Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best team of your lifetime

• 30-12-2010 12:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Following a chat with a few buddies, who is the best XI you can put together since you started watching football?

I would have started watching in about 1985, but only really started noticing players in about 1988.

So the following would be the best I think I could put together

GK. Easy choice and I hated him as he was a Manc, but Peter Schmeichal was second to none since I started enjoying the game. His value to a dominant Manyoo team was simply immeasurable.

RB: Paolo Maldini. One club man, won 5 champions leagues and who knows how many league titles. Played with the best in the game and will be remembered as a dynamic captain who could play all across the back 4.

CB: Paul McGrath. Best reader of the game I have ever seen. Screwed his career due to his personal demons, and was also dogged by awful knees. The man was a great passer of the ball and a great tacker to boot.

CB: Franco Baresi. Like McGrath, a great reader of the game and a player who could easily turn defense into attack. Kind of a no nonsense guy as well if memory serves.

LB: Denis Irwin. Mr Dependable and other such cliches. Barely dropped in his uber successful Manyoo career and barely put a foot wrong for Ireland either. An irrepplacable player.

DM: Roy Keane. What more do we need to say about him? Not the classiest player ever, but his drive and determination along with his penchant for always finding the easy pass makes him an easy choice here.

CMR: Xavi. The man who makes the game look an art. Passes more than anyone I ever remember, can unlock the tightest defence with a deft pass and chips in with a few vital goals as well.

CML: Paul Scholes. A player I hated to love, but he carried himself with such dignity and poise throughout his seemingly endless career. Never afraid to roll the sleeves up, scored so many important goals for Manyoo. I always wished he would leave so i could actually like him, alas never to be, but class stands out.

AMR: Lionel Messi. He can play all across the front. The current best player in the world, and possibly will go on to be the greatest ever. Impossible to stop despite all the fouling and cannot stop scoring, the little guy is a genius.

CF: Marco Van Basten. Best striker of all time, scoring goals for fun, a scorer of great goals and a great goal scorer. Its a shame to see his career cut so short with injury.

AML: CR7. A player I cannot stand as I feel he is everything wrong with the game with his petulance, diving and general attitude, but what a player. No one can stop him soring it seems, and has a long and successful career ahead it seems.

Honourable mentions: Iker Casillas, Robbie Fowler, Gabbi Batistuta, Ryan Giggs, Tony Adams, Roberto Carlos.

Some glaring ommissions I know, but there you go.

.........Schmeichal.........
    Maldini....McGrath....Baresi....Irwin
    .........Keane.........
    Xavi.........Scholes
    Messi.....Van Basten.....CR7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,435 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Dasayev
    Cafu
    Baresi
    McGrath
    Maldini
    Matthaus
    Messi
    Zizou
    Ronaldinho
    Maradona
    Van Basten

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Savage team gimmick, especially the back four. I'd have to find a spot for Brazilian Ronaldo, Maradona and Zidane as well.

Schmeichel

Irwin----Baresi---McGrath
    Maldini

Xavi

Maradona
    Zidane

Messi
    Ronaldo
    C Ronaldo

Guys like Gullit, van Basten, Rijkaard, Roy Keane, Scholes are very unlucky. Team is from 1988 onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Seeing as i am a bit younger (i wasn't even born in '85 :P ) my team would be a bit different.

.................. Schmichael ..............
    Cafu .. Cannavaro .. Maldini .. Carlos
    ................ Xavi .... Keane ............
    ......... Messi .. Zidane .. Ronaldinho ..
    ................... Ronaldo ...................

Not quiet sure how good they'd all do but they would be a good team to watch thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Kahn
    Cafu
    Baresi
    Hierro
    Maldini
    Matthaus
    Messi
    Zidane
    Ronaldinho
    Maradona

Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,435 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Kess73 wrote: »

Kahn
    Cafu
    Baresi
    Hierro
    Maldini
    Matthaus
    Messi
    Zidane
    Ronaldinho
    Maradona

Ronaldo
    Hierro and Ronaldo are the two that I hate leaving out of my one. Kahn would be 3rd for me. And I'd also have Maradona playing behind Van Basten, just didn't bother to put in an extra line. Our teams are pretty similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

...............Schmeichel............

Irwin...Nesta...McGrath....Maldini

.......Keane.......Matthaus........

Maradona......................Zico.....
    ................Van Basten..................
    ............Romario.................

