Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody ever canvassed?

• 31-12-2010 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭

I have been asked to do so. If anyone has done it let me know what it is like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I would guess that "what it's like" varies a lot depending on (a) the individual you're canvassing for (b) the party they choose to represent/align themselves to and (c) the location being canvassed.

Haven't canvassed myself but might be volunteering my services this time around for obvious reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

if it's for FF/Greens, don't do it, you'll be eaten alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I don't think FF will even bother canvassing. a few sneaky leaflets is all they'll do.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Voltwad wrote: »
    I don't think FF will even bother canvassing. a few sneaky leaflets is all they'll do.
    ...and I bet that the leaflets will minimise all references to the party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I have for Sinn Féin. Response has usually been positive. You'll get the one or two every night intent on giving you shíte regardless of who you're canvassing for but I've always argued my points with them. I certainly wouldn't like to be a canvasser for Fianna Fáil.

If you're canvassing - All I can say is to be able to defend your points, know your party's policies and be ready to be questioned on everything. Take a notepad with you too, because alot of people feel completely alienated and feel like no politicians are listening to them. Take down their concerns, and phone-number and pass it onto whoever you're canvassing for so they can look into it for them. People don't want broken promises - they want a politician who'll actually look into their concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

dlofnep wrote: »
    Take a notepad with you too, because alot of people feel completely alienated and feel like no politicians are listening to them.

what do you expect when all the politicians do is send out their monkeys whenever an election roles around, never to be heard from again until the next apart from a few propaganda leaflets every 6 months or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Canvassing is actually quite enjoyable. The bad doors generate the most fun afterwards at a de-brief, however that all depends on the candidate actually being organised enough to brief and de-brief a canvass.

When someone says they're voting for you, all they really mean is get outta here and let me get back to the TV, don't take promises of votes seriously.

If you're canvassing for FF like I will be the negativity will be the people who have never voted FF (though will tell you they did...checking the marked register many of them didn't vote at all) and always had a negative approach to FF, but because public opinion is now on their side they feel justified in having a rant.

If you're canvassing for anyone else, make sure you know the candidates history, and it should be fairly easy from there, although canvassing middle class areas for Labour expect some backlash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I did a bit of canvassing. It's really knocking on doors and handing them leaflets and letting them know a little about the candidate. Most questions asked by the people who answer the doors generally aren't tricky,and you could answer without any real difficulty, but you do get the odd one and just say " Sorry, let me just get XX to answer that".

ninty9er wrote: »
    Canvassing is actually quite enjoyable. The bad doors generate the most fun afterwards at a de-brief, however that all depends on the candidate actually being organised enough to brief and de-brief a canvass.

So people voicing concerns and objections is a source of "fun" for FFers ? :eek:

Nice to know your disgraced party is taking our concerns seriously! Sure why not tell them to commit suicide altogether and make it REALLY funny!
    When someone says they're voting for you, all they really is get outta here and let me get back to the TV, don't take promises of votes seriously.

Even from an FF man, I'm gobsmacked! The candidate is looking for the well-paid job of representing people, so a little humility and respect wouldn't go astray.

I mean, what about candidate promises? Don't they just get said because the candidate wants the job and will say anything to try and get the vote.
    If you're canvassing for FF like I will be the negativity will be the people who have never voted FF (though will tell you they did...checking the marked register many of them didn't vote at all) and always had a negative approach to FF, but because public opinion is now on their side they feel justified in having a rant.

Yet again, dismissing legitimate concerns as "rants"; I can categorically tell you that public opinion makes zero difference to my voiced or otherwise objections.

The condescension in your post is astounding, but then that's to be expected from FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Not my experience. Admittedly I haven't canvassed for FF but I know a few people who have really let FF canvassers have it on their doorsteps. It's always the ones who voted FF all their life and are now really struggling to pay the bills while Cowen and Lenihan help themselves to massive salaries paid out of their tax money. It's the sense of utter betrayal that riles people up the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    So people voicing concerns and objections is a source of "fun" for FFers ? :eek:

Nice to know your disgraced party is taking our concerns seriously! Sure why not tell them to commit suicide altogether and make it REALLY funny!

