Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Squad:6N/Wolfhounds Discussion Thread **Mod Warning. Read OP Before Posting**

• 27-12-2010 08:30PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

MOD WARNING

CaptainBlackbeard, danthefan, stejkenny; banned one week.

The last couple of pages on this thread are an absolute joke. I've had enough of the niggle that's crept back into the forum over the past few weeks/months and the interpersonal crap between some users. If you cant debate civilly and rationally without descending to juvenile playground tactics and dragging up LvM crap, don't bother your hole contributing here, not interested.

We've got a massive weekend of Euro rugby coming up and I'm not having the forum made a bollix of by eejits who are more in interested in scoring cheap points off each other than genuinely debating the game. I'm going back to zero tolerance for the next few weeks to get the forum back on a even keel.

I am going to pick my team for the opening match based on form,

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. MOD
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. Darcy
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. G.Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,661 ✭✭✭✭phog

Will those players still be in form and unnjured by the time the 6Ns actually kicks off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

phog wrote: »
    Will those players still be in form and unnjured by the time the 6Ns actually kicks off.

Good effort!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

based on form?:confused::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,661 ✭✭✭✭phog

Bugnug wrote: »
    Good effort!:rolleyes:

I just dont understand why these threads have to surface every so often, there is always a loss of form and injuries in the lead up to internationals.

phog wrote: »
    I just dont understand why these threads have to surface every so often, there is always a loss of form and injuries in the lead up to internationals.

They appear because it's that time of year. The 6N kicks of in about 5 weeks so the squad will be announced in about a week or so. If your not interested leave it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

It's hard to say with no squad available and with some important players currently out injured. I'd say it'll be similiar enough to the starting XV against New Zealand - disappointing though that may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Bit early to discuss this, atm my team would be:

Healy
    Cronin
    Ross
    POC (he'll be back)
    Cullen
    Ferris
    SOB
    Heaslip
    ?
    Sexton
    Earls (awaits bugnug's response ;))
    D'Arcy
    BOD
    Bowe
    Fitzgerald

Varley
    Court
    DOC/Toner
    Wallace
    ?
    ROG
    G Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Mostly agree with thomond.

Strings to start at 9 - he is by some distance the best SH in the country.

I'd pop Trimble in at 11, choose Toner over DOC, put Kearney in over Murphy, Reddan on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

tolosenc wrote: »
    I'd pop Trimble in at 11, choose Toner over DOC, put Kearney in over Murphy, Reddan on the bench.

Kearney is injured and IIRC he will miss the first few 6N games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

1. Cian Healy
    2. Sean Cronin
    3. Mike Ross
    4. Leo Cullen
    5. Dan Tuohy
    6. Stephen Ferris
    7. Sean O'Brien
    8. Jamie Heaslip
    9. Eoin Reddan
    10. Jonathan Sexton
    11. Keith Earls
    12. Gordon Darcy
    13. Brian O'Driscoll
    14. Tommy Bowe
    15. Luke Fitzgerald

16.Varley
    17. Court
    18. Toner
    19. Leamy/Wallace
    20. Boss
    21. O'Gara
    22. McFadden

I still think Fitzy should be tried at fullback. Earls for me has proven he is a great finisher. Ross has to start. I like the intensity Reddan brings to the back-line and I also like the effect it has when Boss comes on late in the game. That said, I'd be happy for Boss to start and Reddan to come on. Tuohy for me has been immense. I didn't put MOD on the bench even though he is playing well because of the combination of trying to blood youth and the fact that before the AI he was playing well also. SOB has to start. Can't decide between Leamy or Wallace on the bench. I haven't been too impressed with either and if I'm honest I'd prefer if Ferris wen't off and SOB shifted thus Wallace coming in at 7 rather than Heaslip going off to allow Leamy to come on. The McFadden choice is probably one than I'm on my own with, but he can cover 12/13/11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Right now IMO:

1.Healy
    2.Varley
    3.Ross
    4.DoC
    5.Cullen
    6.Ferris
    7.SOB
    8.Heaslip
    9.Stringer
    10.Sexton
    11.Earls
    12.D'arcy
    13.BOD
    14.Bowe
    15.Murphy

16.Cronin
    17.Court
    18.Ryan
    19.Leamy
    20.Reddan
    21.ROG
    22.Trimble

This would change depending on things such as whether POC comes back in form and whether he's match fit. Same for Luke Fitzgerald (I'd put him at 15.) Does anyone know when he and Kearney are due back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

tolosenc wrote: »
    Mostly agree with thomond.

