Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht vs Munster, Mon 27 Dec 6:10pm; Live on TG4

• 23-12-2010 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/8454.php

Several of Munster's international sit out this weekends Magners League game with Connacht at the behest of national management yet the League leaders travel with a strong squad.

Munster Squad:
    S Deasy, J Murphy, C Murray, P Stringer, R O'Gara, D Hurley, L Mafi, S Tuitupou, T Gleeson, B Murphy, P Warwick,

W du Preez, M Sherry, D Varley, S Henry, J Hayes, Dave Ryan, P Borlase, S Archer, D Ryan, I Nagle, A Quinlan, B Holland, T O'Donnell, N Ronan, P Butler

I wouldn't mind if we sent up a similar side to what was played last year, when we gave a lot of youngsters gametime. Many of the internationals are rested for this: Buckley, DOC, Wallace, Leamy, TOL and Earls. Strange that TOL is unavailable given he's been injured and probably needs games.
    No Coughlan or O'Mahony in the squad either. I would have liked to see Coughlan at 8 with Leamy missing but it looks like Paddy Butler will start given he's the only number eight in the named squad.

This is a game we can afford to lose IMO, there's still a lot of games left in the Magners and we have to look towards the future. Last week showed that we need to give youngsters a chance to show their wares because many of the incumbents aren't up to standard or at the very least aren't consistent. There will be a big cleanout for players over the next season or two, we need to see who is coming to take future squad places. If we lose, so be it. At least we'll learn something.

I'd like to see:
    Dave Ryan, Sherry, Borlase, Nagle, Do Ryan, TOD, Ronan, Butler;
    Murray, Deasy, J Murphy, Tuitupou, B Murphy, Hurley, Warwick

Bench: Varley, Du Preez, Archer, Holland, Quinlan, Stringer, ROG, Gleeson

I think the actual team will feature Warwick at 10 (ROG benched), Deasy at 15 with Mafi and Tuitupou in the centre. :(

/runs off to wager on a Munster yellow card.

Connacht will no doubt target this game, they need to start climbing the Magners. Their Amlin campaign is over so the ML is the be all and end all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I want to see more of Borlase, he could play for Ireland (will be eligible in 2.75 years) but I'm not sure that he has the talent.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

i think in theory its a bad time for the internationals to be restricted from playing.

people are off work and the thought of cronin v varley, or wallace v darcy for example would be very enticing. but with all the big name players missing you arent going to get the neutral in who has time on their hands from being off work and who would like a glimpse of the irish players.

in practice though with the weather being so bad its hard to know what the turn out will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Tuitupou has played a lot of games this season I wouldn't be surprised to see him on the bench. Barry Murphy will definitely start. Murray might get a start as well. I fear you're right about Mafi playing, hopefully on the wing.

How did Deasy get on at 10 last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

CatFromHue wrote: »
    i think in theory its a bad time for the internationals to be restricted from playing.

people are off work and the thought of cronin v varley, or wallace v darcy for example would be very enticing. but with all the big name players missing you arent going to get the neutral in who has time on their hands from being off work and who would like a glimpse of the irish players.

in practice though with the weather being so bad its hard to know what the turn out will be.
    I think the theory is that an interprovincial match will attract a full house no matter who plays

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

but when you think of the possible match ups eg o brien and heslip v ferris, muldoon v leamy ( i know muldoon and ferris are injured im just giving a possiblity), they're salivating. even seeing how jamie hagan would get on v the munster first front row would be good too.

with the top players removed these games become second rate when they could and should be de facto ireland trial games.

i know the ulster v leinster game has sold out but the potential of these games should be maximised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Very disappointing to see interpro games diluted like this. Yet another stroke of genius by Kidney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

CatFromHue wrote: »

there was 300 tickets still available according to the connacht facebook page this morning so it is most likely a sell out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Munster name team for Connacht
    24 December 2010, 12:52 pm
    Munster have named their team for the Magners League clash against Connacht at the Sports ground which will now be played on Monday 27 December, kick-off 6.10pm.
    Munster: P Warwick; B Murphy, T Gleeson, L Mafi, D Hurley; R O'Gara capt, P Stringer; W du Preez, M Sherry, P Borlase; D Ryan, I Nagle; A Quinlan, N Ronan, P Butler. Replacements: S Henry, Dave Ryan, J Hayes; B Holland, T O'Donnell, C Murray, J Murphy, S Deasy