Even from an FF man, I'm gobsmacked! The candidate is looking for the well-paid job of representing people, so a little humility and respect wouldn't go astray.

I mean, what about candidate promises? Don't they just get said because the candidate wants the job and will say anything to try and get the vote.

Yet again, dismissing legitimate concerns as "rants"; I can categorically tell you that public opinion makes zero difference to my voiced or otherwise objections.

The condescension in your post is astounding, but then that's to be expected from FF.

With due respect to Ninteyniner he is making a fair point. Not all objections are based on rational or tangible reasons. I have heard some absolute corkers as the person at the door seeks to play the sophist. Crazy claims about Russians stealing our butter and our oil took the biscuit. If you cant laugh at nonsense like that, then what can you laugh at ?

I would also agree that a what a voter says cannot be taken at face value. The best people to canvass are those who give a straight answer (i.e. Yes/No/"Lets just say im voting". The worst are those who leave you in a state of ambiguity, and will talk for ages, but will not provide you with any inkling.

I would disagree with NN on his belief that negativity will only come from those who are habitually anti-FF. I would also disagree with a Labour Party middle-class backlash. Historically, when Labour ride the crest of a wave middle-class areas are quite open to them. This time, there will be many non-aligned, formerly pro-FFers, who will make their views known. In fact, I would imagine the staple first response will be "I used to vote FF, but now......"

I dont think there was anything condescending about the post, and I would broadly agree with it TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I've canvassed for Fianna Fail in the past, the last time being in 2007. In fairness I would back up what ninety niner said, the most fun is actually had at the doors where people berate Fianna Fail. Many of these people blame the party for everything down to the clog in the kitchen sink.

Most reasonable people, and the majority of the people who will not vote FF are perfectly polite. They either tell you they will vote FF when you both know that's untrue, or they make their case in a perfectly reasonable way like reasonable people going about their daily lives and that's perfectly fair.

But the real fun is had at the doors of the "black Fianna Failers" (the core voters) and the total opposite, the lunatic anti's. I remember one poster on this forum recently posting about how s/he would chase FF around the estate banging a saucepan in unison with his or her neighbours. I have to say I thought that was hilarious - I would almost canvass just to see it. Those are the kind of things that actually make canvassing so enjoyable. They are not the majority.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Palmach wrote: »
    Yes, I have done it. Its a cold, sometimes hard job.
    People are looking for answers and they will look to you.
    The WORST thing you can do when canvassing, is lie.
    You WILL be caught out on it by someone.

If you don't know an answer to a question, be straight and honest, say you don't know the answer to their question but are willing to find out for them.
    If you return back at some point soon thereafter (with some sort of decent answer), they will appreciate your honestly, your straightness with them and see you as a much needed breath of fresh air.

..And by god this country needs it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

Palmach wrote: »

Canvassing isn't bad at all. It's important to know the people that are canvassing with you plus a knowledge of the area is also necessary. Give it a try, you won't regret it. Unlike others I've done it and I've enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Did it years ago.
    I learned my info as best as I could. Someone more experienced stood with me for a little while and then away I went. Most people are fine. As said, bring a notebook and take down what they say.

Some small issue might not seem important but it can mean everything to a constituent. And so it deserves to be noted.
    You need local knowledge. If someone comments on some local factory or road or topic or even a national issue and you never even heard of it, well they won't be impressed. So keep up to date if you can

I can't answer everything about every topic. The candidate is around so you can call them up on the mobile to come around very shortly. They will interact with you.
    If you have a concern or something you demand to say, ask your canvasser to get the candidate around

Won't be doing it again, mainly as I don't live in the area I vote in.

