Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Springer Spaniel Pup in training{Pic Heavy}

• 22-12-2010 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

Puppy in training, it was his first bird shot over him at 5 months:D only took him for a walk and had the gun with me, hit the bird and it fell 50 yards from him ,the dog looked at me, to say can i get it ;) put my hand out to show him to go and he flew down the field and picked it up,he brought it to me and sat down with the biggest smile on his face. Good Dog,Good Dog:cool:
    IMG_0601.jpg
    IMG_0602.jpg
    IMG_0603.jpg
    IMG_0606.jpg
    IMG_0607.jpg
    IMG_0608.jpg
    IMG_0609.jpg
    IMG_0610.jpg
    IMG_0611.jpg
    IMG_0612.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

nice pup lovely retrieve your on ta the makings of a good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

cracking looking dog, lovely markings !!

YOu must be very happy with all your work having paid off now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Well done cracking springer. A pigeon is one of the hardest birds for a pup to retrieve as the feathers are such that they can stick into the roof of the dogs mouth and put a dog off for good. Looks like you got a natural there and love the way he has the pigeon picked in the middle of the bird. Have you done much dummy work with the dog? Is the dog showing interest in hunting yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I don't mean to rain on your parade but its worth pointing out that,

1. You are not supposed to be shooting pigeon, unless you are protecting crops.
    2. Retrieving pigeons can eventually put a young dog off retrieving because they get a mouth full of feathers every time they do it.

Nice dog by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭lamper35

ur a gas man :D only took him for a walk and had a gun with me..were u bringing the gun for a walk too;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

thats gonna be a class dog
    mind him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

2. Retrieving pigeons can eventually put a young dog off retrieving because they get a mouth full of feathers every time they do it.

Nice dog by the way.

going by an earlier post he is going to hunt away, due to all the hard work he has done with pheasants :rolleyes:

lovely springer though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

You have a very well bred springer there by the sounds of it:).

I am all for giving a dog experiences when they are young. However I cringe when I see dogs brought into the field at too early an age and shot over. What is there to be gained by bringing him out too soon? I have never heard of a dog being ruined by taking things slowly but I have a list the length of my arm of dogs I have heard of who were flying at 6 months and by 2 years the dog was not worth a curse. The reason is things were rushed the dog was not allowed to mature both mentally and physically before being introduced to proper fieldwork. Believe me take your time and you will have a reliable and well trained dog. I do not want to sound arrogant or anything. It is only my opinion but it is an opinion formed on my own experiences and mistakes. Trust me if you are patient you will be rewarded.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 ByeByeGTI

well done lovely looking dog. It will do your dog no harm shooting a few pigeons.
    A lot of people will tell you dont shoot pigeons and the same will tell you dont put a springer on rabbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Smashing looking pup you have there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Smashing pup he will do you proud for years to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

i sold his brother to a lad who rang me the other day to say he couldnt handle him so he is up for sale anyone interested :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Did i offend only cork members here LOL but Thank you for all your comments. The dogs markings are really impressive and his temperament matches it as well. I bought the pup from Terminator2 , his bitch and dog are excellent shooting dogs. Cheers mate!!!

Mayo the pup is a great addition and all round happy dog. Mayo is a house dog, he sleeps at the end of my 3 year olds nieces bed. After the pic was taken the pup was returned to his loving home where he recieved a hot shower, blow dried haired and this is embarrassing :o but he had his teeth cleaned by his partner in crime my niece LOL

Mayo which was named by neice is treated even better than any other shooting dog i know, even better than her uncle LOL
    kermitpwee wrote: »
    Well done cracking springer. A pigeon is one of the hardest birds for a pup to retrieve as the feathers are such that they can stick into the roof of the dogs mouth and put a dog off for good. Looks like you got a natural there and love the way he has the pigeon picked in the middle of the bird. Have you done much dummy work with the dog? Is the dog showing interest in hunting yet?

