Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tips on fox hunting

• 31-12-2010 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭

i normaly just go for rabbits but a few farmers around are heven problems with foxs

now

apart from the lad that was out with me smokin and whistle things didnt go to well

first of all i felt like a muppet and prob sounded like one when i was tryin to call one in

what sort of ground should i be lookin for them on
    how long should i call them for before i move off
    our better again is there any way to tell if foxs are in the Area
    any tips please big or small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

I'm going to tell this to you, even though my lampman will not listen... :mad:

If you are going to start calling in an area, pick somewhere with a decent view in all directions. Stay in that spot for at least 20 mins, even if nothing shows- half an hour would be better.

Other than that, start with small squeaks... And use as many callers as possible- diff foxes like diff sounds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

when you dif callers should i invest in an electronic caller or just mix it up myself

Maybe, I haven't- but better foxers than me have. JohnGalway from this site uses the Ucaller I think. A local lad here uses a Lockvogel with great success.

If you're lamping from the car you can use CD's or plug your I-pod in, but although I've tried, i've never called a fox this way.

It's a bit of a learning curve, get on YouTube search for 'the Warrener' and 'Robert Bucknell'
    Bucknell has books and dvds which are very good...

Oh I forgot the number 1 and 2 tips.
    Do not move when a fox it looking at you, their eyes arent as good as you think, but they'll see movement a mile off.
    Do not make a sound, the click of the safety can scare them off. Their ears are as good as you think.
    And for a number 3, pick a dark night, a wee bit of wind helps cover your mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭clivej

Try sucking on the back of your hand, thumb nail, inside palm between thumb and forfinger, hole made when thumb and forefinger in a fist.

Then calls to get/buy that work are the Wigen, the Wam, the reed call from Foxcaller.co.uk, the tenderfield, and cheapest and one of the best a squeeky dogs toy got from the pet shop, with this you can cut out the squeeker, leave a good bit of the plastic around the squeeker, and use between your teeth and suck or blow though.

thanks lads some good advice i like that idea about the dogs toy that will prob the first thing i try before i buy any thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I've nevewr had much luck with callers.

Once or twice a squealing bunny worked, by accident not design

thanks lads some good advice i like that idea about the dogs toy that will prob the first thing i try before i buy any thing

As squealers go, i've tried a good few, and fox call uk was the best- but they're easy made.

2 loli-pop sticks, some cereal box to wedge them apart and a wee bit of cassette tape (radio, not vcr). Easy peasy, u can make a load of them all slightly diff for diff pitch. Quite enjoyable if you love twisters and supersplits as much as I do! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

clivej wrote: »
    Try sucking on the back of your hand, thumb nail, inside palm between thumb and forfinger, hole made when thumb and forefinger in a fist.

Then calls to get/buy that work are the Wigen, the Wam, the reed call from Foxcaller.co.uk, the tenderfield, and cheapest and one of the best a squeeky dogs toy got from the pet shop, with this you can cut out the squeeker, leave a good bit of the plastic around the squeeker, and use between your teeth and suck or blow though.

With the sucking on hand etc,how would you get it loud enough?? or is it only good if you have spotted a fox?
    Ive been out with the fox caller uk the last 2 weeks,out about 5 nights and ive yet to call a fox in very very frustrating,,anything im doing wrong??
    Have u caller but currently not working!

I've spent a lot of the past 3 weeks out after foxes, and Nada zilch zero

Only got a bunny rabbit (which I used to blast a Magpie the next day )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭foxboy

I've spent a lot of the past 3 weeks out after foxes, and Nada zilch zero

Only got a bunny rabbit (which I used to blast a Magpie the next day )

Sence the snow fell all the foxes seem to have gone
    seen one last night but he/ she was not interested in the ucaller at all
    got a better responce from the back of my hand, but he didn't come close enough for a shot ( tried for over 1/2 an hour ) and went home

foxboy wrote: »
    Sence the snow fell all the foxes seem to have gone
    seen one last night but he/ she was not interested in the ucaller at all
    got a better responce from the back of my hand, but he didn't come close enough for a shot ( tried for over 1/2 an hour ) and went home

I can't figure how I have so much rabbits yet so little foxes?