Some interesting choices there. Nagle, Sherry and Butler in particular. Big chance for Gleeson and Barry Murphy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Connacht XV to face Munster
    24 December 2010, 11:46 am
    Centre Keith Matthews, making his 92nd appearance for Connacht, will captain the side against Munster in the refixed round 11 Magners League game on Monday (The Sportsground, kick-off 6.10pm)
    The game was refixed to allow the pitch at The Sportsground time to thaw out from the record breaking freezing temperatures experienced this week.
    Matthews, a 28 year old Limerick native, joined Connacht in 2005 having made 2 appearances for Munster and has featured in 68 Magners League games and 23 Amlin Challenge Cup games for Connacht. Matthews was capped against Argentina Jaguares when selected for Ireland A in November 2009 along with team-mates, Muldoon, Wilkinson, Keatley and Frank Murphy.

Ian Keatley is selected at full-back, the 23 year old traditionally plays at out-half but has shown huge versatility this season having excelled at centre and full-back and the return of Niva Ta'auso from injury gives an extra attacking edge to the back-line. Ezra Taylor also marks his return from injury with a starting spot at number 8, he replaces John Muldoon who has been ruled out of action with a fractured arm sustained against Harlequins last week. The break is likely to see the Portumna born back-rower out for a number of months.

Connacht XV to face Munster (The Sportsground Mon 27th December, kick-off 6.10pm live on TG4)
    15 Ian Keatley
    14 Darragh Fanning
    13 Niva Ta'auso
    12 Keith Matthews (C)
    11 Fionn Carr
    10 Miah Nikora
    09 Cillian Willis
    01 Rob Sweeney
    02 Sean Cronin
    03 Jamie Hagan
    04 Michael Swift
    05 Michael McCarthy
    06 Andrew Browne
    07 Johnny O'Connor
    08 Ezra Taylor

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Barry Fa'amausili
    18 Dylan Rogers
    19 Bernie Upton
    20 Mike McComish
    21 Frank Murphy
    22 Troy Nathan
    23 Brian Tuohy

All Munster eyes will be on Keatley who is playing at fullback for this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

Sweeney starting at loosehead worries me, of what I've seen of him he's very poor. Hope Taylor is fully fit, I would have started with McComish at 8. Willis is a good call at 9, Murphy has been poor all season and Willis deserves his chance. Pity about Duffy not being fit but I was impressed with Keatley at 15 against Quins. Still though, it's a big blow not to have Duffy, he's our most reliable player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

danthefan wrote: »
    Very disappointing to see interpro games diluted like this. Yet another stroke of genius by Kidney.

+1, I strongly agree with this. Let's just say it should be 'strongly encouraged' by the IRFU to play full sides in interpros.
    Munster:
    P Warwick; B Murphy, T Gleeson, L Mafi, D Hurley; R O'Gara capt, P Stringer; W du Preez, M Sherry, P Borlase; D Ryan, I Nagle; A Quinlan, N Ronan, P Butler.

Replacements: S Henry, Dave Ryan, J Hayes; B Holland, T O'Donnell, C Murray, J Murphy, S Deasy

Delighted that Sherry, Nagle and Butler are getting starts. Can't understand why Mafi keeps getting chances but hopefully he can turn around his form/discipline issues.

Slightly off topic but could Keatley be an option at 15 for Munster? I'll be watching him with interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

danthefan wrote: »
    Not that the national coach has the final say on how many games these guys play, but there's a long season ahead.
    Bar a few weeks in July, there is not much of a break in it until the end of the RWC.
    Priorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

seen him in action against quins last week and didnt float my boat!
    He was coming off the boil a tad at the end of last season and Nikora has taken his #10 shirt.
    I think we will be lucky with a losing bonus!
    considering the players we have missing and the rest playing out of position ie Keatley.
    another handy one for Munster!
    :(
    one positive is Willis staring instead of murphy,murphy is woefully slow deciding what to do!everything is telegraphed as a result.
    nice one eric!!!

profitius wrote: »
    Some interesting choices there. Nagle, Sherry and Butler in particular. Big chance for Gleeson and Barry Murphy too.

