Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you wear your seatbelt while driving?

• 25-12-2010 7:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

First off, this isn't a high horse post, the poll isn't public so vote however you wish. I'm only starting this after reading about a fatal accident that was posted in 4x4 forum and the issue of no seatbelt was raised since it was a fatal accident.

Me, I'm so used to it I'd almost feel naked without the belt if that makes sense.
    But vote as you wish, poll isn't public

And I read here all the time, I've not seen this thread in any search

Do you wear your seatbelt while driving? 400 votes

Yes, of course
    0% 0 votes
    No, not something I'd do
    98% 394 votes
    Depends, please feel free to add a post
    1% 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I feel naked without the belt...even if I'm only turning it around on the road outside my house or pulling out of the garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I'd feel weird not wearing my seatbelt, that and the annoying beeping sound. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

just doesnt feel right, if i drive even 30 feet in an empty car park without my seatbelt i feel naked

As above feel naked without it. Plus I kinda like not being dead :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Never used the belt in the past.
    Till i folded my car around a lamppost one day.
    I came out with not a scratch but that had mostly to do with not going very fast while it happened.
    Made me think and since that day i wear it 99% of the time.

Only times i dont use it is when i had to stop for the local shop on my way home. The 300 meters i have to drive after the shop i usually dont bother belting up. But even on that short distance the warning sound of not wearing the seatbelt annoys me to no end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Don't reckon I'd be typing this if I didn't!
    Always wear the seatbelt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I think it's a generational thing. My Father is a disaster, he'll put it over one shoulder if he's a passenger, unless he's in my car because I won't move until I hear the click, it was only when he got a car that screamed at him if he didn't wear one that he started wearing it. The thing is, his first car didn't have seatbelts.

Most younger people wear their seatbelts, I don't know anybody my own age that doesn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭William Powell

Did think about not wearing it recently when driving at 5kph on ice near a precipitous drop off the road into the sea but still belted up in, just doesn't feel right anymore without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Onkle wrote: »
    I think it's a generational thing

this +1

it's an after-thought for the auld lad as far as i can see. as a spritely youngster (27), there has been so much focus on seatbelts throughout my formative years that it's automatic that the seatbelt goes on as soon as I sit in the car

also as above, there is a feeling of unease/nakedness without that belt across you, almost like there's too much wiggle room in the seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Used to have lap belts in my old 1976 Mini. I used to treat them as optional, that was 17 years ago. Now I wouldn't dream of not belting up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SV wrote: »

Ditto that I'd be either dead or quite ga-ga (overover many years ago).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I doubt there's anyone of my generation that doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

All the time when driving on the roads, I will though release it when driving around a harbour.

RSA should buy the rights to this beauty...
    Clunk click every trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

My old Micra K10 and my Escort Mk3 don't have seatbelts in the back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'm the same. It just feels weird driving without the seat belt even if just moving 10m. I always get into the car, start it, seat belt, lock doors and drive off.

I've even been converted to wearing it in the back which I never did till a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

My dad wouldn't move the car till we were all strapped in. He'd kill you if you opened your seatbelt whilst he was driving.
    I'm the same, I won't budge the car usually until everyone in my car is belted up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

When I'm shifting the cars in and out of the garden I dotn bother with the belt. I feel like I'm fallign forward half the time. Would'nt be able to drive on the open road without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭High energy

Has anyone actually ever been in a situation where your seatbelt saved you from being hurt / killed? I've been driving around 10 years altogether and always wear it, wouldn't like to be in a crash not wearing it, but can honestly say it's never been put to use practically.

A few times I've had to slam on in either of my cars (one with ABS and one without) due to smart fucks in front of me and all those times my seatbelt has saved me from going through the windshield!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

It was his grandchildren that made my father wear a belt.

Niece: "STOP GRANDDAD!!!"

Father stops car, thinking he's after running over something.

Niece: "You're not wearing your seat belt!".

To be honest, I feel uncomfortable when a taxi driver pulls off before I have the belt on.
    Yes. I was a back seat passenger in a taxi. Another car ran a red light. 50km/h to stop in 10m. I received cuts (shins hit the seat in front) and bruises (seat belt points) ans slight whiplash. If I wasn't wearing a belt, my weight would have quite easily killed the driver.