I don't even have the rabbits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

foxboy wrote: »
    I don't even have the rabbits

we went out the other morning and from 7-6 all we saw were a few deer and 3 rabbits basically sitting under horses on the way home at 6. not a fox to be called or seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

ya cant beat using the palm of your hand or nail
    first of all its free and you will never forget to bring it shooting with ya lol

you will learn how to do it in no time
    practice in the car when your stuck in traffic on the toilet
    wherever ya get a chance really

daithi55 wrote: »
    ya cant beat using the palm of your hand or nail
    first of all its free and you will never forget to bring it shooting with ya lol

you will learn how to do it in no time
    practice in the car when your stuck in traffic on the toilet
    wherever ya get a chance really

Just about to let the kids off at the Pool.

I must give my fox calling some practice :D:D:D

PMSL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

i normaly just go for rabbits but a few farmers around are heven problems with foxs

now

apart from the lad that was out with me smokin and whistle things didnt go to well

first of all i felt like a muppet and prob sounded like one when i was tryin to call one in

what sort of ground should i be lookin for them on
    how long should i call them for before i move off
    our better again is there any way to tell if foxs are in the Area
    any tips please big or small

Either buy the lad that's whistling a supply of gobstoppers or ditch him, smoking isn't too bad for foxing but noise is a blunder waiting to happen.

What type and calibre gun are you using?

There are a few obvious ways of knowing if foxes are in an area, besides actually seeing them. Trouble is the first, fowl or lambs being killed. Then you have musky smells and signs like scats, prints, and hair on fences.

You have to know your land, and that takes time. They're creatures of habit, using roughly the same paths through the land at roughly similar times.

They've better senses than people by a long way. So, pick your night, pick your stands.

Dark and windy nights are the best, more important for shotguns than rifle.

It's hard to get close enough to a fox on a calm night, unless he's really distracted by his belly or other organs :D or he's heading your way in the first instance. So shotgun foxing can be tough.

Centrefire rifle is the best method in my mind. Rimfire rifle you need to be real accurate and 100% sure of your shot. But they both give you better range than the scattergun.

There is some trial and error involved in finding the best stands, it involves investing time in finding out where the foxes are, why they're there, where you think they're going and where you think they're coming from.

Some will be knocking around their territory, scent marking, hunting etc. Others will be on a mission to a lambing field, or a hen house, some will mooch about along the shore.

A stand that has good views of the surrounding countryside, while giving you good fields of fire and covering you is a good stand. Find one of those near fox paths, you're onto a winner.

I like to pick a spot higher than the surrounding ground, but which also has high ground behind me so I won't be seen on the sky behind me. Be mindful if there's lights, a town, or village behind you, foxy will see you and will run away very fast.

The wind is also important. Calling on a calm night with a rifle is a great, as foxy can't go down wind of you - there is no wind! Often calling on a breezy night, the fox will look lovely running in towards you, then abruptly turn and start making his way downwind to get the scent of what ever is making the call. Sometimes they do this in range, sometimes not :D

Windy nights are good for masking sounds, in regards of your scent make as best sure as you can that the wind is blowing from the fox to you or at least across the two of ye, but not from you to the fox if you can help it. The wind is also good in situations where you may need to make up ground on that out of range fox, important for the shotgun. Try not to be noisy, but if it happens by accident on the windy night you often get away with it. If you're moving to intercept a fox, and he looks at you STOP, or at least slow up. Try to move when he moves.

Never take a shot you're not sure of. Try not to make them lamp or call shy by excessive calling, If he's not running in after a few minutes he's likely not interested. You won't get them all ;)

There's loads more but that's a start.

Be safe, and shoot accurately ;)

Oh yeah, forgot about the callers.

I use an electronic Mini Colibri/Tecnoest. Not cheap, but effective. Never could call with my hand. I've a few mouth calls which I've had limited success with.

I used a cassette once years ago in a radio and it brought out a fox in mid day.

Never have got results with any of the manual callers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

I used a cassette once years ago in a radio and it brought out a fox in mid day.

