Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pre Season Tournaments (McGrath, O Byrne, Walsh, McKenna, Waterford Crystal etc)

• 28-12-2010 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭

Its almost time for these to kick off again, they are always interesting, usually have a few new rules tried out and you get to see a lot of fringe players. They often throw up some surprise results - college teams beating county teams, Kilkenny beaten last year by Offally and Laois (in hurling) and are a useful indicator ahead of the league.

Are there any games on this weekend? I know the munster competitions dont start till 9th Jan with the McGrath Cup and the Waterford Crystal hurling isnt on till 16th Jan. Wont be too many at the games anyway, apart from a few hardy heads and the photographer lads from 'Season of Sundays'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

To answer my own questions it seems like all these competitions are starting Sunday week 9th January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I'm looking forward to our away trip to Westmeath on 9th January if I can go.I love the O Byrne Cup because expectations are out the window and the pressure isn't really on.Have to say last years O Byrne Cup was entertaining with the game against Wexford and the two games against Meath.Even though the quality may not have been the best,it was epic and exciting.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

As far as I know we're against UCD first. Interested to see what kind of team Banty sends out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Wingman2010

blackbelt wrote: »
    I'm looking forward to our away trip to Westmeath on 9th January if I can go.I love the O Byrne Cup because expectations are out the window and the pressure isn't really on.Have to say last years O Byrne Cup was entertaining with the game against Wexford and the two games against Meath.Even though the quality may not have been the best,it was epic and exciting.

I'm looking forward to this game also. But I'll be following on the home team :D Watch out for Heslin! If you were at the Leinster U21 final last year you would have seen him in action. Going to be a star player. I know this is over stated sometimes but I have seen this lad playing senior football since he was 16 and he was the best player on the pitch in most of the games. Catching every ball from kickout's and scoring points from midfield. Unfortunately he was over in Australia last year's on trials and it would be a disaster for Westmeath if they lose this player.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

For the Waterford Crystal Cup does anyone know if the pitches, or even which team has home advantage is confirmed yet? :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

deise_girl wrote: »
    For the Waterford Crystal Cup does anyone know if the pitches, or even which team has home advantage is confirmed yet? :)

I presume first team named have home advantage

http://munster.gaa.ie/fixtures/waterford-crystal-cup-senior-hurling-2010/

I'm looking forward to this game also. But I'll be following on the home team :D Watch out for Heslin! If you were at the Leinster U21 final last year you would have seen him in action. Going to be a star player. I know this is over stated sometimes but I have seen this lad playing senior football since he was 16 and he was the best player on the pitch in most of the games. Catching every ball from kickout's and scoring points from midfield. Unfortunately he was over in Australia last year's on trials and it would be a disaster for Westmeath if they lose this player.

Do you have any lineup for the Westmeath team?I would imagine a lot of the u21s will feature on both sides.Watch out for Ciaran Dorney from St Vincents and Dean Rock.

Is David Duffy playing for Westmeath?

Do you have any lineup for the Westmeath team?I would imagine a lot of the u21s will feature on both sides.Watch out for Ciaran Dorney from St Vincents and Dean Rock.

Is David Duffy playing for Westmeath?

Heslin is actually playing with UCD in the O'Byrne cup. He stood out for them last year when they won the freshers. Ian Coffey is another massive prospect. A star underage soccer player but luckily he is sticking to the gaa for now. We actually have a lot of promising players as you might have seen in our run in the u21's last year. Duffy is out injured. A few of the hurlers, Conor Jordan and Brendan Murtagh may get tried at midfield but I don't think there up to it. Murtagh was previously tried in 2005 by Paudi.

Dean Rock looks a good prospect for the dubs. Can Supples challenge Cluxton?

Heslin is actually playing with UCD in the O'Byrne cup. He stood out for them last year when they won the freshers. Ian Coffey is another massive prospect. A star underage soccer player but luckily he is sticking to the gaa for now. We actually have a lot of promising players as you might have seen in our run in the u21's last year. Duffy is out injured. A few of the hurlers, Conor Jordan and Brendan Murtagh may get tried at midfield but I don't think there up to it. Murtagh was previously tried in 2005 by Paudi.

Dean Rock looks a good prospect for the dubs. Can Supples challenge Cluxton?

I think he can but I would have reservations over Supples kickouts.He is a super goalkeeper though and I would love to see Cluxton challenged a bit more.I actually can't believe Cluxton didn't know where that Cork penalty was going.Knew it was going into the bottom corner and thats where Cluxtons weakness lies Im afraid.

Yes I did read that Duffy did his hamstring in.He's a relative of mine so I'd be interested in how he gets on.He'd be one of the more experienced players on the team at this stage as he has been on the panel since 2005/2006 and still only around 25.His height is certainly an advantag that Westmeath could do with now.

