Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

G Bags Srixon Deal

• 01-01-2011 1:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

According to the paper, G has signed a deal with Srixon. Bag, hat, clubs and ball.

Got to think this is a bad move for Graeme. A year like that and he decides to switch instruments.

I've hit the srixon iron range, not impressed and the woods are known as a tough hit.

Many a major winner has fallen off the planet after signing big money club deals, think Lawrie, Pavin, Kite, Norman, Faldo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Not every club he plays with has 2 be Srixon, just his wedges have 2 be Cleveland. Think he can play whatever irons, woods and driver he chooses himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

According to the papers its hat, bag, glove & irons, plus Cleveland wedges. No mention of woods/hybrids/putter.
    The article did mention that this contract is not as restrictive as his previous Callaway deal where all 14 clubs had to be Callaway/Odyssey so I'd say he can pick his woods/hybrids/putter from any manufacturer.

I think Furyk played an R9 driver last year when he was still a Srixon player ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    Many a major winner has fallen off the planet after signing big money club deals, think Lawrie, Pavin, Kite, Norman, Faldo.

The following words should be chanted to any major winner thinking of changing clubs :

Woosnam.
    Maruman.

Sanity will immediately be restored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Paper makes no reference to playing with Srixon irons, says Srixon golf ball, wear there hat and glove and his choice of Srixon Clubs which could be any club. That would be my reading of the article. Maybe i'm reading a different paper.

Can't remember which paper/article I saw it in, I'll try to find the link.
    The Indo mentions choice of Srixon clubs alright so I guess it could well be that he has a much freer hand than before wrt to irons.

Personally I wouldn't have switched from the manufacturer that he just had his best ever year with, surely Callaway would have given him good money even if it didn't match Srixon's offer. Madness methinks. How many millions is enough ?:)

Although its probably less of a risk nowadays with the level of custom fitting that can be done, nearly all the big companies make good gear anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

Russman wrote: »
    Personally I wouldn't have switched from the manufacturer that he just had his best ever year with, surely Callaway would have given him good money even if it didn't match Srixon's offer. Madness methinks. How many millions is enough ?:)

Probably Ridges' doing. Another of his men, Big Shane Lowry swings the srixons. He must have used his contacts to bag this deal for GMAC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Seems a bit of a risky move.
    Novak Djokovic changed his tennis racket 2 years ago from Wilson to Head ,after winning the Australian Open ,and he had serious difficulties with his game for 18 months.
    A golfers clubs are very important and it could take alot time to get the bestou of /customise a new set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Not a smart move IMO. Why would you leave a winning formula for a few extra quid, which let's face it he doesn't need.

How many players have we seen suffer from equipment changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Maybe there was something going on behind the scenes, maybe a little falling out with Callaway or something and he decided he was going to leave then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Padraig never changed his clubs after winning 3 majors and look what happened to him. It all depends on the individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Halfprice

will be interesting to see how he plays so with different ball and clubs evenif he doesnt have to change them all. If you's come acorss the story can you'sput the link up so i can get a gander at it?? Cheers folks:D

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/new-sponsorship-deal-firing-graeme-mcdowell-up-rich-list-15043209.html

Here's one of the stories. I can't find where I saw mention of irons specifically, maybe I was mistaken, but I'm sure I saw a reference somewhere to Srixon irons.......
    Still thinks its a very risky move for him IMO, as someone said above its not like he needs the cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

Its the same deal as shane lowry, glove, ball, hat, and a minimum of 4 srixon/cleveland clubs at the discretion of the player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

The benefit for G is not money alone, as the marquee player of this brand, Srixon will dedicate their design department to making clubs to suit him ala Nike and Tiger, Phil and Callaway etc, I wouldn't mind that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

davo10 wrote: »
    The benefit for G is not money alone, as the marquee player of this brand, Srixon will dedicate their design department to making clubs to suit him ala Nike and Tiger, Phil and Callaway etc, I wouldn't mind that.

Does he replace J as the marquee player for Srixon?

If you mean Jim Furyk then yep, McDowell replaces him as their marquee player. Furyk's gone to Taylor Made.

BTW Is Henrik Stenson still with Srixon these days ?

If you mean Jim Furyk then yep, McDowell replaces him as their marquee player. Furyk's gone to Taylor Made.