Never have got results with any of the manual callers,

putting your spare time to improving your calling so lol

johngalway thanks for taken time to send all that info i got good insite jst what i was lookin for

the rifle im using is a cz 22lr not really big enough i know but i would be able to use it when im lookin fox foxs i zero at 100 and i wouldnt be happy till i was hitting the lid of a bottle at least 3 to 4 out of 5 shots that should be good enough providein its a head shot ( i reckon )

what do you think

daithi55 wrote: »
    putting your spare time to improving your calling so lol

I have no spare time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

johngalway thanks for taken time to send all that info i got good insite jst what i was lookin for

the rifle im using is a cz 22lr not really big enough i know but i would be able to use it when im lookin fox foxs i zero at 100 and i wouldnt be happy till i was hitting the lid of a bottle at least 3 to 4 out of 5 shots that should be good enough providein its a head shot ( i reckon )

what do you think

What I used to do was get a coin that's roughly an inch in diameter, trace out the outline on an A4 sheet a few times, colour it in black. Tack it on to a bit of ply on an upright with a safe back drop and you have a cheap affordable inch size target.

If you're grouping within that inch at 100 yards you'll be fine. Personally I'd only shoot foxes in closer than 100 yards with my old .22lr, and then only head brain shots, but everyone's experience differs.

The reason I say closer, is when grouping people usually pick a decent day. But when out in the field the conditions may not be as good, there may not be as good a rest as when zeroing/grouping, and your heart rate may be up from walking about. All those will widen your group a little, so err on the side of caution would be my advice.

What ammo are you using? Farthest I killed a fox with my .22lr was 80 yards with a side on into the brain shot with an Eley sub, dropped dead on the spot. High, or hyper velocity rounds may have better killing power into the chest, I don't know as I don't use them so I'll leave that to those who have to comment upon.

With the loopy trajectory of the .22lr your range finding would want to be spot on at night too ;)

Seen 3 foxes hit well with .22lr's (all body, but Good shots) all 3 ran for a good long while before dying.
    Only one of these shots was me, but I would never intentionally go foxing with a .22 now (I actually never have).

If I was out shooting rabbits or greys and the shot presented itself....

Here's a drop chart in inches for the 22lr that I find works well for me. Zero is 50m/55y using 22lr subs and wind is 10mph. Print it out and take it with you for reference when in the field shooting.

22lrdropchart.jpg

i use the cci stinger

some people say they are hard to get a tight group i find them to be good enough for inche groups anyway and as far as packin a punch prob the best round ive used out of a limited selection to be honest

i was thinkin of buying a scope with a parallax but somethin is tellin me it might be no advantage at shots less than 100 and i have dropped rabbits a bit further but dont think the 22 is really up to

i use 22 cause rounds are cheap for going down the forestry and lettin of at a target plus not really in position to get 223

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,868 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

My experience in these parts in recent years is that the best places for lamping foxes are near the suburbs of our larger towns and cities. The appear to be quiet tame and are easily attracted using traditonal callers:)

Birdnuts wrote: »
    My experience in these parts in recent years is that the best places for lamping foxes are near the suburbs of our larger towns and cities. The appear to be quiet tame and are easily attracted using traditonal callers:)

Only foxes I have seen over the Xmas was in the towns ~3am.

The hard weather had all the Culchie Foxes eating out of bins I reckon.

Was out yesterday and not a dickie bird to be seen in 2hours of walking

johngalway wrote: »
    Either buy the lad that's whistling a supply of gobstoppers or ditch him, smoking isn't too bad for foxing but noise is a blunder waiting to happen.

What type and calibre gun are you using?

There are a few obvious ways of knowing if foxes are in an area, besides actually seeing them. Trouble is the first, fowl or lambs being killed. Then you have musky smells and signs like scats, prints, and hair on fences.

You have to know your land, and that takes time. They're creatures of habit, using roughly the same paths through the land at roughly similar times.

They've better senses than people by a long way. So, pick your night, pick your stands.

Dark and windy nights are the best, more important for shotguns than rifle.