Big game for Gleeson alright. He's had a full contract since the beginning of last season and hasn't made a telling impact yet.

Connacht-Logo-White.jpg

15 Troy Nathan, 14 Darragh Fanning, 13 Niva Ta'auso, 12 Keith Matthews (C), 11 Fionn Carr, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Cillian Willis,
    8 Ezra Taylor, 7 Johnny O'Connor, 6 Andrew Browne, 5 Michael McCarthy, 4 Michael Swift, 3 Jamie Hagan, 2 Sean Cronin, 1 Rob Sweeney.

Replacements: 16 Adrian Flavin 17 Barry Fa'amausili 18 Dylan Rogers 19 Bernie Upton 20 Mike McComish 21 Frank Murphy 22 Aidan Wynne 23 Brian Tuohy

munster%20rugby%20logo.jpg

15 Paul Warwick, 14 Barry Murphy, 13 Tom Gleeson, 12 Lifeimi Mafi, 11 Denis Hurley, 10 Ronan O'Gara capt, 9 Peter Stringer,
    8 Paddy Butler. 7 Niall Ronan, 6 Alan Quinlan, 5 Ian Nagle, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Peter Borlase, 2 Mike Sherry, 1 Wian du Preez,

Replacements: 16 Sean Henry, 17 Dave Ryan, 18 John Hayes, 19 Billy Holland, 20 Tommy O'Donnell, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Johne Murphy, 23 Scott Deasy

Date: Monday, December 27
    Venue: The Sportsground
    Kick-off: 18.10 GMT
    Referee: David Wilkinson

The majority of Munster's internationals are absent as Munster travel up to the Sportsground with many fringe players getting a run out, Paddy Butler and Tom Gleeson make their first starts of the season. However experienced heads in the shape of Peter Stringer, Ronan O'Gara and Alan Quinlan will compliment the inexperience in the side.

It's been a turbulent number of weeks for Connacht. The IRFU's new promise of support will have planted seeds of hope in the organisation and the supporters. However they would have then been rocked by the announcement of the imminent departure of Ian Keatley, Sean Cronin and Fionn Carr. Three talismen leaving the province at the end of the season with no news (as of yet) of their replacements. Is Connacht a long term prospect or will they just be used to boost the squads of Ulster, Leinster and Munster when they produce a gem? It remains to be seen if this was another round of IRFU PR speak or an actual commitment to improve the current state of mediocrity.

Key Head to Head:
    The 2 number eights Paddy Butler and Ezra Taylor.
    Butler, who impressed during this year's U20 Six Nations, has waited until now to get a competitive appearance for Munster. In an area where Munster are blessed with riches, Butler has a rare opportunity to stake his claim for more regular gametime. If his appearances in the green jersey are anything to go by, Munster have a potential gem in their squad.
    Taylor arrived in the summer to fill the important boots of the departed George Naoupu. However various injury problems have hampered his chances to make the 8 jersey his, with regular blindside flanker John Muldoon forced to move to 8 for the majority of games this season.
    Both these players have a point to prove, but for different reasons.

Point to Prove: This is Lifeimi Mafi's umpteenth opportunity to show that he isn't a waste of space. A hero in 07/08 with Tipoki and 08/09 with Earls, he has fallen from grace spectularly in the last 18 months. Poor form and serious discipline issues (almost getting a yellow card every two matches at this stage) has seen Mafi become one of the villians in the squad. It can't be denied that Mafi is talented, few players are as explosive in possession. Is Tony McGahan on a hiding to nothing here? We shall see.

Prediction: Connacht's key injuries and absentees (Wilkinson, Ofisa and Muldoon) will hurt them. Munster may be relatively inexperienced but they look to have a good mixture of wily old heads and youthful enthusiasm. Munster by 6-10 points.

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3825_6611066,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Anyone know will there be tickets available at the gate?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Peter B wrote: »
    Anyone know will there be tickets available at the gate?

ahem

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69675592&postcount=757

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭budhabob

Heading up in a couple of hours to this, what's parking in and around the sportsground like?

Good to see the likes of nagle, butler and gleeson getting a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

budhabob wrote: »
    Heading up in a couple of hours to this, what's parking in and around the sportsground like?

Good to see the likes of nagle, butler and gleeson getting a start.

