Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What I saw and did last night

• 25-12-2010 12:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

Driving home at 10.30pm last night (in pub from 8pm 1 drink and 4 Ballygowans)
    came across this 07 VW on the wrong side of the road in front of me.
    He pulled in onto the correct side of the road in front of me at a set of lights which he then broke.
    Drove along a long road on the wrong side of the road only pulling over when a car came towards him.
    Broke another light and again drove on the wrong side of another long road before pulling away from me and turned off.
    I have assumed it was a he and I'm assuming he was drunk, very drunk.
    In all the years I have been driving I have never seen anybody as bad as that.
    I rang the guards, gave them the reg and location and I just hope they caught him in the act.
    The fact it was very icy didn't make any difference to him.
    I would love to mention the full make and reg of the car but I guess it wouldn't be allowed, shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

:(

(sorry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

pat on the back for policing the roads with booze on board. society would collapse without you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Ah Ballygowan...made over hundreds of years out of date by March.

Biggest rip off ever.

Good that you were careful though with the one pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

chin_grin wrote: »
    You're an idiot.
    Get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

He pulled in onto the correct side of the road in front of me at a set of lights which he then broke.
    Drove along a long road on the wrong side of the road only pulling over when a car came towards him.
    Broke another light and again drove on the wrong side of another long road before pulling away from me and turned off.
    In all the years I have been drink driving I have never seen anybody as bad as that.
    I rang the guards, gave them the reg and location and I just hope they caught him in the act.
    I would love to mention the full make and reg of the car but I guess it wouldn't be allowed, shame.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

pat on the back for policing the roads with booze on board. society would collapse without you!

1 pint in 2.5 hours washed down with 4 ballygowens is hardly driving without due care to other drivers!!

cop yourself on there man

it sounds like the guy in front was fcuking loaded and fair play to the op for contacting the Garda!!

I'd rat anyone of you lot out if ye were drivin all over the road pissed!!

scummy drink drivers!!!

Elevator wrote: »
    1 pint in 2.5 hours washed down with 4 ballygowens is hardly driving without due care to other drivers!!

cop yourself on there man

it sounds like the guy in front was fcuking loaded and fair play to the op for contacting the Garda!!

I'd rat anyone of you lot out if ye were drivin all over the road pissed!!

scummy drink drivers!!!

Finally, a man with a little common sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

1 pint is grand ffs, perfectly acceptable, the man went for a festive pint, kept it to one and had water when everyone else was knocking them back, thats being responsible.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

One drink would hardly impair your driving. Unless your 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

You're an idiot.

Sorry, could you repeat that? It's hard to hear your voice from the bottom of your ivory tower.

Did anyone else read the thread title and expect a lurid and exciting story, only to be greatly disappointed?

Degag wrote: »
    Finally, a man with a little common sense!

jeez I thought we all felt this way about drink driving now!?!

Id expect any one of ye to rat me out if I was putting innocent people in danger and on Christmas flipping eve n all!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Quote:
    Originally Posted by whatsupdoc? viewpost.gif

You're an idiot.

Fair point.................... he should'a stayed till at least 12pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭High energy

1 pint? Pfff I drove home after 14 pints last night and I'm still alive. Lightweights!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Did you phone the Gards while driving cause thats the equivalent of having 20 pints and 12 lines on cocaine.....FACT!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

1 pint? Pfff I drove home after 14 pints last night and I'm still alive. Lightweights!!

how's the VW looking this morning???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Is that you Jim McDaid! Will you ever learn!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

pintless having one pint really! why bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Vodkat

Nozebleed wrote: »
    pintless having one pint really! why bother.

Not everyone binge drinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

MEh, hard to speed in this weather and no taxis. I'm not going to get all wound up about it meself. Yeah I'm probably worse than a paedo for saying it now.

Worse than 6 paedos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

worse than 6 paedos in speedos!