Yes, Since i received the pup from day one, he was introduced to the dummy and whistle. i walk the fields with the pup and throw the dummy everywhere imaginable so as to get him used to retrieving. He stops on the whistle and sits to the whistle now. He retrieves the dummy from land and water also. The pup is running the ditches and is working them perfect but i only walk him a field or two max as he is still only 5 months and he still developing.

Nice dog by the way.

:D This bird was shot Pre-Ban and i was protecting a crop if it makes you feel better LOL :rolleyes:

No matter if a crow, pheasant, pigeon etc etc a dog will get a mouth full of feathers but as you can see the dog was trained to pick up belly first. I understand were your coming from and respect your comment but if i was even a bit worried that the bird could ruin or hurt my pup in any way:eek: i would not even hesitate to put him on the lead and go home, hes not only a dog, hes apart of the family and i wouldn't be that stupid to ruin a dog over a bird. A person who has owned dogs whether breeding or hunting knows the dogs movements and actions, i can judge what my dogs will do or what there about to do;) you develop a bound with them.
    lamper35 wrote: »
    ur a gas man :D only took him for a walk and had a gun with me..were u bringing the gun for a walk too

:p the gun sometimes takes the hump if its not walk LOL Also it gets the pup used to it as well and it is nothing new and exciting for him.

jap gt wrote: »
    going by an earlier post he is going to hunt away, due to all the hard work he has done with pheasants :rolleyes:

lovely springer though

As it says above bird was shot pre-ban, thanks for the comment about the dog, hes a big goof ball:D
    You have a very well bred springer there by the sounds of it:).

I am all for giving a dog experiences when they are young. However I cringe when I see dogs brought into the field at too early an age and shot over. What is there to be gained by bringing him out too soon? I have never heard of a dog being ruined by taking things slowly but I have a list the length of my arm of dogs I have heard of who were flying at 6 months and by 2 years the dog was not worth a curse. The reason is things were rushed the dog was not allowed to mature both mentally and physically before being introduced to proper fieldwork. Believe me take your time and you will have a reliable and well trained dog. I do not want to sound arrogant or anything. It is only my opinion but it is an opinion formed on my own experiences and mistakes. Trust me if you are patient you will be rewarded.;)

No, no i dont think you sound arrogant as you said its your opinion. I will give you my backround hopefully without sounding cocky. i have been hunting from the day i could hold a lead. My grandfather, father, uncle, brothers always took me with them since i was 10. No joke, when other kids were have WWF fights in school i was daydreaming about lamping foxes and ferreting. Abit morbid thinking back now LOL but i was and still am, hunting and shooting mad, its a obsession and my passion.

I have had 16 years of breeding, hunting, working and showing with sight-hounds, terriers, ferrets, falcons and traping . In Ireland and the U.S.
    Till this day if i go up to Armagh or around the county, my terriers breeding are still being sort after, as i bred fantastic dogs who did the job they were supposed to do. As for ruining dogs, i have had 6 month old lurchers and terrier take a fox by them selfs, have had a 5 month old whippet course hares and catch them, when i was told not too. None of my dogs have every stopped hunting, the only things stopped them was due to old age or other reasons.
    I understand your comment as i have seen labs, springers and pointers stop dead in their tracks hunting and REFUSE to every work again due to various reasons which you mentioned. I dont blame the dogs i blame the people who have the dogs who let them get hurt, become gun shy or stupidly ask their dogs to achieve the impossible. If you have the slightest feeling that the dog cant do it then 9 times out of ten you are right.

If i know a dog is capable of doing what it is asked i will let them have a go.

I have shot various types of birds, deer, bear, coyotes in the states for 5 years when i lived there with a bows and guns. Also in the states you have to go threw Hunter Safety Courses to even get to hunt, which i did every year and for that i gained a tremendous amount of knowledge.

