Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wager match competition

• 24-12-2010 1:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭

anyone interested in a wager match competition, was thinking like getting 24 people together and playing all wager matches, obviously 6 starting in each match with three progressing to semi finals and three go through again to final, love the wager games and think would be a bit of a laugh, how the draw is done and when to play im open to suggestions and any other suggestion on the competition

paddyman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Good idea actually. If you get enough people I'm interested :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I'd be interested also. What console would it be on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Jet Black wrote: »
    I'd be interested also. What console would it be on?

im sure we could do both and post the results :) what game types you plan on doing ? probably best we do it in ante up to make sure everyone can stay in it longer for one or two games

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

This idea sprang to mind last night when playing Stick and Stones with lakes yesterday.
    League system that would determine the overall winner and then perhaps we conclude with a playoffs system for the top 6 more so for the craic. I'd say we'd get easily 20 people from both consoles.. not entirely sure of the PC, but maybe one of the PC lads could take the reigns with that format.

I could possibly set up an online league system on a site I know. Fixtures and match set ups I have my ideas but I'll leave that with you for the time being.

If you need any help paddy, give us a shout.

G'wan so, i'll be up for an xbox league. Barely play BO now except for Zombies and wager matches. Fallout: NV has taken my soul.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Considering I gave you a right beating several times in Gun Game, yea, I'm up for it :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭akkenny

This idea sprang to mind last night when playing Stick and Stones with lakes yesterday.
    League system that would determine the overall winner and then perhaps we conclude with a playoffs system for the top 6 more so for the craic. I'd say we'd get easily 20 people from both consoles.. not entirely sure of the PC, but maybe one of the PC lads could take the reigns with that format.

I could possibly set up an online league system on a site I know. Fixtures and match set ups I have my ideas but I'll leave that with you for the time being.

If you need any help paddy, give us a shout.

you seem to know what your talking about mate, im playing with x box at the moment and i think 24 players is ideal and ye playing on ante up also, ill leave it in your hands if you want to take control of the idea.

akkenny wrote: »
    you seem to know what your talking about mate, im playing with x box at the moment and i think 24 players is ideal and ye playing on ante up also, ill leave it in your hands if you want to take control of the idea.

Well since I don't play COD on the 360 maybe you can have that side of things and I'll handle the PS3 side.

I'll think of how to plan this, fixtures is the main thing to note as some people are on most days and others are on at the weekend due to other IRL stuff.

But for the time being, if anyone is interested in taking part in a wager match league. Just leave your name and the format below(I see there are a couple already above) and I'll add it to the OP.

Key thing is, all players must be members from boards I think we can agree on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

I'd be interested in taking part in this. :)

Format: PS3
    PSN: robertdillon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Sign me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Sign me up aswell, even though ive played wager matches less than 10 times :o

first 24 players to sign up
    put down as follows

xbox
    user: paddyman

Insky!

Xbox: xxELKATSUMOTOxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

PS3: dorgz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

XBL: CORaven

first 24 players to sign up
    put down as follows

xbox
    user: paddyman

PSN SgtMartyMcFly
    My brother will play too hes on boards too, hes JustPaddy1 on here and JustPaddy on PSN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭JeanClaude

Sounds good, I'd be up for it.

Xbox: EmeraldNemesis
    PS3: irishal31

JeanClaude wrote: »
    Sounds good, I'd be up for it.

Xbox: EmeraldNemesis
    PS3: irishal31

Which format you gonna pick dude?

Copy and add your name if interested.

XBOX
    1: paddyman
    2:sierra117x
    3:$hifty
    4:xxELKATSUMOTOxx
    5:A Windy Towel
    6:CORaven
    7:EmeraldNemesis
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:

PS3
    1:Leeg17
    2:El LoCo Ade
    3:robertdillon
    4:Tommy_NDX
    5:iMuse
    6:dorgz
    7:irishal31
    8:SgtMartyMcFly
    9:JustPaddy
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:

Which format you gonna pick dude?