BTW Is Henrik Stenson still with Srixon these days ?

I think H is still with them yes :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Curly7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

fullstop wrote: »
    I think H is still with them yes :p

Pretty sure Stenson is gone from Srixon. Saw a photo a while back that showed him with Taylormade woods and what looked like Callaway Razr irons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

From today's Irish Times:

"The multi-year deal is worth a reputed €2.25 million annually. McDowell, who was a Callaway player when he won his maiden major title in the US Open at Pebble Beach last year, will use a Srixon bag, wear the hat, include the firm’s irons and wedges from sister company Cleveland in his bag and use their Z-Star ball as he follows up his remarkable season.
    The move is just one of a number of corporate sponsorship deals completed over the winter close season which affirms McDowell’s global marketability.
    Apart from the Srixon sponsorship, McDowell has also signed deals with credit card company Mastercard and shoe manufacturer Ecco to go along with the existing arrangements he has with Swiss watch manufacturer Audemars Piquet, Middle East business empire Al Naboodah, Dublin tailor Louis Copeland and private jets company Marquis Jet."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I like the below article especially when you replace the word '' Cash'' instead of ''Balls'' as suggested by Donal Hughes:

http://www.golfcentraldaily.com/

Question:
    Coming off the biggest year of your career, what made you switch to Cleveland Golf/Srixon?

Answer:
    I was a Cleveland Wedge player most of my amateur career and my college days. I had a relationship with the guys on and off throughout the years, it was just the right time. Obviously the Srixon golf ball was a ball that appealed to me, I had heard so many good things about it. Let’s be honest, nowadays the golf ball is a huge part of the whole deal and it was a ball I wanted to try out. Instantly I really loved the ball. I was at a stage my career where it is great to come on with a company like Cleveland/Srixon and have input of energy into my career. Obviously, I am trying to get to the next level and become one of the world’s best players. I just think this equipment is what can get me there.
    ........................................................................................................
    Donal Hughes:
    I’ve read the above a few times and it doesn’t mention money, dosh, wedge or moolah anywhere. Ha! However our code cracking department tell us that if you substitute the word “cash” for “ball” in the above statement, it all makes perfect sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Curly7

from golf365....

The deal stipulates that while McDowell will wear a Srixon hat and glove, carry their bag and use their golf ball, irons and sister company Cleveland's wedges, he will still be free to use the driver, putter, fairway metals and rescue club of his choice.

This built-in flexibility was a major contributor towards McDowell signing the deal, and will, for example, allow him to keep using the new 46 and a half inch shaft Calloway driver that has seen him gaining crucial extra yards off the tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭VikingG

Just for those who don't follow GMac on twitter ... he posted this picture this morning...

http://yfrog.com/h8vl0dj

Still find it amazing that most amateurs will stay loyal to a brand for years and professionals will change the tools of their trade so easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

Probably Ridges' doing. Another of his men, Big Shane Lowry swings the srixons. He must have used his contacts to bag this deal for GMAC.

Shane lowry uses Titleist AP2 irons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

VikingG wrote: »
    Still find it amazing that most amateurs will stay loyal to a brand for years and professionals will change the tools of their trade so easily.

What I take from it is that it suggests how little difference there is between much of the top equipment. Obviously the putter and driver are a very personal choice, but when it comes to irons, all that will really matter to a pro is that they have the right shaft and loft, lie and length. Some will question wedges, but I don't personally believe any of the top brands are 'better' than the other.

Its all just further proof of how we the consumer are duped by the money making machine that is the golf industry.

VikingG wrote: »
    Just for those who don't follow GMac on twitter ... he posted this picture this morning...

http://yfrog.com/h8vl0dj

So it had nothing to do with the €2m+ per year :rolleyes:

The thing about it is a lot of the professionals will stipulate that they want the clubs to look a certain way, which amateurs can't do. When Tiger was sponsored by Titleist, he got them to make a blade identical to the Mizuno ones he used as an amateur (they were manufactured by Miura as well I think).

+1 to both above posts, Exactly, if any manufacturer's clubs offered a "real" competitive advantage the pros would all use them. These days manufacturing standards and tolerances are so good its rare enough to find a genuinely bad club, you just need to get one that fits your eye and then get the right shaft etc.

