Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Are You Going To Do With Your Parents?

• 01-01-2011 11:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

... When they are too old to look after themselves?

When You're Parent(s) Are Incapacitated, Will You? 151 votes

Kill Them?
    0% 0 votes
    Put them in God's Waiting Room (Nursing Home)?
    10% 16 votes
    Look after them in your / their home?
    21% 32 votes
    Pawn them off on a sibling?
    68% 103 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Look after them as best I can..thats what they did for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Crooked home we saw on 60 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Eat them!

what?... its after hours! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

theboss80 wrote: »

This

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I expect to be dead before them so im good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I look after my mum full time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

My dad is dead. My mam has always said never to put her in a home. There is 8 of us so there's plenty of us to look after her if it ever comes down to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Sell them to soylent green factory

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

throw 2 coffins at both of them so they won't be dodging the one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Tell them there IS oil in the tank and they must be going mad if they think there's none there. It'll take a while to work but I can't see it being traced back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

A home....? least thats what the sister keeps threating! i'd prob look after them best i can...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

My mother can live with me and IL charge her rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Send them to the knackers yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Threesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Quiet you

The backs of their heads will have a date with mister shovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Quiet you wrote: »
    The backs of their heads will have a date with mister shovel.

You prefer the subtle approach.

It's probably more economical to put them in the worst-rated care-home in Ireland, and wait for the malnutrition to finish them off. Then you can sue the bastards and cry on TV, then collect the compo and feck off to Bermuda with a couple of whores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Eat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Zombification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Study them to see what nutrients etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

My dad uses boards so I must say, I'm gonna send them to a wonderful farm, and all their old friends are gonna be there with all the things they like to do and some other sh1t old people like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

My dad uses boards

No I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I don't owe them anything so they had better get themselves in good health coz I won't be around to mind them.

I did look after my grandmother my whole life until her death. I'd look after people I care about and who are good to me. I don't think it's right that parents rely on their children dealing with their problems when they get older simply because of a blood tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭GSV

They died...

... or at least I hope they did because we buried them. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

My Mam always says she wants to be put in a home when she can't look after herself anymore, because she doesn't want us to have to look after her. I guess we should probably honour that request.

As for my Dad, I reckon I'll be dead or in a home before him!

It's a scary thought, imagining them not being able to look after themselves. I'd probably be a rubbish carer, but if I had to I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

My mam wants to go in a home (she said so), she also knows she won't be allowed smoke in my house - so she wouldn't like living with me one little bit! Problem solved.

Most likely though, we'd probably pool together and get a carer to live in with her and my dad. Best for everyone really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

No I don't.

Wait I always thought you were a girl?
    You said it in that post one time.

Welcome to operation mindfcuk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

I will make them have sex on YouPorn.

Kerching!

Nah, shovel to the head.

EDIT: Then I'll have sex on it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

My parents looked after me very well(still do!) and I'll return the favour to them when the time comes.

I'll do everything in my power to keep them in the house, even if it means giving up work for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Seosaimh77

I'm gonna be very kind and I'll let my sisters look after them at home

they probably would die a lot quicker if I was looknig after them anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

My dad uses boards so I must say, I'm gonna send them to a wonderful farm, and all their old friends are gonna be there with all the things they like to do and some other sh1t old people like.

Nothing like a bit of incontinence to bring some regular surprises in your twilight years.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Dig them up and make sure they're dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Have them at ours but subject them to constant country and western music/Joe Dolan and ridicule their fashions and hairstyles as a revenge for my teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Have heard a few fairly dodge things about nursing homes and the Mammy recently said she wouldn't like to go to one. That's that then!
    Hope they don't mind relocating to London. :pac:
    Hopefully it'll be a long time before any of us have to worry about stuff like that. It must be hard seeing your folks unable to do the basics for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

visit them once a week at the homeplace, and do stuf for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

God this thread is depressing - I definitely wouldn't like to look after them but it seems that moral obligation means I will have to look after them - Hopefully they both just die suddenly of natural causes when they get close to that age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

The only entreprenuerial thought I've ever had is to open the worlds most amazing nursing/care home and have 2 spots for my parents in it.

1. make it amazing
    2. open moar rooms in it
    3. bring in moar old people
    4. ....
    5. PROFIT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Disco Volante

Give them away just like they did with me.

I'm still pissed about being orphaned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Look after them!

Its the least any of us can do for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

CKWPORT wrote: »
    Look after them!

Its the least any of us can do for them!

It's the absolute most you could possibly do for them -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I would like to take care of them as needs be, however I would like to hope that a) neither of them get to a stage where they cannot physically care for themselves because of illness and b) that if they were ill, they were not as ill that I would have to seek outside help and possibly a nursing home.

I worked as a care assistant and in a hospice, and trust me, there were a lot of families who appeared to ship their relatives off to a nursing home as soon as they could.But there were an awful lot of families who I know genuinely could not care sufficiently for their relative in their own home, even with supports in place. From the outside looking in, it seems cruel and a horrible thing to do, but caring for someone with advanced dementia or other illnesses is an incredibly difficult job, and while some people can do it, others cannot.

Right now, I can say I would never want to put my gran or parents in a home, but I guess until the times comes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It was their choice to bring you into the world and for their own reasons/benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It was their choice to bring you into the world and for their own reasons/benefit.

Doesnt really matter the reason or benefits, i was well looked after, many are not. So I will return it when I am in a position to or are required to.
    It really is as simple as that tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

Well Im an only child, so it will be up to me to look after them, but I would never put them in a home..... they both stressed that they would never do that to their own parents, so I wouldnt do it to them.

They may have to relocate tho, coz I dont plan on stayin round here forever! :P

Im sure they wont mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

So all AH posters will be at home 24/7 with plenty of time available to look after their parents? And have the skills and equipment too? I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I would do whatever I truly believed best for them. I'd like to look after them in my own home, but if it ever got to the stage where one or both of them needed care that I could not provide, I would find the best option that I could afford. And I'd take into account what they wanted too, and their happiness. I'd do anything for them really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The-Rigger wrote: »

That's what I used to shout out at them when I was 15 before flouncing off to my room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Sadly, we've already experienced this. My parents were both diagnosed with terminal cancer in September 2004, Dad died the following January then Mum in February.

Between my brothers, my 3 wonderful aunts, great neighbours and I we looked after them to the end.

It was a very sad time, but we kept things cheerful and didn't try to think about them dying - it was the only way we could keep going and look after them as best as we could.

They were compus mentis (sp?) to the end, which made it easier for us. I have a friend minding her elderly mother who has dementia, and she has a much tougher time than we did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Look after my Mum to the best of my ability. I would only seek professional help, if things got so bad, that I would be unable to care for her to a decent standard myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭sasser

Couldn't care for them myself, have told them this too.