Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Females?

• 29-12-2010 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭

Wondering since airsoft is a mixed sport how come more women are not out. Like what could be done to get more in remember their was a girls night ages ago in some site but heard nothing from it after. Just think if we got more in would help the public image and give bit more diversity to the sport. However the question is how do we do it? Its not just down to the sites we as players can do our bit to? So any interesting suggestions or ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Women don´t generally want to play at guns etc.
    Its that simple, most women have better things to do.

Actually I was working in Dublin a few years back and a girl in work was more than excited when airsoft kicked off.
    But she stopped going after a few weeks. She said that it was all guys and they were weird or what have you and hitting on her constantly. (shes not even hot lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

paintball is still primarily male let alone when you throw in the military aspect of airsoft, airsoft just does not appeal to a female demographic and that is not really going to change , does not mean they do not play cork has a fair few female regulars

( this is not even a joke, but it does not help that every time i come across a female at a site half the males try to chat them up or do stupid thing to try and impress them, does not normal go down with the female or the rest of the players )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I'd like to see more females skirmish too.

I've very little interest in skirmishing myself being happy collecting but my girlfriend who's tried skirmishing actually liked it and wants to go again, ended up buying her an AEG of her own an M4 stubby killer :D

If there was more female players locally it would probably
    make her feel more at ease arriving at a site without being
    gawked at by the fella's

Whats totally weird is she does not really care about the type of guns or does not know a lot about them but somehow actually liked running about the place shooting people.

Last time the two of us went skirmishing, I left her off to wander the forests to shoot at people while I sat at a table chatting to people while BB's were flying all around the place. Only got off my lazy behind when one of the lads asked me to help. hee hee !
    ~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

As my female friends have said many times, proper toilets and somewhere to change would be a start.

The number of girls that care whether a Masada is better than a SCAR is tiny. That whole boasting thing is a turnoff for them, it makes us look like boys not men. Mostly they just want stuff that works and doesn't look stupid.

Unless their name is Christina, of course, in which case they want a MiniGun. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

There is a lot of lads bringing their girlfriends along, Within weeks of playing they are talking about guns as if it were makeup, Its gas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Mperrozzi

out off i guess 60 people in the office block there was 1 girl tonight , just shows you there are very few girls in airsoft but they are there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

Mperrozzi wrote: »
    out off i guess 60 people in the office block there was 1 girl tonight , just shows you there are very few girls in airsoft but they are there .

There was another, a first-timer who tried it for 20 minutes and just didn't like it (I had a brief chat with her about it because I'm a freaky stalker). I bet that happens a lot.

You know, I imagine women have exactly the same conversations about knitting or whatever. Or maybe they don't because they don't care. But why are you playing airsoft instead of knitting? Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

We have, Jess, Vicky, Maria, Orla, Bróna and Bróna (another Bróna) that polish girl whos name I don't know and one or two others who play regularly and we are always getting bookings with girls in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

There was another, a first-timer who tried it for 20 minutes and just didn't like it (I had a brief chat with her about it because I'm a freaky stalker). I bet that happens a lot.

You know, I imagine women have exactly the same conversations about knitting or whatever. Or maybe they don't because they don't care. But why are you playing airsoft instead of knitting? Exactly.
    Hey evil robot, self styled "freaky stalker", any ideas why she didn´t like it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭Arkslippy

Jess and her AK are a feckin tiny Target. There were at least 4 ladies last night (and a couple of guys who yelp like one too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

Hey evil robot, self styled "freaky stalker", any ideas why she didn´t like it?

I'm sure I've been styled that by others too. :)

She didn't actually mention what it was she didn't like about it, just that she expected she would because she's into outdoor stuff like triathlon and is still willing to give it a go outside. I agreed that outside is a different kettle of fish entirely and that the weekend-long hiking-&-camping style of games might appeal.
    Arkslippy wrote: »
    There were at least 4 ladies last night (and a couple of guys who yelp like one too)

Guilty. :) I have a big red welt front and centre on my mickey.

I hope ya didn't show her it!!!!!

That would put anyone off ;)

I hope ya didn't show her it!!!!!

That would put anyone off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Rasherz wrote: »
    Wondering since airsoft is a mixed sport how come more women are not out. Like what could be done to get more in remember their was a girls night ages ago in some site but heard nothing from it after. Just think if we got more in would help the public image and give bit more diversity to the sport. However the question is how do we do it? Its not just down to the sites we as players can do our bit to? So any interesting suggestions or ideas?

