Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie retiring from politics

• 31-12-2010 8:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

So it seems that king weasel is retiring from politics, am just wondering if he's on the bandwagon and will be getting a golden handshake to beat the band? also, will this criminal be entitled to constant Garda protection for the rest of his days at the taxpayer's expense? same question regarding the rest of the incumbents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

All former Taoiseagh get garda protection, nothing new here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I was just going to start a thread on this.

I am fuming and cannot believe the quote I just heard on the news:

He said that if he could have changed one thing it would have been the banking crisis, but no one "from an economist to a journalist" advised him of an impending problem, "never once", he insisted.

This is an out and out lie!

Sure he criticized economists on a regular basis for being negative.

My post would get deleted if I said what I wanted to.

Unbelievable, the man has some fecking neck.

Haughey was spot on with his summation of the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

It's now up to every person in Ireland to tell him he's a cnut every time he leaves his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Retiring instead of fired
    Pension instead of prison sentence

Biggest scumbag in Irish history IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

It sickens me how he has acted and to think I have actually voted for him in the past, what was I thinking :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

This "not told" rubbish makes my blood boil. Even let's say for a second that he wasn't told, surely the job of being leader of a modern 1st world country necessitates surrounding yourself with competent people to tell him these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

He has some neck saying what he said ,People like him are just living in denial and should be held responsible for the corruption he was involved in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

This "not told" rubbish makes my blood boil. Even let's say for a second that he wasn't told, surely the job of being leader of a modern 1st world country necessitates surrounding yourself with competent people to tell him these things.

Leaders of Third World Banana Republics tend to surround themselves with Yes men.

El Berto was just taking a leaf out of their books.

And anyway Ahern was just continuing the legacy of the corrupt Haughey. The taxpayer was there for his enrichment,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

This thread reminds me of a line in a Steve Earle song - something about writing letters to newspapers as a form of protest as opposed to getting off our ar$es and marching down to Dail Eireann en masse with pitchforks, bully clubs and whatever else we can get our hands on to deal with these criminals the right way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

"I am proud of what I have achieved in politics and I am prouder still to have had the privilege to have worked with and for so many fine, patriotic and extraordinary people"

I could not believe he said that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

This thread reminds me of a line in a Steve Earle song - something about writing letters to newspapers as a form of protest as opposed to getting off our ar$es and marching down to Dail Eireann en masse with pitchforks, bully clubs and whatever else we can get our hands on to deal with these criminals the right way

The problem is though, the gang in power couldn't give a sh1te if a million people marched outside Leinster House at the same time, they really don't care, they will retire with massive pensions and live out their days with Garda protection.

If anyone knows how to make Zyklon B then please lob about 200 canisters of it in to the Dail when they're next meeting, should hopefully do the trick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭STForSale

All former Taoiseagh get garda protection, nothing new here
    He'll F***ing need it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

urban dictionary has an accurate definition of mr teflon....

POLITICIAN
    - Pa-Le-Tish-en (n)

1. A person who practices politics.

"Politics" is derived from the words "poly" meaning "many", and "tics" meaning "blood-sucking parasites."

2. One who has perfected the art of lying.

3. A highly paid yes-man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 TheBouldNaoise

This man and many of his buddies should be in jail.

If that happens, I'll believe we are taking steps to building a better society.

Will I hold my breath? No chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

I'm truly disappointed he's decided to quit now.

Would have enjoyed watching him fail miserably at the next election. Bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

OutlawPete wrote: »
    He said that if he could have changed one thing it would have been the banking crisis, but no one "from an economist to a journalist" advised him of an impending problem, "never once", he insisted.

That's a step up from an article I read a few months ago where he said his biggest regret during his time in office was that Bertie Bowl didn't happen. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

If the weasel only did this 20 years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Just goes to show EVEN TO THIS DAY what a liar he is.
    ...And the amazing thing is that idiots still support him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Well,there's always the hope he might call into the wrong pub at the wrong time for a pint

A megalomaniac who managed to fool the people around him and live out his fantasy world at the countries expense. Good riddance to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Sammie36

in the newspaper today it seems that he is not 'ruling out the possibility of running for the presidency of Ireland'......:eek:

Sammie36 wrote: »
    in the newspaper today it seems that he is not 'ruling out the possibility of running for the presidency of Ireland'......:eek:

Always the megalomaniac.:rolleyes:

bertieahern2.jpg

I have never spitted at anyone and so far behaved myself with dignity, if only for the sake of my family name but if he passed by me, I'd find it very damn hard to keep my spit to myself!

He should be running in a prison - not for possible head of state again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Brian Cowen pays tribute to Bertie calling him "the consummate politician of our generation".

...ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

In 2006 or 2007, can't remember which, he told a press conference that he doesn't know how economists saying that the economy is in trouble don't commit suicide... what a knob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

I can't stand this 'Bertie' lark. That Ahern individual is a crook any way you cut it who has enriched himself greatly, and impoverished us, as a result of holding public office. He's not my friendly neighbourhood postman.