Just on the topic Sid Lowe has just named his Real Madrid Team of the Decade. Not too bad a team at all.

GK: Iker Casillas

RB: Míchel Salgado
    CB: Fernando Hierro
    CB: Iván Helguera
    LB: Roberto Carlos

RM: Steve McManaman

CM: Claude Makelele
    CM: Zinedine Zidane
    LM: Raúl

CF: Ruud Van Nistelrooy
    CF: Ronaldo

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/writers/sid_lowe/12/28/realmadrid.alltimeXI/index.html

eagle eye wrote: »
    Hierro and Ronaldo are the two that I hate leaving out of my one. Kahn would be 3rd for me. And I'd also have Maradona playing behind Van Basten, just didn't bother to put in an extra line. Our teams are pretty similar.

Hierro is one of my favourite players so I was stuck between putting him as a CB or as either a sweeper/defensive midfielder. I could not justify to myself the leaving out of Matthaus, so Hierro went at CB.

As for my main striker, I was torn between Ronaldo, Romario, and Van Basten and ended up taking the one that added the most pace to my attack.

Kahn I really rate as a keeper and he pipped Dasayev for me, as I have only ever seen Dasayev on tv, whereas I have seen Oliver Kahn play quite a bit when I lived in Germany.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Kahn
    Cafu Campbell Baresi Maldini
    Xavi Desailly
    Messi Baggio Zidane
    Henry

Though I'm not sure about one or two of them. Maybe if I tinker with it slightly...

Schmeichel
    Thuram Nesta McGrath Cole
    Redondo Scholes
    Ronaldo Ronaldinho Figo
    Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

GK: Schmeichel
    RB: Cafu
    CB: Fabio Cannavaro
    CB: John Terry
    LB: Paolo Maldini
    RM: Lionel Messi
    CM: Andrés Iniesta
    LM: Cristiano Ronaldo
    ST: Gianfranco Zola
    ST: Ronaldo

MOG7 wrote: »
    Just on the topic Sid Lowe has just named his Real Madrid Team of the Decade. Not too bad a team at all.

GK: Iker Casillas

RB: Míchel Salgado
    CB: Fernando Hierro
    CB: Iván Helguera
    LB: Roberto Carlos

RM: Steve McManaman

CM: Claude Makelele
    LM: Raúl

CF: Ruud Van Nistelrooy
    CF: Ronaldo

No Figo? :eek:

Kess73 wrote: »
    No Figo? :eek:

I know, strange that one, i would have him in there ahead of McManaman, some hard choices to make though in fairness. Here's the link to his choices http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/writers/sid_lowe/12/28/realmadrid.alltimeXI/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Gary Breen

Gary Breen----Gary Breen---Gary Breen
    Gary Breen

Gary Breen

Gary Breen
    Gary Breen

Gary Breen
    Gary Breen
    Gary Breen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Schmeichel (Buffon)

Cafu (Thuram)
    Desailly (Koeman)
    Cannavaro (Nesta)
    Maldini (Lizarazu)

Xavi (Scholes)
    Vieira (Redondo)

Zidane (Henry)
    Bergkamp (Ronaldinho)
    Messi (C. Ronaldo)

Ronaldo (Batistuta)

Alternatives in brackets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

I'm older so....

Schmeichel
    Cafu-Desailly-Baresi-Maldini
    Matthäus
    Figo-Maradona-Platini-Giggs
    TheRealRonaldo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Buffon

Cafu---Baresi--Nesta---Maldini

Redondo
    Xavi

---Káká----Zidane----Messi---

--Ronaldo Luíz Nazário de Lima-

Subs:
    Iker
    Zanetti
    McGrath
    Keane
    Giggs
    Baggio
    Shevchenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

GK - Schmeichel - Nothing more needs to be said about this guy. Probably worth 15-20 points a season, at least.

RB - Cafu - Beyond peer in all my years watching football. As good defending as he was going forward.

CB - Hierro - Class act.

CB - McGrath - For all his personal demons, i've rarely seen a better centre-half.

LB - Maldini - Not much needs to be said, the ultimate defender pretty much.

CDM - Redondo - One of the most under-rated players of all time in mind, the man was a genius. Just look at that assist against United all those years ago.

RM - Messi - Best player in the world today, without peer.

LM - Giggs - The ultimate pro, consistently brilliant for years on end and still going strong.

CAM - Xavi - Mr.Barcelona, they are not the same without his simple, no nonsense but oh so effective style.