And be sure to close the gate behind you! ;)

It can be enjoyable and it should be. If you're going to walk around being miserable then realy, you're not doing much for your candidate. Probably best you stay at home

And if you tell somebody you'll come back to them with an answer, make sure you do! Remember that notebook. Never fob people off.

It mightn't be the perfect answer and a lot of things just are not possible but it will be appreciated that you did come back

Het-Field wrote: »
    With due respect to Ninteyniner he is making a fair point. Not all objections are based on rational or tangible reasons. I have heard some absolute corkers as the person at the door seeks to play the sophist. Crazy claims about Russians stealing our butter and our oil took the biscuit. If you cant laugh at nonsense like that, then what can you laugh at ?

I remember once we were told that we couldn't have the vote because it was going to Ml Lowry. The only problem was that we were in Tipp South. We were told it didn't matter and people could vote for whoever they wanted.

One word I haven't seen mentioned here, amongst all the talk of notebooks and calling up the candidate and honesty, is charisma.

Charisma and confidence are probably two of the most important characteristics in a canvasser. You have to be able to talk. I have canvassed both in rural areas and in Dublin and the ability to chat about both politics and sport are very important. You have to know who's hurling, who's running, and who's who in the local area. Your local paper is usually far more useful a tool than The Financial Times or The Economist.

I'm not saying it's a good thing, but Irish people like to chat, they like to be assured on local issues, oh, and they also like to trace your family tree. I have been in houses where most of the conversation was about some obscure relative or the Tipperary Hurling team and politics hardly came up. That's just something to be aware of. Ability to be comfortable with a wide array of conversation actually does matter.

I don't think that I have ever had charisma and honesty to be honest.
    I recall Bernard Durkan being a gruff prick to me which didn't do him any favours from me.
    I've been lied to on several occasions (by all parties) and thankfully I've so far been able to disprove their lies.

I've had TDs try to tell me how good they were whilst in power by listing off all the local crap they have done (speed humps, etc.).
    later10 wrote: »
    But the real fun is had at the doors of the "black Fianna Failers" (the core voters) and the total opposite, the lunatic anti's.
    So anyone who is a true supporter of a party other than FF is a lunatic?
    Seriously?

Just out of curiosity, what kind of information do the different parties hold on file about a person/family?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I never done it, would consider it, although of course it would have to be for the right party.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I never done it, would consider it, although of course it would have to be for the right party.

The right party for you, or the right party?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Wide Road wrote: »
    The right party for you, or the right party?
    The right party for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

The fact that you're so far removed from reality having never actually canvassed says a lot about your post, but then again coming from a well known ranter, it's to be expected.

This election is win/win.

If FF win you've promised to leave the country and Ray Darcy has promised to leave if Enda becomes Taoiseach.

Any chance you might leave ?
    If supposedly the 4 year plan needs 100,000 people to leave my win win would be if we got ffers to leave and finally do the state some service. :rolleyes:

BTW can you let us know when you are going to be out canvassing as I will let my mates in Limerick know and they can have a good old rant preparated for you since of course they aren't party lackies.
    I've canvassed for Fianna Fail in the past, the last time being in 2007. In fairness I would back up what ninety niner said, the most fun is actually had at the doors where people berate Fianna Fail. Many of these people blame the party for everything down to the clog in the kitchen sink.

Would you mind telling me why you canvassed for a party that was led by a person who could not adequattely explain how come back in the early to mid 90s he did not have a bank account even though he was leader if not high ranking member of one of the main political parties, but yet had received more cash in a digout than received by people on the average industrial wage, whilst he was also given by his landlord 1/3rd the value of the less than 10 year old house he was renting in order to do it up ?

