Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is anyone else sick of those wheelchair wan ads?

• 31-12-2010 4:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭

The ad is being played on youtube when you try to watch something else. Extremely annoying, I don't want to watch that crap over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

The ad is being played on youtube when you try to watch something else. Extremely annoying, I don't want to watch that crap over and over again.

I'm sick of your prissy 14 y/o cat making slanderous allegations against my young terrier!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I'm just glad I'm a young male driver because statisically I'm more likely to kill everybody everywhere with my wreckless probably distracted by a young wan and drunk driving but yet survive and all for the cheap price of high insurance -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

yea she's not the best looking

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I'm not glad that I'm a cop who gets to deliver the death message to the 'Next of Kin' of the person you statistically killed by this behaviour.
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    I'm just glad I'm a young male driver because statisically I'm more likely to kill everybody everywhere with my wreckless probably distracted by a young wan and drunk driving but yet survive and all for the cheap price of high insurance -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Einhard wrote: »
    I'm sick of your prissy 14 y/o cat making slanderous allegations against my young terrier!!

Also on youtube the ads i get are for ps3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

use mozilla firefox and get the adblock+ add on.. Quite simple really when ya think about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

psni wrote: »
    I'm not glad that I'm a cop who gets to deliver the death message to the 'Next of Kin' of the person you statistically killed by this behaviour.

this Pisses me off, Thats a ****ty but Important part of your job, you knew that when you signed up, Suck it up and do your job in a Professional manner, if you want a Job with niceness and pretty things only then F*ck off and become a florist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Balfie wrote: »
    use mozilla firefox and get the adblock+ add on.. Quite simple really when ya think about it.

Doesn't work, it is not a stand alone ad. It is tagged into whatever video you want to watch at random.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Never seen it.

But I am sick of YouTube making me watch ads about drunk drivers.

I watch TV online to get away from ads and now the net is worst than Sky for adverts.

Quick, someone invent some software that can skip 4OD and Youtube ads and I'll give you free bum sex.

OutlawPete wrote: »

But I am sick of YouTube making me watch ads about drunk drivers.

It is a complete buzzkill. I don't want to see that crap and Tbh, I don't give a scheisse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

It is a complete buzzkill. I don't want to see that crap and Tbh, I don't give a scheisse.

This post however (most thanked ever on Boards) has made me think more about speeding:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67642670&postcount=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭bobsoice23

Yea it's depressing **** alright..especially when you're the devil incarnate with 19 years under your belt and a learner permit in your hand.Scare mongering won't touch the idiots who drive recklessly anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭bobsoice23

Just read that there Pete..it's a tragic story but it just reinforces the message of not breaking the law by going above the speed limit!There's a massive difference between 50km and 75.Some blame has to be put to the parents aswell I think,in alot of cases it's them who bought the car for their child.My mother tells me every day to be careful on the road and she knows Im a good driver.I've never speeded in my life and don't plan on it,what gets into their heads I don't know..

Wow OP, I do empathise. You'll never get those 30 seconds back. How can they justify putting some wheelchair wan whinging in a brain injury slur about how she'll never get her life back. She doesn't deserve sympathy, you do.

[/sarcasm]

Then again OP, sure car crashes happen to other people, it'll never happen to you. You're perfect.

Wow OP, I do empathise. You'll never get those 30 seconds back. How can they justify putting some wheelchair wan whinging in a brain injury slur about how she'll never get her life back. She doesn't deserve sympathy, you do.

[/sarcasm]

I get the point. I don't want to watch the ad every 10 mins. It is annoying.
    I would say the same if it was an ad for xbox or whatever. I get the point, speed kills, don't drink and drive blah blah blah.

Then again OP, sure car crashes happen to other people, it'll never happen to you. You're perfect.

I don't drink and drive or speed and I never said that I was perfect or a car crash will never happen to me. Don't be so melodramatic.