What i have learned threw my,:D well 16 years of schooling and i say schooling because i am being taught, is respect other hunters opinions, its a learning experience and the more you learn no matter how old you are, the more you become a better sportsman:D
    ByeByeGTI wrote: »
    well done lovely looking dog. It will do your dog no harm shooting a few pigeons.

Thank You

A lot of people will tell you dont shoot pigeons and the same will tell you dont put a springer on rabbits.

Exactly, one mans opinion is another mans dislike.:cool:

Cant wait until next november,we will have some team of springers;);) great photos BTW

u say its retriving land and water ..thats great did he not mind the cold water as a young pup ...just curious like as im at the same stage as u with my springer and hes 5 months old..but havent had him retrieving from water yet as i thought it might put him off the water brrrrrrrr:D

what i did was bring him down to the canal, there is a slip way there for docking boats. I let him investigate the water first, just sat down beside him and threw biscuits into the water about half a foot every time, he would walk in at the beginning and get the biscuits, dogs hunger will always come before thinking of what they are doing hehehhehehe, with that the first time he ran in and when he ate the biscuits he looked down at the water freaked out and ran out like a lunatic :} . The canal isnt huge but it is big enough for training a young dog.

After time i would throw them a good bit in and he would swim in and out. So i got the water to become a place where treats were :rolleyes:. He is retrieving mad, whether dummy or stick as long as you throw it he will get it. He has always been like this. His Father is also like that, you would take a golf ball and drive down the back fields and he would find the flipping thing, it may take him minutes or hours but he would find it:D i think he had a Obsessive–compulsive disorder:P

After many times with biscuits i stop using them, i got a small rope and tied it to the dummy and just like the biscuits threw it in bit by bit{ the rope was used just in case he wouldn't get it LOL, i dont want to buy dummy's every week}- So i would show him the dummy have a little tug of war then throw it in every time abit further and further.

The thing i like to do is make it fun for the dog, i think 10-20mins is quite enough time for abit of training and the rest of the time he can be a puppy. Rule of thumb never force a dog and never ever throw the dog into water, springers seem to be at home in water and is a good sight to see:D I have no doubt your pup will be "excuse the pun" become a duck to water.

Also i wont bring him out in these harsh conditions to swim,first reason there ice on the canal and if he went under it he wouldn't come out alive, second its way to cold for his body and age, again it would hurt him if his core temp dropped that quick.

I will eventually move him on when hes older with hand signals whether to left or right but as he is only five months i am very happy with him even walking around in the water let alone swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Lovely pics of a lovely pup - happy hunting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Well you are on the ball so there is no doubt that he will turn out well for you;)

At the end of the day its your dog and no one knows him like you do. Even though I personally would not start a dog that early its not up to me to decide. Best of luck with him and keep us updated on his progress. :)

Spunk84 wrote: »
    what i did was bring him down to the canal, there is a slip way there for docking boats. I let him investigate the water first, just sat down beside him and threw biscuits into the water about half a foot every time, he would walk in at the beginning and get the biscuits, dogs hunger will always come before thinking of what they are doing hehehhehehe, with that the first time he ran in and when he ate the biscuits he looked down at the water freaked out and ran out like a lunatic :} . The canal isnt huge but it is big enough for training a young dog.

After time i would throw them a good bit in and he would swim in and out. So i got the water to become a place where treats were :rolleyes:. He is retrieving mad, whether dummy or stick as long as you throw it he will get it. He has always been like this. His Father is also like that, you would take a golf ball and drive down the back fields and he would find the flipping thing, it may take him minutes or hours but he would find it:D i think he had a Obsessive–compulsive disorder:P

After many times with biscuits i stop using them, i got a small rope and tied it to the dummy and just like the biscuits threw it in bit by bit{ the rope was used just in case he wouldn't get it LOL, i dont want to buy dummy's every week}- So i would show him the dummy have a little tug of war then throw it in every time abit further and further.