Please tell us why you would be willing to tramp around the streets for such a man and such a party ?
    But the real fun is had at the doors of the "black Fianna Failers" (the core voters) and the total opposite, the lunatic anti's. I remember one poster on this forum recently posting about how s/he would chase FF around the estate banging a saucepan in unison with his or her neighbours. I have to say I thought that was hilarious - I would almost canvass just to see it. Those are the kind of things that actually make canvassing so enjoyable. They are not the majority.

Ah black fianna failers, I would suggest we get some feathers for them also.

Of course you may think that it is hilarious that someone would want to challenege the sh**e they spout, maybe you also think it is hilarious that we had to get the IMF and ECB into this country, because the party you were so willing to canvass for wrecked the country's economy and banking system.

BTW are you going to canvass for them this time ?

I think it will be rather enjoyable to see ffers canvass, we might get to see if they can run faster than at the time of the last locals/Europeans.

I am not allowed discuss …

The fact that you're so far removed from reality having never actually canvassed says a lot about your post, but then again coming from a well known ranter, it's to be expected.

This election is win/win.

If FF win you've promised to leave the country and Ray Darcy has promised to leave if Enda becomes Taoiseach.

Ah yes, when in doubt repeat the "anyone who objects to us is to be dismissed as a ranter/idiot/brothel-owner/suicide candidate" FF mantra and, for good measure, personalise it.

Post reported.

Oh - and if you're looking for people "so far removed from reality", I'd suggest looking at your own front bench who reckon that we turned the corner about 5 or 6 times, that normal households can afford a grand or so a year extra in taxes, and that "we were all responsible" (or was that Lehmans.....I've forgotten at this stage) and that objective, fact-based criticism is something to be dismissed with an "I don't accept that".

The more posts of this nature that I see the more I sincerely hope that FF are flushed down the proverbial toilet.

And if they do win, I'll be damn glad to leave, because Ireland will have proven itself not to welcome independent, informed, considered facts and track records.

So if you think you might get a rise out of being glad that I'd slam the door on this country, think again. If FF get in, I'll be damn glad to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 retrobill

I've canvassed a few times in the past and what strikes me in the appathy you get from so many people . People seem to be more annoyed about getting the junk mail leaflets than anything else ? :(

I remember once we were told that we couldn't have the vote because it was going to Ml Lowry. The only problem was that we were in Tipp South. We were told it didn't matter and people could vote for whoever they wanted.

What does it matter - sure ye got the vote of that particular dodgy character anyway at the end of the day, after he was evicted from FG.

"Oh I don't vote in this area, my vote is down home"

When you go canvassing you might be surprised with how many people are in this situation. Or maybe you won't be suprised at all
    People don't tend to transfer their votes.

They may work in Dublin or Cork or any city or town but their vote is where they are from and they'll never transfer it.
    I suppose I do the same actually

Just something you might find on your travels :)
    You'll be knocking on a lot of doors where there is no vote, no harm done. Maybe if the local party is organized they'll have more info on this

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    What does it matter - sure ye got the vote of that particular dodgy character anyway at the end of the day, after he was evicted from FG.

It was during his time as a FG TD actually, but you are completely missing the point. Not surprising really, considering you never canvassed before.

I guessed that, as was relatively clear in my post since it said "at the end of the day". :rolleyes:

And since when do you need to canvass in order to get a point ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭DaSilva

Just curious about the register, I noticed last local election a candidate who called around had a list of all the people registered. Is this list available publicly? Also as someone in the thread mentioned, they can see if you have voted or not, is this true?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

REMINDER...
    A couple posters on this thread have gotten a bit personal in their replies. In the future, please address the content of the post, and not the poster.
    Thanks, BL

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I've Canvassed for Local, Dail and European Election Candidates for FG. Its Quite simple really. If you feel out of your dept, like not knowing the answer, Get the info for the resident. Most groups do a canvass with the candidate/candidates, so Get one of them to call over to the house.

beware of the people that invite you in for tea tho....