I saw on the Taylor Made website the ad for the new R11 driver and some pro (can't remember who) claimed he gained at least 10 yards with the new driver - IMO if he gained 10 yards then his previous driver wasn't fitted correctly, no way a tour pro would have that much to gain, in my humble opinion.

Amateurs tend to have more brand loyalty, probably because we're not being paid to use a certain brand or have had success with that brand in the past.

Mind you I still reckon if the pros could choose freely they'd probably all use a set of Mizuno blades :D !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

I guess when you have someone building clubs around you it does not matter who is doing the building.

Is it time for a name change from Gmac to Gmoney......this one goes out to my homies:D:D.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

In the GMac bag are:
    Callaway FT Tour driver
    Cleveland 13 degree Fairway Wood
    Adams Hybrids
    Srixon ZTX2 Irons
    Cleveland Wedges (47,51 & 58)
    Odyssey putter
    Sirxon Z Star Golf Ball

f22 wrote: »
    Pretty sure Stenson is gone from Srixon. Saw a photo a while back that showed him with Taylormade woods and what looked like Callaway Razr irons.

Is that fella still playing the game?? Last I heard of him, H could not keep the ball on the planet. But then Stenno has previous, won the B&H as a rookie then disappeared for years. To think a top pro can play the game using 3 wood off the tee, shocking to even try.

To think a top pro can play the game using 3 wood off the tee, shocking to even try.

I guess it shows how far he hits his 3 wood and also that its the short game that really matters.;)

Is that fella still playing the game?? Last I heard of him, H could not keep the ball on the planet. But then Stenno has previous, won the B&H as a rookie then disappeared for years. To think a top pro can play the game using 3 wood off the tee, shocking to even try.

Spoken like a true high-handicapper;)

You and Stenno must be big buddies Pauly?

I guess it shows how far he hits his 3 wood and also that its the short game that really matters.;)

The pro game is all about bull power, you can roll your rock as well as you like, but when players like Bubba and Dustin are smacking it 330 everytime; game over.
    DH2K9 wrote: »
    Spoken like a true high-handicapper;)

:rolleyes: I'd fancy my chances against most people.
    fullstop wrote: »
    You and Stenno must be big buddies Pauly?

I just feel like I know these guys, I'm known as Bat and Ball among the "lads" at the club.

The pro game is all about bull power, you can roll your rock as well as you like, but when players like Bubba and Dustin are smacking it 330 everytime; game over.

True to a point, but its still about getting that rock into the hole in as few shots as possible. They all hit it far enough at the top end, my point was that Stenson (or H or Stenno :D) hits his 3 wood far enough to compete.

For every Bubba or Dustin there's also an $11m richer Furyk :).

True to a point, but its still about getting that rock into the hole in as few shots as possible. They all hit it far enough at the top end, my point was that Stenson (or H or Stenno :D) hits his 3 wood far enough to compete.

For every Bubba or Dustin there's also an $11m richer Furyk :).

Stenson can compete on his day, he is massive off the tee. If he could swing driver he'd be up there with the real gun slingers.

Seen Jimmy on the range a few times, you want to look at the shots. Big VJ was beside him, destroying the thing and Jim is knocking seven irons about 150 yards. Some man mentally, I'd say he is old school.

Stenson can compete on his day, he is massive off the tee. If he could swing driver he'd be up there with the real gun slingers.

Seen Jimmy on the range a few times, you want to look at the shots. Big VJ was beside him, destroying the thing and Jim is knocking seven irons about 150 yards. Some man mentally, I'd say he is old school.

Absolutely, Stenson is a class striker, particularly with the irons, if he had the same control/consistency with the driver he'd be right up there.

Jim defintely plays his own game alright and does pretty well with what he's got. More than one way to skin a cat I suppose. I reckon any of the big boomers would trade 10 yards for Jim's game from 100-120yds in. I walked a practice round with Vijay a few years ago and he's unreal the way he launches it, gives it everything and then some more ! But sure look at the size of him !:)

Medals on the table.

The boys both have wins, and DJ threw away two majors last year, pure bottle job. If he gets the head right, I'f fancy him to make mince meat of McIlroy over the next five years.

Exactly.