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    6 paedos

5 GO OLD RIIINGS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

serously a friend of mine was ran over and severly injured thursday night, we got the reg of the guy though and are reporting it too the gaurds. report this guy you could be saving lives

As far as I'm concerned, if you can't drive home after 10 pints, while smoking a cigarette and talking on your mobile phone then you're not a real man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

As far as I'm concerned, if you can't drive home after 10 pints, while smoking a cigarette and talking on your mobile phone then you're not a real man

Bonus masculinity points if you're also getting a BJ at the same time.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Bonus masculinity points if you're also getting a BJ at the same time.

Has to be from a dude, to.make it 100% masculine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Actually OP you are an idiot. One drink effects your driving FACT, no matter how much Ballygowan you claim to have drunk. Your as bad as the person your complaining about! A few years ago a 7 year old girl was killed on my sisters road by a guy who "only had one pint".

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

It takes one hour to clear your first pint from your system. He had one pint over 2 and a half hours. Nothing wrong with this OP, unless your 12 or 4 foot!

Actually OP you are an idiot. One drink effects your driving FACT, no matter how much Ballygowan you claim to have drunk. Your as bad as the person your complaining about! A few years ago a 7 year old girl was killed on my sisters road by a guy who "only had one pint".
    And maybe that poor girl would have been killed regardless of whether the guy had a pint or not.

Degag wrote: »
    And maybe that poor girl would have been killed regardless of whether the guy had a pint or not.

Maybe,

But I bet you anything the guy who killed her never "just had one pint" again.

Maybe,

But I bet you anything the guy who killed her never "just had one pint" again.

I'd be fairly sure the 1 pint he had was nothing to do with the crash. Give us more details, what age, height, weight was the guy. Had he enough sleep? Was he on medication? A pint of what? How soon after did he drive? What were the circumstances surrounding the crash? Speeding? Did he break a light, did she run out in front of him, etc.

Insinuating the 1 pint he had resulted in the girls death is nonsense. It's scaremongering and strays away from the real causes of accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

I'd be fairly sure the 1 pint he had was nothing to do with the crash. Give us more details, what age, height, weight was the guy. Had he enough sleep? Was he on medication? A pint of what? How soon after did he drive? What were the circumstances surrounding the crash? Speeding? Did he break a light, did she run out in front of him, etc.

Insinuating the 1 pint he had resulted in the girls death is nonsense. It's scaremongering and strays away from the real causes of accidents.

More than likely drunk guy kills girl but claims it was only one pint.

Don't really know exact details to be honest. Look the simple fact is, its a stupid thing to do... Driving with alcohol in your system is more of a risk than driving without, there are no two ways about it. I'm not trying to derail things here sorry folks! Sorry OP if I was harsh earlier, just your post reeks of hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It's laughable that some people on very high horses condem the OP for having 1 drink followed by 4 glasses of water over two and a half hours....Sounds very responsible to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭ellieswellies

is it just me or does anyone else read this in their head the same way you would a poem?

antodeco wrote: »
    It takes one hour to clear your first pint from your system. He had one pint over 2 and a half hours. Nothing wrong with this OP, unless your 12 or 4 foot!

I thought it took one hour to metabolise a unit, not a pint.

Either way, 1 pint over 2 hours...hardly over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

Nice work OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The head of the Road Safety Authority, Gay Byrne, openly admitted to drinking and driving...didn't do him any harm...and if it was so bad why would the RSA still have him as their Chairperson?

TheZohan wrote: »
    The head of the Road Safety Authority, Gay Byrne, openly admitted to drinking and driving...didn't do him any harm...and if it was so bad why would the RSA still have him as their Chairperson?

his appointment to such a position epitomises all that is wrong with this country!

roll it there roisin...

he sure is alright, behaving like a responsible adult in the pub and driving home breaking no laws (ie driving on the correct side of the road!!)

how you can compare the op to someone so clearly out of his mind that he's on the wrong side ofthe road and breaking 2 red lights

some people round here got some seriously high rocking horses for Xmas me thinks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I wonder do half the high-horse riders here leave the car at home in the morning if they've slept badly and are tired? Or do a long journey without rest?