ST - C.Ronaldo - Like him or loathe him, he is the perfect footballer. Pace, power, skill, technique all rolled into one.

ST - Ronaldo - Although his career petered out rather pathetically, he is still the best striker I have ever seen in my years of watching football. An absolute beast in his prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

I can remember the '98 WC but I only really started following football around 2001 when Ireland were handing out beatins to Portugal and Holland :pac:
    Anyways, my team,

Oliver Kahn
    Cafu --- Ledley King --- Fabio Cannavaro --- Paulo Maldini
    Roy Keane --- Xavi
    Andres Iniesta --- Zinedine Zidane --- Lionel Messi
    Fernando Torres (at full tilt obv)

It was a toss up between Torres and the real Ronaldo, but I gave it to Torres on account that I have seen more of him. Ronaldinho is probably my favourite player of all time but I couldnt justify leaving out Iniesta, him and Xavi come as a package.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Sepp Maier (Oliver Kahn)

Bixente Lizarazu
    Juergen Kohler
    Franz Beckenbauer
    Paolo Maldini

Hristov Stoichkov
    Lothar Matthaeus
    Diego Maradona
    Lionel Messi

Gerd Mueller
    Marco van Basten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Kahn

Tassotti
    Baresi----Costacurta----Maldini

Xavi
    Zidane

Ronaldinho

Messi
    Ronaldo

Ronaldo - El Gordo

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Best squad of my lifetime :)

Buffon

Cafu---McGrath--Baresi---Maldini

Keane
    Xavi

Zidane
    -Messi
    C.Ronaldo
    Ronaldo

Subs: Buffon, Irwin, Costacurta, Makalele, Iniesta, Ronaldinho, Van Basten

Reserves: Casillas, Zanetti, Nesta, Viera, Figo, Baggio, Romario

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Schmeichel

Irwin---Baresi---Vidic---Maldini

Keane---Xavi

Maradona

Messi---Ronaldo---C.Ronaldo

Subs: Zidane, Van Basten, Gullitt, Redondo, Nesta

I think this team would win a game or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭dor83

Schmeichel

Zanetti
    Baresi----Bergomi----Maldini

Matthaeus
    Makelele

Zidane

C.Ronaldo
    Giggs

Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,947 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Schmeichel

Maldini----McGrath----Ferdinand
    Cafu

Keane
    Xavi

Giggs
    Ronaldo

Messi

Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Very similar to Kess;

Kahn

Cafu
    Baresi
    Hierro
    Maldini

Xavi
    Keane

--Messi
    Laudrup
    C. Ronaldo--

Ronaldo

Again, Michael Laudrup is the most underrated player of all time imo, up there with Zidane. That'd be an unbelievable team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Buffon

Cafu--Cannavaro--Maldini--Roberto Carlos

Xavi

Messi--Kaka--Zidane--Nedved

Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Schmeichel

Cafu
    Desailly
    Baresi
    Maldini

Keane
    Xavi

Messi
    Zidane
    Ronaldinho

Fat Ronaldo

Schmeichel
    Cafu
    Desailly
    Baresi
    Maldini

Keane
    Xavi

Messi
    Zidane----Ronaldinho----

Ronaldo

That team beats any other on its day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

schmeikal
    cafu---vidic----stam----maldini
    xavi

Keane----Zidane
    messi
    c ronaldo-
    ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

Buffon
    Thuram--Cannavaro--Nesta--Maldini
    Makelele

Xavi
    Zidane
    Messi
    Ronaldinho
    Ronaldo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Lehmann

Lauren
    Toure
    Campbell
    A.Cole

Gilberto Silva
    Vieira
    Fredrik ljungberg
    Pires

Henry
    Bergkamp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Seaneh wrote: »

Buffon

Cafu---Baresi--Nesta---Maldini

Redondo
    Xavi

---Káká----Zidane----Messi---

--Ronaldo Luíz Nazário de Lima-

Ah, a post from someone older than 25, who has seen football outside Man U :D

Me, I'd find it hard to leave out Van Basten, Platini, Maradona, Pele. But I'm really old....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Lehmann

Lauren
    Toure
    Campbell
    A.Cole

Gilberto Silva
    Vieira
    Fredrik ljungberg
    Pires

Henry
    Bergkamp

looks a good team, imagine the amount of champions leagues that team would have won:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