The thing i like to do is make it fun for the dog, i think 10-20mins is quite enough time for abit of training and the rest of the time he can be a puppy. Rule of thumb never force a dog and never ever throw the dog into water, springers seem to be at home in water and is a good sight to see:D I have no doubt your pup will be "excuse the pun" become a duck to water.

Also i wont bring him out in these harsh conditions to swim,first reason there ice on the canal and if he went under it he wouldn't come out alive, second its way to cold for his body and age, again it would hurt him if his core temp dropped that quick.

I will eventually move him on when hes older with hand signals whether to left or right but as he is only five months i am very happy with him even walking around in the water let alone swimming.

yep i no what ur sayin bout the dummys lol ya i done that tying the string too the dummy with the other springer works a treat..ya was just wanderin about the water been too cold which i think u agreed..so ill leave it abit too try him with water till it warms up...hes always playin down by the water but as u said i dont force him put hes not afraid too run through ditches with water in em so i suppose time will tell..thanks and best of luck ..we might compare notes in a few months time:D

Sounds like a good pup you have as well, keep me updated and hopefully we can get the two of them out together in the future

any photos lamper

here's my pups enjoying the snow . just click on it and it will play
    th_IMG_0280.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 ByeByeGTI

Lovely looking pup's there poulo.
    Grate control over the bitch i bet you cant wait for the ban to be over.

ByeByeGTI wrote: »
    Lovely looking pup's there poulo.
    Grate control over the bitch i bet you cant wait for the ban to be over.

Cheers lad. Ya we are both mad for action. I'm hoping to get out on the first if this weather breaks.

any photos lamper

Heres a vid of him t2 he bout 4 months old in it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nc1TM4nXVoI just took this vid too show how trainin was goin

and heres his first retrieve of a dead bird at the same age
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V88ngwY82PY

Lads 2 top quality pups you have there :)

he looks very keen lamper should make a class gundog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

great pups reassuring to know they will hunt at such a young age ya can put more work into steadiness and retreiving the bitch i have now would not even put her nose to the ground at eleven months you can put everything else into them but ya cant make em hunt best of luck with em

he looks very keen lamper should make a class gundog

i hope so terminator lots of work gone into these dogs as u no urself...thats a nice lookin dog for sale u have is he/she trained

the photos are of spunk84s pup the dog i have for sale is the littermate of that pup,i kept a bitch out of that litter myself,i brought her out the other day to get her used to the gun ,shot a crow she ran over picked him up ,and dropped him at my feet ,looking good for next november:D

brilliant keep up the gd work its great too see lads put alot of time into their dogs and reap the rewards:)

got an email this evening off the chap that bought the other pup,"pup flushed 3 cocks and a woodcock while out for a walk today and retrieved the woodcock to hand":D and is making himself at home with his new new best buddies another springer and a pointer

Excellent news bud, should get some pics upon the littermate in action

More pics, well mayo got his first Duck, well Ducks:D:D Also his first retrieve from the water with a bird, i had him retrieveing the dummy from water but he went on to ducks the other day :D im well in truly happy with his performance!! 2 Teal and a mallard, the mallard was half the length of his body:p but he took with great ease
    IMG_0697.jpg
    IMG_0746.jpg
    Field dressed the Teal there and then, was simple breast came straight off no problem, will do this in future
    IMG_0731.jpg
    IMG_0736.jpg
    IMG_0737.jpg
    IMG_0714.jpg

IMG_0747.jpg
    I was walking away from the ditch and heard a bird getting up behind me so i turned and seen the mallard about 25 yards into the field, hit it and it fell into the center of the field. The pup was up the other end of the ditch and came running down after the shot went off. Shouted to "get over", which he did:D, he couldnt find the mallard as it was quite far from were he was looking so i got a piece of mud a flung it past him and shouted "get back" { he hasnt grasped the get back command yet but will } so he ran towards were i threw the muck and must of got a wiv off the scent, turned 360 :rolleyes: and grabbed the bird:cool::cool: whistled for him to come back he did.....Excellent blind retrieve well somewhat without the muck :}
    IMG_0748.jpg
    IMG_0749.jpg
    IMG_0750.jpg
    IMG_0751.jpg
    This was a steep ditch, i thought he was going to lose the bird in the water but done very well/.
    IMG_0757.jpg

IMG_0756.jpg
    IMG_0754.jpg
    He look like he was in a war with all the blood but it wasnt his.

