm sure he was, and just forgot the The.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Yllut

No.
    darragh16 wrote: »

I have been saying that Kenny was a total Gob!hite for years. Now we hear of him being an ex teacher he can't even spell. What about the poor kids he tried to teach. Now we have the prospect of him being the next Tshirt. The country has no future we are replacing the Clown with Gob!hite. :(:(:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

No.
    Yllut wrote: »
    I have been saying that Kenny was a total Gob!hite for years. Now we hear of him being an ex teacher he can't even spell. What about the poor kids he tried to teach. Now we have the prospect of him being the next Tshirt. The country has no future we are replacing the Clown with Gob!hite. :(:(:eek:

As shown many times already, it seems that Terry was wrong.

No.
    syklops wrote: »
    The question I want to know the answer to is do you really think Garrett Fitzgerald == CJ Haughey?? :eek:
    CJ had the "Well daddy voted for that FF politician, so I'm going to vote for his successor" vote, which is why FF keep getting into power.

If Fitzgerald had the same support from the idiots of this country, we would, in my opinion, be hearing similar stories about him now, and would be having more tribunals which end up with the guilty parties walking free.

Yes, I am saying that the majority of the electorate are idiots. How else can you explain FF being in power for most of this country's history?

Yllut wrote: »
    Shh. The FG crowd are out in force.
    They previously voted for FF, but are to embarassed to admit it.
    They are all life long FG supporters these days.

Mark200 wrote: »
    I'm never wrong.
    Watch him drag this country down even further, and then blame whatever coalition partners he ends up with.
    Then we'll end up with FF again, and you'll all complain again. Then it's back to FG and so on.

They're all self serving *****.
    When they call to your door in the run up to the election, quiz them on their policies. I guarantee they will all guarantee more jobs and lower taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Yllut

No.
    CJ had the "Well daddy voted for that FF politician, so I'm going to vote for his successor" vote, which is why FF keep getting into power.

If Fitzgerald had the same support from the idiots of this country, we would, in my opinion, be hearing similar stories about him now, and would be having more tribunals which end up with the guilty parties walking free.

Yes, I am saying that the majority of the electorate are idiots. How else can you explain FF being in power for most of this country's history?

Shh. The FG crowd are out in force.
    They previously voted for FF, but are to embarassed to admit it.
    They are all life long FG supporters these days.

I'm never wrong.
    Watch him drag this country down even further, and then blame whatever coalition partners he ends up with.
    Then we'll end up with FF again, and you'll all complain again. Then it's back to FG and so on.

They're all self serving *****.
    When they call to your door in the run up to the election, quiz them on their policies. I guarantee they will all guarantee more jobs and lower taxes.

Every time an election was near FG started digging a hole, and you know what they say about that. The Gobsh"tes are doing this again with a clear field ahead of them, Labour is just about to start their hole Gilmore has bought a new shovel, what the result of this GE is up for grabs. Maybe St Ivan might have a flutter on it.:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

No.

If Fitzgerald had the same support from the idiots of this country, we would, in my opinion, be hearing similar stories about him now

Glad you qualified that with 'in my opinion' , as Fitzgerald was not a perfect Taoiseach and certainly was not a political animal in the same vein as CJH.

He was however a statesman who had a vision for a more progressive society and genuinely struggled against the chronic malignancy of placing party before country, endemic since the foundation of the State.

From Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garret_FitzGerald

FitzGerald and his finances

In early 1999 it was revealed that some six years earlier, AIB and Ansbacher banks wrote off debts of almost IR£200,000 owed by FitzGerald following the collapse of the aircraft leasing company, Guinness Peat Aviation, in which he was a shareholder.

Chairman of AIB at the time, Peter Sutherland, was also a former director of GPA and had served as Attorney General under FitzGerald, prior to FitzGerald appointing him as Ireland's member of the European Commission.

The Moriarity Tribunal investigated this matter, and compared the treatment by AIB of FitzGerald with their treatment of Charles Haughey. They found no evidence of any wrongdoing, indeed the Tribunal heard evidence as to the considerable hardship that FitzGerald went to - to the extent of selling of his family home - to repay the debt to the best of his ability.

The Tribunal concluded in their report:

In summary it would appear that in compromising his indebtedness with the Bank, Dr. Fitzgerald disposed of his only substantial asset, namely, his family home at Palmerston Road, a property which would now be worth a considerable sum of money. As in Mr. Haughey’s case, there was a substantial discounting or forbearance shown in Dr. Fitzgerald’s case. However in contrast with Mr. Haughey’s case, Dr. Fitzgerald’s case involved the effective exhaustion of his assets in order to achieve a settlement whereas Mr. Haughey’s assets were retained virtually intact.

No.
    So, to all of 'Endas' detractors.

Take a look at the page now.
    He has explained that he was indeed talking about 'previous Taoiseach. Singular.'

http://www.facebook.com/endakennyofficial

Shame on everybody for not giving him the benefit of the doubt and jumping on this silly band wagon.

What are you talking about? Most people in the thread did give him the benefit of the doubt.
    Maybe it should read The previous Taoiseach...

So the whole point of this thread is due to a typo, a mere choice of an incorrect word.

Enda Kenny is a fluent Irish speaker. I'm sure he knows more Irish the most here.

Taoiseach/Taoisigh

Fair play for EK to taking the time to respond to someone on facebook, not even a constituent but then gets a thread started over an incorrect word?
    macquarie wrote: »
    And they say the internet isn't full of pointless arguments.
    fat__tony wrote: »
    Was this thread started to have a pop at Enda Kenny?

If so, it fails on so many levels.
    Liam Byrne wrote: »
    QFT

Thread kinda stinks of a lame failed attempt to make Kenny look bad.

The sentence in question needs a "the" at the start in order to be 100%, that's all.
    What a stupid reason for a thread.
    I'm no fan of Enda Kenny but this really is petty.
    Rabies wrote: »
    such an insignificant thing to be worried about
    jordo333 wrote: »
    Christ, this is the most pointless thread I have ever seen
    As said, I doubt he was attributing a direct quote to more than one person....

And your last response to Enda on his Facebook page is embarrassing. Easy to see why most politicians choose not to engage in constructive conversation with the general public regularly.

Fail.
    Yeah I'm sure he was, and just forgot the The.

No.
    What are you talking about? Most people in the thread did give him the benefit of the doubt.

Derp.
    Suffice to say, the comment was directed at those who didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Why the f*** don't you ask him?