"GET IN THE HOLE!!"

Stenson did win the Players in 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

scaled.php?tn=0&server=611&filename=uaxew.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

Whatever happens in the future his change of clubs can't be accused of being the issue, first tourney and 3rd place finish + equalled course record. Well done, again, Gmac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 penkivil1973

the change does'nt seemed to have bothered gmac with his 62 last night,quailty will always shine through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 PROV2

Stenson shot a 31 b9 yesterday in the Royal Trophy. I think we'd all settle for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

I would imagine that there's some "Performance Releated" clauses in the small print.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭redhill

Good article about Gmac last weekend here....

Leave it to Graeme McDowell to steal the show on Sunday at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions. He’s been making a habit of creating excitement in the final round — staring down Tiger Woods at Chevron to beat him in a playoff, draining a huge putt in singles against Hunter Mahan to clinch the Ryder Cup victory for Europe, grinding it out at Pebble Beach to win the US Open, etc.

G-Mac ended 2010 with a bang, so why not kick off 2011 the same way? Well, there were doubts. Switching equipment sponsors from Callway to Srixon, G-Mac was playing with new clubs and ball. He had never played The Plantation Course before and first-timers usually have trouble reading the grain on the greens.

It didn’t take long for McDowell to get used to the his new look and acclimated to Kapalua.

Team G-Mac wanted the win to blow — the harder, the better — on Sunday. Since McDowell has proven to play well in blustery conditions, they figured that was his best shot at climbing up the leaderboard since he started the day with a six-stroke disadvantage.

After watching the leaders tee off, I popped by the lunchroom to grab a bite before buckling down to get some work done. As I was settling in back at the media center, I saw the leaderboard from the corner of my eye. G-Mac was making his move. He was three-under through four holes. By golly, his manager Colin Morrissey is quite the prognosticator!

You see, on the first tee, Colin told me, “It’s going to be a good day.” I kind of dismissed it because, well, find me a manager that says his player is going to have a crap day. (Plus, you can never tell when those Irish are joking or serious because they make cracks with a straight face — hint: when in doubt, go with the former, unless money is involved, of course.)

My eyes were glued to the telecast and leaderboard. G-Mac continued knocking it tight and draining putts. He made the turn at six-under, still three shots off the lead.

Something pretty magical was happening and if G-Mac kept it up, which I assumed he would, he had a shot at the course record. I wanted to witness it. I braved the long trek to the back nine (if you watched the telecast, you may have noticed it’s not the easiest walking course and there are some lengthy strolls in between holes). I caught up with G-Mac, who was paired with Matt Kuchar, on No. 13.

When I saw Colin, he quipped, “I told you he was going to play well.” I replied, “I know, you’re such a genius! Do you have a crystal ball or something?”

With the wind gusting downwind, the guys drove it to pitching distance. G-Mac hit it up past the hole and let the ball roll back down the slope to six feet from the cup. He made the putt to get to eight-under for the day, 20-under total.

On the walk between 13 and 14, I was joking with Colin about his prediction. He got serious for a second (at least I think he was) and said something like, “At the start of the day, I would have told you that he was going to be in contention.”

Graeme was striking the ball well the first three rounds, but wasn’t putting well (he ranked 8th in the field). But by Sunday, he had figured out the grain, which made him rather dangerous. Colin added that he didn’t drive it great on Saturday, so he figured Graeme would drive it well on Sunday.

Once again, the wind was helping on No. 13 and Graeme almost drove the green. Initially, he pulled out a wedge, but then grabbed his putter. He was about 10 yards in front of the green, but had to go over a hill. No problem for G-Mac, though. He nearly made the putt for eagle. Tap-in birdies aren’t the worst thing in the world, though.

With the par-5 15th coming up, G-Mac had another birdie opportunity. He didn’t love his pitch and was left with about 30 feet for birdie. I was starting to get nervous because it now became very possible for him to break the course record of 62 that K.J. Choi set in 2003. G-Mac’s birdie putt snuck in the left side for a share of the lead. Team G-Mac reacted with fist-pumps all around.

“You got a pen and paper, I gotta start writing my speech,” joked Colin.