It's hard to get close enough to a fox on a calm night, unless he's really distracted by his belly or other organs :D or he's heading your way in the first instance. So shotgun foxing can be tough.

Centrefire rifle is the best method in my mind. Rimfire rifle you need to be real accurate and 100% sure of your shot. But they both give you better range than the scattergun.

There is some trial and error involved in finding the best stands, it involves investing time in finding out where the foxes are, why they're there, where you think they're going and where you think they're coming from.

Some will be knocking around their territory, scent marking, hunting etc. Others will be on a mission to a lambing field, or a hen house, some will mooch about along the shore.

A stand that has good views of the surrounding countryside, while giving you good fields of fire and covering you is a good stand. Find one of those near fox paths, you're onto a winner.

I like to pick a spot higher than the surrounding ground, but which also has high ground behind me so I won't be seen on the sky behind me. Be mindful if there's lights, a town, or village behind you, foxy will see you and will run away very fast.

The wind is also important. Calling on a calm night with a rifle is a great, as foxy can't go down wind of you - there is no wind! Often calling on a breezy night, the fox will look lovely running in towards you, then abruptly turn and start making his way downwind to get the scent of what ever is making the call. Sometimes they do this in range, sometimes not :D

Windy nights are good for masking sounds, in regards of your scent make as best sure as you can that the wind is blowing from the fox to you or at least across the two of ye, but not from you to the fox if you can help it. The wind is also good in situations where you may need to make up ground on that out of range fox, important for the shotgun. Try not to be noisy, but if it happens by accident on the windy night you often get away with it. If you're moving to intercept a fox, and he looks at you STOP, or at least slow up. Try to move when he moves.

Never take a shot you're not sure of. Try not to make them lamp or call shy by excessive calling, If he's not running in after a few minutes he's likely not interested. You won't get them all ;)

There's loads more but that's a start.

Be safe, and shoot accurately ;)

Oh yeah, forgot about the callers.

I use an electronic Mini Colibri/Tecnoest. Not cheap, but effective. Never could call with my hand. I've a few mouth calls which I've had limited success with.
    thanks john some good advice there
    I nailed him last night

i use the cci stinger

some people say they are hard to get a tight group i find them to be good enough for inche groups anyway and as far as packin a punch prob the best round ive used out of a limited selection to be honest

i was thinkin of buying a scope with a parallax but somethin is tellin me it might be no advantage at shots less than 100 and i have dropped rabbits a bit further but dont think the 22 is really up to

i use 22 cause rounds are cheap for going down the forestry and lettin of at a target plus not really in position to get 223

I'm not trying to get at you for using a .22 mate, if it's what ye got then you have to make the best of it.
    I've come across a ridiculous amount of people that think .17hmr is an amazing foxing round and recommend it to others- that's just irresponsible. My .22WMR wasn't even entirely up to the job.

I can go out and shoot sub MOA at targets all day, but then you go foxing and it can be windy, you might be leaning off a post- heartrate is almost always Way up, likewise breathing and the lamp mite not be That steady.

This is where you need a bigger calibre to allow for a larger margin of error...

Im surprised that it wasn't said already that the 22lr is very UNDER powered for shooting foxes with. I know I have posted about shooting a fox cub myself but I had been zeroing @50yards and this fox was sat there at 50 yards so why not have a go.

The real difference is the stopping power of the 22lr rim fire against the centre fire 22's and above. The centre fire rounds carry so much more energy that body shots are the norm, heart and lung area, and are devestating when using the balistic tiped rounds.

So then if all you have is the 22lr then head shots into the brain, which is well protected by bone, and to keep the distence down to under 75 yards.

Glensman wrote: »
    I'm not trying to get at you for using a .22 mate, if it's what ye got then you have to make the best of it.
    I've come across a ridiculous amount of people that think .17hmr is an amazing foxing round and recommend it to others- that's just irresponsible. My .22WMR wasn't even entirely up to the job.

I can go out and shoot sub MOA at targets all day, but then you go foxing and it can be windy, you might be leaning off a post- heartrate is almost always Way up, likewise breathing and the lamp mite not be That steady.