DaSilva wrote: »
    Just curious about the register, I noticed last local election a candidate who called around had a list of all the people registered. Is this list available publicly? Also as someone in the thread mentioned, they can see if you have voted or not, is this true?

AFAIK, the list of registered voters is available. With regards to who voted or not, this should remain secret. However this isn't always the case. Before FF and FG had tellers at the polling booths ticking off the electorate as they came to vote.

The list is available in many public libraries or from the council and you can access it.

There is a second list which companies can use for marketing but people have to opt in for this. A company can get this by writing to the council. They should never use the main list.

Yeah, the parties often put a local member in the polling station with a clipboard. They can't know how you voted obviously but they'll know you were there. Edit, they can't talk to you or try to influence you either. They are there to record, that's all

retrobill wrote: »
    I've canvassed a few times in the past and what strikes me in the appathy you get from so many people . People seem to be more annoyed about getting the junk mail leaflets than anything else ? :(
    I seriously dislike the amount of wastage that comes through the door (and stuck up on lampposts defacing an area). I would prefer that each town/village were to have noticeboards that allowed each candidate to publish their key points, etc.
    As for the apathy, I often don't believe the stuff that comes out of their mouths and I have to pretty much prise truthful answers from them that in some ways I don't like them coming around - maybe its growing up with Ivor Callely (spit!) as my local TD has done this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭dtf

Canvassing is great craic and if you, in any way, enjoy meeting and interacting with people I would strongly recommend it. You don't need to be an expert on the issues but it helps to be able to think on your feet. As one previous poster said make sure you know the local issues. You will be surprised how people talk about these rather than the national issues.

And don't be worried about getting grief on the doors. After the first two or three doors it becomes like water off a ducks back. You should always be asking yourself can I convert this person to vote for my candidate. If the answer is obviously no, then politely make your excuses and move on to the next door. The worst mistake you can make is to spend all night arguing with someone who has already made up their mind.
    I agree with the other posters who say the best laughs come from the doors who are against you. I was canvassing for FF in the last locals and we knocked on a door of a house with a taxi in the driveway. A lady answered the door and after we said our intro piece she pointed at the taxi and said "him - taxi driver, me - public servant, you - f**k off"

Is it just me or is there a trend showing here among FF canvassers whereby they won't listen to the concerns and criticisms of voters ?

If you don't listen to them, then how can you fix those issues ?

And if you don't listen to people who aren't already likely to vote for you, what's the point in canvassing ?

P.S. I could understand canvassers for FF cutting their losses the next time around when they realise that the voter knows what they've done, but the anecdotes are about previous election campaigns.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

kbannon wrote: »
    I seriously dislike the amount of wastage that comes through the door (and stuck up on lampposts defacing an area). I would prefer that each town/village were to have noticeboards that allowed each candidate to publish their key points, etc.
    Grand idea!

Where we live across the pond has such a noticeboard, and does not allow postings or uninvited canvassing or solicitations elsewhere, be they political or commercial. And believe it or not, we actually read our noticeboards, often because there is a discount coupon for pizza, or a yard sale where we can pick up at greatly reduced price a pre-owned item.

Further, political candidates will schedule meetings and debates with rivals at nearby universities, where we can hear their political points directly, and not though a once or twice removed canvasser. This generally works for city, county, state, and US House representatives, but not for the two US Senate positions, or for those running for Governor, where they attempt to reach nearly 40 million California residents via telly campaign ads.

I notice that none of the FF canvassers have addressed my comment on the use of the insult "lunatics".

Also can anyone (FF or otherwise) please clarify what kind of information a candidate retains on a voter or any/all of the their family and what kind of information a party keeps or a voter or any/all of their family?

Grand idea!
    I've seen it in use iin France, a country where there is great pride in the nation and large public interest in national matters.

beware of the people that invite you in for tea tho....

Can't beat a cup of tea for winter canvassing!