Why is there always this urge to "recruit" more woman to play airsoft?

If they come they come, if they dont they dont. People come to play the game on word of mouth or discovering the game through here or wherever.

Its a pretty lame excuse to get more female players so we can have a better image. Do you think our community is a bit sexist, some inequality perhaps?

The sport doesn't go recruiting genders or race or religions so it can boast about being "PC". It welcomes anyone willing to try and who finds out about it.

Sorry but that sounds really cringy and a real typical Irish Politically Correct Brigade thing to say.

I could just as easily say I can count on one hand the amount of black airsofters. It would be great for the public image if we went and recruited more black airsofters.

O no wait, it wouldn't. It would be daft and very condescending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

demotivational-posters-your-wieners.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I'd imagine it's kind of a self-perpetuating thing to a degree, too. It's mainly dudes who play, so it's mainly dudes who rope in other dudes to play.

I laughed, and then felt the frosty cold glare as the ghost of a suffragette scowled at me for letting the side down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

one word "Gizmo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Gatling wrote: »
    one word "Gizmo"

I count more than one name mentioned already in this thread Gatling. I could add a few more if I could be bothered but threads like this make me cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

The thread title is even a little bit weird..... :pac:

I propose we change it to "Sausage Fest?" :P

Seriously. Not many women play airsoft for the same reason not many men model. It's a male dominated sport. Always has, always will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭Thehandviolent

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

<snip>

comment deleted as its inappropriate. please curtail these comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

swiftblade wrote: »
    The thread title is even a little bit weird..... :pac:

Its good to know I'm not alone on that one...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Rasherz

TheDoc wrote: »

If they come they come, if they dont they dont. People come to play the game on word of mouth or discovering the game through here or wherever.

Its a pretty lame excuse to get more female players so we can have a better image. Do you think our community is a bit sexist, some inequality perhaps?

The sport doesn't go recruiting genders or race or religions so it can boast about being "PC". It welcomes anyone willing to try and who finds out about it.

Sorry but that sounds really cringy and a real typical Irish Politically Correct Brigade thing to say.

I could just as easily say I can count on one hand the amount of black airsofters. It would be great for the public image if we went and recruited more black airsofters.

There is an urge to recruit more as this is how a sport grows usually...... I said it would help the public image not the main reason for doing it. Its not about being PC as tbh i dont give a fu*k about that (only a public forum as i will be in trouble for not :p). The black community is very small in Ireland so this would not be a target for recruiting. Where as the figure of Irish women is much greater then men so is huge potential for expansion. btw apologies if the post offended you Doc.
    Just wondering why not, the initial idea may not apeal they may find it good craic to run around and shoot things (speedsoft is not really that military in a way) like im sure some of you find knitting most enjoyable ;)
    Note: I was going to call the thread ''Sausage Fest'' but then you really would think i was taking the piss. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Spitfire_24

well said! i've been airsofting for 2 years now and love it.
    airsoft is something you either love or you dont, simple as. its not a gender issue.
    i'm not normally a ranter but these threads make me cringe. on the site where i usually play i'm not seen as being "the girl", i'm a player and thats the way it should be. i've been on sites where i've seen rules been bent for new-comers "because she's a girl" and have even had the indignity of being told to "stay at the back sweetheart, we'll manage this..." as well as "i can't believe you shot the girl, man!" its this condescending attitude that needs to change.
    i'm not tarring everyone with the same brush, i know 90% of players out there dont give a damn if you're a girl or not. but lads, seriously, if a girl goes airsofting, we know we're gonna get hit, we know we're gonna get our clothes dirty. treat us like you would any other player, dont think we're damsels in distress in need of protection and likewise don't try and butch us up either... we dont need to specifically target women to encourage them to join, just treat us like regular players when we do turn up!!

2865_1138209141755_1423187523_30354840_268280_n.jpg

Shes a legendary creature in the block.

No one notices the 8ft Australian who carries her bags for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭the monk5845

G&G are embracing the feminine side of airsoft
    http://arniesairsoft.co.uk/news2/17929

Laugh now, but when the time comes to take the Playboy Mansion, you'll be sorry you weren't prepared.