Strings to start at 9 - he is by some distance the best SH in the country.

after the AI kearney shouldnt be near the first 15, luke or murphy please

outwest wrote: »
    after the AI kearney shouldnt be near the first 15, luke or murphy please

If he'd just look for the pass/offload he would improve his game so much.
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. MOD
    6. Ferris

I glossed over this in the OP. Are/were you high? MOD?!

Risteard wrote: »
    Does anyone know when he and Kearney are due back?

Luke should be available for selection after the Connacht game if everything goes according to plan, there hasn't been any details on Kearney though.

Hopefully we'll see Stringer/Reddan at 9 anyway. Whatever about TOL/Boss's qualities for other games, against Italy we need to play a fast tempo game, something TOL really seems to struggle with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 CornWallises38

Okay here it goes,

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. Stringer
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Fitzgerald

16. Varley
    17. Court
    18. Toner
    19. Wallace
    20. Reddan
    21. O'Gara
    22. Murphy

• 1. Healy
    2. Varley - We have limited cover here considering gametime and injuries. Cronin can take this spot with a good few weeks though. Same goes for Best.
    3. Ross
    4. Tuohy - Only lock we have with great hands and serious power in the engine. Pretty much just a back rower with more torque.
    5. Cullen/POC/DOC - Cullen playing consistently well, POC needs gametime to get back into the national setup imo. DOC playing pretty well though, silly ADHD penalties really hurting him these days.
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip
    9. Stringer - Stringer/Sexton combo was the only worthwhile bit of information to come from the AIs imo.
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble - Looking very lively in all the HEC games, hasn't been lethal enough in a green Jersey, feel he is coming back into the picture though. Earls a very close second with the potential to overtake him if he ups his gametime/scores in coming weeks.
    12. Darcy
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. G.Murphy - Limited here again due to injuries to other back 3 options. Murphy's never really done it for Ireland, which is a great shame, as he's in incredibly clever player. Always able to fill the 15 jersey admirably though.

QED

Don't think playing DOC and Tuohy together in the 2nd row would be too smart. Neither are good enough in the lineout / lineout callers (leaders) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

1.-HEALY-hopefully his scrumagging will kept going well, we all know how good he is with ball in hand.

2.-CRONIN----if he doesnt step up fully this time varley should get the next game, really as to hold his nerves and throw decent line out ball against a team like italy.

3--ROSS--- scrum

4-CULLEN-- good work rate usually

5- POC OR TONER-- we need one of theses two for lien out duty

6-FERRIS- what a tank, its a pity he gets injured so much

7- SOB- didn't step up against samoa, but no one did in that match, expect big things from him.

8- HEASLIP- finishes off a potentially lethal back row!

9- I honestly dont know, any one of the irish 9s could have a absolutely crap or a brilliant game.

10- SEXTON- sorry but its no debate for me

11- MCFADDEN-- yes you read right, would love to see him given the chance, he really played great against clermont (EARLS OR TRIMBLE OTHERWISE)

12- DARCY- played great so far this year

13 -BOD--

14-- BOWE-- although he has been quiet enough recently, needs to remind us why we love him so much

15--KEARNEY-- I think people are being harsh on this dude, he was on onlot of people's world 15 last year.

I wonder if he'll choose as big a squad as he did last year. I hope he does, otherwise I can see the familiar names keeping out young talent. Like Paddy Wallace/Donncha Ryan/Hayes..