IMG_0719.jpg
    IMG_0712.jpg
    IMG_0729.jpg
    IMG_0710.jpg
    IMG_0730.jpg

IMG_0708.jpg
    IMG_0707.jpg
    IMG_0700.jpg

IMG_0708.jpg
    IMG_0707.jpg
    IMG_0701.jpg
    IMG_0703.jpg

End result, lovely orange duck :D
    IMG_0759.jpg
    IMG_0760.jpg

I got a video of the a duck retrieve. He was more interested in the other duck i shot earlier down the left of the ditch:D, he thought it was still there:confused:...But he managed to get back to work...didnt want to press him too much but worked out well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hDcgaBSDyR8

If anyone knows how to place the video on here, let me know instead of clicking the link:) far easier than jumping from boards to youtube

I got a video of the a duck retrieve. He was more interested in the other duck i shot earlier down the left of the ditch:D, he thought it was still there:confused:...But he managed to get back to work...didnt want to press him too much but worked out well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hDcgaBSDyR8

If anyone knows how to place the video on here, let me know instead of clicking the link:) far easier than jumping from boards to youtube

Good dog. funny looking tail on him!

hes class kid ,good shooting too,youll have to get a hat cam....:D:D

kermitpwee wrote: »
    Good dog. funny looking tail on him!

Yeah the tail wasn't docked, it's complete brown with a dash of White :)

Do you like them with the tail? I prefer them docked, each to their own!

Tail or no tail as long as it hunts I'm not bothered:D most vets these days won't dock a tail for you. I wouldn't take a chance on docking myself incase I hurt the dog- but again each to their own.

Ah ya i know what you mean, good dog.

some pics of the season i forgot to stick up:D the pup is doing well, sorry about the pic quality, camera was crap:o

IMG_0816.jpg

IMG_0818.jpg

IMG_0819.jpg

The dog always looks depressed after i take the game of him:P

IMG_0815.jpg

one freaky pic LOL
    IMG_0820.jpg

only thing i have found he tends to ignore the whistle once the tweedy birds fly out in front of him:mad:

took some very good advice and invested in a Sportdog 800 of eBay for a fraction of what there going for in the UK and US, quite good from all the reviews,also can add up to 3 more dogs onto it

SportDog_SportHunter_800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Spunk, I presume that the remote yoke gives him a shock if he runs off or you can use it to turn him on the whistle.
    I have the Petsafe version that I used a few years ago and I found that the dog soon associated the shock with me and it took me ages to get him to trust me again !!

Vizzy wrote: »
    Spunk, I presume that the remote yoke gives him a shock if he runs off or you can use it to turn him on the whistle.
    I have the Petsafe version that I used a few years ago and I found that the dog soon associated the shock with me and it took me ages to get him to trust me again !!

before the shock theres a tone on it as well. so when the tone goes off he will associate that with returning before the shock, as i will whistle at the same time and when he stops/turns the tone will stop therefore he will realizes :rolleyes: the tone/shock stops when he stops/returns to me:p or something like that LOL

19 different levels of shock but i don`t have the intent to be using it much more than the first 1 or 2 and if he figures it out in a few short days will then happy days

he has everything else down, so it will be reinforcement training.

Petsafe, i look at them but the waterproof system has some issues and range isnt great but other than that nice product. I went with Sportdog as its a lifetime guarantee on it and the additional collars can be place on the one reciever no probs