Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need a 4x4 Car / Jeep Quick!

• 22-12-2010 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads,

Need a 4X4 car or jeep for the OH in the next day or two! €2k cash waiting!

Thinking of passenger SWB Pajero / Disco / Freelander / Land Cruiser

OR

Subaru Legacy / Forester / A6 Quattro Avant (with winter tyres)

Must be smart and clean with good tyres and long NCT!

Suggestions please!

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,732 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Was just looking at that Legacy!

Also found this:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Subaru/Legacy/TS-R/201048200384983/advert?channel=CARS

I know nothing very little about them - how are they in poor weather conditions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Why the emergency?

Any car I've bought in such a manner has been a pig with obvious flaws.

My suggestion

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1496348

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Why the emergency?

Any car I've bought in such a manner has been a pig with obvious flaws.
    +1, it generally takes around a month to find a good used car.

@OP - Why not get a good set of part-worn winter tyres for the car she's driving now? AWD is good, but winter tyres make more of a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

ive just changed to a 4x4 cos of the snow...remember you need the ground clearence too...you'd still be using the front of that leggy as a snow plough..even my x-trail was rubbin the snow in the middle of the road

Well it goes like this:

We've 2 cars, one daily and one weekend, both RWD, both V8, 10.1L between two cars. We had no need for a third as I used to work around the corner from where we live. Changed jobs in Sept and have been sharing the daily since depending on what I've got on in work - sometimes I use the weekend car but mostly I get the bus in and she picks me up in the evening.

Anyhow, the OH wants her own motor as A) my office is moving in Jan and the use of public transport is gonna be awkward and B) we live in Ticknock and neither of the cars are up to much the last few weeks. My argument against a new addition was that the snow would go away 'in a few days' (which it hasn't) and hers is that it was still November when the bad weather started and is likely to continue for another three months and is getting worse every year the last few years and likely to continue going forward. Plus with the office location change we are going to need another car in January.

Sorry - but you did ask!

ive just changed to a 4x4 cos of the snow...remember you need the ground clearence too...you'd still be using the front of that leggy as a snow plough..even my x-trail was rubbin the snow in the middle of the road

I'm not really suffering from clearance in the 7er - traction is the issue!

The T/A hasn't moved since mid November!

In that case

Something totally forgettable and cheap. Cheaper ones are available just type renault rx4 into dd

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1765936

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

In that case

Something totally forgettable and cheap. Cheaper ones are available just type renault rx4 into dd

god no, not on my worst enemy............:p

this maybe, its jap,nct'd and a bit of tax it said in one ad (he's got 3 on DD for this yoke - i smell desperate seller) cheap and very skippable......but will go thru' that snow for you up to ticknock.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1727876

and see here, he was seeking more, price now dropped -

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1718760

In that case

Sorry pal - not a hope!

It has to have some level of street cred! :p

MidlandsM wrote: »
    god no, not on my worst enemy............:p

I'd normally agree but Scenic's are the best of that vintage Renault. Not a bad bus if it all works

There are a few more on DD

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1727876

EDIT: Someone thought of this bland box before me

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Sorry pal - not a hope!

It has to have some level of street cred! :p
    What, like a Lesbaru?:D

Yuck - move on from the ugly birds jono!

Anan1 wrote: »
    What, like a Lesbaru?:D

You not a mod anymore Anan1?

Can't say I've ever been happier! :p

LOL....ahhh yeah, Anan - you're an arsehole*...........Ban me now....lol :p:p:p:p

*jus kiddin - enjoy the freedom.:pac:

Me neither.:D

Being honest for 2k any of the cars/jeeps you posted in the opening thread will be driven into the ground.

A bland box like the tribute is cheap and most likely won't of been off-road.

The Jeeps you mentioned most likely have been offroad and the Audi's are rare, the Scumbaru is cheap but can have major issues which cause them to be like that (none specific but if they haven't been maintained properly..)

It's a difficult budget but I suggest with a limited time to purchase have a look at one of these

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1749704

Me neither.:D

You're not allowed use BOLD TEXT anymore! :D

I just wondered the same.

Just a commoner now :D

It's a difficult budget but I suggest

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1749704

Went to look at it Sunday. Big oil leak from between box and engine, noise from hub on front drivers side, didn't pull right - felt like turbo issues.

Also a killer on parts if when sh1t goes wrong.

I thought i'd have one last fling, just for old times sake.;)

Back on topic, the two issues i'd be most concerned about are the need to buy in a hurry and the need to buy at the height of a seller's market. I mean, look at this, for example: http://www.adverts.ie/car/legacy/legacy/subaru-legacy-1998/353452. I got a good 98 Legacy out of adverts last summer for €850.

Rather than quote ads:

Opel Frontera
    Suzuki Vitara
    Patrol
    Terrano
    Maverick
    Legacy
    Forester
    Jeep

I can't find an A6 quattro in budget or anything desirable like that. Can't even find an Ovlov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭650gs

Like the others said 2,000 wont get much remember why jeeps hold there price think of what they cost new a good cheap trooper might be the answer but again at that price forget a long nct or doe and expect an oil leak and you might be surprised what you get

650gs wrote: »
    Like the others said 2,000 wont get much remember why jeeps hold there price think of what they cost new a good cheap trooper might be the answer but again at that price forget a long nct or doe and expect an oil leak and you might be surprised what you get

How on earth did I forget a Trooper :o

But yes at that budget you either loose the street cred or buy a faulty luxo barge. Bargains are out there but not 2 days before Christmas unless the seller is desperate and you chance your arm arriving cash in hand to view a more expensive vehicle

I thought i'd have one last fling, just for old times sake.;)

Back on topic, the two issues i'd be most concerned about are the need to buy in a hurry and the need to buy at the height of a seller's market. I mean, look at this, for example: http://www.adverts.ie/car/legacy/legacy/subaru-legacy-1998/353452. I got a good 98 Legacy out of adverts last summer for €850.