I'll be travelling over on Sunday.Can you recommend any nice restaurants for lunch?Cheers.:D

I think he can but I would have reservations over Supples kickouts.He is a super goalkeeper though and I would love to see Cluxton challenged a bit more.I actually can't believe Cluxton didn't know where that Cork penalty was going.Knew it was going into the bottom corner and thats where Cluxtons weakness lies Im afraid.

Yes I did read that Duffy did his hamstring in.He's a relative of mine so I'd be interested in how he gets on.He'd be one of the more experienced players on the team at this stage as he has been on the panel since 2005/2006 and still only around 25.His height is certainly an advantag that Westmeath could do with now.

I'll be travelling over on Sunday.Can you recommend any nice restaurants for lunch?Cheers.:D

It would be no hard for Supples to get a few games in the league. I'd imagine Gilroy may give him a run out. Though he seems to favour Savage.

David has been around for a long time and is still quite young. He really is the senior midfielder now and more than likely he will be partnering Heslin come the league/championship once he recovers from injury. I think he was even called up one stage when was still in minors. He had a great league in 2008 when we beat Monaghan away and won divison 2. But it didn't work out for him in croker against Dublin that summer. We lost by 2 point's, that game hurt a lot :mad: Dessie missed so many frees.

I'd recommend the Annebrook hotel or Danny Byrne's pub. Both are in the centre of town and less than 5 minutes walk to Cusack Park.

Will Keaney commit to the hurler's? I would love to see him throwing in his lot with them and it would give Dublin hurling a big boost if a big name footballer goes with the hurling instead.

It would be no hard for Supples to get a few games in the league. I'd imagine Gilroy may give him a run out. Though he seems to favour Savage.

David has been around for a long time and is still quite young. He really is the senior midfielder now and more than likely he will be partnering Heslin come the league/championship once he recovers from injury. I think he was even called up one stage when was still in minors. He had a great league in 2008 when we beat Monaghan away and won divison 2. But it didn't work out for him in croker against Dublin that summer. We lost by 2 point's, that game hurt a lot :mad: Dessie missed so many frees.

I'd recommend the Annebrook hotel or Danny Byrne's pub. Both are in the centre of town and less than 5 minutes walk to Cusack Park.

Will Keaney commit to the hurler's? I would love to see him throwing in his lot with them and it would give Dublin hurling a big boost if a big name footballer goes with the hurling instead.

I would like to see Keaney go with the hurlers to be honest.At one stage when Ballyboden won the Dublin Championship,he was arguably the best forward in Dublin at the time but I think it is the case that Dublin has an abundance of quality forwards in the county that Keaney can be replaced by an equally good forward if not better forward and his scoring ability up front for the hurlers would make Dublin a stronger force.We wouldn't have lost to Antrim I'd imagine.:mad:

I think Westmeath will be on the way up.A fresh young panel may be what the doctor ordered.Westmeath had been living off the 2004-2006 panel for far too long and with the injection of the u21s coming through,a strong Westmeath side would make Leinster more interesting and competitive.

Paddy O' Rourke looks like he's gonna be given a go outfield this season. Good idea in my opinion as the guy is absolutely huge, has a massive kick and plays outfield for Skryne. Interesting to see if he plays in midfield or half forward.
    Good to see David Bray and Micky Burke back in the fold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Ian Coffey is another massive prospect. A star underage soccer player but luckily he is sticking to the gaa for now.

From what I hear he might be sticking to soccer again

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    From what I hear he might be sticking to soccer again

That's a pity if he is not available. He was top notch for the u21's last year. Always looks like getting goals.

I would like to see Keaney go with the hurlers to be honest.At one stage when Ballyboden won the Dublin Championship,he was arguably the best forward in Dublin at the time but I think it is the case that Dublin has an abundance of quality forwards in the county that Keaney can be replaced by an equally good forward if not better forward and his scoring ability up front for the hurlers would make Dublin a stronger force.We wouldn't have lost to Antrim I'd imagine.:mad:

I think Westmeath will be on the way up.A fresh young panel may be what the doctor ordered.Westmeath had been living off the 2004-2006 panel for far too long and with the injection of the u21s coming through,a strong Westmeath side would make Leinster more interesting and competitive.

The venue has changed for this game. At st lomans football club now which is just off the m4 at the devlin junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

McKenna Cup games have been called off due to the weather.

Meath - UCD game called off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GAA_PUNTER

According to Sportsnewsireland the Offaly match is off along wit the Meath match, They are also doing some live score updates, Cant see RTE having any decent updates today

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2011/01/09/obyrne-cup-fbd-connacht-league-live-score-updates-results-sunday-9th-january-2011/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

http://plixi.com/p/68883461

Disgrace that the Dublin game was called off only 30 minutes before throw in when you look at the state of the pitch.