JBnaglfar wrote: »
    Brian Cowen pays tribute to Bertie calling him "the consummate politician of our generation".

...ffs
    Birds of a feather stick together!

Cowen is right in a way - but not in the way he means.
    Bertie is an example sum total of all the others that occupy the Dail.
    In FF, in the Greens and in FG. Even down to the Independents who's vote we have seen can be bought for favours!

Better version!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

In relation to what did he say that people should go out and kill themselves?

He is a rat of the highest order. And for Biffo to come out and say that about him, what a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I want to hang Ahern by the balls.
    Retiring instead of fired
    Pension instead of prison sentence

Biggest scumbag in Irish history IMO

In my opinion thats the worst thing that is happening - they wont be one person either politician, banker, developer responsible for sinking ireland that will ever see the inside of a prison cell. In my opinon prison would be too good for these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This country needs to be cleansed of this psychopathic elite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Can I ask why robbing bastards and other FF leeches like this aren't getting prosecuted?

I don't want to go off topic but let's take Callely for instance, he essentially robbed €80,000 from the taxpayer. If I wandered into a bank and robbed €80,000 I'd be done for years, potentially double digits. So why wasn't Callely locked up? Because he did it smartly? Because he's a failed politician?

The double standards in the Irish justice system is hilarious. No wonder this country is a laughing stock for corruption.

RMD wrote: »
    Can I ask why robbing bastards and other FF leeches like this aren't getting prosecuted?
    The answer is actually simple.

What Bertie and FF did, its deeply suspected that many on the opposition benches have participated in or done similar - along with our corrupt government party!

So the last thing you will see is anyone of serious blame, name or offshoot, go to jail.
    ALL DON'T WANT THE SKELETONS COMING OUT OF THE CLOSETS!
    Those that could talk and spill the beans, either died in a strange Russia car accident, was paid off with pensions and perks (including a car!) and let go quietly into the night, well off.
    Jeasus, O'Donaghue was/still is allowed to hang on to his Dail seat for fcuks sake - and still the perks/pensions that come with it!

As for further investigations, any that tried to take place, their terms of reference (investigation areas) was strictly curtailed till any investigation body was allowed to investigate bugger all.
    They were not allowed to follow down certain trails! Money trails, people and their questionable action trails... etc. Why?

Well its my opinion (and a great deal more I know of) that the government/opposition doesn't want the digging deeper into certain matters for it would expose just how bad the REAL corruption is within our political parties and how high up it goes (and even down to local council level)!

What Bertie should be accountable for is a lot
    - but in reality, i suspect its only the tip of the iceberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Biggins wrote: »
    The answer is actually simple.

What Bertie and FF did, its deeply suspected that many on the opposition benches have participated in or done similar - along with our corrupt government party!

So the last thing you will see is anyone of serious blame, name or offshoot, go to jail.
    ALL DON'T WANT THE SKELETONS COMING OUT OF THE CLOSETS!
    Those that could talk and spill the beans, either died in a strange Russia car accident, was paid off with pensions and perks (including a car!) and let go quietly into the night, well off.
    Jeasus, O'Donaghue was/still is allowed to hang on to his Dail seat for fcuks sake - and still the perks/pensions that come with it!

As for further investigations, any that tried to take place, their terms of reference (investigation areas) was strictly curtailed till any investigation body was allowed to investigate bugger all.
    They were not allowed to follow down certain trails! Money trails, people and their questionable action trails... etc. Why?

Well its my opinion (and a great deal more I know of) that the government/opposition doesn't want the digging deeper into certain matters for it would expose just how bad the REAL corruption is within our political parties and how high up it goes (and even down to local council level)!

What Bertie should be accountable for is a lot
    - but in reality, i suspect its only the tip of the iceberg.

Biggins nails it again! niceone.

"I don't know how people who engage in that don't commit suicide." - maybe Bertie should heed his own advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The level and depth of the rot and corruption in politics, higher levels of the civil service and media in this country is utterly astonishing. And the worst part is, I have no idea how to fix it. I have no faith in any Irish public figures and I am totally dismayed and disheartened by every part of public life in this country that I love. Happy new year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I was just going to start a thread on this.

Sure he criticized economists on a regular basis for being negative.

My post would get deleted if I said what I wanted to.

Unbelievable, the man has some fecking neck.

Haughey was spot on with his summation of the man.

From the second biggest c*nt in irish political history

The level and depth of the rot and corruption in politics, higher levels of the civil service and media in this country is utterly astonishing. And the worst part is, I have no idea how to fix it. I have no faith in any Irish public figures and I am totally dismayed and disheartened by every part of public life in this country that I love. Happy new year.
    As we have seen in England, when such corruption has been exposed - at least some have been held accountable.
    As in one case, one MP fudged his meals expenses and got prison!

