Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anybody here quit drinking alcohol?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Frogdog wrote: »

I just hate the stigma that's attached to those that don't drink in Ireland. :mad:

I get this all the time in Korea - 'what you're Irish but you don't drink???' Wonder how all that drunken Irish sterotyping started. Bloodly annoying.

I used to drink a fair bit, drink is very cheap here (well Korean beers and spirits are) but about two and a half years ago I stopped as the wife was breastfeeding and didn't think it was fair. Best decision I ever made, I actually missed it which shows how much I liked it which can't be a good sign. Started drinking wine a couple of weeks ago; used to always hate wine but fine it okay now - guess my taste buds are improving from the lack of paint thinner. Only have a glass here and there and like the fact that I don't drink 4 or 5 pints every couple of days like I used to. I guess I was pretty close to becoming an alcoholic at the time. Never knew how much I drank until I stopped. Wife says I don't snore anymore either when sleeping and that I am better in the sack :P

So give up the boozing, it's no good for ya.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Frogdog wrote: »
    I went off it for 9 months in 2009, while training for the marathon. I've never felt better in all my life. I plan on going off it for the year of 2011 and would have given it up in 2010 but I was going travelling around the world and the hassle of telling new people I met that I was Irish and didn't drink as well as being excluded from certain social situations meant I more or less felt I had to drink and wasn't worth it.

After 3 months off the drink I felt absolutely super. Slept waaaaaay better during the night, woke up really refreshed, was able to concentrate better during the day, lost a bit of bodyfat (not related to my marathon training), had better skin and nails, better scalp and hair (have a little dandruff at the moment due to alcohol drying out my body), cleaner/whiter teeth (due to sugars in alcohol, was able to go out during the week and go into work the next day no problem, ate a lot better, had loads more money and was able to travel with it, buy new clothes and save more into my pension and savings account. So there's physical and mental benefits, as well as material. Hope this helps!

I just hate the stigma that's attached to those that don't drink in Ireland. :mad:

By the sound of all that bollix you have written above you must have been drinking heavily 7 days a week to see such an improvement on abstaining.

I did 3 triathlons this year and the Dublin marathon. I also get pissed every saturday night more or less and a few pints midweek.

My skin, scalp, hair and nails are grand.

"Dandruff due to alcohol drying out my body"...jesus wept!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

I'm drunk and stoopid.

I'll be sober in the morning.

But all you non-drinkers will STILL be stoopid. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,791 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I gave it up nearly 2 years ago.
    Don't miss the hangovers (and believe me when you are getting up at 6.30 to 3 screeching kids it helps).
    Don't buy into this "ah sure you can have no craic if you are not drinking"
    Been to weddings, parties etc and it's decent to be able to drive home and not hang around half the night waiting on taxis.
    Also breathalised twice and that could have been fun if i'd been locked the night before (both early in the morning)
    Try it for a month to see how you get on.......it's really no big deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭hellyeah

packed it in 2 weeks ago. was doing a bottle of wine a night for ages.
    first week was hard as i could not sleep. major plus is loosing the fuzzy feeling and being able to think straight plus started to loose a bit of weight. yesterday was hard people asking why im not drinking/just have a glass, but one would lead to the whole [EMAIL="f@c*ing"]f@c*ing[/EMAIL] vineyard going dry.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

I was never really a huge drinker but I didn't need the expense and the general feeling of hangovers the next day so I quit it a couple of years ago. I feel a lot better since then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I will be alcohol free for 2 years in january, best thing that ever happened me,sorry i dident stop sooner,drinking is just not for me, cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 20 de Lehman Bruddars

ebixa82 wrote: »
    By the sound of all that bollix you have written above you must have been drinking heavily 7 days a week to see such an improvement on abstaining.

I did 3 triathlons this year and the Dublin marathon. I also get pissed every saturday night more or less and a few pints midweek.

The only "bollix" is your attitude, Mr "Triathlete". This attitude is the worst thing non drinkers have to face. And anyone who says its boring: FUKC OFF! You're the one who can't enjoy themselves without it. You're the coward who gets all uncomfortable without your social lubricant.
    Typical reply: "I am perfectly capable of enjoying a night out without it, I just choose not to". THEN WHY DO YOU DO IT?
    Why do a$$holes have to knock everything people do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The only "bollix" is your attitude, Mr "Triathlete". This attitude is the worst thing non drinkers have to face. And anyone who says its boring: FUKC OFF! You're the one who can't enjoy themselves without it. You're the coward who gets all uncomfortable without your social lubricant.
    Typical reply: "I am perfectly capable of enjoying a night out without it, I just choose not to". THEN WHY DO YOU DO IT?