This is where you need a bigger calibre to allow for a larger margin of error...

ive seen a load of foxes drop on the spot with the .22mag well out to 100 yards. its all about shot placement at the end of the day. no point taking the shot if your not confident about taking it. and as you said its all about the rest you have too. i never found the wind to put off the .22mag bullet much within 100 yards

garv123 wrote: »
    ive seen a load of foxes drop on the spot with the .22mag well out to 100 yards. its all about shot placement at the end of the day. no point taking the shot if your not confident about taking it. and as you said its all about the rest you have too. i never found the wind to put off the .22mag bullet much within 100 yards

But it isn't entirely up to the job, I've shot dozens of foxes with my .22mag. I love the rifle itself, and the calibre. But it isn't designed for an animal the size of a fox. I've had foxes drop on the spot with it (most) had a few run 10-20 yards, a few and a couple that i've chased all over the mountain!

I love my .22mag, and it's a decent foxing round, but it's limited...

Glensman wrote: »
    But it isn't entirely up to the job, I've shot dozens of foxes with my .22mag. I love the rifle itself, and the calibre. But it isn't designed for an animal the size of a fox. I've had foxes drop on the spot with it (most) had a few run 10-20 yards, a few and a couple that i've chased all over the mountain!

I love my .22mag, and it's a decent foxing round, but it's limited...

yeah i agree it has its limits and not designed for foxes like some of the bigger guns but still if you have the ability and confidence its a great cheap all round rifle. i dont see why you have to fire it at much more then 80-100 yards anyway. you can always try ans stalk in closer to a fox. i'd call it deadly on foxes within 100 yards with good shot placement.i know the bigger rifles give you more room for error.
    it suits alot of people because you can shoot crows rabbits and foxes with it. handy if your out for a walk for nothing particular.
    for example we went out this morning with the .243 and there was nothing around but rabbits and magpies. not a fox to be seen, but if we had the .22mag it would of been a great mornings shooting

on regards tips of fox hunting heres my 2 cents worth.. don't go out wearing lynx and the likes of it because im told if your caught with the wind at your back they will smell you a lot faster and wont come near you

well garv i dont use subs i dont like them

if a lad is able to do one in groups at 100 there should be no reason why he couldnt get a head shot. on a fox at that distance or preferable closer

now if your callin a fox for 15 20 mins like some of the lads say here say which is best to do if your not lying on the ground comfortabley i thinkin there is somethin wrong before you even see a fox

if your moving and come across one surely a lad would stop and try call him in a bit closer if at all pos now the guy behind tge trigger should know his limatation of what he can and cant hit comfortly

ok we can all miss and have bad shots but if i was lokkin througj the site and i didnt think it would be a kill shot i woulnt take it an chance

thats prob just me doe the first thing i was though was gun saftey second was know your limitations

well garv i dont use subs i dont like them

if a lad is able to do one in groups at 100 there should be no reason why he couldnt get a head shot. on a fox at that distance or preferable closer

now if your callin a fox for 15 20 mins like some of the lads say here say which is best to do if your not lying on the ground comfortabley i thinkin there is somethin wrong before you even see a fox

if your moving and come across one surely a lad would stop and try call him in a bit closer if at all pos now the guy behind tge trigger should know his limatation of what he can and cant hit comfortly

ok we can all miss and have bad shots but if i was lokkin througj the site and i didnt think it would be a kill shot i woulnt take it an chance

thats prob just me doe the first thing i was though was gun saftey second was know your limitations
    i dont know if i worded my post very bad but i'm agreeing with what you were saying but your reply sounds like your not. Maybe is just cos i cant read it properly on my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

>Never have got results with any of the manual callers,[/QUOTE]

you have got to learn to put pain into your calling

sorry not been smart with you

but just sayin i dont use them

but as you and i were saying its about confidence in your shot

its just lads saying there no good for a humain kill firstly if they wanted to be humain they wouldnt hunt them but we do hunt so as little pain as pos i agree 100percent

once its in range i dont think it would matter to much once your able to use the rifle and place an educated shot