• CouchSmart wrote: »
    Don't think playing DOC and Tuohy together in the 2nd row would be too smart. Neither are good enough in the lineout / lineout callers (leaders) .

Australia+v+Ireland+Lansdowne+Cup+zOgcWs8P0svl.jpg

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0616/1224272616951.html

I probably wouldn't pair those either, but I don't think Tuohy is weak in the lineout whatsoever. He's pretty vocal a player, and doesn't shirk responsibility.

Cullen and Tuohy or POC and Tuohy would be far superior pairings though, in terms of experience and leadership.

I don't think he's weak in the lineout either, just not good enough. In himself and DOC we'd have two work horse's rather than a balanced row. I think Tuohy/Cullen would work well. A lot depends of POC finding his feet again in time for the 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Healy
    Cronin
    Ross
    POC
    Cullen
    Ferris
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Reddan
    Sexton
    Earls
    D'Arcy
    BOD
    Bowe
    Fitzgerald

Best
    Court
    Toner
    David Wallace
    Trimble
    ROG
    Stringer

Squad for the 6 nations was announced 19 January last year so there's still a bit of a wait.

Also, I fully expect to see:

Horan, Best, Hayes, DOC, POC, Ferris, Wallace, Heaslip, TOL, ROG, Earls, Wallace, BOD, Bowe, Fitz

Varley, Court, MOD, Leamy, Reddan, Sexton, Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. Stringer
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Fitzgerald

16. Varley
    17. Court
    18. Toner
    19. Wallace
    20. Reddan
    21. O'Gara
    22. Murphy

My favoured starting line up as is available of today. I'd like to see McFadden in the subs, he's done well filling in for Fitzgerald while he's out and had 2 great games against Clermont.

I really don't know for starting SH and sub SH. They're all playing pretty well right now but my choice would be Stringer for now, the most underrated scrum half in Ireland right now IMO. Sub would be a toss-up between Reddan or Boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Considering it's Italy we're playing:

1. Court
    2. Varley - Solidity in the set piece. An area they could be dangerous in. I honestly don't know if that's true this year.
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. POC if fit. Obvious one that. If not, definitely Tuohy
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip - That is the best possible back row combination in the world at the moment based on form. Praying that Ferris is fit.
    9. Boss - Because it's Italy we're playing. Reddan would be eaten alive by them. TOL is the only other option, and I give Boss the edge based on his playmaking ability. Obviously the chances of this happening are 1000/1
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls
    12. Wallace - I think he'll be given this game. D'Arcy will get all the others.
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. Fitzgerald - Murphy is in poor form, Sky Sports crew were mentioning worries that his age is starting to show a little. Kearney is injured.

16. Cronin - so he can be given 2 minutes at the end.
    17. Healy - Dynamic replacement to have, Court can cover TH
    18. Tuohy/DOC - depends on POC's fitness
    19. Wallace - He just won't be fully dropped. But then this could just as easilly be Leamy
    20. Stringer - Once the Italian back row have tired, he'll be dynamite
    21. ROG - who else?
    22. Trimble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Considering it's Italy we're playing:

1. Court
    2. Varley - Solidity in the set piece. An area they could be dangerous in. I honestly don't know if that's true this year.
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. POC if fit. Obvious one that. If not, definitely Tuohy
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip - That is the best possible back row combination in the world at the moment based on form. Praying that Ferris is fit.
    9. Boss - Because it's Italy we're playing. Reddan would be eaten alive by them. TOL is the only other option, and I give Boss the edge based on his playmaking ability. Obviously the chances of this happening are 1000/1
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls
    12. Wallace - I think he'll be given this game. D'Arcy will get all the others.
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. Fitzgerald - Murphy is in poor form, Sky Sports crew were mentioning worries that his age is starting to show a little. Kearney is injured.