So anyone who is a true supporter of a party other than FF is a lunatic?
    Seriously?
    No. Read my post. Most people opposed to FF are very reasonable people opposed to the organisation on very valid grounds. I am referring to the inevitable lunatics one meets while out canvassing.
    jmayo wrote: »
    Would you mind telling me why you canvassed for a party that was led by a person who could not adequattely explain how come back in the early to mid 90s he did not have a bank account
    Sure. I wasn't canvassing for Bertie Ahern. I personally have no time for Bertie Ahern but it was clear back in 2007 that his time as leader was up. At the time I had recently spent a spell of time working with Fine Gael in communications and I became utterly disillusioned with that party and its organisation during my time there. They were basically pushing pretty much the same policies as FF at that time - their position on tax cuts being most deleterious. As for Labour, my political beliefs are totally at odds with theirs and so ultimately I believed that FF were the lesser of all evils. And in any event, if nothing else I simply happen to enjoy canvassing and was friends with the candidate who was seeking election.
    BTW are you going to canvass for them this time ?
    Doubt it, I'm certainly not voting for them in any case and that's assuming I'm even in Ireland during the election. As it happens the candidate I canvassed for last time is running again and he's a perfectly fine candidate. Pending FF reform, he'll probably be a Minister or front bench spokesman in under 10 years... the point I'm making is that the party have a lot of useful younger candidates.
    Originally Posted by DaSilva viewpost.gif
    Of course it is. It may even be on public display in your local district court.
    Also can anyone (FF or otherwise) please clarify what kind of information a candidate retains on a voter or any/all of the their family and what kind of information a party keeps or a voter or any/all of their family?
    They have the register. Most canvassers, generally being local to an area, would have a good idea about 'safe votes', possible voters, and no hopers. This goes for all of the established parties, maybe not so for Independents and parties like The Greens. It really wouldn't be a FF thing, and I have never seen a situation where records are kept.

No. Read my post. Most people opposed to FF are very reasonable people opposed to the organisation on very valid grounds. I am referring to the inevitable lunatics one meets while out canvassing.
    OK, fair enough but that is not what you said where you implied that core voters for other parties were lunatics...
    But the real fun is had at the doors of the "black Fianna Failers" (the core voters) and the total opposite, the lunatic anti's.

They have the register. Most canvassers, generally being local to an area, would have a good idea about 'safe votes', possible voters, and no hopers. This goes for all of the established parties, maybe not so for Independents and parties like The Greens. It really wouldn't be a FF thing, and I have never seen a situation where records are kept.
    I'm thinking more about the notes they write about a constituient they talk to and what is recorded and held on file as I would be curious (on a slightly different matter) to know what type of data security is used to protect this information and whether or not the parties have registered with the DPC.

OK, fair enough but that is not what you said where you implied that core voters for other parties were lunatics...
    But you must have read all of the post you are linking to surely? Right there in the middle paragraph, this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69806256&postcount=13
    Most reasonable people, and the majority of the people who will not vote FF are perfectly polite. They either tell you they will vote FF when you both know that's untrue, or they make their case in a perfectly reasonable way like reasonable people going about their daily lives and that's perfectly fair.

I am merely pointing out that the most fun I and my fellow canvassers had were in the homes of black Fianna Failers and at the doorsteps (or even being shouted at from the upstairs windows) of the other extreme, the total anti FFers. I am simply being honest here... these people were never going to vote FF and candidates write them off without trying. I believe I referred in another thread to one incident of this happening whereby a candidate (who is a respected TD) actually referred to one such woman as a c*nt and told her where to go... in fairness she was well able to use colourful and abusive language herself.

All I am saying is that you meet all sorts out canvassing. People might think that they are impressing something upon the candidate when they roar abuse or attempt to chase them with saucepan banging or whatever else gets suggested, but in reality, it doesn't. You'll just be the voters that canvassers joke about later on down the pub. Such voters never represented potential votes, and could have been written off in any case.