Kahn
    ----Zanetti Adams Nesta Maldini
    Ronaldhino Zidane Deschamps Nedved
    Henry Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Lehmann

Lauren
    Toure
    Campbell
    A.Cole

Gilberto Silva
    Vieira
    Fredrik ljungberg
    Pires

Henry
    Bergkamp

Pfft, no Pascal Cygan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Casillas
    Cafu
    McGrath
    Cannavaro
    Maldini
    Makelele
    Zidane
    Xavi
    Messi
    Ronaldo
    C. Ronaldo
    Casillas

Cafu   McGrath  Cannavaro  Maldini

Makelele

Xavi         Zidane

Messi                   C. Ronaldo

Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

some you you lads must be really young..........anyone ever hear of baresi?

Ah, a post from someone older than 25, who has seen football outside Man U :D

Me, I'd find it hard to leave out Van Basten, Platini, Maradona, Pele. But I'm really old....

I'm only 26.
    I haven't seen enough of Van Basten to be honest. was only 9 when he officially retired but in fairness he missed a lot of the season before too. So I was probably 7 when he was still playing at his real level, no way I can judge on that.
    Baresi on the other hand played until I was about 13, so I actually remember a lot of his games for Milan.

I can't remember seeing Platini at all!
    Maradona I only really remember the 94 world cup, the games he played he was immense, remember seeing him play for Napoli when I was about 7 and thinking it was mental that the other players couldn't get near him.

Pele, was retired before I was born.

Feck that, the amount of people picking Cannavaro is criminal. Amazingly over rated player, always has been. Nesta is head and shoulders ahead of him (not just in height either), I'd rate about 7 or 8 centre backs ahead of him from the last 20 years, easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

GK Buffon

LB Zanetti
    CB Baresi
    CB Maldini
    RB Cafu

RM C.Ronaldo
    CM Riquelme
    CM Xavi
    LM Messi

CF Ronaldo
    CF Romario

Riquelme, really?
    Ahead of players like Kaka, Zizou, Redondo?

Questionable to say the least.

Given that he is in four out of the first five teams mentioned in the thread and he pops up in quite a few other teams after that, I think it is safe to say that plenty of folk in the thread have heard of him and seen him play.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

No Del Piero?:eek:

Kahn

Baresi
    Nesta
    Hierro

Messi
    Redondo
    Del Piero
    Xavi
    Rivaldo

Ronaldo
    Raul

Seaneh wrote: »
    Riquelme, really?
    Ahead of players like Kaka, Zizou, Redondo?

Questionable to say the least.

Tis probably controversial but ive never been in awe of a player so much in my life. He bosses every single game he plays in. His performances in the Copa America 2007 were out of this world. Its a shame he had to go back to Argentina because of his mothers illness but im not gonna judge him on it. He single handedly got Villareal to the champions league Semis and unfortunately missed the peno that would of got them to the final.

dfx- wrote: »
    No Del Piero?:eek:

Kahn

Baresi
    Nesta
    Hierro

Messi
    Redondo
    Del Piero
    Xavi
    Rivaldo

Ronaldo
    Raul

Del Piero in midfield?:eek:

He'd be better than not being in the team at all:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Thats hard I'd go for something like this...

Buffon

Cafu----Nesta---Baresi
    Maldini

Matthaus---Redondo

---Messi
    Zidane----

Romario
    Ronaldo----

Strange looking formation but I had to fit them in some how.

Keane,Van Basten, Scholes,Riquelme,Xavi,Stam & Costacurta were all very hard to leave out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

dfx- wrote: »
    He'd be better than not being in the team at all:eek:

You seemed shocked thats he's not in many teams. Did you really think he would feature in that much ahead of people like Baggio,Ronaldo,Romario,Van Basten,Raul etc...?

tdv123 wrote: »
    You seemed shocked thats he's not in many teams. Did you really think he would feature in that much ahead of people like Baggio,Ronaldo,Romario,Van Basten,Raul etc...?

In my (biased) opinion, he's better than Baggio and Raul. It's debatable about the rest (except Ronaldo). At his best, Del Piero was unplayable. Best attacking Italian player of the last 30-40 years.

tdv123 wrote: »

Yes, very much so.

Not a single team has him in subs or squad or anything.

In my (biased) opinion, he's better than Baggio and Raul. It's debatable about the rest (except Ronaldo). At his best, Del Piero was unplayable. Best attacking Italian player of the last 30-40 years.

Gonna be controversial and say Totti was better :D