16. Cronin - so he can be given 2 minutes at the end.
    17. Healy - Dynamic replacement to have, Court can cover TH
    18. Tuohy/DOC - depends on POC's fitness
    19. Wallace - He just won't be fully dropped. But then this could just as easilly be Leamy
    20. Stringer - Once the Italian back row have tired, he'll be dynamite
    21. ROG - who else?
    22. Trimble

Was watching the Leicester today, and I honestly think he's our best choice at full back. Sublime pass for a try today, world class. Fitz has barely played at full back for Leinster, and when he did, it wasn't anything special. Saying that, it wasn't bad either and he's an excellent tackler. However, I think barring injury we'll see Murphy for the 6N.

I'd imagine for the 6N we won't see much of a change from the AI and it will be a massive indication for what our squad is for the World Cup. It's understandable, the 6N is the last big test we have before the trek to New Zealand, and Kidney will want to make sure he has a team that gels well.

What I'd like to see for the 6N:

1.Healy
    2.Cronin
    3.Ross
    4.Cullen
    5.POC
    6.Ferris
    7.SOB
    8.Heaslip
    9.Boss
    10.Sexton
    11.Fitz
    12.D'Arcy
    13.BOD
    14.Bowe
    15.Murphy

16.Varley
    17.Court
    18.Touhy/DOC/Toner
    19.So many to choose from.....Leamy or Wallace. Probably Wallace.
    20.Stringer
    21.ROG
    22.Earls

Obviously a lot depends on fitness, but I chose this team with the bench in mind as players, not spectators. Court is the best we have at covering both propping positions, Wallace would be a dynamite replacement back rower and stringer would cut any tiring team to shreds. Earls is our best utility back. I realise Boss is a....sketchy choice......but as someone pointed out above, our scrum-halves tend to blow hot and cold, I just like Boss's game since he came to Leinster.

Anyway, it's just my 2c and won't change Kidney's mind! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

This is what I think will be chosen, and not what I want to be chosen:

Healy
    Cronin/Best(Is Best Still injured?)
    Buckley

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    Wallace
    Heaslip

TOL
    Sexton

Fitz/Trimble (Again not sure of when Fitz is to be back)

D'Arcy
    BOD

Bowe

Kearney/Murphy (Also don't know Kearney's injury length)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭twinytwo

I am going to pick my team for the opening match based on form,

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. MOD
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. Darcy
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. G.Murphy

Team will be

Healy
    Cronin
    Buckley
    DOC
    POC
    ferris if he is back
    wallace/sob
    heaslip
    reddan
    sexton
    fitz cause munster are retarded
    darcy
    drico
    bowe
    murphy

team that should play

Healy
    Cronin
    Ross
    Leo
    POC
    ferris
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Stringer
    Sexton
    Earls
    Darcy
    Drico
    Bowe
    Murphy/fitz

I see alot of people opting for Stringer at 9, I admit he is having the best season he has had in years. The reason people want Stringer in there with his fast pass for Ireland and I can understand why is because our srcum is constantly getting minced due to poor selection at TH. When TB plays at TH we are constantly playing on the back foot and Stringers speed of pass regularly gets us out of trouble. And thats all it does and Sexton then usually has to kick posession away rather than bring his back line into play. Why can DK not see this??? Its very basic stuff. I really don't understand why he is persisting with TB. We have a team full of great ball carriers, what we don't have is a competent TH starting.

However I chose Reddan on the basis that Ross starts at TH. If he does we will have solid ball of the base and Reddan has much more to his all round game than Stringer when provided with quality ball. It sees to be working exceptionally well for Leinster this season.

I chose MOD for two reasons, 1. He is a very good scrummager and 2. POC will not be fit for international duty, he simply wont have enough game time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

A lot of people seem to be going for Trimble. I saw him hand Bath 8 points (could have been 10) on a plate last weekend, completely unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Probable team

Healy
    Best
    Buckley
    DOC
    POC
    Ferris
    Wallace
    Heaslip
    TOL (if fit)
    Sexton
    Earls
    Darcy
    BOD
    Bowe
    Fitzgerald

y Selection

Healy
    Cronin
    Ross
    Cullen
    Touhy (POC not match fit)
    Ferris
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Stringer
    Sexton
    Fitzgerald/Earls
    Darcy
    BOD
    Bowe
    Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Beery Eyed