Feckin' mad price - should be in the dreamers thread!

Went to look at a passenger SWB Paj today but it was too rough for my liking. Trouble is I don't want a wannabe jeep or a beefed up regular car (e.g. RX4 Scenic!!!). Don't like the looks of the Audi All Road but would happily drive an A6 Quattro Avant but it's out of my price range. The likes of a Grand Cherokee appeal to me as they're big and robust with all the bells and whistles but written off for reasons mentioned above.

That leaves me with a 'reliable' AWD jap car with snow tires. Called and texted the dude with the white legacy as it's the new model and being JDM comes fully equipeed but then again it's private and I dunno about the tires on it (he didn't answer either). The green Legacy looks of but would prefer the newer model if possible and not gone on the colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Would a decent FWD with good winter tyres perhaps be better than a clapped out 4x4 on ropey tyres? I don't know. I'm just throwing it out there.

Opel Frontera - No!
    Suzuki Vitara - No Way!
    Patrol - If I could find a nice one in my budget
    Terrano - No
    Maverick - see Terrano
    Legacy - Yes!
    Forester - Maybe
    Jeep - Yes but find me a clean new model ('99+) in my budget

I can't find an A6 quattro in budget or anything desirable like that. :(

How on earth did I forget a Trooper :o

Not too many passengers about and trying to keep it under 2.5 for tax purposes.

Do like them though!

You want something specific, you want it cheap, and you want it now. You'll be doing well to get two of those things, IMO.:)

BostonB wrote: »
    Would a decent FWD with good winter tyres perhaps be better than a clapped out 4x4 on ropey tyres? I don't know. I'm just throwing it out there.

Maybe but if I'm gonna bother spending I want a 4WD / AWD

Thanks for the suggestion though!

You want something specific, you want it cheap, and you want it now. You'll be doing well to get two of those things, IMO.:)

For sure, on the other hand, especially the way business has been affected the last few weeks, there's plenty of people would like a ball of cash in their paw tomorrow! ;)

Discovery (very old model)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1769523

Trooper

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1749596

I'm finished here. I can't fill all three of your requirements but if I come across something I'll put it up

EDIT: The above wasn't meant to be sharp but I had fun trying

For sure, on the other hand, especially the way business has been affected the last few weeks, there's plenty of people would like a ball of cash in their paw tomorrow! ;)

My advice would be to scan DD for ads which have been placed a couple of times for vehicles that are asking more than your offering .

This indicated the seller is anxious for the car to go and may let it off cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

I'm not really suffering from clearance in the 7er - traction is the issue!

Just for info, I had an M5 up till last March, I had winter tyres on it. I drive from the smallest country roads in Meath to Dublin 4 in all weather conditions. I never had traction issues. I drove one winter on Good Year Eagle F1's - now that was scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

macnab wrote: »
    Just for info, I had an M5 up till last March, I had winter tyres on it. I drive from the smallest country roads in Meath to Dublin 4 in all weather conditions. I never had traction issues. I drove one winter on Good Year Eagle F1's - now that was scary.

I hear ya but as above we need another car anyhow!

BostonB wrote: »

I would really like an A6 Avant Quattro but the saloons do nothing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1769786
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1734812

this one;)
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1766799

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1766047

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1668111
    Fcuk but you have no idea how much i know that i should have bought 5 cheap pajeros in September, id have made a fortune at this stage selling them to people in your situation

bmw535d wrote: »
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1769786
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1734812

this one;)
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1766799

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1766047

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/1668111
    Fcuk but you have no idea how much i know that i should have bought 5 cheap pajeros in September, id have made a fortune at this stage selling them to people in your situation

There selling like hot cakes at the mo - I'm looking for passenger models though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

JJJJNR wrote: »

Way over budget but thanks anyhow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

Would you consider a CR-V? I bought one 6 months ago, '03 50K miles, 6 grand, perfect Nick, full Honda history ac, sunroof etc, loads of space, flexible seats and importantly Awd.

I've tried pretty much all urban/soft road conditions over the last 2 months and it never misses a beat, there are loads on dd and cbg, an '00 or '01 should fall into your price range, anyone who has sat into it has commented on how nice and spacious it is, very comfortable, and the AWD works brilliantly, not as good as the hardcore 4WD in the RR and the landcrusiers, but if all you want Is a very competent all rounder that can handle any urban snow situation, (and anything the Phoenix park can throw at it!:) ) then I would suggest you take one for a spin. Petrol engine is reasonable enough at about 30mpg, no diesel available back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

My little 1.3 FWD car has been transformed by a set of winter tyres. Was going to go down the 4x4 route but said I would give the winters a go first. Still under evaluation but I can get to where ever I want to go without any bother, including up and down steep hills.

Do you really want to pay all that extra road tax and have higher fuel consumption ?

Winter tyres are the f**king business. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

There selling like hot cakes at the mo - I'm looking for passenger models though!

have you got kids?

you wont get any passenger models here im afraid, tax is too high. look into NI or england but. loads of them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1769523

Discovery?

They aren't a bad old wagon at all. The 300tdi is a fantastically reliable engine and the parts are pretty cheap to replace on them. Excellent off road ability too.

And don't write off the terrano/maverick there quite good in this weather and the 2.7tdi that there usually fitted with is very reliable unit though not the fastest or the fuel efficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭novarapid

how about a mitsubishi L200, overcomes the problem of looking for a passenger pajero however might be a little agricultural :-)

MidlandsM wrote: »

Saw that one earlier - it's gone already!