I generally park at the wellpark retail park where the G hotel and the eye cinema are or the huntsman pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

seanin4711 wrote: »
    I generally park at the wellpark retail park where the G hotel and the eye cinema are or the huntsman pub.

Be careful if you intend on doing that. They've been clamping cars for the last few games in Wellpark, security have copped on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭budhabob

Cheers lads,I'll Suss it out when I get up so.the huntsman could be an idea alright.

Be careful if you intend on doing that. They've been clamping cars for the last few games in Wellpark, security have copped on.

even in the underground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

its_phil wrote: »
    even in the underground?

Yeah even there! Its a bit much to be fair, there's more than enough parking to accommodate people.

Back on topic. G'wan Munster!

Late change to connacht with nikora out,keatley in at 10,nathan at 15 and wynne on the bench.

http://www.connachtrugby.ie/2010122782389/late-change-to-connacht-team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Anyone have a spare ticket for sale? I've a season ticket myself but a friend has been able to arrange to get back to Galway in time for the game and couldn't get one of the last few from the branch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Going to be close.. munster to win by < 5

Mafi to be binned for doing something retarded:mad:

And carr to run rings round murphy all night:pac:

its_phil wrote: »
    Late change to connacht with nikora out,keatley in at 10,nathan at 15 and wynne on the bench.

http://www.connachtrugby.ie/2010122782389/late-change-to-connacht-team

Well that should make things more interesting, ROG and Keatley head to head.

Where is Rodney Ah You btw? I thought he was playing well for ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Both Loughney and Ah You must be out injured if Sweeney is starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

Well that should make things more interesting, ROG and Keatley head to head.

Where is Rodney Ah You btw? I thought he was playing well for ye.

Ah You, Loughney and Wilkinson are all out in the front row. Sweeney is very poor from what I've seen of him, he's nowhere near this level so he'll need to pick it up today if he's going to cope with Borlasse. Miah Nikora, John Muldoon, Ray Ofisa, Gavin Duffy and Eoin Griffin are also out as well so we're very short going into the critical period of the season, Munster home, Leinster away and Dragons away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

I'm extremely interested in seeing Ryan and Nagle together in the second row, they seem to be the perfect complimentary 4 and 5 ala. POC & DOC, Matfield & Bakkies. If Ryan was 2 years younger and they had more gametime together they could have been a top international pairing and they still have a chance to be a great pair.

I hope that Murray gets some good gametime too; Butler, Murray, Keatley have all the potential to be our 8-9-10 axis for years to come.

It's bucketing in Galway.

Another typical Sportsground classic in store then! :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Have a nice treble on Leinster, Spreys and Munster, so for once, COME ON YEW BOYS IN RED!

wixfjord wrote: »
    Have a nice treble on Leinster, Spreys and Munster, so for once, COME ON YEW BOYS IN RED!

Awww....thanks! :)

Gambling porpoises only Thomond!

Here, It'll be difficult for you to shout for Munster and supress your Connacht man love won't it Thomond!

Connacht are a bunch of wasters, whose money should be poured into the Munster academy where there is actual talent.

Yeah I said it. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

How long til Mafi gets a yellow? I reckon the 22nd minute.:P

Keatley penalty, 3-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭seeing_ie

Didn't like seeing Quinlan showing his studs as he fielded there.

Quality stream from TG4, 1200 kbps.

penalty rog, 3-3

ROG penalty.

3-3

Keatley penalty.

6-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Ref: Keep your head above your hips.

Connacht loose heads head below his hips even before the engage.

Connacht penalty.

What is this ref up to.

So so stupid there from Ryan. What an awful penalty to give away.

Anyone hear the eejit in the crowd?!

Is the wind in Connacht's favour? Keatley is kicking big distances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

Ref is shocking!.....conditions not helping the game very poor so far.

Anyone hear the eejit in the crowd?!

What's he saying?

I hear a bunch of lads roaring "HEAVE!!".

What's he saying?

I hear a bunch of lads roaring "HEAVE!!".

Commenting on every decision that goes against Connacht very very loudly with serious venom! Wanted a YC for that knock on if I heard correctly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Mafi was binned for a similar tackle against Ospreys.

**** me. Mr Leacy would want to grow a backbone I think. Was same in the Liberty for Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

FFS, would Darragh Hurley or Steven Archer be much worse than Borlase in the scrum?