If the team was picked tomorrow I'd go for:

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. Tuohy
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. Boss
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls
    12. D'Arcy
    13. BO'D
    14. Trimble
    15. Bowe

16. Varley
    17. Buckley
    18. DOC
    19. Wallace
    20. Stringer
    21. ROG
    22. McFadden

Some reasoning:
    Reddan seems to be automatically rated despite being infuriatingly bad at times for Leinster and generally just not good enough to make an impact at international level. There was a time, when he was at Wasps, that I thought he was superb but his consistency at Leinster is awful.
    MOD & G. Murphy have both had chances time and time again and have yet to show that they are anything more than stopgaps at international level. Both very good at club level but not at the next level up.
    Tuohy deserves a chance to stake a claim to a second row spot. He has unbelievable athleticism and is a really powerful runner, which would compliment Cullens experience very well.

In reality though, by the time these matches come around a lot will have changed in terms of injury and form, so we'll have to wait and see what happens.

I completely agree that Reddan has been inconsistent, he's played very poorly at times.

But his performance at home to Clermont was unbelievable. If he can keep that up between now and the 6N I would start him. Stringer looks good when the pack is going forward, there's absolutely no guarantee of that this 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

danthefan wrote: »
    A lot of people seem to be going for Trimble. I saw him hand Bath 8 points (could have been 10) on a plate last weekend, completely unacceptable.

Probably based on his performances in the Summer and AIs. I'm not sure tbh. He's performed very well every time he's been picked for Ireland recently. It should take more than some poor games at club level to lose your place in the international side, particularly when the other options have so little gametime there. He's been making fuck ups like that all season for Ulster.

He doesn't really have a place in the international side though, so sort of a moot point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

He doesn't really have a place in the international side though, so sort of a moot point.

Who would you have ahead of him then?

He's a form player playing good who deserves his spot on the wing alongside Bowe at the moment.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Who would you have ahead of him then?

He's a form player playing good who deserves his spot on the wing alongside Bowe at the moment.

No he isn't, see post above. Fancy giving France a 10 point headstart? I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

No he isn't, see post above. Fancy giving France a 10 point headstart? I don't.

Who would you have ahead of him?

Should we drop D'arcy for missing a single one on one tackle against Floch against Clermont in the away game? Come off it pure double standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. o'leary for defense
    10. Sexton
    11. trimble
    12. D'Arcy
    13. BO'D
    14. Trimble
    15. murphy

16. Varley
    17. Buckley
    18. DOC
    19. Wallace
    20. Stringer
    21. ROG
    22. McFadden

Stev_o wrote: »
    Who would you have ahead of him?

Should we drop D'arcy for missing a single one on one tackle against Floch against Clermont in the away game? Come off it pure double standards.

No but we don't have 12 remotely good as D'Arcy, and while any player can be stepped Trimble gave away points through stupidness/bad decision making. I'd have Earls of Fitz ahead of him every time.

We have a 12 who some would consider better than D'Arcy (as a 12).

That's OT though, the point is this. Trimble is not in good form. People who say that he should be chosen "based on form" or that he is "in good form" just haven't been watching him. He used to be a powerful defender who rarely made mistakes (that incident at the World Cup aside, which is supposedly something D'Arcy takes the blame for) and an excellent finisher who was dangerous from anywhere on the pitch because of his explosive pace. That was what he used to be. That was the player that held down a place in EOS's Ireland team. Now he's prone to errors in defense, his tackles like a different person, he doesn't take the same lines he used to.

I personally think all the time he has spent in that frustrating Ulster setup has affected his game, certainly at club level. When he plays for Ireland he seems like the same guy he used to be (which is why I think its a motivational thing), but you can't select him based on that when he's playing the way he is currently at club level.

Earls is shaky, but is much more threatening (and we certainly shouldn't be scared to play him against a team like Italy). Fitzgerald is by far a better player. Trimble at his best should be pushing for a spot in the team, but he's nowhere near that at the moment.