Rasherz wrote: »
    There is an urge to recruit more as this is how a sport grows usually...... I said it would help the public image not the main reason for doing it. Its not about being PC as tbh i dont give a fu*k about that (only a public forum as i will be in trouble for not :p). The black community is very small in Ireland so this would not be a target for recruiting. Where as the figure of Irish women is much greater then men so is huge potential for expansion. btw apologies if the post offended you Doc.
    Just wondering why not, the initial idea may not apeal they may find it good craic to run around and shoot things (speedsoft is not really that military in a way) like im sure some of you find knitting most enjoyable ;)
    Note: I was going to call the thread ''Sausage Fest'' but then you really would think i was taking the piss. :)

A you didnt offend me at all.

I just think we have been down this sort of road before. You can't force evolution. And you can't force growth.

It is best to let it naturally evolve.

As Ozcam already pointed out about toilet issues, might be a weird point but then again I'm grand pissing into a skull, where as a lady wouldn't. Then again there is not need for sites to be investing in seperate area of changing and sanitation because there really isn't the numbers to force that change.

There are plenty of woman that play the game and plenty post around here from time to time and check in.

I don't even think its down to a " girls don't like guns".

There has been some good work done in the area of female teams ( Ask Oz he is part of one of them ) and the Artist Formally known as the Warehouse had (might still have) a female team and encouraged female only games.

The sport is really diverse and will continue to be, but going out to literally be like

"We need to recruit woman to show equality" or "We need more black players so we arnt being all racist" thats just epic cotton wool syndrome and there is no need ;)

People want to come play they simply just will. It is not like we have an issue where woman ARN'T allowed play, that would be an issue worth directly addressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

5310368662_88a5f870aa_z.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

You can't force evolution. And you can't force growth.

Doc, you know you're doing your reputation an awful lot of damage with all this sense you're talking lately, right ?

I don't know that anybody's suggesting forcing anything - snicker - simply that it might be worth having a look round to see if there's anything putting folks off, that could be easily avoided. Be they ethnic minorities, people with rocket launching robot arms, centaurs or even females, there's no harm in taking a moment to think about it.

As noted previously, for instance, people who play airsoft now might not have any problem with taking a leak in the skulls of their fallen enemies; but some of us prefer to do our victory urination in private, the way God intended.

I wouldn't urinate in the skulls of my fallen enemies.

I'm pretty sure even the office block don't allow that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Rasherz

Fair points,i know we are not forcing a revolution or anything nothing grows that fast and im not expecting it to. Really whoever we get into the sport black, girls or mormons at the end of the day we are all in camo and masks so anyone is still going to see us as armed and dangerous (i think we have a very good reputation in the public eye compared to what they could think of us anyway). Just a different way of looking at the way the sport could expand in numbers as thinking about it there is a greater number of women then men in Ireland so it has some sort of logic behind why not seeing if this would be a good route to persue for the sites and sport or not. :)
    Agreed the toilets are in issue in some sites, not all though. I go before i leave to some but really it just ads to the military experience :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Lads & lassies, this is valid topic for discussion. Please keep the joviality & funny pics for the off topic thread. Thx.

p.s, @ some of those that reported a certain post. Glasshouses & stones. :)

but some of us prefer to do our victory urination in private, the way God intended.

300-20070207113302707.jpg

God intended us , with 100% certainty, to do nasty stuff to skulls of blokes we have just ripped asunder.

Thats why he made Spartans....topless Spartans....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

I think that it would be very dangerous to encourage more females into the sport because that would usually mean wives/girlfriends and then they would know how much kit you really have and how much it really cost and then there would be hell to pay.This is not meant as a funny statement , I am deadly serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭r0n0c

se conman wrote: »
    I think that it would be very dangerous to encourage more females into the sport because that would usually mean wives/girlfriends and then they would know how much kit you really have and how much it really cost and then there would be hell to pay.

The flip side of this is once they're hooked they wind up spending as much as you if not more!!

r0n0c wrote: »
    The flip side of this is once they're hooked they wind up spending as much as you if not more!!

And that would be good, how?
    Just means less money for us to spend on our kit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Dread-Lock wrote: »
    And that would be good, how?
    Just means less money for us to spend on our kit....
    Not to mention the "we have to go home" "...Why?" "he's wearing the same thing as me" :P

funny mode is on.