At the very least treat the subject with respect instead of fobbing it off with "blah blah blah"

Even if it's just the one person who takes the hint who wouldn't have otherwise, it's worth millions of people as inconvenienced as the OP. Even worth every one of them whining like a 2 year old about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I have to admit it's starting to get on my wick too. Listening to the radio yesterday it came to the stage that I'd just take my earphones out every time it came on. The newstalk internet stream plays it every time you connect and then again a few minutes later in the ad break. Yeah it's got an important point to make but it's made it. Creating a situation where someone can't help but see the ad ten times a day makes it lose its impact imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Yeah i am but to be honest i am sick of the fact the message is not getting through.

An asshole in a 99 passet went flying by me in the snow. I was doing 40 he must have been doing 80-100. The road was not straight and stopping would be impossible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Tbh I hate that ad too now. It's nearly played at the straight of every YouTube video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

I love that ad!!! I wanna ride her wheelchair

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

this Pisses me off, Thats a ****ty but Important part of your job, you knew that when you signed up, Suck it up and do your job in a Professional manner, if you want a Job with niceness and pretty things only then F*ck off and become a florist

And deal with people coming in to buy wreaths for their dearly departed's graves every day? I couldn't handle that.

I've never seen this ad. I feel left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

An asshole in a 99 passet went flying by me in the snow. I was doing 40 he must have been doing 80-100. The road was not straight and stopping would be impossible

in your opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

And deal with people coming in to buy wreaths for their dearly departed's graves every day? I couldn't handle that.

Like everything else in life you'd get used to it and become immune. How do you think people like pathologists, RTA investigators, grave stone makers, undertakers etc do their jobs?

There was a thread in here not so long ago about hospital workers having a joke around a corpse and the OP was very upset, good few hospital staff in that thread made good points about how you just deal with it as part of the job and move on.

I have a lot sympathy for the likes of Guards who actually have to first break the news to people though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Like everything else in life you'd get used to it and become immune. How do you think people like pathologists, RTA investigators, grave stone makers, undertakers etc do their jobs?

There was a thread in here not so long ago about hospital workers having a joke around a corpse and the OP was very upset, good few hospital staff in that thread made good points about how you just deal with it as part of the job and move on.

I have a lot sympathy for the likes of Guards who actually have to first break the news to people though.
    If you can't find a way to deal with it or develop some type of coping mechanism you will quickly lose your shít too I'd imagine.

With a lot of jobs there is a certain type of detachment necessary when dealing with peoples lives. It's very easy to criticise the detachment of those that work in certain areas when you work in a shop or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Heard it on the radio. Sounded like joan burton giving a political speech

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Krieg wrote: »
    Heard it on the radio. Sounded like joan burton giving a political speech
    A dog in a sack being hit with bricks?

At the very least treat the subject with respect instead of fobbing it off with "blah blah blah"

Is the subject sacrosanct or something? Enough is enough like. The ad is annoying spam at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

OMG those ads drive me insane. Nothing kills hot Rihanna videos like 'I can never forget this'. I'm sorry for the girl, its very effective, but JESUS its depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Er didn't she take her eye off the road herself as she had a lot on her mind. Concentrate at all times, who'd'a thunk it.

I don't care if I'm going to hell for that I'm in a really foul mood tonight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

Your sick of those ads...I think she has the right to be a lot more sick than you. So I wouldn't be complaining about 30 secs of an advert. Kind of dickish in my opinion.

flag123 wrote: »
    Your sick of those ads...I think she has the right to be a lot more sick than you. So I wouldn't be complaining about 30 secs of an advert. Kind of dickish in my opinion.

Personally I just turn down the volume and click on another tab until it is gone. As I said before, I don't care what the ad is about , I just don't want to see it over and over and over again. Spamming people with these ads is counter productive, people will watch maybe the first three or so times but after that they will just say to themselves "not this sh1t again". Spamming people a couple of dozen times a day via various sources is completely OTT and "dickish".
    Nanny state spam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I'm a very, very careful driver. These ads make me feel uncomfortable on the road to be honest (about the behaviour of others, not my own driving). I am more than aware that things happen, and we take a risk just by stepping into a car, but would rather not have it rubbed in my face quite so often.