The people who make these decision would want to cop on and understand what travel expenses, time off work, and other disruption means to fans before they hold out unlikely hope to play a game that was never going to be on. Disgraceful in this day and age.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

I was down there with blackbelt a shambles is the only way to describle it. The best part is that "a local ref" passed the pitch playable this morning. The offical ref called it off at 1.15pm. It was obvous from just looking at the pitch that it was unplayable.

What is it with the gaa they show no respect to their own players and supporters! The game is refixed for the same venue on tuesday night 8pm. I for one will not be travelling.

I drove down myself... and then back :mad:

That's very bad form alright.
    Does anyone know when the Meath game is rescheduled for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

That's very bad form alright.
    Does anyone know when the Meath game is rescheduled for?

Tuesday at 7.30 according to Aertel anyway.

Stevecw wrote: »
    Tuesday at 7.30 according to Aertel anyway.
    Balls I'm gonna have to miss that one :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭hoganpoly

Anyone at the Laois vs Wicklow game ,one point win for Wicklow :mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Today's results/postponements
    Weekend GAA Fixtures/Results

Dr McKenna Cup:
    Armagh P-P Antrim
    Derry P-P Monaghan
    Tyrone P-P Donegal
    Fermanagh P-P UUJ 

Cavan P-P Queen's University
    Down P-P St. Mary's

O'Byrne Cup:

Carlow 5-13 Kilkenny 0-08
    Kildare 0-16 Longford 0-08
    Laois 1-09 Wicklow 1-10
    Louth 2-15 Athlone IT 0-04
    Meath P-P UCD
    Offaly P-P DCU
    Westmeath P-P Dublin
    Wexford 0-04 DIT 2-18

FBD League:

Leitrim P-P Mayo
    NUIG 0-11 IT Sligo 0-10
    Roscommon P-P GMIT
    Sligo 1-10 Galway 2-09

McGrath Cup:

Cork 0-19 WIT 0-05
    Kerry 1-14 ITT 1-13
    Tipperary 2-14 UL 0-13
    Clare 1-13 UCC 0-13

Keogh Cup:
    Fingal 2-11 Trinity 1-09

What Mullet said.

A complete joke.Westmeath County Board and officials should be embarassed and ashamed for what they did to the fans today.According to some reports,fans paid money into the venue and weren't refunded their gate money once it was official.They were told it would be valid for Tuesdays game.

Thank God I didn't go in early.I drove right back home the minute I found out.Very disappointed.I will be lodging a formal complaint with the DCB and Leinster Council.Westmeath should be punished and I think moving the game to Parnell Park is adequate with a refund to those who were unfortunate to hand over any cash.

I will be lodging a formal complaint with the DCB and Leinster Council.
    Snap.

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Snap.

Phone and email. Did you see the pitch?There was never a chance of it going ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Far from impressed with how we were treated today.

Did it ever cross the idiot who was taking the money at the gate's mind to go into the bar and refund us while we contributed to his club's coffers by having a few pints? Did it F**K? I might be having a quiet word with that man on Tuesday night if we head down.

Will still be putting in a complaint to the Westmeath County Board as well as the Leinster Council. It wasn't as if there were a shedload of people down for the match anyway!

dcr22B wrote: »
    Far from impressed with how we were treated today.

Did it ever cross the idiot who was taking the money at the gate's mind to go into the bar and refund us while we contributed to his club's coffers by having a few pints? Did it F**K? I might be having a quiet word with that man on Tuesday night if we head down.

Will still be putting in a complaint to the Westmeath County Board as well as the Leinster Council. It wasn't as if there were a shedload of people down for the match anyway!

Well you see the way those idiots saw it,the jackeens may have spent some money in the area so why would it enter their little minds to announce it.By the way,I found it strange that there were apparently no Westmeath fans about,not so apparent given the lack of colours this time of year and about 100 Dublin fans.

Is the rescheduled game in Mullingar or Parnell Pk on Tuesday?

Same venue,St Lomans.....for now!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Refixed for tuesday night Mullingar St Lomans 8pm. Shambolic showing by westmeath today. Carpark was full of ice, someone could have had a nasty fall. Pitch was frozen for the last 2 days how they were let make a decision so late is beyond me. I see other games were called off mid morning.

Mullet wrote: »
    Refixed for tuesday night Mullingar St Lomans 8pm. Shambolic showing by westmeath today. Carpark was full of ice, someone could have had a nasty fall. Pitch was frozen for the last 2 days how they were let make a decision so late is beyond me. I see other games were called off mid morning.