Someone wondered who the girl with the MiniGun is: that's Chrissie, the Chief NAG. Standing in my avatar, holding my P226 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭kimmyt1987

Cringe! :)

Yep, Im a female player... One of the few here!
    Prob jush re-hashing previous points but how and ever.....
    Girls in Airsoft are much more prolific across the waters in England, The States etc,
    we are rather lacking in this front. I dont mind being in a minority in this regard and to be honest I wouldn't go about actively recruiting girls to make up the numbers... There was talk a while ago about trying to recruit all female teams, something I don't particularly agree with! Why an all female team? A bit sexist methinks! If a team was described as male only, I wouldn't be too impressed!!! Anyone who is that closeminded and sexist would not be taken seriously by me!

There was a girls night in the Warehouse which was great craic, a chance for the ladies to come in and give it a shot without being dominated by the lads! :) It was along the lines of the hugely popular free days at sites, Get Out and Skirmish etc! It was a chance to bring in fresh meat and spread Airsoft to those outside our current community. As stated before, its about the evolution of the sport and getting new players in, But nothing more came of this. A few of us took part in a photoshoot for the lovely lads in Take Aim, "Girls in Airsoft" section too which showed that there is a female presence out there to those who would contemplate getting into Airsoft but maybe put off by the current overload of "macho" lads :D This is where the likes of NAG and Christina have been working tirelessly with, creating a more inviting environment for the ladies and providing links to help those interested in the sport. There are plenty of lovely lads involved with NAG too though, as OzCam is proof of. I know when I started up a couple years ago I had just dropped in to wait for the other half to finish up a session, watched from upstairs and immediately wanted in on the action! However I felt so out of place that I didnt join in! (The urge was so great however that I returned for my fist game the next day!)

The issue of facilities is one often brought up in regards to this gender discussion, most sites Iv been to have an aul portaloo or toilet somewhere on site and I can see that this could be an issue to the ladies. I have never minded roughing it a bit and my favourite holiday is still a week in a tent camping and catching fish off somewhere nice and remote but thats just me! My favourite site has no toilets, Im not too bothered but I can see how some would obviously! (Though, I hear camp Lava is to be fully equipped with sattelite tv, plumbing and hot showering facilities for my next hostage game, aint that right Stone? ;) ...)

I brought along a few female friends to the girls night in The Warehouse (Airsoft Reloaded) and we had a few games. The girls gave it mixed reviews, one HATED it, another two loved it but never came back out again due to lack money, us college bums hey. :) Id like to get more friends Airsofting be they males or female. I am an airsofter. I never expected special treatment for being female and luckily I rarely have. AON, the guys I started gaming with, treated me like one of the lads from the beginning, with all the abuse and piss taking that comes with it. I wouldnt have it any other way though! The team building, craic and smack talk are what makes a day's skirmishing for me! :D

As for the spending money on kit, feck that....
    Im a poor student but still buy guns to put on the gun rack in the hall!
    I know exactly how much he spends on gear and encourage him by funding birthday/christmas pressies too :)

And Moggser? Back to the kitchen????
    Last time Im feeding you! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

Kimmy......Kimmy... Kimmikin's my darling Kimmy
    If it wasn't for this wonderful kitchen you'd not be able to
    Supply me with them snacks.... Now less yak and more snack:) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭kimmyt1987

Love you too Moggy ya beast :D

• This content has been removed.

AGB_Ghost wrote: »

he ranted on how awesome it would be to play with females, I agree it would be a new experience but im not begging god to make some girl play with me

Ah, reminds me of being a schoolboy.

;) jk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭Cool Breeze

(This is a repeat of a post I made on 'The Office Block' thread)

My partner and I regularly attend The Office Block: and the venue is bloody awesome! We can't say enough good things about the site: and the crew who run it are a great group of people.

I'm using a pseudonym on boards.ie, for the purpose of anonymity: but I'm a lanky Aussie bloke (this should give away my identity to those who know me).

I wanted to put out a request for even more lady/women shooters to attend the office block.

It's a terrific venue: we plan to attend tomorrow (15th Jan) - hope to see you there!

I wanted to put out a request for even more lady/women shooters to attend the office block.

May I just ask why? Why are you requesting more women to skirmish? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Dread-Lock wrote: »
    May I just ask why? Why are you requesting more women to skirmish? :confused:
    A sense of pervertness in my opinion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Maybe to try make his other half feel better while playing the sport knowing that theres other females playing aswell ?