Oh Jesus,:eek::eek: I don't want to start a console war...:D:D

I don't mind, whichever one is struggling to get the numbers..:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scody94

PS3
    10:CodyCFC
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Benrobjohn

Xbox
    GT: benrobjon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

xbox=paulieeee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

GT:The Floyd P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

Xbox: docerdeedoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

PS3: Risteard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

PS3 : FlawedGenius
    Should be good if it gets going!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

PS3
    11:Risteard
    12:FlawedGenius
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:irishal31

PS3 users - Copy latest list of names and add your PSN username.

irishal31 will take up a position one console. EmeraldNemesis on xbox.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

XBOX
    9:benrobjon
    10: paulieeee
    11:The Floyd P
    12:docerdeedoo
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:EmeraldNemesis

Xbox360 users - Copy latest list of names and add your Xbox360 username.

EmeraldNemesis will take up a position one console. irishal31 on PS3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Benrobjohn

PS3 can have EmeraldNemesis.:D

Benrobjohn wrote: »
    PS3 can have EmeraldNemesis.:D
    ????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

PS3
    13:SR08GR8
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:

PS3 users - Copy latest list of names and add your PSN username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

F1ngers wrote: »
    XBOX
    13:PsychoClive
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:

Xbox360 users - Copy latest list of names and add your Xbox360 username.

EmeraldNemesis will take up a position one console. irishal31 on PS3.
    entered above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

XBOX
    13: PyschoClive
    14:MarkSRFC90
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:

What type of wager would this be? Tbh, I'm only interested if it's 1itc or sticks and stones, I'm rubbish at the other two :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Would have to be over the four different games imo, anyone can become really good at one game. The question is - can you be really good at all four :)

ok so i thought of a system that i think will work based on 24 players, firstly it will be all 4 wager match games, i will do a random draw once i get all 24 players and post them up here, 4 groups of six. It will be very hard getting all 24 players up at the same time so i think having added the 5 other players in your group and posting here to find a good time to play the games.
    The competition may be run over a week to find suitable times to play the semi finals and finals after posting the results of the first round matches.
    How the matches are run will be based on a point system playing each wager match three times, so a total of 12 games will be played, you will earn 6 points for a win, 5 for 5th, 4 for 4th and so on, if there is a tie of two players or more they will all earn the same points ie: two people finish 2nd will both receive 5 points. At the end of the wager matches top three in points will proceed to the semi finals were another draw will take place, if two people manage to finish on the same points for 3rd or 4th i think the player who won the most games should go through but open to suggestions on that one.
    For the semi finals im open to suggestions about either a random draw or the highest v lowest points in two separate groups.
    All rounds same amount of games and may the best man win, any suggestions im open to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

I'm sure we can also ask one of the HD PVR guys really nicely to record the winners game on each platform :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

XBOX
    9: im EoinD
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:

PS3
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

akkenny wrote: »
    ok so i thought of a system that i think will work based on 24 players, firstly it will be all 4 wager match games, i will do a random draw once i get all 24 players and post them up here, 4 groups of six. It will be very hard getting all 24 players up at the same time so i think having added the 5 other players in your group and posting here to find a good time to play the games.
    The competition may be run over a week to find suitable times to play the semi finals and finals after posting the results of the first round matches.

How the matches are run will be based on a point system playing each wager match three times, so a total of 12 games will be played, you will earn 6 points for a win, 5 for 5th, 4 for 4th and so on, if there is a tie of two players or more they will all earn the same points ie: two people finish 2nd will both receive 5 points. At the end of the wager matches top three in points will proceed to the semi finals were another draw will take place, if two people manage to finish on the same points for 3rd or 4th i think the player who won the most games should go through but open to suggestions on that one.
    For the semi finals im open to suggestions about either a random draw or the highest v lowest points in two separate groups.
    All rounds same amount of games and may the best man win, any suggestions im open to

I won't be able to confirm a set date this or next week so can't play, but just to offer some advice to the organisers. The points order mentioned above is wrong.