The energy was unbelievable. It was similar to something I felt when Tiger is in the hunt, like on the back nine at Pebble Beach during the third round of the US Open. Obviously, Tiger’s was much more vigorous considering it’s Tiger and it was at a major. But for a limited field event in January, it doesn’t get much better.

As G-Mac’s caddie Ken passed by Colin in the walkway between 15 and 16, he looked at Colin and did his best not to smile, but he was quietly beaming. He gave Colin a look and goes, “Mmmpphh.” (Apparently, it’s a Monty thing.) You had to be there, but it was funny.

As we started to rush toward the 17th tee, we stopped for a minute because we heard the crowd hushing people as Kuchar still had to putt. “That sucks,” I said. “That’s like what happens when you play with Tiger.”

I didn’t mean for my comment to sound like I was comparing Tiger and G-Mac, but honestly, it’s not that absurd. I always feel bad when Tiger makes his putt and his playing partner still has to finish, but the gallery is rushing off to the next tee. I suppose that happens when other players are playing well and I can’t explain it, but this just seemed different to me.

Next up, 16. This was another short hole with the wind blowing downwind. Graeme pitched up to six-feet, and naturally, drained the birdie to tie eventual champion Jonathan Byrd at 23-under.

At this point, G-Mac was running out of holes. Byrd and Robert Garrigus were on 14 or 15 and the finishing holes didn’t leave much room for trouble. It was going to be cutting it close. Plus, holes 13 through 16 were basically a pitch-and-putt contest.

No. 17, the par-4 with a ravine in front, was playing even longer with the players fighting the wind. Graeme didn’t look pleased with his approach, but he easily two-putted for par.

Walking to the finishing hole, Colin said, “Graeme hasn’t birdied 18 this week.” Really? “Well, that’s terrible, I joked. What a hack!”

G-Mac was 11-under through 17. With a birdie on the par-5 18, he would get to 12-under for the day and break the course record with a 61. To be honest, it was nerve-wracking to watch. He pitched it to eight-feet. Given Graeme’s clutch-putting prowess, the chances seemed good that he’d come through.

Standing next to the green with Gary Planos, we watched as Graeme’s putt burned the left edge. Oh, so close! Well, 11-under 62 isn’t so shabby. He finished one stroke out of the playoff between Garrigus and Byrd (I would have bet good money that Graeme would have won.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭no nails niall

redhill wrote: »
    Good article about Gmac last weekend here....

Leave it to Graeme McDowell to steal the show on Sunday at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions. He’s been making a habit of creating excitement in the final round — staring down Tiger Woods at Chevron to beat him in a playoff, draining a huge putt in singles against Hunter Mahan to clinch the Ryder Cup victory for Europe, grinding it out at Pebble Beach to win the US Open, etc.

G-Mac ended 2010 with a bang, so why not kick off 2011 the same way? Well, there were doubts. Switching equipment sponsors from Callway to Srixon, G-Mac was playing with new clubs and ball. He had never played The Plantation Course before and first-timers usually have trouble reading the grain on the greens.

It didn’t take long for McDowell to get used to the his new look and acclimated to Kapalua.

Team G-Mac wanted the win to blow — the harder, the better — on Sunday. Since McDowell has proven to play well in blustery conditions, they figured that was his best shot at climbing up the leaderboard since he started the day with a six-stroke disadvantage.

After watching the leaders tee off, I popped by the lunchroom to grab a bite before buckling down to get some work done. As I was settling in back at the media center, I saw the leaderboard from the corner of my eye. G-Mac was making his move. He was three-under through four holes. By golly, his manager Colin Morrissey is quite the prognosticator!

You see, on the first tee, Colin told me, “It’s going to be a good day.” I kind of dismissed it because, well, find me a manager that says his player is going to have a crap day. (Plus, you can never tell when those Irish are joking or serious because they make cracks with a straight face — hint: when in doubt, go with the former, unless money is involved, of course.)

My eyes were glued to the telecast and leaderboard. G-Mac continued knocking it tight and draining putts. He made the turn at six-under, still three shots off the lead.

Something pretty magical was happening and if G-Mac kept it up, which I assumed he would, he had a shot at the course record. I wanted to witness it. I braved the long trek to the back nine (if you watched the telecast, you may have noticed it’s not the easiest walking course and there are some lengthy strolls in between holes). I caught up with G-Mac, who was paired with Matt Kuchar, on No. 13.