I completely agree that Reddan has been inconsistent, he's played very poorly at times.

But his performance at home to Clermont was unbelievable. If he can keep that up between now and the 6N I would start him. Stringer looks good when the pack is going forward, there's absolutely no guarantee of that this 6N.

Reddan has been terrible at times this season, and he was disastrous against South Africa.

He was great against Clermont, but again our pack was going forward and we were comfortable in possession. As you say, there's absolutely no guarantee of that this 6N.

For me, while our pack is still being pushed around by other teams, TOL or Boss are the only two I'd consider at 9, with Boss being a far better player than TOL.

We have a 12 who some would consider better than D'Arcy (as a 12).

They're wrong, D'Arcy was one of our best performers in the AIs. There's a reason why he has 3 times more caps or whatever it is than Wallace.
    Reddan has been terrible at times this season, and he was disastrous against South Africa.

He was great against Clermont, but again our pack was going forward and we were comfortable in possession. As you say, there's absolutely no guarantee of that this 6N.

For me, while our pack is still being pushed around by other teams, TOL or Boss are the only two I'd consider at 9, with Boss being a far better player than TOL.

Agree with you there, TOL would be my fourth choice SH for Ireland now, at best. He's awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭roycon

I often think that with stephen ferris being just over 6'4(the same size as mick o'driscoll) he could easily be put in at second row at international level.this would leave room for sean obrien in the back row and would also make the scrum more solid. I wouldnt want to come up against a second row as physical as ferris and oconnell.Even ferris cullen, ferris ocallaghan, ferris casey, ferris toner,ferris touhy would all have a good balance in terms of lineout an open play. in the back row we are still lacking balance if obrien, heaslip,wallace and leamy are there in any combination. we need a fitter more mobile flanker than these two who is preferably a lineout out option. dominic ryan or muldoon(not really a lineout option) could both fill this space at international level.
    come world cup time i would love to see oconnel and ferris in the row and then a back row made up of 3 of the following with preferably sean obrien coming off the bench. heaslip, wallace, dominic ryan, leamy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

The team that should be picked:

Murphy
    Bowe
    BOD
    D'arcy
    Earls
    Sexton
    Redden
    Healy
    Cronin
    Ross
    Cullen
    O'Connell
    Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

The team Kidney will pick

Murphy
    Bowe
    BOD
    D'arcy
    Earls
    Sexton
    Redden
    Court
    Cronin
    Buckley
    DOC
    POC
    Ferris
    Wallace
    Heaslip

There's nothing at all to suggest Kidney will pick Court. Or Earls really if others are fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Teej

Watch ESPN - he's a god over there! In reality he's been very constructive this season - solid, reliable & great support without any inspiration. Personally don't see him in a starting 15, if Fitz & Kearney return, but wouldn't leave him out of squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

roycon wrote: »
    I often think that with stephen ferris being just over 6'4(the same size as mick o'driscoll) he could easily be put in at second row at international level.this would leave room for sean obrien in the back row and would also make the scrum more solid. I wouldnt want to come up against a second row as physical as ferris and oconnell.Even ferris cullen, ferris ocallaghan, ferris casey, ferris toner,ferris touhy would all have a good balance in terms of lineout an open play. in the back row we are still lacking balance if obrien, heaslip,wallace and leamy are there in any combination. we need a fitter more mobile flanker than these two who is preferably a lineout out option. dominic ryan or muldoon(not really a lineout option) could both fill this space at international level.
    come world cup time i would love to see oconnel and ferris in the row and then a back row made up of 3 of the following with preferably sean obrien coming off the bench. heaslip, wallace, dominic ryan, leamy.

O'Brien coming off the bench? I think a back row of Ferris, O'Brien and Heaslip has a very good balance to it. Wallace is still a useful player but can you really say he should be starting ahead of any of OB, F and H? Dont see it myself. Wallace may be very useful as an impact player and would cover all 3 positions in the back row from the bench