As a 10 year old (no rear seat belts) I was thrown as far as the hand brake when my father braked when going down a hill. Got given out to. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

You should add an option to the poll for people who put thier belt on, but put it under their shoulder. A huge amount of people do this, and think it's OK.

You may as well not be wearing if you do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

It's purely automatic at this stage - sit in car, key in ignition, put on belt, take car out of gear and start. I even put it on when moving the car in the driveway purely because the sequence is so ingrained.

I was rear-ended on the N7 about 18 months ago and the seatbelt definitely did it's job that day - stopped me from slamming in the wheel & dashboard.

A few times I've had to slam on in either of my cars (one with ABS and one without) due to smart fucks in front of me and all those times my seatbelt has saved me from going through the windshield!

You were driving too close to them. You should be around 1m back for every km/h you are going

You were driving too close to them.

No, actually...imagine a car that has no brake lights and starts braking, then you'll understand why I've been close to it! Other times include people randomly stopping while there's no reason to stop, and then there's the people that pull out from side-roads without looking!

I've never been caught out being too close to someones bumper...simply because I don't like doing it due to the fact that if they were to brake I'd go straight up them! And I've had some stupid stupid people sitting on my back bumper too, so I know how daunting and dangerous it is ¬_¬

TL;DR don't jump to conclusions!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The only time I would not wear my seatbelt would be if I had to reverse for any distance so I could look over my shoulder to aid my reversing, this I think is actually allowed. Also If I was moving car park spaces in a big outlet centre like Manor West in Tralee and I would be travelling at 7km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

got run into comming on to the red cow, i was doing 50 mph, he was doing about 30, not a scratch on me. But the next day i had jet black marks where the seat belts saved me.

Yes. My seatbelt broke my sternum when it saved my life after a truck smashed into my car. It also saved my husbands life. My two children were killed, however, I have a 100% clear conscience that there is nothing more I could have done because they were fully strapped into their child seats.

Seatbelts save lives. Simples :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Yep.
    Can safely say it made a big difference in my recent crash.
    Judging by the bruise marks anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Always wear my belt, can't drive without it

My best mate refuses to wear his, he was in a pretty bad crash a few years back, a car spun him and a truck smashed the passanger side into the crash barrier. his GF was in the passanger seat, and he pulled her out onto himself as it collapsed. Stupid reason, but he will not wear one.

When he gets into my car, he is made wear it

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Always wear a belt myself, but parents cars never had belts back in the day and when they did have them they were non-retractable ones which were a pain to use.

Have had cops put 4of us in the back of their car such that we were not able to wear belts, they then crashed into a ditch. That was a crazy night. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

|Feel naked without it, sometime put it on just sitting in the car, won't move until all my passengers are belted up... even if they need a belt to belt up ;)

Yep... went off the road during fog, car ended up on its side in a drain, driver side at the bottom, i had a fairly hefty male passenger, who undoubtedly would have landed on me, if he had no belt on.. *Ouch*

You never realize how heavy a 3 door cars door is until you open it straight up..

Poll is pretty interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Yes. My seatbelt broke my sternum when it saved my life after a truck smashed into my car. It also saved my husbands life. My two children were killed, however, I have a 100% clear conscience that there is nothing more I could have done because they were fully strapped into their child seats.

Seatbelts save lives. Simples :)

Jaysus, sorry to hear that, thats horrible.

Fair play for dealing with it in a healthy way though.

ottostreet wrote: »
    Jaysus, sorry to hear that, thats horrible.

Fair play for dealing with it in a healthy way though.

It's true though, imagine if it was other way and you were blaming yourself for not having them appropriately strapped in? Would be horrible :)

That day a seatbelt saved my life. There is no two ways about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Threads like this can be a blessing in disguise .

If it only convinces one extra person to wear a seat belt from now on , maybe a life can be saved .

When is everyone going to get the message that cars are not toys but dangerous necessities .

Act the fool at your own peril.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

No ive never been myself either, but thats the idea, have it on and hope you dont need it. There are rare occasions where people have died because they had it on, but that possibility is very heavily outweighed by the protection they offer in accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

100% of the the time,car doesn't move till it's clicked in.