What have we done here - and much worse has been fudged? (Just look at O'Donague for example!)
    NOTHING.
    ...Well thats a bit of a lie, we have actually given the culprits pensions, payoff's, allowed comfortable political seat keeping, and many more advantageous (well at least to them!) bonuses.
    Besides inventing "In negotiation" tax clearance cert's in order to let Bertie remain in the Dail - even if he still has not paid off just some of the taxes he still owes the state!
    (And we will STILL be paying him €300,000+ in leaving money and pensions of at least €35,000 to €50,000 a month!)

Welcome to the state of Irish politics as it stands today.
    Utterly corrupt and still lead by probably the most evil, corrupt white collar party in Ireland
    (How the scumbag Greens are still propping it up is another moral question altogether. It says a lot about them individually too!)

I think this is absolutely hilarious.

I was out with Bertie in Galway about a week ago, walking around the Christmas market and at least 10 people in the space of 5 mins came up to him and shook his hand and said 'nice to meet you'.

Keyboard warriors. You crack me up.

Edit: I'm not condoning what Bertie did.

If you think I'm a "Keyboard warrior" you'd be very much wrong and don't know me!
    I've tackled these scumbags on radio, morning TV and in the papers a number of times, face to face!

I can guarantee you I would not be one of the asshole 10 that shook his hand.
    I would however want to be one of the many that would want to grab it - if only to place handcuffs on him.

I can only hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Cribbin' and moanin'.

I know you yourself are not but in reality would you actually spit or lay a finger on him?

You'd be amazed at the amount of people in this country who still think quite highly of the man. Living in bubbles.
    I most certainly would not remain silent if he came within near distance and I would find it very hard to restrain myself - and thats being very honest!

I actually wouldn't be amazed at the levels of stupidity of some people who still think highly of the man. some still support him in the politics section.
    They remind me of a horse wearing convenient blinkers - so no, I wouldn't be amazed.
    Stupidity and blindness continues.

I was out with Bertie in Galway about a week ago, walking around the Christmas market and atleast 10 people in the space of 5 mins came up to him and shook his hand and said 'nice to meet you'.

And there would be another 1000 of them there to shake his hand if he was to walk around Dublin?

Which I guess proves how many toss pots this country has.

Not staying silent I can understand.
    But if it came down to it you wouldn't attack the man physically. Your not a knacker.
    ...And again, it would take some serious self-restraint not to lower myself down to that level - or his.

I'm not one for Politics threads and the like but I really was incensed with this mornings quote, that was quite honestly the most shocking thing I have ever heard a politician say and I've heard some shite down the years.

Well, I suppose at least we now know which side of the family Cecelia gets her talent for fiction from.

Stench Blossoms has made good points and I can see where she(?) is coming from.
    Maybe he don't deserve to be spat at, maybe he does.

The least that should happen is that he be further investigated FULLY (without restrictions) and be slapped - with handcuffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

For a reason I cannot remember, when Bertie was FIRST coming into power he was being proclaimed as the youngest Taoiseach ever and he looking down on me as I travelled around the country, I commented to my wife that we are in for a bad time and a long bad time.

Even I, who can see the future, have been amazed at the open carry on and reelections.

"I'll pay my taxes when Bertie does prison" I said to one revenue collector a few years ago ~ I was way ahead of my time, the worst still lay ahead of us.

I'm obviously losing my powers as I get older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizen's_arrest#Ireland
    Any person can arrest someone who they have reasonable cause is in the act of committing or has committed an "arrestable" offence, that is one punishable by more than 5 years in prison.[13] The arrest can only be effected if the arrestor has reasonable cause that the person will attempt to avoid apprehension by Gardaí and the arrestor delivers the person to Garda custody as soon as is practicable.

Gather the country up, march to the Dail and Citizen's Arrest all of them. I'm not joking, either; it could be a good form of protest even if it doesn't work.

Would make a very interesting statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

To be fair, that's a fairly accurate assessment of his time in office. He surrounded himself with yes-men and coat-tail riding gobshites, and absolutely flat-out refused to listen to anyone with a shred of intelligence and sense, all of which were left outside his little cadre. So technically, he's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

liah wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizen's_arrest#Ireland

Gather the country up, march to the Dail and Citizen's Arrest all of them. I'm not joking, either; it could be a good form of protest even if it doesn't work.

Would make a very interesting statement.

and you'd get end up getting done for assault on them. Thats how great this country is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

What a lying deceitful scumbag. It's soul destroying for an Irish person to pay taxes, which end up lining the pockets of a man who has done untold damage to the nation, damage which will have effects lasting years. I tell you what, come judgement day this fella will have a lot of questions to answer. Brian Cowen's tribute to him just about sums him up as a politician as well. And the worst part is, there are still people in this country who would vote him in as president. Sometimes I don't believe that we live in an intelligent world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

and you'd get end up getting done for assault on them. Thats how great this country is.

Not if it was 100,000 people performing a citizen's arrest at the Dail as a form of protest.

I really don't get why the Irish put up with so much utter crap. What happened to the rebel spirit?