When I saw Colin, he quipped, “I told you he was going to play well.” I replied, “I know, you’re such a genius! Do you have a crystal ball or something?”

With the wind gusting downwind, the guys drove it to pitching distance. G-Mac hit it up past the hole and let the ball roll back down the slope to six feet from the cup. He made the putt to get to eight-under for the day, 20-under total.

On the walk between 13 and 14, I was joking with Colin about his prediction. He got serious for a second (at least I think he was) and said something like, “At the start of the day, I would have told you that he was going to be in contention.”

Graeme was striking the ball well the first three rounds, but wasn’t putting well (he ranked 8th in the field). But by Sunday, he had figured out the grain, which made him rather dangerous. Colin added that he didn’t drive it great on Saturday, so he figured Graeme would drive it well on Sunday.

Once again, the wind was helping on No. 13 and Graeme almost drove the green. Initially, he pulled out a wedge, but then grabbed his putter. He was about 10 yards in front of the green, but had to go over a hill. No problem for G-Mac, though. He nearly made the putt for eagle. Tap-in birdies aren’t the worst thing in the world, though.

With the par-5 15th coming up, G-Mac had another birdie opportunity. He didn’t love his pitch and was left with about 30 feet for birdie. I was starting to get nervous because it now became very possible for him to break the course record of 62 that K.J. Choi set in 2003. G-Mac’s birdie putt snuck in the left side for a share of the lead. Team G-Mac reacted with fist-pumps all around.

“You got a pen and paper, I gotta start writing my speech,” joked Colin.

The energy was unbelievable. It was similar to something I felt when Tiger is in the hunt, like on the back nine at Pebble Beach during the third round of the US Open. Obviously, Tiger’s was much more vigorous considering it’s Tiger and it was at a major. But for a limited field event in January, it doesn’t get much better.

As G-Mac’s caddie Ken passed by Colin in the walkway between 15 and 16, he looked at Colin and did his best not to smile, but he was quietly beaming. He gave Colin a look and goes, “Mmmpphh.” (Apparently, it’s a Monty thing.) You had to be there, but it was funny.

As we started to rush toward the 17th tee, we stopped for a minute because we heard the crowd hushing people as Kuchar still had to putt. “That sucks,” I said. “That’s like what happens when you play with Tiger.”

I didn’t mean for my comment to sound like I was comparing Tiger and G-Mac, but honestly, it’s not that absurd. I always feel bad when Tiger makes his putt and his playing partner still has to finish, but the gallery is rushing off to the next tee. I suppose that happens when other players are playing well and I can’t explain it, but this just seemed different to me.

Next up, 16. This was another short hole with the wind blowing downwind. Graeme pitched up to six-feet, and naturally, drained the birdie to tie eventual champion Jonathan Byrd at 23-under.

At this point, G-Mac was running out of holes. Byrd and Robert Garrigus were on 14 or 15 and the finishing holes didn’t leave much room for trouble. It was going to be cutting it close. Plus, holes 13 through 16 were basically a pitch-and-putt contest.

No. 17, the par-4 with a ravine in front, was playing even longer with the players fighting the wind. Graeme didn’t look pleased with his approach, but he easily two-putted for par.

Walking to the finishing hole, Colin said, “Graeme hasn’t birdied 18 this week.” Really? “Well, that’s terrible, I joked. What a hack!”

G-Mac was 11-under through 17. With a birdie on the par-5 18, he would get to 12-under for the day and break the course record with a 61. To be honest, it was nerve-wracking to watch. He pitched it to eight-feet. Given Graeme’s clutch-putting prowess, the chances seemed good that he’d come through.

Standing next to the green with Gary Planos, we watched as Graeme’s putt burned the left edge. Oh, so close! Well, 11-under 62 isn’t so shabby. He finished one stroke out of the playoff between Garrigus and Byrd (I would have bet good money that Graeme would have won.)

A serious amount of G-Mac-in :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Hes now tied 4th with Phil Mickleson in the world rankings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I knew Furyk & Stenson had left Srixon but I didnt know Tim Clark did too.

Link:
    http://blogs.golf.com/equipment/2011/01/tim-clark-signs-endorsement-deal-with-titleist.html