If you really want to impress something upon a candidate, engage with them calmly and rationally in a reasonable and informed manner. This works.
    I'm thinking more about the notes they write about a constituient they talk to and what is recorded and held on file
    Most cvanvassers are far to busy to keep such records let alone the candidate him or herself. I've never even heard of written records being kept to be honest. I would question the point of even doing so. The most we would ever do is put a tick, an asterick or a no beside a voter's name. And that's just an opinion, it's pretty useless to anyone bar trying to get a general overview of how different ballot boxes are likely to emerge.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I have for Sinn Féin. Response has usually been positive. You'll get the one or two every night intent on giving you shíte regardless of who you're canvassing for but I've always argued my points with them. I certainly wouldn't like to be a canvasser for Fianna Fáil.

If you're canvassing - All I can say is to be able to defend your points, know your party's policies and be ready to be questioned on everything. Take a notepad with you too, because alot of people feel completely alienated and feel like no politicians are listening to them. Take down their concerns, and phone-number and pass it onto whoever you're canvassing for so they can look into it for them. People don't want broken promises - they want a politician who'll actually look into their concerns.

It makes no sense to argue with people. Sure you might change the mind of 1 out of 10 who are dead set in their ways, but will you convince them enough to vote for your candidate? The time it takes to convince these people could always be spent doing other things.

The way canvassing works is that there are some people definately going to vote for your candidate, some people who definately won't, and then the floating voters. The trick is to minimise the time spend with those who are definately going to vote for your guy (quick handshake, thanks, leaflet) and those who definately aren't (arguments only make people more entrenched, just be polite and give them a leaflet) and thus have more time for the people who have no particular candidate they want to vote for, might vote for your fella, but need a little encouragement to do so.

It seems to be true that democracy is focussed on the floating vote. Although in Ireland, being a card carrying member of the ruling party has certain advantages.

In the case of information gathered at doors, the only record that will exist indefinitely is any ensuing correspondence. The original note will likely end up in a shredder or a fire.

If you really want to impress something upon a candidate, engage with them calmly and rationally in a reasonable and informed manner. This works.
    Most cvanvassers are far to busy to keep such records let alone the candidate him or herself. I've never even heard of written records being kept to be honest. I would question the point of even doing so. The most we would ever do is put a tick, an asterick or a no beside a voter's name. And that's just an opinion, it's pretty useless to anyone bar trying to get a general overview of how different ballot boxes are likely to emerge.
    I keep the odd note of an issue that someone has raised, as all issues (rather than voters) of concern tend to come up for discussion at PP meetings and the recurring ones clearly require more effort on the party of the government.

However from time to time there are things that crop up like civil servants looking for a transfer to a minister's department whose request is at the bottom of an in-tray somewhere and mentioning that on a door is noted as it is possible the request may see the light of day sometime soon if the minister asks about it. Obviously, mental notes are kept and you will be able to remember (to within 10 houses in an urban area) if someone had a major issue the last time. Depending on whether it has been addressed or not canvassers that were out the previous time will leave it to the candidate to knock on the door:D

It makes no sense to argue with people. Sure you might change the mind of 1 out of 10 who are dead set in their ways, but will you convince them enough to vote for your candidate? The time it takes to convince these people could always be spent doing other things.

Not argue for the sake of arguing. But I'd certainly stand my ground on an issue if someone was misinformed of something.

That tends to be more of an issue with referenda than elections, not that I disagree with you. The misinformation on Lisbon was a pain in the proverbial on the doorsteps. If someone is misinformed they have already taken something to be true, they're unlikely to believe you regardless of what your telling is correcting their misinformed opinion.

I agree.

I cringed at some of the misinformation on the doorstep, from both yes and no supporters.

But with regards to elections, a lot of people are misinformed with regards to budget submissions. It's up to canvassers to ensure that the information is correct, and that the election campaign is honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Palmach

Thanks for all the replies. Much food for thought.