Somebody need a hug? Hmmm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

TheZohan wrote: »
    Somebody need a hug? Hmmm?
    `

;) maybe a drink even ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Barely drink anymore..used to drink like a fish at the weekends and blow my money on double gins and red bulls etc and repeat Sat and Sunday night...
    Decided to pack it in and started training for a marathon in 2008.. and I think I might have drank 10 pints in that whole year...
    don't miss it a bit..with work being crazy and the weekends being too short I don't want to spend nearly all of it recovering from a hangover.
    I'd still go on a pissup now and then but it's about every 4 or 5 months now as opposed to 3 nights a week...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

I packed it in for about 2 months after getting really sick and hungover for 2 days after Halloween. I felt a lot better, and the money I saved went towards travelling to a few gaming sessions in November and a new Xbox I got a few weeks back.

I'll be drinking again over Christmas ( today and New Years Eve ) but after that, I'll go sober again, I can't really be bothered with it much anymore. That and I've seen first hand what getting really carried away with drinking can do, at least I know when to stop and can keep it that way by choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I only have 1 can at home once every 1/2 weeks.

I went through a bit 4 years ago when I was drinking a pint of Bacardi a night, it went on for 2 weeks. I was 19 then, it was the 1st time in my life I ever woke up and felt drunk. But since them 2 weeks I have only had as above.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Mostly quit some years ago, I'll only have one now on a rare occasion and that does mean one. Couldn't bear to face the tunnel vision and funny walking again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Well aren't you ****1ng fantastic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I quit when I realised only the first half was true.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Normally, I have maybe 2-3 drinks in the eve maybe about 3-4 times a week. In theory, they say moderate drinkers live the longest/are the healthiest.

Unfortunately, especially during the summer, I still occasionally end up doing massive sessions/benders - ie Friday night until Sunday evening style. Great craic, but very bad for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Seriously considering it........Definitely going to cut waaay back as I think I should be able to have the self control to go out occasionally and only have one or two but if that doesn't work then I'm going off it for good.

Thinking of the stupid things I've done, the money, time & potential I've wasted because of drinking too much makes me sad :( I'm such a better person off it...

I said I get pissed every Saturday...more than capable of socialising without alcohol on Friday nights...

Why do I do it you ask? Because I like the taste of a wide range of alcoholic beverages and I also like the feeling of inebriation. Simple as that!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Never started to stop. I just don't see the attraction of willingly poisoning yourself each weekend.

CorkMan wrote: »
    I only have 1 can at home once every 1/2 weeks.

I went through a bit 4 years ago when I was drinking a pint of Bacardi a night, it went on for 2 weeks. I was 19 then, it was the 1st time in my life I ever woke up and felt drunk. But since them 2 weeks I have only had as above.

For some reason I would never have thought you were 23 years of age Corkman.

syklops wrote: »
    Well aren't you ****1ng fantastic!

Tell me about it!

Just trying to make the point you are more than able to have an active life and look healthy while also getting pissed. The other poster sounded a bit dramatic there saying drinking alcohol was giving him dandruff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Tell me about it!

Just trying to make the point you are more than able to have an active life and look healthy while also getting pissed. The other poster sounded a bit dramatic there saying drinking alcohol was giving him dandruff!

Heavy drinking of alcohol does cause dandruff. But it would have to be regular, heavy drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Never intentionally quit, but didn't drink pretty much from February to May this year, in my final semester of college. Just wasn't arsed, had too much to do and despite people telling me I should "relax and enjoy the last few months of college", I felt absolutely no urge to have a drink.

I started drinking pretty late by Irish standards (had my first proper session the night of my Leaving Cert results in 2007- many kids now have theirs the night of their Junior Cert results or earlier :rolleyes:) and although I've had some pretty fantastic nights out and parties and stuff, never in my life have I felt the "Oh jaysus I'd love a drink" feeling that loads of my friends do be on about. I don't equate alcohol with having a good time like a lot of Irish people do. Sure, it's one way to enjoy yourself but it's not the only way. I have several alcoholics in my immediate family so I'm always going to be careful about my attitude to drink, just to be on the safe side.

I drink maybe one or two nights out of the month. When I was working, I was going out every Friday night, but I didn't always enjoy it. Nothing like a good session and a few scoops and all that but people don't call it the demon drink for nothing, it causes as much hassle as it does craic. Put it this way, I could give up drinking today and I wouldn't miss it at all.

Heavy drinking of alcohol does cause dandruff. But it would have to be regular, heavy drinking.

I know, thats exactly what I said in my earlier post.

Proper heaving drinking..not moderate drinking or the odd binge. Of course some people are pre-disposed due to underlying conditions which may make them more susceptible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

What have been the benefits and drawbacks, and how have you found the experience in general?

ask me again tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I quit drinking spirits about 8 years ago, only pints now.

Well done, you often hear people saying they intend to do that but end up in a steep and humbling decent into raging alcoholism a short time after.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I regularly quit drinking alcohol just before I go to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

The next 5 years will change all that :D. The body's ability to recover starts to deminishes from about 26 on.

sollar wrote: »
    The next 5 years will change all that :D. The body's ability to recover starts to deminishes from about 26 on.

Nah...I know many people in their late 30s-early 40s who still do triathlons every couple of months..