I wouldn't feel right without it,like leaving the house without your trousers on :eek:,not that i have done that either though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Yes. Would likely have gone across the car when a bus took the side off it (as a back seat passenger).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yes. I was in a car that rolled at an antisocial speed. I got out and walked with a slight pain in my neck but otherwise unharmed. If I can find the pic of the car I'll put it up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

The only time i refuse to use one is if im offroading.

out with a friend
    21539_296976749058_528484058_3301649_3471593_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

yep years ago, my mum rolled her old renualt 5 3 times down a bank would have been thrown out if it wasnt for the child restraint she had fitted in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

I always wear my seat belt. It feels wrong if I do not have it on. That and the alarm goes off in my car if the front passenger or myself does not have it on helps also. Always in their case though ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

You were driving too close to them. You should be around 1m back for every km/h you are going

I see.... so by that logic, I should at all times be 120m back from everyone else on the motorway? Seriously, where people get this shíte from is beyond me.

Re: seatbelts - first thing I'll do when sitting into the car. I've reversed once without it on in the driveway and it just felt pure wrong....

I see.... so by that logic, I should at all times be 120m back from everyone else on the motorway? Seriously, where people get this shíte from is beyond me.

Yes technically you should. 120m isn't THAT far when you are doing 120km/h.

Obviously if there is traffic and you aren't doing 120km/h , you would reduce the braking distance in line with the speed.

I suggest you have a read of this.

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-for-driving/speed-limits/speed-limits_stopping-distances-cars.html

In dry conditions they say the braking distance while doing 120km/h is 85m and total stopping distance is 107m.

Under wet conditions the braking distance while doing 120km/h rises to 150m with a total stopping distance of 172m.

As a general rule of thumb, 1m per 1km/h driven is fairly standard practice.

Here's another website with pretty much the same figures:
    http://www.sdt.com.au/safedrive-directory-STOPPINGDISTANCE.htm

And a chart for you:
    http://www.edu.dudley.gov.uk/roadsafety/images/ks2.ht1.jpg

Good lad

Yes technically you should. 120m isn't THAT far when you are doing 120km/h.

Obviously if there is traffic and you aren't doing 120km/h , you would reduce the braking distance in line with the speed.

I suggest you have a read of this.

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-for-driving/speed-limits/speed-limits_stopping-distances-cars.html

In dry conditions they say the braking distance while doing 120km/h is 85m and total stopping distance is 107m.

Under wet conditions the braking distance while doing 120km/h rises to 150m with a total stopping distance of 172m.

As a general rule of thumb, 1m per 1km/h driven is fairly standard practice.

Here's another website with pretty much the same figures:
    http://www.sdt.com.au/safedrive-directory-STOPPINGDISTANCE.htm

And a chart for you:
    http://www.edu.dudley.gov.uk/roadsafety/images/ks2.ht1.jpg

Good lad

I wonder what kind of car those distances were tested in. I also wonder if my uprated brakes would do a better job than standard...hmmmmm, can you tell me if they will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I couldn't imagine not wearing one. It's funny how instinctive it's become for passengers in the back seats to wear their belt too on recent years. That's quite a new thing for Irish drivers.

I always wear a belt and it's a case of my car, my rules. Everyone wears a belt or they don't get a lift.

Incidentally we're expecting our first
    baby next month and have been educated on the importance of baby seats and having the correct one fitted yet alot of people use 2nd hand seats, seats not suitable for their cars or seats not properly fitted. I think the statistic is something like 75% of all seats are not safe for various reasons.

So we still have some way to go in some respects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

SV wrote: »
    Always wear the seatbelt.

Same here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭spoonface

It's stupid and reckless of me, but the very odd time I've left it off for 2 minute journey and it gave a sort of thrill of living dangerously. But now I always wear and it'd be crazy not to for the small trouble it takes.

I wonder what kind of car those distances were tested in. I also wonder if my uprated brakes would do a better job than standard...hmmmmm, can you tell me if they will?

And what if you brakes fail? What then?

These are precautions for unforseen events

Anyway, the topic is seatbelts...