6 for 1st, 5 for 2nd, 4 for 3rd, 3 for 4th, 2 for 5th and 1 for 6th
    might work in some modes of play but in sticks and stones you might need to change it as low finishing (tomahawked) players can often have ties. Might be easiest to avoid half points and just give a set amount 2 points for a bottom half finish.
    6 for 1st, 5 for 2nd, 4 for 3rd, 2 for 4th, 2 for 5th and 2 for 6th

Also it might be better to change the scoring to
    8 for 1st, 6 for 2nd, 4 for 3rd, 3 for 4th, 2 for 5th and 1 for 6th or alternatively:
    8 for 1st, 6 for 2nd, 4 for 3rd, 2 for 4th, 2 for 5th and 2 for 6th
    to give a greater reward for coming higher up. And in case of a tie an even number half doesn't give a half point. In the case of a tie then the player with the greater 1st places goes through, in case of another tie the player with the greater 2nd places goes through, etc. etc. If that doesn't solve it then a one-on-one game of a set game type should be used. A private party with at least one neutral observer might be the best way to accomplish this but I am open to correction/ alternatives.

Also a disconnections rule might be needed as it could mess up the scoring if a non-competitor came in/competitor left. Either
    i)disregard the non-player's score (5 offical players only count),
    ii)consider a rematch if the player returns in 5 minutes or
    iii)consider the non-player as the official player for the scoring (5 official players and non-official player as sub for disconnected player).

If players are unable to appear at a pre-arranged time then we can either ignore ineligible players in the game group for the purposes of scoring, 4 competitors and 2 randomers means you ignore the two randomers score so you get at least a 4th, 3 competitors and 3 randomers means you ignore the three randomers score so you get at least a 3rd. If there is less than 3 it might be best to do the one-on-one set game type to decide on 1st and 2nd or alternatively ignore all other non-competitors and play for first / second. If there is only one player on line at a set time, might be best posting on here to keep a record of it and maybe sending a message to those in your group, again if there is a better/simpler solution do that instead.

Keeping track of scoring might be difficult as there is 12 matches per group with 4 groups so unless you or someone in your group has a capture card, it might mean each individual will have to keep track of the scores either by pen and paper or use a camera. Once results are in simply post them in the thread (do others peoples results along with your own). If there are inconsistencies/mistakes then we can evaluate game footage.

What's 1st place prize? (when I win it :pac:)

Surely between a group of 6 people it should be easy enough to keep track of the games and scores. And going by the thread about set-ups most people play with a laptop or desktop within arms reach so after each round you can update your post here.

Once all 24 players are confirmed people should reply with a time frame and available days free to play.

I work from 12-10pm but my days are sporadic. For the sake of me putting up my January Rota I'll just play in a game from 22:30 onwards - Any night.

EDIT: The list so far (7, possibly 8 spots left) -

XBOX
    15:im EoinD
    16:WilliamOC
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Willbbz

Xbox
    WilliamOC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭leemurta

PS3
    14:leemurta
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:

PS3
    14:leemurta
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:

XBOX
    15:WilliamOC
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

claiva wrote: »
    entered above
    get out of it you ! not putting up with your hatchets all throughout a game !

Come on boys we need 8 more and were sorted

point system will be and this is final, 8 for 1st, 6for 5th, 4 for 3rd and then 3,2,1. If there is a tie they will receive the highest point, ie two finish 3rd both will receive 4
    if there is a disconnection at anytime in the match they will receive 1 for 6th, if another one disconnects they will receive 2for 5th and so on. if someone does get disconnected nobody else will be able to join in and the match will continue and normal.
    lets not get to technical about it, any other issues we haven't cleared up you can clear up with the guys in your group, its just a bit of fun although im really competitive and will more than likely take it down ha.

for the final i was thinking of having separate winners for each game mode and maybe an overall winner but will cross that bridge when we come to it. right come on lads tell your mates to sign up and lets get it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dave D

perfect just what i was looking for!
    psn: Elmo_D

PS3