I similarly doubt that careless drivers will dramatically alter their behaviours because of an ad - in fact, I have met people who laugh at them.

I'm not sure how useful they are.

I wish you could bypass them on YouTube after the first time, for a few reasons. They lose impact for many after the first couple of times, so if they are useful at all this is lost. They are very depressing, as mentioned by others. Whatever about ads on 4OD and the like, YouTube videos are too short for ad breaks - not because the topic is unimportant, just in general. I think the ad money would be better spent on proper driver education rather than (for want of a better word that implies frightening someone about a real fear as opposed to a false one) scaremongering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

psni wrote: »

I only drink drive in the Republic, so your grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

So the assumption is because we all have cars, we're potentially murders we must endure this tripe? Surely because I have a penis, I'm potentially a rapist, and because a woman has a vagina, she's potentially a prostitute? Bring on the stop using your vagina or you'll end up being a STI infected prostitute ads I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Is it the same one that is on the telly non stop? Yes, I am sick of these type of ads on every ****ing ad break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

2010 had the lowest fatality figures on Irish roads since records began in 1960. Clearly the message is getting through year by year. When you consider the amount of cars on our roads it's a miracle the numbers aren't far higher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Whatever you do don't tell Glenn Hoddle about these ads.

2010 had the lowest fatality figures on Irish roads since records began in 1960. Clearly the message is getting through year by year. When you consider the amount of cars on our roads it's a miracle the numbers aren't far higher.

ROFLCOPTER. No.

Clearly the new motorway/dual carriageway roads being built which don't have oncoming traffic, DO have plenty of cats eyes for night time driving is making a difference.

The message of 'speed kills' is, and always has been wrong. Speed doesn't kill, innappropriate speed kills and the stupid 'slow down boys' message from the RSA will never be a campaign that works as its flawed to begin with.

ROFLCOPTER. No.

Clearly the new motorway/dual carriageway roads being built which don't have oncoming traffic, DO have plenty of cats eyes for night time driving is making a difference.

The message of 'speed kills' is, and always has been wrong. Speed doesn't kill, innappropriate speed kills and the stupid 'slow down boys' message from the RSA will never be a campaign that works as its flawed to begin with.

That post was quite insulting to be honest.

It's after hours. If you want hugs and kittens try another forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

reading threads like this convinces me even further that After Hours is nothing if not a momument to tastelessness and immaturity.

It's after hours. If you want hugs and kittens try another forum.

Ah no, it's just the 5% of the "IT'LL NEVER HAPPEN TO MEEEE because *excuse excuse excuse*!" like to come in here and post.

And please, no one knows what their own driving is like. They have an opinion which could be right or wrong.

STFU whinging "perfect" drivers. Be glad it's annoying ads and not some relative or some body part that reminds you how serious road safety is.

It needs to be drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled

and drilled
    and drilled
    and drilled some more

Until road deaths are non existent.

I reckon htere's plenty of relatives around the country that'd be disgusted by the lot of you "they're anowwwying" whingers.

Annoying ads are a very very minor inconvenience. If you want to blame someone, blame the "It won't be mee, i'm perfect" drivers.

Go f.......inger a hole.

Until road deaths are non existent.

Impossible.. There would still be road deaths even if there was no cars and we were all on horseback.

drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled and drilled

........Until everybody is completely fed up with it and changes channel/radio station/turns down Youtube volume and clicks another tab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

I hate all those kinds of adverts but I understand why they're needed. There should be a module in secondary school devoted to responsible driving.

Impossible.

Yup, you said it.

The ads are staying.

DEAL WITH IT CRYBABY!