The above is far worse than a single - and legal - pint over the time period outlined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

The 1 drink was a small glasss of red wine, not a pint.

And you got away with that, fine. But next time you might say "a feck it, ill have another, sure whats one more?"

Also, it doesn't matter if one drink is legal, smoking is legal and that's a killer too.

And you got away with that, fine. But next time you might say "a feck it, ill have another, sure whats one more?"

Also, it doesn't matter if one drink is legal, smoking is legal and that's a killer too.
    Eh no, he said "thats enough, Il have water"

That's just a stupid comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

Driving a car is also a killer from time to time, should that be illegal?
    Hmm, so is high cholesterol, maybe we should put in new laws to stop people from eating certain types of food. Yeah, persecute the obese!

ScareGilly wrote: »
    Driving a car is also a killer from time to time, should that be illegal?
    Hmm, so is high cholesterol, maybe we should put in new laws to stop people from eating certain types of food. Yeah, persecute the obese!

Also don't forget you can fall into the ocean and drown too. We need to ban oceans, seas, rivers and other generic large bodies of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

http://www.csgnetwork.com/bloodalcolevelcalc.html

Quantity Of Alcohol Consumed: 16floz (1 pint)
    Alcohol Content: 5%
    Your Weight: 150 Pounds
    Time Since Starting To Drink: 2.5 Hours

Blood Alcohol Level Percentage: 0.0025%

http://www.transport.govt.nz/saferjourneys/towardsasafesystem/saferoaduse/

This says that if you're over 30 (as I am), a 0.03% level makes you 2.9x more likely to have a fatal crash.

Interpolating linearly, a 0.0025% level makes you 8% more likely to have a fatal crash. Whoa, scary! But...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_OECD_countries_by_traffic-related_death_rate

Ireland's fatality rate is 5.7 per billion km.

So, if you drive 20km with that BAL you have increased your fatality risk from one in 8.8 million to one in 8.1 million.

This is further distorted by the fact that RTAs are correlated with heavy drinking, so the actual risks of both sober and almost-completely-spber death are even lower.

...and, there's a good chance that the 0.0025% level is actually zero, and the calculator is wrong, since it's generally held that you can metabolize one unit per hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Lumen wrote: »
    http://www.csgnetwork.com/bloodalcolevelcalc.html

Quantity Of Alcohol Consumed: 16floz (1 pint)
    Alcohol Content: 5%
    Your Weight: 150 Pounds
    Time Since Starting To Drink: 2.5 Hours

Blood Alcohol Level Percentage: 0.0025%

http://www.transport.govt.nz/saferjourneys/towardsasafesystem/saferoaduse/

This says that if you're over 30 (as I am), a 0.03% level makes you 2.9x more likely to have a fatal crash.

Interpolating linearly, a 0.0025% level makes you 8% more likely to have a fatal crash. Whoa, scary! But...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_OECD_countries_by_traffic-related_death_rate

Ireland's fatality rate is 5.7 per billion km.

So, if you drive 20km with that BAL you have increased your fatality risk from one in 8.8 million to one in 8.1 million.

This is further distorted by the fact that RTAs are correlated with heavy drinking, so the actual risks of both sober and almost-completely-spber death are even lower.

...and, there's a good chance that the 0.0025% level is actually zero, and the calculator is wrong, since it's generally held that you can metabolize one unit per hour.

2 calculators I have used actually give a blood alcohol content of 0 g/100 ml. The OP was probably in a better condition to drive than most people would be after a hard day at work.

http://www.alcoholhelpcenter.net/Program/BAC_Standalone_Output.aspx?g=1&c=61&w=66&wu=1&h=2&n=1

http://www.intox.com/drinkwheel.aspx