Yeah, my local club were due to have a Junior B final this morning in Ballinacarrigy but that got pulled aswell. Not sure when it was cancelled, I only heard at lunch time but I think the throw in was origonally 11:30am. Something like the 6th time its been called off.

What Mullet said.

A complete joke.Westmeath County Board and officials should be embarassed and ashamed for what they did to the fans today.According to some reports,fans paid money into the venue and weren't refunded their gate money once it was official.They were told it would be valid for Tuesdays game.

Thank God I didn't go in early.I drove right back home the minute I found out.Very disappointed.I will be lodging a formal complaint with the DCB and Leinster Council.Westmeath should be punished and I think moving the game to Parnell Park is adequate with a refund to those who were unfortunate to hand over any cash.

Not a bad shout having it in Parnell Park. Reading on Hoganstand, one poor Dublin fan travelled from Derry to watch the game only to be told it was off when he got there. I was disappointed the Meath game was called off but at least it was announced hours before the game so no one had to leave their houses.
    By the way, isn't the pitch at St. Loman's an all weather pitch?
    Wait, were you not even refunded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

I heard those vicious rumours too Hammer Archer that the Loman's pitch was All-Weather, but at 12 this morning, you couldn't even see the pitch it was that covered.

Absolute joke that;

1. The Westmeath County Board didn't have the courtesy to postpone the game yesterday.

2. Loman's Club officials collected money and didn't give it back to everyone.

3. The referee only appeared at 1.10 to inspect the pitch, when it was clearly unplayable all day.

Wait, were you not even refunded?

Yup, a signed A4 sheet guarantees me "free" entry to Tuesday night's game :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Yup, a signed A4 sheet guarantees me "free" entry to Tuesday night's game :rolleyes:

FFS did you ever hear the likes of that? Surprised it wasn't on a yellow post-it.I know it'll help get it off your chests but do ye seriously think something will ever come of writing to the DCC and Leinster Council. Do ye not know that we are only 'fans' and don't count for much.Disgraceful in this day and age that something like that can happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

I love how they just presume eveyone who was available to travel on a sunday is also available to get down to Mullingar after work on a tuesday night ;)

Disgraceful behaviour from the organisers and the club should be punished by the competition organisers for not offering refunds.

Thanks feck I decided not to go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

I'm sure that has to be some breach of consumer rights.

The reason they couldn't offer refunds on the gate I suspect* was that half those in there hadn't paid anyway. so they would end up "refunding" far more than had paid in the first instance.

*I have no evidence to support this claim only anecdotes from lads that reckon they have never paid into the likes of league or O'Byrne Cup matches.

whatnext wrote: »
    *I have no evidence to support this claim only anecdotes from lads that reckon they have never paid into the likes of league or O'Byrne Cup matches.

Your probably right as unless there were ticket stubs there would be no way of telling. Lomans wouldn't be the hardest place in the world to get in to!

Well, in that case, we should have been handed the "programmes" on entry into the car park as proof of payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Don't the gate receipts go the injured players fund for the O'Byrne cup?
    If so people sneaking in without paying should be ashamed of themselves.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Just catching up with the news, it is certainly very questionabe how a local ref can pass a pitch as playable when it was clearly froaen - beggars belief to be honest.
    I know the GAA is an amateur association but handing out signed A4 sheets of paper is just laughable.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I know the GAA is an amateur association but handing out signed A4 sheets of paper is just laughable.

I'm just hoping that if a similar situation is going to potentially arising tomorrow night that they call it off before we leave Dublin.

Just been confirmed that tonight's match is 100% ON!

I just contacted the Westmeath County Board and they have confirmed that the match is definitely on.

I asked the lady in the office when would a final call be made on it definitely going ahead and her response was "Ah sure, it's a lovely day down here. It should be grand".

I hope for her sake (and those in charge down at St. Loman's) that she's right!

I just contacted the Westmeath County Board and they have confirmed that the match is definitely on.

I asked the lady in the office when would a final call be made on it definitely going ahead and her response was "Ah sure, it's a lovely day down here. It should be grand".

I hope for her sake (and those in charge down at St. Loman's) that she's right!

Ha yeah at midday.I certainly won't be going.Even if I was in the position too.Tonight it is supposed to drop to between -2 and +2 degrees.So if the temperatures don't drop that sharp beforehand,you my be ok.No snow forecasted I don't think so you should be ok but I'd still be a bit weary.

Thread carefully man.Hope it does go ahead.I don't think they can realistically cancel it after Sundays disappointment.

I have my Hitec walking shoes if they need a sub :D Seriously need a good run out myself ahead of our game on Saturday night! :(